CTNF 18/795,304 CTNF 82662 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: A NON-TRANSITORY COMPUTER-READABLE STORAGE MEDIUM STORING PROGRAM, CONTROL METHOD, AND INFORMATION PROCESSING APPARATUS CAUSING A PRITNING APPARATUS TO EXECUTE GENERATION OF A COPY-FORGERY INHIBITED PATTERN BASED ON PRINT DATA GENERATEDBY SUPPORT SOFTWARE . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The phrase “the software” in claim 1 in the last line of the claim does not have antecedent basis. Is this the same as the support software? If so, please reflect that this is the support software. Claims 3, 4 and 9-12 also contain this issue. Claims 2 and 5-8 are rejected based on their dependency. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natori (US Pub 2020/0110559) in view of Hosomizo (US Pub 2021/0216258) . Re claim 1: Natori discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an application program, the application program causing a computer of an information processing apparatus to: software capable of generating print data printable by printing apparatuses of a plurality of manufacturers (e.g. a shared printer driver is considered as a universal printer driver that can generate print data for a plurality of different printers. The OS uses this shared driver to generate print data to be output by the printers, which is taught in ¶ [41], [[115] and [116].), and [0041] The printer driver storage region 310 is a region in which printer drivers, such as the shared printer driver 211, are stored. Furthermore, while, in the present exemplary embodiment, a case where the shared printer driver 211 is previously installed is described as an example, in addition to the shared printer driver 211, other printer drivers can be previously installed. The shared printer driver 211 includes filters 311, a filter configuration 312, a device function text file group 313, a script file group 314, and an INF group 315. Furthermore, in the present exemplary embodiment, the filters 311 and the filter configuration 312 are used in common even when any printing apparatus is used. On the other hand, each of the file groups 313 and 314 and the INF groups 315 is stored as files which are different for the respective printing apparatuses serving as a destination for printing operation. The shared printer driver 211 switches files which the configuration module 304 uses, according to a printer serving as a destination for printing operation selected by the user. Furthermore, in the present exemplary embodiment, the shared printer driver 211 is assumed to be a universal printer driver, which is compatible with printing apparatuses of a plurality of vendors, and is assumed to be able to independently perform print setting compliant with the Internet Printing Protocol (IPP). While, in the present exemplary embodiment, it is supposed that the shared printer driver 211 is a driver installed by the user, the present exemplary embodiment is not limited to this. For example, the shared printer driver 211 can be a driver pre-installed in the OS 210. [0115] In step S 911 , the OS 210 reads out a filter 311 compatible with a printer driver 211 which is to be used from the external memory 209 based on the definition of the filter configuration 312 via the filter pipeline manager 303 , and loads the filter 311 onto the RAM 202 . In step S 912 , the OS 210 inputs the XPS to the loaded filter 311 via the filter pipeline manager 303 , thus performing PDL conversion processing with use of the filter 311 . Furthermore, the filter 311 which is used for the PDL conversion processing in step S 912 can include a plurality of filters. In step S 913 , the OS 210 transfers the PDL which has been obtained as a result of the PDL conversion processing in step S 912 to the spooler 302 via the filter pipeline manager 303 . After that, the OS 210 transmits, to the target printer (for example, the printing apparatus 102 ), data including the PDL and PrintTicket as a print job in cooperation with the network I/F 213 via the spooler 302 . [0116] The printing apparatus, which has received the print job, prints a print image on a sheet based on the print job. In a case where copy-forgery-inhibited pattern data is included in the print job, the printing apparatus is able to output a print product containing hidden information such as a character string or pattern. At this time, with regard to latent image data and background data, data generated based on characteristic parameters of a printing apparatus selected as the target printer and in conformity with the printing capability of the printing apparatus is used. Accordingly, the printing apparatus is able to perform appropriate copy-forgery-inhibited pattern printing. causing the information processing apparatus to transmit the print data to the printing apparatuses of the plurality of manufacturers (e.g. the client computer can send a print job to one or more printers to output the print data, which is taught in ¶ [115] and [116] above.); and cause the printing apparatus to execute an image data generating processing that generates image data of a copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image that comes up when a piece of printed matter is copied, the image data being assigned to the piece of printed matter printed based on print data generated by the software (e.g. the printer is able to receive a job containing a copy-forgery-inhibited pattern and print this information based on the print data generated by the shared driver and OS, which is taught in ¶ [115] and [116] above.). However, Natori fails to specifically teach the features of support software capable of generating print data printable by printing apparatuses of a plurality of manufacturers. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Hosomizo. Similar to the primary reference, Hosomizo discloses using a support program to generate print data (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Hosomizo discloses support software capable of generating print data printable by printing apparatuses of a plurality of manufacturers (e.g. the supporting program is used to generate print data that is printable by the printer, which is taught in ¶ [60] and [61].). [0060] It is noted that, for example, the setting value indicating “place the watermark between specific layers of an image subjected to be printed” among setting values of the watermark placing plane and the remaining setting values when the above setting value is set correspond to the second settings. When such second settings are included in the print parameter, the supporting program 42 obtains, from among pieces of font image data indicated by font settings, font image data to be used for the character string (arrow O). In this case, a process for processing characters into outline characters may be executed as necessary. Then, the supporting program 42 combines the font image data with the print data in accordance with the setting value indicating “place the watermark between specific layers of an image subjected to be printed” and the setting values of a position of the character string within an image subjected to be printed, size and tilt of the character string (arrow P). It is noted that the character string may be an image. [0061] The supporting program 42 which generates the combined image data outputs an end notification (arrow Q). In response to receipt of the end notification, the general-use printing program 41 outputs a print command to the printer 2 (arrow R). When, for example, the character string “COPY” in standard characters and the character string “COPY” in outline characters are designated as watermarks and the processes at the arrows H, O and P has been executed as described above, the general-use printing program 41 outputs the print command while attaching, to the print command, the print data corresponding to the character string “COPY” in standard characters which has been generated by the processes at the arrows H and I and the combined image data corresponding to the character string “COPY” in outline characters which has been generated by the processes at the arrows O and P. Therefore, in view of Hosomizo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of support software capable of generating print data printable by printing apparatuses of a plurality of manufacturers, incorporated in the device of Natori, in order to add features to a general use printing program with the support program features, which improves the use of the overall general-use printing program (as stated in Hosomizo ¶ [05]-[07]). Re claim 2: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the application program further causes the computer of the information processing apparatus to: obtain capability information of the printing apparatus from the printing apparatus (e.g. the printer sends capability information to the client, which is taught in ¶ [61].); [0061] In step S404, the OS 210 performs setup processing of the shared printer driver 211 to enable performing printing with use of the target printer selected in step S403. In the setup processing in step S404, setting of a print port and capability setting of a printer that is based on print attribute information compliant with the IPP acquired from the target printer are performed. Performing processing in steps S401 to S404 enables using a printing apparatus via the shared printer driver 211. Processing in step S405 and subsequent steps is a control operation to extend the shared printer driver 211 with a printing extensibility application. determine, based on the obtained capability information, whether or not the printing apparatus is capable of executing the image data generating processing (e.g. the invention discloses determining if printing certain settings is capable based on the received capabilities, such as copy-forgery inhibited pattern printing. This is taught in ¶ [104].); [0104] In step S905, the printing operation activation background task unit 353 determines whether setting of the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern printing function is included in the print setting. The printing operation activation background task unit 353 refers to data stored in the application save area 355 via the printing extensibility application 350 and, according to whether a true value is stored in the data item 754, determines whether setting of the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern printing function is included in the print setting. If it is determined that setting of the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern printing function is included in the print setting (YES in step S905), the OS 210 advances the processing to step S906, and, if it is determined that setting of the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern printing function is not included in the print setting (NO in step S905), the OS 210 advances the processing to step S908. cause, as a result of the determination, in a case of being determined that the printing apparatus is capable of executing the image data generating processing, the printing apparatus to execute the image data generating processing (e.g. if it is found that the copy-forgery inhibited pattern printing is possible, this operation is selectable and able to be performed, which is taught in ¶ [81].); and [0081] Setting values which are able to be set about the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern printing 723 include text 731, which indicates a character string to be printed as a copy-forgery-inhibited pattern, color 732 of the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern to be printed, angle 733 of the character string to be printed as a copy-forgery-inhibited pattern with respect to a sheet of paper, and font size 734 of the character string to be printed as a copy-forgery-inhibited pattern. Moreover, printing method 735 enables selecting watermark printing, which prints a copy-forgery-inhibited pattern as a background of original drawing data, and overlay printing, which performs printing by overwriting a copy-forgery-inhibited pattern on original drawing data. An OK button 740 is configured to be clicked on to return to the simple print setting dialog 700 after completion of the advanced print setting of the printing extensibility application 350. Furthermore, while, in the present exemplary embodiment, a character string is used as an example of a copy-forgery-inhibited pattern, the present exemplary embodiment is not limited to this. For example, a configuration in which a drawing object such as a stamp indicating a confidential document is able to be embedded as hidden information can be employed. execute, in a case of being determined that the printing apparatus is not capable of executing