DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-17 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chung (US 2023/0165450).
EXAMINER’S NOTE: the following rejection relies on a third embodiment (Figs. 9-10) of Chung. On Para. [0075], however, Chung discloses “other details of this [third] embodiment are similar to the ones of the first embodiment… detailed description is omitted herein for simplicity”. As such, element numbers from the first embodiment (Figs. 1-6) will be used for common structure not labeled in the third embodiment.
Regarding Claim 1, Chung discloses an electronic assembly (Fig. 9, 11’’; [0073]) for a medical device (Fig. 1, 1; [0049]), the electronic assembly including:
a body (Fig. 9, 111’’; [0073]) including a plurality of electrical connection points (Figs. 4-5 & 10, four image-sensing-device mounting contacts of 113’’ on 1111’’, 1131, 1132 and 1181’’; [0053], [0058] & [0075]) and a plurality of electrical traces (Figs. 9 & 10, 113’’; [0073]) in a material that is electrically insulative (Fig. 9, 111’’ is made of ceramic; [0095]), wherein the plurality of electrical connection points are on one or more external surfaces of the body (see Figs. 9 & 10), wherein the plurality of electrical connection points includes proximal connection points (Figs. 4 & 5, 1131 and 1132; [0058]) and distal connection points (Fig. 10, four image-sensing-device mounting contacts of 113’’ on 1111’’ and 1181’’; [0053] & [0075]), and wherein each electrical trace of the plurality of electrical traces connects a proximal connection point to a respective distal connection point ([0053]);
at least one imaging device (Fig. 10, an image assembly comprising 112’’ and 115’’; [0073]) coupled to one or more of the distal connection points (Fig. 10, 112’’ of the image assembly is coupled to the four image-sensing-device mounting contacts of 113’’ on 1111’’ via 1121; [0053]); and
at least one light source (Fig. 10, 118’’; [0074]) coupled to one or more of the distal connection points (Fig. 10, 1181’’; [0075]).
Regarding Claim 2, Chung discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Chung further discloses wherein the at least one imaging device and the at least one light source face in a same direction (see Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 3, Chung discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Chung further discloses wherein the plurality of electrical connection points includes a plurality of cable connection points (Fig. 5, 1132; [0058]) and at least one sensor connection point (Fig. 4, 1131; [0058]).
Regarding Claim 6, Chung discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Chung further discloses wherein the body includes an end face (Fig. 10, 1111’’; [0075]) and at least one arm (Fig. 10, 1118’’; [0075]) adjacent to, and extending distally of, the end face (see Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 7, Chung discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 6. Chung further discloses wherein the end face includes at least one of the distal connection points (Fig. 10, the four image-sensing-device mounting contacts of 113’’ are disposed on 1111’’; [0053] & [0075]), and the at least one imaging device is coupled to the distal connection point on the end face ([0053]).
Regarding Claim 8, Chung discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 6. Chung further discloses wherein the at least one arm includes at least one of the distal connection points (Fig. 10, 1181’’; [0075]), and the at least one light source is coupled to the distal connection point on the at least one arm ([0075]).
Regarding Claim 9, Chung discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Chung further discloses wherein the at least one light source includes two light-emitting diodes LEDs ([0075]) positioned on opposing sides of the at least one imaging device (see Figs. 9 & 10).
Regarding Claim 10, Chung discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 9. Chung further discloses wherein the LEDs are proximal to the at least one imaging device (118’’ are proximal to the 115’’ of the image assembly; see Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 11, Chung discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Chung further discloses wherein the material of the body comprises a ceramic and/or other non-conductive materials ([0095]).
Regarding Claim 12, Chung discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Chung further discloses wherein the plurality of electrical traces comprise copper and/or other conductive materials (Fig. 9, 113’’ is electrically conductive; [0073]).
Regarding Claim 13, Chung discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Chung further discloses wherein the plurality of electrical traces passes through an interior of the body ([0075]).
Regarding Claim 14, Chung discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Chung further discloses a capacitor and a resistor (Fig. 4, 117; [0065]).
Regarding Claim 15, Chung discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Chung further discloses wherein the body includes an end face (Fig. 4, 1114A; [0062]) that has a curved surface (see Figs. 3 & 4).
Regarding Claim 16, Chung discloses an electronic assembly (Fig. 9, 11’’; [0073]) for a medical device (Fig. 1, 1; [0049]), the electronic assembly including:
a body (Fig. 9, 111’’; [0073]) that includes an end face (Fig. 10, 1111’’; [0075]) and at least one arm (Fig. 10, 1118’’; [0075]) adjacent to and extending distally of the end face (see Fig. 10), wherein the body comprises an electrically insulative material (Fig. 9, 111’’ is made of ceramic; [0095]), a plurality of electrical connection points (Figs. 4-5 & 10, four image-sensing-device mounting contacts of 113’’ on 1111’’, 1131, 1132 and 1181’’; [0053], [0058] & [0075]), and a plurality of electrically conductive traces (Figs. 9 & 10, 113’’; [0073]);
at least one imaging device (Fig. 10, an image assembly comprising 112’’ and 115’’; [0073]) coupled to the end face of the body ([0053]); and
at least one light source (Fig. 10, 118’’; [0074]) coupled to the at least one arm ([0075]).
Regarding Claim 17, Chung discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 16. Chung further discloses wherein the plurality of electrical connection points includes proximal connection points (Figs. 4 & 5, 1131 and 1132; [0058]) and distal connection points (Fig. 10, four image-sensing-device mounting contacts of 113’’ on 1111’’ and 1181’’; [0053] & [0075]), and wherein each electrically conductive trace of the plurality of electrically conductive traces electrically connects a proximal connection point to a respective distal connection point ([0053]).
