Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Notices to Applicant
This communication is a non-final rejection. Claims 1-20, as filed 05/04/2026 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority is generally acknowledged as shown on the filing receipt with the earliest priority date being 08/09/2023.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon and the rationale supporting the rejection would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities. The claims recite “the dressing guidelines is automatically triggered” where the underlined word should be “are”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5, 13, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, the following terms lack antecedent basis: “the digital image”, “the wound area and tissue type analytics” (this is interpreted as “the wound care and tissue type analytics), “the digital device” (this is interpreted as “the mobile device”), and “the standardization of the wound and tissue type”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 13 recite “modified after a predetermined time period using machine learning based on whether the wound area has improved by at least a predetermined percentage threshold by calculating a percentage change in wound area over the predetermined time period,” but the Specification describes machine learning and the percentage threshold-based mechanisms as two separate mechanisms rather than machine learning performing threshold-based modifications. The only specifics on the machine learning analysis is “over time using machine learning to identify patient and wound characteristics in combination with specific standardized dressing guidelines that result in optimal wound healing” in [0035] (as published). That passage lacks the thresholds and comparisons of wound area. These processes are disclosed as rule-based thresholds rather than ML-determined thresholds: “It has been determined that an improvement of at least 25% in wound area is the threshold to trigger a wound guideline identified for a healing wound. Conversely, an improvement of less than 25% or a deterioration in the wound area triggers a non-healing wound guideline. Such determinations are made automatically in the disclosed platform” in [0048] (as published). The Examiner identifies no support for machine learning performing the recited threshold-based modifications; thus, it constitutes new matter.
Applicant may overcome this rejection by identifying specific support for these claims or amending the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
The claim(s) recite(s) subject matter within a statutory category as a process, machine, and/or article of manufacture which recite:
1. A system for optimizing wound healing in a patient, the system comprising:
a mobile device configured to capture an image of the wound; a processor configured to receive the digital image and to analyze the digital image using artificial intelligence, wherein the analysis includes (additional element - apply the abstract idea with a computer; insignificant extra-solution activity, namely, necessary data-gathering);
determining a total wound area from the digital image (abstract idea – mental process and mathematical concept because a clinician can look at a wound and estimate its area);
determining a percentage of tissue present in the wound based on color composition of the digital image (abstract idea – mental process because a clinician can look at a wound and judge the tissue from the color of the wound bed); and
classifying the wound into a tissue type based on the determined percentage of tissue present; (abstract idea – mental process);
a platform for receiving (a) wound care and tissue type analytics derived from the digital image and (b) point-of-care wound assessment information entered by a clinician (additional element - applying the abstract idea with a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, namely, necessary data gathering);
wherein the wound area and tissue type analytics and the point-of-care wound assessment information are combined to produce a dressing guideline with evidence-based standards of care for treating the wound (abstract idea – mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity, namely, following rules for managing guidelines); and
wherein the dressing guideline is modified after a predetermined time period using machine learning based on whether the wound area has improved by at least a predetermined percentage threshold by calculating a percentage change in wound area over the predetermined time period to identify patient and wound characteristics in combination with the dressing guideline to optimize wound healing (abstract idea – mental process; the machine learning is recited at a generic level with no architecture or training operations and thus amounts to merely applying the abstract idea with a computer); and
wherein the dressing guidelines is automatically triggered based on the combined wound area and tissue type (abstract idea – mental process; to the extent that this is non-abstract, it amounts to merely applying the abstract idea with a computer).
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the point-of-care wound assessment information is selected from one or more of wound type, wound stage, wound depth, drainage amount, presence of purulent drainage, peri-wound characteristics, presence of undermining, and presence of tunneling (abstract idea – mental process and applying the idea with a computer).
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the digital device is selected from one or more of a smart phone, a smart watch, a tablet, a laptop computer, a personal digital assistant, a pair of smart glasses, a virtual reality viewing device, a digital camera, and a digital scanning device (apply the abstract idea with a computer).
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the wound image is uploaded to a mobile application or computer for analyzing using artificial intelligence (apply the abstract idea with a computer).
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the standardization of the wound and tissue type is determined in part by the color of the wound image (abstract idea – mental process).