the image data generating processing, the image data generating processing (e.g. a user at one point can check and see that the copy-forgery inhibited pattern is not available. However, at a later time, once the system is able to locate an extensibility application, the extended function can be available for selection and use, which is taught in [89] and [91]-[97].). [0089] In step S640, the OS 210 determines whether the print button 710 being clicked on has been detected. If, in step S640, it is determined that the print button 710 being clicked on has been detected (YES in step S640), the OS 210 advances the processing to step S641, and, if it is determined that the print button 710 being clicked on has not been detected (NO in step S640), the OS 210 returns the processing to step S603, thus waiting for a further print setting operation to be received. [0091] Finally, in step S 650 , the OS 210 issues a print processing start event and ends displaying of the simple print setting dialog 700 . Print processing which is triggered by the print processing start event being issued is described below with reference to the flowcharts of FIG. 9 and FIG. 10. [0092] Next, the printing extensibility application search processing in step S 605 is described with reference to the flowchart of FIG. 8. [0093] In step S 801 , the OS 210 refers to the registry 322 and acquires information associated with the print queue 301 of the target printer selected by the user. [0094] In step S 802 , the OS 210 determines whether a printing extensibility application identifier is registered in association with the target printer. If, in step S 802 , it is determined that a printing extensibility application identifier is registered (YES in step S 802 ), the OS 210 advances the processing to step S 803 , and, if in step S 802 , it is determined that no printing extensibility application identifier is registered (NO in step S 802 ), the OS 210 advances the processing to step S 805 . [0095] In step S 803 , the OS 210 checks all of the touch applications 340 installed on the client computer 101 to determine whether a touch application coincident with the printing extensibility application identifier is present. If, in step S 803 , it is determined that a touch application coincident with the printing extensibility application identifier is present (YES in step S 803 ), the OS 210 advances the processing to step S 804 , and, if it is determined that no touch application coincident with the printing extensibility application identifier is present (NO in step S 803 ), the OS 210 advances the processing to step S 805 . [0096] In step S 804 , the OS 210 determines that a printing extensibility application 350 associated with the print queue 301 is present, and returns true as a result of the printing extensibility application search processing. This result of the printing extensibility application search processing also includes an identifier used for activating the printing extensibility application. [0097] On the other hand, in step S 805 , the OS 210 determines that no printing extensibility application 350 associated with the print queue 301 is present, and returns false as a result of the printing extensibility application search processing. Re claim 3: Natori discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an application program, the application program causing a computer of an information processing apparatus to: software capable of generating print data printable by printing apparatuses of a plurality of manufacturers (e.g. a shared printer driver is considered as a universal printer driver that can generate print data for a plurality of different printers. The OS uses this shared driver to generate print data to be output by the printers, which is taught in ¶ [41], [[115] and [116] above.), and causing the information processing apparatus to transmit the print data to the printing apparatuses of the plurality of manufacturers (e.g. the client computer can send a print job to one or more printers to output the print data, which is taught in ¶ [115] and [116] above.); and execute an image data generating processing that generates image data of a copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image that comes up when a piece of printed matter is copied, the image data being assigned to the piece of printed matter printed based on print data generated by the software (e.g. the printer is able to receive a job containing a copy-forgery-inhibited pattern and print this information based on the print data generated by the shared driver and OS, which is taught in ¶ [115] and [116] above.). However, Natori fails to specifically teach the features of support software capable of generating print data printable by printing apparatuses of a plurality of manufacturers. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Hosomizo. Similar to the primary reference, Hosomizo discloses using a support program to generate print data (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Hosomizo discloses support software capable of generating print data printable by printing apparatuses of a plurality of manufacturers (e.g. the supporting program is used to generate print data that is printable by the printer, which is taught in ¶ [60] and [61] above.). Therefore, in view of Hosomizo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of support software capable of generating print data printable by printing apparatuses of a plurality of manufacturers, incorporated in the device of Natori, in order to add features to a general use printing program with the support program features, which improves the use of the overall general-use printing program (as stated in Hosomizo ¶ [05]-[07]). Re claim 4: However, Natori fails to specifically teach the features of the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the application program further causes the computer of the information processing apparatus to: set execution conditions when executing the image data generating processing; and convert, based on the execution conditions that have been set, intermediate data generated by the software into the print data capable of printing the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image by the printing apparatus. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Hosomizo. Similar to the primary reference, Hosomizo discloses using a support program to generate print data (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Hosomizo discloses wherein the application program further causes the computer of the information processing apparatus to: set execution conditions when executing the image data generating processing; and convert, based on the execution conditions that have been set, intermediate data generated by the software into the print data capable of printing the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image by the printing apparatus (e.g. when conditions are set to perform the watermark printing, the support software is used to produce intermediate data in order to form a watermark image to be printed by the printer, which is taught in ¶ [50] and [58].). [0050] When the settings of the watermarks include the first settings, the supporting program 42 generates intermediate combined image data (arrow H). The intermediate combined image data is, for example, XPS format data. The process at the arrow H is an example of a generating process. For example, the supporting program 42 combines a watermark with the intermediate image data by generating a command based on the first settings in the XPS format and adding the command to the intermediate image data attached to the execution command (arrow H). Determining that the settings of a watermark include the first settings is an example of a case where it is determined that no specific condition is set. [0058] The supporting program 42 can obtain the print data from the execution command (arrow L). The process at the arrow L is an example of an obtaining process. The print data obtained at the arrow L is an example of the second image data. The supporting program 42 which obtained the print data checks whether the print parameters attached to the print data include settings of a watermark or not (arrow M). If settings of a watermark are included in the print parameter, the supporting program 42 determines whether the settings of a watermark include the second settings (arrow N). The process at the arrow N is an example of the determining process. Determining that the settings of a watermark include the second settings is an example of determining that a specific condition is set. If the settings of a watermark include the second settings, the supporting program 42 generates combined data based on the second settings. The combined data is raster image data of an image indicating a watermark (arrow O). The process at the arrow O is an example of the generating process. The supporting program 42 generates combined image data by combining the combined data with the print data (arrow P). The process at the arrow P is an example of the combining process. The combined data is an example of specific data and first image data. Therefore, in view of Hosomizo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the application program further causes the computer of the information processing apparatus to: set execution conditions when executing the image data generating processing; and convert, based on the execution conditions that have been set, intermediate data generated by the software into the print data capable of printing the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image by the printing apparatus, incorporated in the device of Natori, in order to add features to a general use printing program with the support program features, which improves the use of the overall general-use printing program (as stated in Hosomizo ¶ [05]-[07]). Re claim 5: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 4, wherein the application program further causes the computer of the information processing apparatus to: cause a display unit to display a setting screen on which the execution conditions are settable (e.g. a client computer can display execution conditions of the print job, which is seen in figure 7A and explained in ¶ [76].). [0076] In step S601, the OS 210 receives a print setting display event. The print setting display event is issued by the user executing a print command on an application having a print output function. In step S602, the OS 210 displays a simple print setting dialog 700. FIG. 7A illustrates an example of the simple print setting dialog 700, which is displayed on the display 207. The simple print setting dialog 700 allows setting to be performed with use of a printing apparatus setting 701, a paper size setting 702, and a number-of-copies setting 703, which are used for printing. An advanced setting button 705 is a button which is used to display the UI of the advanced print setting UI unit 352, which the printing extensibility application 350 provides. A print button 710 is a button which is used to start printing after completion of print setting. A cancel button 711 is a button which is used to stop print setting. Hereinafter, in the present exemplary embodiment, for the purpose of illustration, a printing apparatus which is used for printing set via the simple print setting dialog 700 is referred to as a “target printer”. More, the printing apparatus 102 is assumed to be selected as the target printer in the following description. Re claim 6: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 5, wherein the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image has a background part that disappears after copying and a latent image part that remains after copying (e.g. the invention discloses a copy forgery inhibited pattern that has some areas disappear while others remain after scanning, which is taught in ¶ [109].), and [0109] The printing extensibility application 350 performs control in such a manner that the density per predetermined area becomes similar between the latent image data generated in step S1001 and the background data generated in step S1002. This enables outputting a print product in which a region of a character string or a stamp expressed by large dots and a region expressed by small dots look as a thin uniform pattern (even pattern). If such a print product is scanned or copied to produce a copy thereof, in a region expressed by small dots, background data drawn with small dots is not read by the scanner and thus disappears in the copy, and a hidden character string drawn with large dots remains and emerges in the copy. Accordingly, the copy being a duplicated document becomes known at a glance. the setting screen includes, as