DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamaguchi (US 20200169842 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamaguchi discloses:
“A control device, comprising: a control unit that performs calibration processing for calibrating a radio wave intensity of a signal transmitted and received between a control target and a portable device on the basis of calibration information stored in the portable device, wherein” ([¶ 0100]: “In this way, after the calibration coefficient associated with the authorized mobile terminal 10 is read (S253), the radio wave intensity previously stored in S251 is calibrated with the use of the calibration coefficient (S254). As described above, the calibration coefficient is a coefficient for calibrating that the radio wave intensity at the time of transmitting the radio wave by the mobile terminal 10 differs depending on the difference in model or the individual difference of the mobile terminal 10, and therefore, the radio wave intensity is calibrated by using the calibration coefficient, thereby being capable of removing the difference of the model or the individual difference of the mobile terminal 10.”)
“whether or not to cause a controlled device provided in the control target to perform a prescribed operation is determined on the basis of the calibrated radio wave intensity.” ([¶ 0082]: “Then, it is determined whether the radio wave intensity acquired in S201 is larger than the read threshold intensity (S204). Then, when the radio wave intensity is larger than the threshold intensity (YES in S204), it is determined that the authorized mobile terminal 10 is present within the predetermined threshold distance from the vehicle 1 (S205). On the other hand, when the radio wave intensity is smaller than the threshold intensity (NO in S204), it is determined that the authorized mobile terminal 10 is not present within the threshold distance (S206).”)
Regarding claim 2, Yamaguchi discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Yamaguchi further discloses “wherein as the calibration processing, the control unit calibrates a received radio wave intensity of a signal received from the portable device on the basis of the calibration information.” ([¶ 0100]: “In this way, after the calibration coefficient associated with the authorized mobile terminal 10 is read (S253), the radio wave intensity previously stored in S251 is calibrated with the use of the calibration coefficient (S254).”)
Regarding claim 3, Yamaguchi discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Yamaguchi further discloses “the control device is provided in the portable device, and the control unit calibrates, on the basis of the calibration information, a received radio wave intensity of a signal received by the control target from the portable device, the received radio wave intensity being received from the control target, and transmits the calibrated radio wave intensity to the control target.” ([¶ 0100]: “In this way, after the calibration coefficient associated with the authorized mobile terminal 10 is read (S253), the radio wave intensity previously stored in S251 is calibrated with the use of the calibration coefficient (S254).”)
Regarding claim 4, Yamaguchi discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Yamaguchi further discloses “wherein as the calibration processing, the control unit calibrates a received radio wave intensity of a signal received from the portable device on the basis of the calibration information.” ([¶ 0071]: “Thereafter, the threshold intensity thus determined is associated with the identification information previously registered as the authorized terminal identification information in S106 and registered as the calibration information (S109), and then the calibration information registration process of FIG. 6 is terminated.”)
Regarding claim 5, Yamaguchi discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Yamaguchi further discloses “wherein the control unit calibrates a received radio wave intensity of a signal received from the portable device on the basis of the calibration information included in the signal.” ([¶ 0071]: “Thereafter, the threshold intensity thus determined is associated with the identification information previously registered as the authorized terminal identification information in S106 and registered as the calibration information (S109), and then the calibration information registration process of FIG. 6 is terminated.”)
Regarding claim 6, Yamaguchi discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Yamaguchi further discloses “the control device is provided in the portable device, and as the calibration processing, the control unit calibrates an output radio wave intensity of a signal transmitted by the portable device on the basis of the calibration information.” ([¶ 0100]: “In this way, after the calibration coefficient associated with the authorized mobile terminal 10 is read (S253), the radio wave intensity previously stored in S251 is calibrated with the use of the calibration coefficient (S254).”)
Regarding claim 7, Yamaguchi discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Yamaguchi further discloses “wherein the control unit calculates the calibration information on the basis of comparison between a received radio wave intensity of a signal received by the control target from the portable device and a preliminarily stored reference value.” ([¶ 0070]: “Then, the acquired radio wave intensity is compared with a standard radio wave intensity stored in advance, to thereby determine the calibration information (in this example, the threshold intensity) for the mobile terminal 10 to be registered (S108).”)
Regarding claim 8, Yamaguchi discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Yamaguchi further discloses “wherein the prescribed operation includes locking or unlocking of a door provided in the control target.” ([¶ 0003]: “Techniques have been proposed for providing various services, such as unlocking (or preparation for locking) a door of a vehicle or illuminating a foot, upon detecting that a person carrying an electronic key approaches the vehicle.”)
Claims 9-10 are substantially similar to claim 1, with the differences amounting to that claim 1 is directed towards an apparatus while claim 9 is directed towards a computer readable medium and claim 10 is directed towards a system. Thus, claims 9-10 are rejected for similar reasons to claim 1.
Conclusion
/SAAD KHAWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412