DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the application # 18/795,254 filed on August 06, 2024. By preliminary amendment Claims 2-21 are pending and are directed toward PIN VERIFICATION.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-4, 6-14, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Tussy (US 2016/0063235, Mar. 3, 2016), hereinafter referred to as Tussy.
As per claim 2, Tussy teaches an access control system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations (the disclosed embodiments relate to a facial recognition authentication systems. Tussy, [0003]) comprising:
receiving, through a mobile interface of the access control system presented in an application environment of a mobile device of a visitor to a property (authenticating a user in an authentication system via a user's a mobile computing device, Tussy, [0008]), a personal identification number (PIN) for the visitor (As shown in FIG. 15, in addition to or in place of the regions 1420, buttons 1520 may be displayed on a touchscreen 1510. Here, the user may initiate the authentication by pressing one or more of the buttons 1520 in a predetermined pattern. Tussy, [0185]) and a request to alter a status of the access control system of the property (the authentication using path parameters and image data may be implemented in any environment requiring verification of the user's identity before allowing access, such as auto access, room access, computer access, web site or data access, phone use, computer use, package receipt, event access, ticketing, courtroom access, airport security, retail sales transaction, IoT access, or any other type of situation. Tussy, [0204]);
providing, to the mobile device and in response to the request to alter the status of the access control system of the property, an instruction to cause presentation in the application environment of the mobile interface of a request for biometrics data of the visitor (The authentication system may include feedback displayed on the mobile device to aid a user in learning and authentication with the system. For instance, an accuracy meter may provide feedback on a match rate of the authentication biometrics or movement. Tussy, [0012]);
receiving, through the mobile interface and from the visitor, biometrics data of the visitor captured by a sensor of the mobile device (The data including either the image(s), biometric information, or both are sent over the network 116 to the server 120. Tussy, [0050]);
comparing the received PIN to a stored PIN for a known person (In step 920, the authentication server 120 may then compare the login credentials with the information stored from the enrollment process. In step 920, the server 120 compares the identification of the device obtained during the login process to that stored during enrollment. Tussy, [0096]);
comparing the received biometrics data to stored biometrics data that corresponds to the known person (In step 930, the authentication biometrics may be compared with the enrollment biometrics to determine whether they sufficiently correspond with the enrollment biometrics. Tussy, [0096]);
determining, using results from the comparisons, a likelihood that the received biometrics data matches the stored biometrics data associated with the stored PIN for the known person (In step 940, the authentication movement may be compared with the enrollment movement to determine whether it sufficiently corresponds with the enrollment movement. Tussy, [0096]); and
generating an alarm notification in response to determining that the likelihood that the visitor is the known person does not satisfy a threshold (For example, if a user unsuccessfully attempts to login via the authentication system a predetermined number of times, such as three times for example, than the authentication system locks the account and sends an email to the email address informing the user of the unsuccessful login attempts. Tussy, [0121]).
As per claim 3, Tussy teaches the system of claim 2, wherein: the sensor comprises a camera of the mobile device, and receiving the biometrics data of the visitor captured by the sensor of the mobile device comprises: receiving one or more images of the visitor captured by the camera of the mobile device (Tussy, [0010]).
As per claim 4, Tussy teaches the system of claim 3, wherein comparing the received biometrics data to stored biometrics data that corresponds to the known person comprises: comparing the one or more images of the visitor to one or more stored images associated with the received PIN using one or more facial recognition algorithms (Tussy, [0009]-[0010], FIG. 15).
As per claim 6, Tussy teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the sensor comprises a speaker of the mobile device (Tussy, [0064]), and receiving the biometrics data of the visitor captured by the sensor of the mobile device comprises: receiving a voice recording spoken by the visitor into the speaker of the mobile device (Tussy, [0186]).
As per claim 7, Tussy teaches the system of claim 6, wherein receiving the voice recording comprises: providing, to the mobile device, the instruction to the mobile device to cause presentation in the application environment of the mobile interface of the request for biometric data comprising a prompt to speak a word or phrase; and receiving the voice recording including the visitor speaking the word or phrase (Tussy, [0186]).
As per claim 8, Tussy teaches the system of claim 7, wherein comparing the received biometrics data to stored biometrics data that corresponds to the known person comprises: comparing the voice recording from the visitor to one or more stored voice recording associated with the received PIN using voice recognition algorithms (Tussy, [0186]).
As per claim 9, Tussy teaches the system of claim 2, wherein receiving the biometrics data of the visitor captured by the sensor of the mobile device comprises: receiving one or more images of the visitor captured by a camera of the mobile device (Tussy, [0209]) and receiving a voice recording spoken by the visitor into a speaker of the mobile device (Tussy, [0186]), and
wherein determining, from the comparisons, the likelihood that the received biometrics data matches the stored biometrics data associated with the stored PIN for the known person comprises: determining whether the received voice recording matches a voice of a known person associated with the received PIN (Tussy, [0209]); and
determining whether the one or more images of the visitor do not match stored images of the known person associated with the received PIN (Tussy, [0123]-[0127]).
As per claim 10, Tussy teaches the system of claim 2, wherein receiving, through the mobile interface and from the visitor, the biometrics data of the visitor captured by a sensor of the mobile device comprises: providing, to the mobile device, the instruction to the mobile device to cause presentation in the application environment of the mobile interface of the request for biometric data comprising a prompt to capture biometrics data of the visitor; and receiving the biometrics data of the visitor captured by the sensor of the mobile device in response to the prompt for the biometrics data (Tussy, [0083]).
As per claim 11, Tussy teaches the system of claim 2, further comprising: providing, to the mobile device, an instruction to the mobile device to cause presentation in the application environment of the mobile interface of a temporary mobile login interface; and receiving, through the mobile interface and from the visitor accessing the temporary mobile login, a selected PIN for the visitor (Tussy, [0013], [0094],[0104], [0109]).
Claims 12-14 and 16-21 have limitations similar to those treated in the above rejection, and are met by the references as discussed above, and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tussy (US 2016/0063235, Mar. 3, 2016), in view of Beenau et al. (US 2004/0232221, Nov. 25, 2004), hereinafter referred to as Tussy and Beenau.
As per claim 5, Tussy teaches the system of claim 4, but does not teach encrypted version and/or decrypted version, Beenau however teaches wherein comparing the one or more images of the visitor to one or more stored images associated with the received PIN using facial recognition algorithms comprises: providing, to the mobile device, an encrypted version of the one or more stored images associated with the received PIN (Beenau, [0065], FIG. 6B); and
receiving, from the mobile device, a result of a comparison that indicates the likelihood that the received one or more images matches a temporarily decrypted version of the encrypted version of the one or more stored images (Beenau, [0064], [0084], [0162]).
Tussy in view of Beenau are analogous art to the claimed invention, because they are from a similar field of endeavor of systems, components and methodologies for providing secure communication between computer systems. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tussy in view of Beenau. This would have been desirable because this transfer of information may include use of encryption, decryption, security keys, digital certificates and/or other security devices to confirm the security of the sample (Beenau, [0168]).
Claim 15 has limitations similar to those treated in the above rejection, and are met by the references as discussed above, and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Conclusion
/OLEG KORSAK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492