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the tissue type is selected from granulation, slough, eschar, or combinations thereof (abstract idea – mental process).
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the point-of-care wound assessment information is selected from one or more of patient allergies, patient health or immune problems, topography of the body part on which the wound lies, color of skin surrounding the wound, wound depth, wound stage, drainage amount, peri-wound characteristics, presence of tunneling, and presence of undermining (abstract idea – mental process).
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the wound dressing guideline comprises a type of wound dressing and wound treatment methods (abstract idea – mental process).
9. The system of claim 8, wherein the wound dressing guideline includes physical dressing information, chemical dressing information, geometrical dressing information, optical dressing information, electrical dressing information, number of layers, porosity of a layer, thickness of a dressing, adsorbing capacity, water penetration capacity, water vapor penetration capacity, gas penetration capacity, thickness, material, material form, pharmacological or healing enhancing additives, color, local absence of dressing, adhesive, or combinations thereof (abstract idea – mental process).
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the wound dressing guideline includes predictors of non-healing by wound type (abstract idea – mental process).
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the predetermined time period is two weeks (abstract idea – mental process).
12. The system of claim 1, wherein an improvement of at least about 25% in the wound area automatically triggers a wound guideline for the wound, while an improvement of less than about 25% or deterioration in the wound area automatically triggers a non-healing wound guideline (abstract idea – mental process).
Claims 1-12 are analyzed in detail but the same reasoning applies to claims 13-20.
Step 2A Prong One
The broadest reasonable interpretation of these steps includes mental processes and mathematical concepts because the italicized portions are analogous to the work of a wound care clinician or nurse assessing a patient’s wound. For example, but for the processor, artificial intelligence, and machine learning language, measuring a wound, judging the tissue proportions from the colors, naming the wound by the predominant tissue, selecting a dressing consistent with standards of care, and following up by observing the change to wound size and changing the dressing when a wound has not been reduced sufficiently. A human could perform these steps by a nurse tracing a wound onto a sheet of paper, observing a color key compared with the wound, and consulting a dressing guide. Computing an area, a percentage of tissue, and a percentage change in area are all mathematical concepts.
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which further narrows or defines the abstract idea embodied in the claims as shown in the analysis above. For example, claims 2 and 7 recite the source of the information, claim 6 recites the types of tissue under analysis, claims 8-10 recite dressing guidelines, and claims 11-12 recite the reassessment period and threshold.
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception. For example, a mobile device, the processor, the artificial intelligence, and the platform amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, see the published application [0009] and [0037] and MPEP 2106.05(f)). The machine learning and artificial intelligence are recited functionally with no architecture or training mechanisms. A generically recited model being used as a tool to perform the abstract ideas amounts to merely applying the abstract idea using computers as tools.
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea. For example, capturing an image of a wound amounts to mere data gathering, selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated, see MPEP 2106.05(g), and generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use such as cameras and AI, see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment such as wound care performed with a camera-equipped mobile device (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. For example, claims 3 and 4 apply the abstract idea using computers as tools. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Additionally, the additional limitations, other than the abstract idea per se amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields. For example, the platform receiving the analytics and the clinician-entered assessment information amounts to receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i), performing repetitive calculations, Flook, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(ii), electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp., MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iii), and/or storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barakat-Johnson (Barakat-Johnson M, Jones A, Burger M, Leong T, Frotjold A, Randall S, Kim B, Fethney J, Coyer F. Reshaping wound care: Evaluation of an artificial intelligence app to improve wound assessment and management amid the COVID-19 pandemic. Int Wound J. 2022 Oct;19(6):1561-1577.) in view of Ramachandram (Ramachandram D, Ramirez-GarciaLuna J, Fraser R, Martínez-Jiménez M, Arriaga-Caballero J, Allport J; Fully Automated Wound Tissue Segmentation Using Deep Learning on Mobile Devices: Cohort Study; JMIR Mhealth Uhealth 2022;10(4):e36977), AHRQ (On-Time Pressure Ulcer Assessment. Content last reviewed December 2017. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.), and Fan (US20210201479A1).