the execution conditions, at least one of a selecting section that selects whether or not to execute the image data generating processing, a color determining section that determines a color of the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image, a density adjusting section that adjusts a density of the background part, and a density adjusting section that adjusts a density of the latent image part (e.g. the setting screen allows for selecting whether to perform the copy forgery inhibited pattern, color or density of the font shown, which is taught in ¶ [80] and illustrated in figure 7B.). Re claim 7: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 4, wherein the application program further causes the computer of the information processing apparatus to: cause a display unit to display an information screen including information about the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image (e.g. figure 7B is an information screen that displays information about the copy-forgery inhibited pattern, which is taught in [80].). [0080] In step S608, the printing extensibility application 350, which has been activated by the OS 210, displays an advanced print setting dialog 720. The advanced print setting UI unit 352 displays the advanced print setting dialog 720 based on PrintTicket and PrintCapabilities generated based on function text files for the target printer included in the file groups 313 and 314. FIG. 7B illustrates an example of the advanced print setting dialog 720 of the printing extensibility application 350. The user is allowed to perform settings about N-up printing 721, stapling 722, and copy-forgery-inhibited pattern printing 723 via the advanced print setting dialog 720 of the printing extensibility application 350. Re claim 8: However, Natori fails to specifically teach the features of the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 7, wherein the information screen includes, as the information about the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image, at least one of a print instructing section that instructs printing of a sample of the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image, and a sample image of the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Hosomizo. Similar to the primary reference, Hosomizo discloses using a support program to generate print data (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Hosomizo discloses wherein the information screen includes, as the information about the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image, at least one of a print instructing section that instructs printing of a sample of the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image, and a sample image of the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image (e.g. in the system, when a watermark is selected for printing, the user is able to see a sample of the watermark, which is taught in ¶ [38] and illustrated in figure 3.). [0038] For example, as shown in FIG. 3, when the watermark is selected from extended functions displayed in a print parameter editing screen D1, the supporting program 42 causes the UI 20 to display a watermark setting screen DA1. To the watermark setting screen DA1, check boxes C10 and C14, a watermark selection box B10, a watermark setting box B12, an OK button A14 and an EDIT button Al2 are provided. PNG media_image1.png 462 630 media_image1.png Greyscale Therefore, in view of Hosomizo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the information screen includes, as the information about the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image, at least one of a print instructing section that instructs printing of a sample of the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image, and a sample image of the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image, incorporated in the device of Natori, in order to add features to a general use printing program with the support program features, which improves the use of the overall general-use printing program (as stated in Hosomizo ¶ [05]-[07]). Re claim 9: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein software that is not capable of executing the image data generating processing is used as the software (e.g. the software can be considered as not able to perform the extended application function, which is taught in ¶ ¶ [104] above.). Re claim 10: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein software that runs based on the internet printing protocol (IPP) is used as the software (e.g. the software is compliant with the IPP, which is taught in ¶ [40].). [0040] The printer driver storage region 310 is a region in which printer drivers, such as the shared printer driver 211, are stored. Furthermore, while, in the present exemplary embodiment, a case where the shared printer driver 211 is previously installed is described as an example, in addition to the shared printer driver 211, other printer drivers can be previously installed. The shared printer driver 211 includes filters 311, a filter configuration 312, a device function text file group 313, a script file group 314, and an INF group 315. Furthermore, in the present exemplary embodiment, the filters 311 and the filter configuration 312 are used in common even when any printing apparatus is used. On the other hand, each of the file groups 313 and 314 and the INF groups 315 is stored as files which are different for the respective printing apparatuses serving as a destination for printing operation. The shared printer driver 211 switches files which the configuration module 304 uses, according to a printer serving as a destination for printing operation selected by the user. Furthermore, in the present exemplary embodiment, the shared printer driver 211 is assumed to be a universal printer driver, which is compatible with printing apparatuses of a plurality of vendors, and is assumed to be able to independently perform print setting compliant with the Internet Printing Protocol (IPP). While, in the present exemplary embodiment, it is supposed that the shared printer driver 211 is a driver installed by the user, the present exemplary embodiment is not limited to this. For example, the shared printer driver 211 can be a driver pre-installed in the OS 210. Re claim 11: Natori discloses a control method for an information processing apparatus comprising: software capable of generating print data printable by printing apparatuses of a plurality of manufacturers (e.g. a shared printer driver is considered as a universal printer driver that can generate print data for a plurality of different printers. The OS uses this shared driver to generate print data to be output by the printers, which is taught in ¶ [41], [[115] and [116] above.), and causing the information processing apparatus to transmit the print data to the printing apparatuses of the plurality of manufacturers (e.g. the client computer can send a print job to one or more printers to output the print data, which is taught in ¶ [115] and [116] above.); and causing the printing apparatus to execute an image data generating processing that generates image data of a copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image that comes up after a piece of printed matter is copied, the image data being assigned to the piece of printed matter printed based on print data generated by the software (e.g. the printer is able to receive a job containing a copy-forgery-inhibited pattern and print this information based on the print data generated by the shared driver and OS, which is taught in ¶ [115] and [116] above.). However, Natori fails to specifically teach the features of supporting software capable of generating print data printable by printing apparatuses of a plurality of manufacturers. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Hosomizo. Similar to the primary reference, Hosomizo discloses using a support program to generate print data (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Hosomizo discloses supporting software capable of generating print data printable by printing apparatuses of a plurality of manufacturers (e.g. the supporting program is used to generate print data that is printable by the printer, which is taught in ¶ [60] and [61] above.). Therefore, in view of Hosomizo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of supporting software capable of generating print data printable by printing apparatuses of a plurality of manufacturers, incorporated in the device of Natori, in order to add features to a general use printing program with the support program features, which improves the use of the overall general-use printing program (as stated in Hosomizo ¶ [05]-[07]). Re claim 12: Natori discloses an information processing apparatus comprising: software capable of generating print data printable by printing apparatuses of a plurality of manufacturers (e.g. a shared printer driver is considered as a universal printer driver that can generate print data for a plurality of different printers. The OS uses this shared driver to generate print data to be output by the printers, which is taught in ¶ [41], [[115] and [116] above.), and causing the information processing apparatus to transmit the print data to the printing apparatuses of the plurality of manufacturers (e.g. the client computer can send a print job to one or more printers to output the print data, which is taught in ¶ [115] and [116] above.), and wherein the application causes the printing apparatus to execute an image data generating processing that generates image data of a copy-forgery-inhibited pattern image that comes up after a piece of printed matter is copied, the image data being assigned to the piece of printed matter printed based on print data generated by the software (e.g. the printer is able to receive a job containing a copy-forgery-inhibited pattern and print this information based on the print data generated by the shared driver and OS, which is taught in ¶ [115] and [116] above.). However, Natori fails to specifically teach the features of an application that supports software capable of generating print data printable by printing apparatuses of a plurality of manufacturers. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Hosomizo. Similar to the primary reference, Hosomizo discloses using a support program to generate print data (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Hosomizo discloses an application that supports software capable of generating print data printable by printing apparatuses of a plurality of manufacturers (e.g. the supporting program is used to generate print data that is printable by the printer, which is taught in ¶ [60] and [61] above.). Therefore, in view of Hosomizo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of an application that supports software capable of generating print data printable by printing apparatuses of a plurality of manufacturers, incorporated in the device of Natori, in order to add features to a general use printing program with the support program features, which improves the use of the overall general-use printing program (as stated in Hosomizo ¶ [05]-[07]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shiohara discloses enabling extension software. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHAD S DICKERSON whose telephone number is (571)270-1351. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 10AM-6PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abderrahim Merouan can be reached at 571-270-5254 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHAD DICKERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 2 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 3 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 4 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 5 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 6 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 7 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 8 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 9 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 10 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 11 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 12 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 13 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 14 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 15 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 16 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 17 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 18 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 19 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 20 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/795,304 Page 21 Art Unit: 2683