DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy of foreign patent application number 202311227530.5, filed in China on September 22, 2023, has been received and made of record.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (lDS) submitted on August 6, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is being considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 10, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0085447 to Kanemitsu et al. (hereinafter “Kanemitsu”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0029359 to Nenonen.
Regarding claim 1, Kanemitsu teaches a method for image processing comprising obtaining a sensor image (e.g., [0035]), performing a lens shading correction on the sensor image to obtain a first image (e.g., [0038]), and performing an automatic white balance processing on that image to obtain a new image (e.g., [0042]). Kanemitsu, however, has not been found by the Examiner to expressly perform a weighted masking on the first image to obtain a second image, prior to performing the automatic white balancing.
Nevertheless, Nenonen teaches performing a weighted masking on an image to obtain a next image (e.g., [0078], [0095-102]), then performing an automatic white balance processing on that image to obtain another image (e.g., [0106]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Nenonen to the method as taught by Kanemitsu in order to address a change in capture light.
Regarding claim 2, Kanemitsu and Nenonen teach all of the limitations of claim 2 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the sensor image includes a plurality of continuous sensor images (e.g., ‘447 – [0035]), and the lens shading correction, the weighted masking and the automatic white balance processing are performed on each of the sensor images to obtain the first images, the second images and the third images corresponding to respective ones of the sensor images (e.g., ‘447 – [0035-46]).
Regarding claim 10, Kanemitsu teaches an electronic device comprising a sensor module configured to obtain sensor images (e.g., fig. 1, element 2; [0035]) and a processor (e.g., fig. 1, element 4; [0036]) configured to, perform a lens shading correction on the sensor image to obtain a first image (e.g., [0038]), and perform an automatic white balance processing on that image to obtain a new image (e.g., [0042]). Kanemitsu, however, has not been found by the Examiner to expressly perform a weighted masking on the first image to obtain a second image, prior to performing the automatic white balancing.
Nevertheless, Nenonen teaches performing a weighted masking on an image to obtain a next image (e.g., [0078], [0095-102]), then performing an automatic white balance processing on that image to obtain another image (e.g., [0106]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Nenonen to the method as taught by Kanemitsu in order to address a change in capture light.
Regarding claim 11, Kanemitsu and Nenonen teach all of the limitations of claim 11 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 10, supra) including teaching wherein the sensor image includes a plurality of continuous sensor images (e.g., ‘447 – [0035]), and the processor performs the lens shading correction, the weighted masking and the automatic white balance processing on each of the sensor images to obtain the first images, the second images and the third images corresponding to respective ones of the sensor images (e.g., ‘447 – [0035-46]).
Regarding claim 19, Kanemitsu and Nenonen teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions (e.g., ‘359 – [0157]) that, when executed by a processor (e.g., ‘447 – fig. 1, element 4), cause the processor to execute the method of claim 1 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1, supra).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 and 12-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 10,855,964 to Cao et al. teaches lens shading correction prior to automatic white balancing.
Contact
/GARY C VIEAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638