Regarding claim 1, Barakat-Johnson discloses: A system for optimizing wound healing in a patient (“The TA app is a cloud-based application to measure, analyse and treat wounds,” p. 1564), the system comprising:
--a mobile device configured to capture an image of the wound; a processor configured to receive the digital image and to analyze the digital image using artificial intelligence, wherein the analysis includes (“The TA app is designed to facilitate patient wound care delivery using artificial intelligence-based technology to support clinical decision-making… The TA app was available for any smartphone and Android device with an integrated camera,” p. 1564; “Tissue Analytics application is a machine learning application, which fits under the overall artificial intelligence,” p. 1563);
--determining a total wound area from the digital image (“By capturing an image of the wound, the TA app analyses its dimensions and perimeters, surface area and tissue composition and presents augmented,” p. 1564);
--a platform for receiving (a) wound care and tissue type analytics derived from the digital image and (b) point-of-care wound assessment information entered by a clinician (“The app allowed them to efficiently document specific information, such as the types of tissues, exudate and the types of dressings applied, in a structured format,” p. 1569; Impute and amend wound information in Box 1 on p. 1566);
--wherein the wound area and tissue type analytics and the point-of-care wound assessment information are combined to produce a dressing guideline with evidence-based standards of care for treating the wound (“clinical decision-support capability such as an algorithm that provides clinicians with treatment options,” p. 1563; “Certain applications have algorithms and clinical decision-support tools to assist in determining the best treatment options, the type of wound products to use, the tracking of the wound healing progression and the next steps to take,” p. 1563); and
--wherein the dressing guidelines is automatically triggered based on the combined wound area and tissue type (“It then analyses the wound and can give the nurse the option of dressings to put on that wound,” p. 1571).
Barakat-Johnson does not expressly disclose but Ramachandram teaches:
--determining a percentage of tissue present in the wound based on color composition of the digital image (“various color spectra when observed through a conventional imaging sensor…The models developed could automatically detect the location of a wound in an image, delineate the accurate boundaries of the wound, determine if any of the 4 types of tissue are present within the wound bed, and finally compute their relative proportions for reporting.” p. 2).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand Barakat-Johnson’s tissue composition analysis to include the automated tissue segmentation of Ramachandram because objective tissue identification removes the guesswork of wound analysis, offers improved treatment selection (see Ramachandram p. 2), and because Ramachandram’s models run in near real time on the same off-the-shelf smartphones Barakat-Johnson uses.
Barakat-Johnson and Ramachandram do not expressly disclose but AHRQ teaches:
--classifying the wound into a tissue type based on the determined percentage of tissue present (“choose the type of necrotic tissue that is predominant in the wound according to color, consistency, and adherence…Use a transparent metric measuring guide with concentric circles divided into four (25%) pie-shaped quadrants to help determine percentage of wound involved” p. 2).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand the wound tracking of Barakat-Johnson and Ramachandram to include the predominant tissue type classification of AHRQ because this assessment can help identify risks for slow healing (page 1).
Barakat-Johnson, Ramachandram, and AHRQ do not expressly disclose but Fan teaches:
--wherein the dressing guideline is modified after a predetermined time period using machine learning based on whether the wound area has improved by at least a predetermined percentage threshold by calculating a percentage change in wound area over the predetermined time period to identify patient and wound characteristics in combination with the dressing guideline to optimize wound healing (“determining an expected percent area reduction of the wound over the predetermined time interval,” [0012]; “At approximately day 30, the wound is assessed to determine if it is healing (e.g., percent area reduction of greater than 50%),” [0056]; “updating at least one machine learning algorithm of the one or more machine learning algorithms by providing at least the image and the actual amount of healing of the wound as training data,” [0012]; “identify at least one patient health metric value corresponding to a patient having the tissue region,” [0008]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand the wound tracking of Barakat-Johnson, Ramachandram, and AHRQ to include the threshold-based therapy selection and ML updates of Fan because selecting care based on thresholds and feeding the observed healing back into the model would result in better patient care such as “reduced healing times and fewer amputations” [0058].
