DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STAV (US-2012/021488) in view of KIM (Scientific Reports, (2023) 13:10938).
Claim 1: Stav teaches a gypsum board comprising two cover sheets or facers with a gypsum layer or gypsum core sandwiched in between (para. 0003 and 0022). The gypsum layer (i.e. gypsum core) comprises a gypsum slurry comprising an amide composition being present in 0.005 to 0.05 lbs/msf (Stav, para. 0022 and 0037), which is 0.005-0.05 lb/1000sf. The weight of the gypsum board is about 1500 lb/msf (para. 0052); thus 0.005/0.05 lb/1000sf is equivalent to 0.005-0.05 lb per 1500 lb of gypsum slurry which is equivalent to about 0.03 wt.% to 0.3 wt.% of the gypsum slurry, which falls within the claimed range of 0.01 wt.% to about 5 wt.%. This equivalency between lbs/msf and wt% is in fact described in the instant specification at paragraphs 041-042. However, Stav does not teach the use of enzyme in the slurry. Kim teaches enzyme helps contain sulfate in leachate as gypsum mineral formation by carbonate precipitation (Kim, page 1, first paragraph) because gypsum is a soft sulfate mineral composed of calcium sulfate (CaSO4.2H2O). In light of Kim teaching, the POSITA would be motivated to incorporate enzyme composition in the gypsum slurry of Stav in order to prevent sulfate contamination to the environment of gypsum (when the board is discarded), which adversely affect the natural sulfur cycle and human health (Kim, page 1, 2nd paragraph), by reacting with sulfate in gypsm (CaSO4.2H2O) to form metal carbonate and help facilitate removal of sulfate in the environment
Claims 2-4: Kim teaches the enzyme composition comprises soybean crude (first page, first paragraph) and watermelon seeds (page 5, last paragraph) which are biologically-derived, plant-derived seeds.
Claims 5-7: Kim explains how the enzyme composition and amide composition react in the gypsum slurry to form carbonate via “enzyme-induced carbonate precipitation”, in particular with the cations in gypsum (i.e. Ca+) and NH2 in the amide composition to form calcium carbonate. See Kim, Page 2.
Claims 8-9: Using the chart of calcium carbonate formation and sulfate removal efficiency shown by Kim at page 9, the POSITA would be able to arrive at the optimal concentration for the enzyme composition (soybean crude) in the gypsum slurry which is expected to be within the claimed range of 0.01 wt% to 5 wt%.
Claim 10: Soybean crude or watermelon seeds (Kim, page 1, first paragraph and page 5, last paragraph) inherently have an average particle size up to 5 mm in nature.
Claim 11: Kim shows soybean crude which is a biologically-derived enzyme comprising urease, which makes it more cost-efficient than using purified urease (Kim, pages 8 last paragraph to page 10, first paragraph).
Claims 12-13: Kim shows 15g/L of soybean crude in 4 g/L of gypsum powder would be most cost effective (Kim, page 9), Figure 8, Table 2. Thus, the POSITA should be able to arrive at the optimal concentration for the enzyme composition in the gypsum slurry.
Claim 17: See claim 1 above regarding the content of polyamide.
Claims 18-19: It appears that the polyamide (superfloc TM) of Stav does not contain biuret or formaldehyde, i.e. content of 0 wt.%/
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1-13 above, and further in view of Randall (US-2024/035942)
Stav and Kim teaches a gypsym core of the claimed invention sandwiched between two sheets or facers as discussed above. Randall teaches the method for making the gypsum panel comprising: providing a first facing material; depositing a gypsum slurry comprising stucco, water, and additives onto the first facing material, providing a second facing material on the gypsum slurry; and allowing the stucco to convert to calcium sulfate dihydrate (Randall, claim 21). Thus, it would have been obvious to apply the method of Randall to make the gypsum panel according to the teaching of Stav and Kim by including the additives, i.e. polyamide as flocculant (Stav teaching) and enzyme composition (Kim’s teaching) in the gypsum slurry.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Stav teaches amide composition in the gypsum core as a solution rather than in particulate form as required in the instant claims. In addition,
HOA (Holly) LE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788
/HOA (Holly) LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788