Regarding Claim 19, Chung discloses an electronic assembly (Fig. 9, 11’’; [0073]) for a medical device (Fig. 1, 1; [0049]), the electronic assembly including:
a body (Fig. 9, 111’’; [0073]) that includes an end face (Fig. 10, 1111’’; [0075]) and at least one arm (Fig. 10, 1118’’; [0075]) adjacent to the end face (see Fig. 10), wherein the body comprises an electrically insulative material (Fig. 9, 111’’ is made of ceramic; [0095]), a plurality of electrical connection points (Figs. 4-5 & 10, four image-sensing-device mounting contacts of 113’’ on 1111’’, 1131, 1132 and 1181’’; [0053], [0058] & [0075]) on an external surface of the body (see Figs. 9 & 10), and a plurality of electrically conductive traces (Figs. 9 & 10, 113’’; [0073]) that passes through an interior of the body between two electrical connection points of the plurality of electrical connection points ([0075]);
at least one imaging device (Fig. 10, an image assembly comprising 112’’ and 115’’; [0073]) coupled to the end face ([0053]); and
at least one light source (Fig. 10, 118’’; [0074]) coupled to the at least one arm ([0075]).
Regarding Claim 20, Chung discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 19. Chung further discloses wherein the plurality of electrical connection points includes proximal connection points (Fig. 5, 1132; [0058]) and distal connection points (Fig. 10, four image-sensing-device mounting contacts of 113’’ on 1111’’, 1131 and 1181’’; [0053], [0058] & [0075]), a proximal portion of the body (Fig. 2, 1112; [0052]) including the proximal connection points (Fig. 5, 1132; [0058]) and an intermediate portion of the body (Fig. 9, 1113’’; [0075]) including the distal connection points (Fig. 4, 1131; [0058]), and wherein the body includes a stepped portion (Fig. 4, 1117; [0055]) between the proximal portion and the intermediate portion (see Figs. 4 & 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US 2023/0165450) in view of Kucklick (US 2012/0029280).
Regarding Claims 4-5, Chung discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Chung further discloses at least one electrical component (Fig. 4, 117; [0065]) coupled to the body on a side of the body opposite at least one electrical connection point of the plurality of electrical connection points (Figs. 4 & 5, 117 is disposed on 1115 which is a side opposite 1112 which has 1132; [0055], [0058] & [0065]).
Chung fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one electrical component is at least one sensor; and wherein the at least one sensor includes a pressure sensor.
However, Kucklick teaches an electronic assembly (Fig. 4, 7; [0038]) for a medical device (Fig. 1, 1; [0037]), the electronic assembly including:
a body (Fig. 5a, 18; [0041]) including electrical connection points (Fig. 5b, 21; [0041]);
an imaging device (Fig. 6, 24; [0042]) coupled to one or more of the connection points ([0041]); and
a pressure sensor (Fig. 6, 22; [0041]).
The advantage of the distal pressure sensor is to accurately measure pressure inside of a patient during a procedure (Kucklick; [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric component as disclosed by Chung, to be the pressure sensor taught by Kucklick, to accurately measure pressure inside of a patient during a procedure (Kucklick; [0066]).
Regarding Claim 18, Chung discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 16. Chung further discloses an electric component (Fig. 4, 117; [0065]) coupled to one or more of the electrical connection points of the plurality of electrical connection points (Fig. 4, 117 is coupled to 1132; [0058] & [0065]).
Chung fails to explicitly disclose wherein the electrical component is pressure sensor.
However, Kucklick teaches an electronic assembly (Fig. 4, 7; [0038]) for a medical device (Fig. 1, 1; [0037]), the electronic assembly including:
a body (Fig. 5a, 18; [0041]) including electrical connection points (Fig. 5b, 21; [0041]);
an imaging device (Fig. 6, 24; [0042]) coupled to one or more of the connection points ([0041]); and
a pressure sensor (Fig. 6, 22; [0041]).
The advantage of the distal pressure sensor is to accurately measure pressure inside of a patient during a procedure (Kucklick; [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric component as disclosed by Chung, to be the pressure sensor taught by Kucklick, to accurately measure pressure inside of a patient during a procedure (Kucklick; [0066]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Espinosa (US 2024/0268631) teaches an endoscopy device having an electrical control system.
Hsu (US 2024/0180399) teaches an endoscope having a pair of LEDs with an image sensor therebetween.
Yan et al. (US 2022/0061630) teaches a detection package structure for in-vivo imaging.
Smith (U.S. 11,153,970) teaches an apparatus with electrical components end mounted to a PCB.
Morita (US 2021/0290041) teaches a distal end portion of an endoscope.
Oyama (US 2021/0127953) teaches an distal portion of an endoscope with a FPC with sandwiched between a distal surface and a distal cap.
Sorensen (US 2021/0068642) teaches an arcuate tip part of an endoscope.
Sorensen et al. (US 2020/0405137) teaches a distal FPC with tolerance compensating members.
Loo et al. (US 2020/0221598) teaches a microelectronic device and circuit board thereof.
Kuo et al. (US 2020/0196434) teaches a flexible printed circuit board assembly for an endoscope.
Viebach et al. (US 2017/0127915) teaches an endoscope head with a plurality of conductive paths.
/STEPHEN FLOYD LONDON/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795