Additionally, each element is taught by either Barakat-Johnson, Ramachandram, AHRQ, or Fan. Ramachandram and AHRQ’s automated tissue segmentation and Fan’s threshold-based therapy selection do not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Barakat-Johnson. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Barakat-Johnson, Ramachandram, and AHRQ with the teachings of Fan since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Barakat-Johnson discloses: wherein the point-of-care wound assessment information is selected from one or more of wound type, wound stage, wound depth, drainage amount, presence of purulent drainage, peri-wound characteristics, presence of undermining, and presence of tunneling (“documentation of pain, wound size, exudate, odour,” p. 1564; Input wound date in FIGURE 3 shows would type, depth description, and more).
Regarding claim 3, Barakat-Johnson discloses: wherein the digital device is selected from one or more of a smart phone, a smart watch, a tablet, a laptop computer, a personal digital assistant, a pair of smart glasses, a virtual reality viewing device, a digital camera, and a digital scanning device (smartphone on page 1563; the portions of p. 1564 cited for claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Barakat-Johnson discloses: wherein the wound image is uploaded to a mobile application or computer for analyzing using artificial intelligence (“The TA app is a cloud‐based application to measure, analyse and treat wounds. The TA app is designed to facilitate patient wound care delivery using artificial intelligence‐based technology to support clinical decision‐making. By capturing an image of the wound, the TA app analyses its dimensions and perimeters, surface area and tissue composition and presents augmented visual images (Figure 2),” page 1564; “Clinicians were trained by the application vendor on the use of the TA app prior to enrolment. They were instructed to download the TA app on their work smartphone,” p. 1566).
Regarding claim 5, Barakat-Johnson does not expressly disclose but Ramachandram teaches: wherein the standardization of the wound and tissue type is determined in part by the color of the wound image (Background and Related work on pp. 2-3). The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Barakat-Johnson does not expressly disclose but Ramachandram teaches: wherein the tissue type is selected from granulation, slough, eschar, or combinations thereof (“4 different tissue types (epithelial, granulation, slough, and eschar) within the wound bed were independently labeled,” Abstract; “The tissue segmentation network, AutoTissue, produces a dense prediction of 4 wound tissue types (epithelial, granulation, slough, and eschar) when present within the detected wound bed,” page 4). The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Barakat-Johnson discloses: wherein the point-of-care wound assessment information is selected from one or more of patient allergies, patient health or immune problems, topography of the body part on which the wound lies, color of skin surrounding the wound, wound depth, wound stage, drainage amount, peri-wound characteristics, presence of tunneling, and presence of undermining (FIGURE 3 includes Periwound assessment, Wound Site/Location, Depth description, and other assessments; “completeness of wound-related documentation determined by the documentation of pain, wound size, exudate, odour,” p. 1564).
Regarding claim 8, Barakat-Johnson discloses: wherein the wound dressing guideline comprises a type of wound dressing and wound treatment methods (PRODUCTS and CONSIDERATIONS in FIGURE 3; p. 1563).
Regarding claim 9, Barakat-Johnson discloses: wherein the wound dressing guideline includes physical dressing information, chemical dressing information, geometrical dressing information, optical dressing information, electrical dressing information, number of layers, porosity of a layer, thickness of a dressing, adsorbing capacity, water penetration capacity, water vapor penetration capacity, gas penetration capacity, thickness, material, material form, pharmacological or healing enhancing additives, color, local absence of dressing, adhesive, or combinations thereof (“self-adhesive fixation” in FIGURE 3).
Regarding claim 10, Barakat-Johnson, Ramachandram, and AHRQ do not expressly disclose but Fan teaches: wherein the wound dressing guideline includes predictors of non-healing by wound type (“when the predicted healing parameter indicates that the wound, preferably a DFU, will not heal or close by greater than 50% in 30 days, indicating or applying one or more advanced care therapies selected from the group consisting of hyperbaric oxygen therapy, negative-pressure wound therapy, bioengineered skin substitutes, synthetic growth factors,” [0012]). The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected with the same reasoning. Barakat-Johnson, Ramachandram, and AHRQ do not expressly disclose but Fan teaches:
--calculating a percentage change in wound area based on a subsequent digital image of the wound (“measuring one or more dimensions of the wound after the predetermined time interval has elapsed following the determination,” [0012]), and
--(ii) modifying the wound dressing guideline based on whether the percentage change in wound area meets a predetermined threshold (“At approximately day 30, the wound is assessed to determine if it is healing (e.g., percent area reduction of greater than 50%). If the wound is not healing sufficiently, the treatment is supplemented with one or more advanced wound management therapies,” [0056]).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Claims 14-20 are substantially similar to claims 2-8 and are rejected with the same reasoning.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barakat-Johnson in view of Ramachandram, AHRQ, Fan, and Harries (R. L. Harries, D. C. Bosanquet, and K. G. Harding, Wound Bed Preparation: TIME for an Update, International Wound Journal 13 Suppl 3, no. Suppl 3 (2016).).
Regarding claim 11, Barakat-Johnson discloses weekly check-ups, but not every two weeks. Harries teaches: wherein the predetermined time period is two weeks (“A 20–40% reduction in wound area after 2 and 4 weeks of treatment has been shown to be a reliable predictor of healing,” page 11).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the effective filing date to expand the wound classification of Barakat-Johnson, Ramachandram, AHRQ, and Fan to include the two-week follow-up assessment of Harries because it would require fewer clinical resources than Barakat-Jonson’s weekly check-up while maintaining efficacy of treatment (page 11).
Regarding claim 12, Barakat-Johnson, Ramachandram, AHRQ, and Fan do not expressly disclose but Harries teaches: wherein an improvement of at least about 25% in the wound area automatically triggers a wound guideline for the wound, while an improvement of less than about 25% or deterioration in the wound area automatically triggers a non-healing wound guideline (“A 20–40% reduction in wound area after 2 and 4 weeks of treatment has been shown to be a reliable predictor of healing,” page 11).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the effective filing date to expand the healing threshold of Barakat-Johnson, Ramachandram, AHRQ, and Fan to include the 20-40% reduction of Harries because a reduction in that range is a reliable predictor of healing, which lets the healing versus non-healing guideline be selected on an evidence-based cutoff and thus improves patient health (page 11).
Response to arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/04/2026 have been fully considered and are discussed below.
Regarding the subject matter ineligibility rejections, Applicant argues that the claimed invention is not directed to a mental process (Step 2A Prong One) because the claims require quantifying tissue composition from image color data and using that value in a classification and rule-based system cannot be performed mentally, citing McRO. Remarks pages 11-13. This is not persuasive because the BRI of the steps encompasses observations, evaluations, and judgments a clinician can practicably perform mentally and because a generically recited model invoked as a tool does not remove the invention from reciting an otherwise mental step. Unlike a claim that improves a technical process, MPEP 2106.05(a), the claimed invention recites the result of an analysis (i.e., determining an area, calculating a percentage, classifying the wound, and producing a guideline) with no technical mechanism going beyond the abstract idea. Applicant generally invokes broad categories of machine learning to perform the steps ([0034] as published), but this does not go beyond merely applying the abstract idea with a computer.
Applicant argues that the claimed invention integrates any abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B) because they improve the way wound characteristics are measured, evaluated, and tracked, and recite a non-conventional ordered combination, citing ENFISH and BASCOM. Remarks pages 13-14. This is not persuasive because the asserted improvement is to the assessment of wounds and clinical decision-making which is the abstract idea itself rather than the functioning of a computer or other technology. MPEP 2106.05(a). Claim 1 recites the result of modifying a guideline being performed on a generic computing device. Automating manually processes to make them faster and improving “the accuracy , objectivity, and consistency of wound evaluation and treatment guidance” amounts to using computers as a tool rather than technical improvements.
Applicant asserts that the Examiner failed to analyze the steps as an ordered combination. Remarks page 15. This is not persuasive because The Examiner indeed considered the combination as described above. For example, the additional elements (i.e., processor and mobile device) were viewed as part of the image capture and data analysis platform to determine if something unconventional like the server filtering of BASCOM was present. The unconventional arrangement analysis if limited to the additional elements, lest it collapses the subject matter eligibility into the 102/103 analysis. The sequence Applicant identifies is the abstract idea itself, and the additional elements perform their generic functions in a conventional order. MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(I).
Regarding the prior art rejections, Applicant’s arguments regarding classifying the wound into a tissue type based on the determined percentage of tissue present, Remarks pages 15-16, are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on AHRQ for that teaching.
Applicant argues that claims 1 and 13 require a closed-loop, feedback-controlled modification of the dressing guideline based on a percentage change in wound area derived from repeatedly acquired subsequent digital images, and that Fan discloses only a general use of healing thresholds. Remarks page 18. This is not persuasive because claim 1 recites calculating a percentage change in wound area over the predetermined time period. Neither claim 1 nor claim 13 recites a closed loop, feedback control, or repeated image acquisition. Fan measures the wound after the predetermined time interval has elapsed, determines the percent area reduction over that interval, assesses at day 30 whether the reduction exceeds 50%, supplements the treatment when it does not, and updates its machine learning algorithm by providing the image and the actual amount of healing as training data, as set forth above.
Applicant argues that the rejection relies on impermissible hindsight because it assigns portions of the claimed workflow to different references and combines them without reasoning beyond the general proposition that wound assessment techniques may be combined. Remarks pages 18-19. This is not persuasive because the rejection gives, for each combination, a reason drawn from the references themselves. Ramachandram states that objective tissue measurement offers improved treatment selection and that its models run in near real time on mobile devices. AHRQ states that its assessment data populate electronic reports that include rules to determine risk for slow healing, and Ramachandram identifies the Bates-Jensen Wound Assessment Tool, on which AHRQ’s assessment is built, as the tool that uses tissue composition to assess risk and recommend treatment. Fan states that its threshold-based therapy selection may result in reduced healing times and fewer amputations. A reconstruction that takes into account only knowledge within the level of ordinary skill at the time of the claimed invention, and not knowledge gleaned only from Applicant’s disclosure, is proper. MPEP 2145(X)(A).
Applicant argues that, even if combined, the references would not teach classifying a wound based on a percentage of tissue derived from color composition, automatically triggering a dressing guideline based on the combined wound area and tissue type, or modifying that guideline based on calculated percentage changes in wound area within a unified system. Remarks page 19. This is not persuasive for the reasons given above. Each of these limitations is taught by the combination as set forth in the rejection, and the combination is the system of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Applicant argues that Harries describes observational clinical timeframes rather than a system configured to reassess a wound at a predetermined time period. Regarding claim 12, Applicant argues that Harries identifies a clinical correlation rather than a threshold applied as a rule to automatically trigger different treatment guidelines, and that Harries does not integrate threshold-based logic with image-derived analytics and point-of-care information. Remarks pages 20-21. This is not persuasive because Harries is relied upon only for the two-week period and the threshold value. The system that reassesses the wound after a predetermined time interval and applies a healing threshold to route the wound to standard or advanced therapy is Fan’s, and the system that combines image-derived analytics with point-of-care information is Barakat-Johnson’s, as set forth above. Applicant further argues that incorporating the timeframes and healing predictors of Harries relies on hindsight. This is not persuasive because the reason to combine comes from Harries itself, which states that a 20–40% reduction in wound area after 2 and 4 weeks of treatment is a reliable predictor of healing (page 11).
The following references are not relied upon for any rejection but are considered pertinent.
Shi (Shi RB, Qiu J, Maida V. Towards algorithm-enabled home wound monitoring with smartphone photography: A hue-saturation-value colour space thresholding technique for wound content tracking. Int Wound J. 2019 Feb;16(1):211-218. doi: 10.1111/iwj.13011. Epub 2018 Oct 31. PMID: 30379398; PMCID: PMC7948822.) discloses a smartphone image analysis algorithm to “quantitatively classify wound content as an index of wound healing” and track “wound composition percentage” (Abstract).
Vogel (US20210290152A1) discloses “area reduction (by percent) as compared to the initial wound area as the metric of wound healing progress and targets based on week since the beginning of treatment” [0100] and “changing or updating the first wound healing plan to a second wound healing plan when the assessed deviation exceeds a threshold” [0013].
Conclusion
/JOSHUA B BLANCHETTE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624