DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-9, filed April 27, 2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 & 103 of Claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 & 6-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hsu (US 2024/0180399).
Regarding Claim 1, Hsu discloses an electronic assembly for a medical device (Fig. 1, 100; [0028]), the electronic assembly including:
a body (Figs. 4-5, 110; [0028]) including a plurality of electrical connection points (119 or non-labeled “▭”; [0038] & see Fig. 5) and a plurality of electrical traces (116, 117, 118 or non-labeled “──”; [0037] & see Figs. 4-5) in a material that is electrically insulative (Figs. 4-5, 110 is non-metallic; [0029]), wherein the plurality of electrical connection points are on one or more external surfaces of the body (see Figs. 4-5), wherein the plurality of electrical connection points includes proximal connection points (Fig. 5, 119; [0038]) and distal connection points (Figs. 4-5, an image-obtaining-device conductive pad disposed on 112† and a pair of lighting-device conductive pads respectively disposed on each 115‡; [0029], [0037] & [0038]), and wherein each electrical trace of the plurality of electrical traces connects a proximal connection point to a respective distal connection point ([0037] & [0038]), wherein the body includes a stepped portion (a stepped portion formed of 111 and 112; see Figs. 2 & 4-5) between the proximal connection points and distal connection points (see Figs. 2 & 4-5), wherein the stepped portion includes a first portion (Figs. 2 & 4-5, 112; [0029]) and a second portion (Figs. 2 & 4-5, 111; [0029]) perpendicular to the first portion (see Figs. 2 & 4-5);
at least one imaging device (Figs. 4-5, 130; [0029]) coupled to one or more of the distal connection points ([0029], [0037], [0038] & see † below); and
at least one light source (Fig. 4, a pair of 120; [0029]) coupled to one or more of the distal connection points ([0029], [0037], [0038] & see ‡ below).
†given that the image-obtaining device 130 is connected to the plurality of first lines 116 and the plurality of second lines 117 via respective non-labeled “──” (see Figs. 4 & 5), a conductive pad must be on the first surface 112 to mount and electrically connect the non-light-transmitting surface of the image-obtaining device 130 to the non-labeled “──”.
‡given that each lighting device 120 is connected to the plurality of first lines 116 and the plurality of second lines 117 via respective non-labeled “──” (see Figs. 4 & 5), a conductive pad must be on each extension portion 115 to mount and electrically connect the non-light-emitting surface of the respective lighting device 120 to the non-labeled “──”.
Regarding Claim 2, Hsu discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Hsu further discloses wherein the at least one imaging device and the at least one light source face in a same direction (see Figs. 2 & 4-5).
Regarding Claim 3, Hsu discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Hsu further discloses wherein the plurality of electrical connection points includes a plurality of cable connection points (Fig. 5, 119; [0038]) and at least one sensor connection point (the image-obtaining-device connection pad; [0029], [0037], [0038] and see † of Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Hsu discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Hsu further discloses wherein the body includes an end face (Figs. 4-5, a front surface of 112; [0029]) and at least one arm (Figs. 4-5, a pair of 115; [0029]) adjacent to, and extending distally of, the end face (see Figs. 4-5).
Regarding Claim 7, Hsu discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 6. Hsu further discloses wherein the end face includes at least one of the distal connection points (the image-obtaining-device connection pad; [0029], [0037], [0038] & see † of Claim 1), and the at least one imaging device is coupled to the distal connection point on the end face (see † of Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Hsu discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 6. Hsu further discloses wherein the at least one arm includes at least one of the distal connection points (the pair of lighting-device conductive pads; [0029], [0037], [0038] & see ‡ of Claim 1), and the at least one light source is coupled to the distal connection point on the at least one arm (see ‡ of Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Hsu discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Hsu further discloses wherein the at least one light source includes two light-emitting diodes LEDs (Figs. 4-5, 122; [0033]) positioned on opposing sides of the at least one imaging device (see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Hsu discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 9. Hsu further discloses wherein the LEDs are proximal to the at least one imaging device (see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 11, Hsu discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Hsu further discloses wherein the material of the body comprises a ceramic and/or other non-conductive materials ([0031]).
Regarding Claim 12, Hsu discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Hsu further discloses wherein the plurality of electrical traces comprise copper and/or other conductive materials ([0037]).
Regarding Claim 13, Hsu discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Hsu further discloses wherein the plurality of electrical traces passes through an interior of the body ([0037]).
Regarding Claim 14, Hsu discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Hsu further discloses a capacitor and a resistor (Fig. 4, 140; [0038]).
Regarding Claim 15, Hsu discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Hsu further discloses wherein the body includes an end face that has a curved surface (see Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 16, Hsu discloses an electronic assembly for a medical device (Fig. 1, 100; [0028]), the electronic assembly including:
a body (Figs. 4-5, 110; [0028]) that includes an end face (Figs. 4-5, a front surface of 112; [0029]) and at least one arm (Figs. 4-5, a pair of 115; [0029]) adjacent to and extending distally of the end face (see Figs. 4-5), wherein the body comprises an electrically insulative material (Figs. 4-5, 110 is non-metallic; [0029]), a plurality of electrical connection points (119 or non-labeled “▭”; [0038] & see Fig. 5), and a plurality of electrically conductive traces (116, 117, 118 or non-labeled “──”; [0037] & see Figs. 4-5), wherein the body includes a stepped portion having a plurality of discrete steps (a stepped portion formed of 111 and 112; see Figs. 2 & 4-5), wherein each step includes at least one electrical connection point (Figs. 4-5, 112 has an image-obtaining-device conductive pad disposed thereon† and 111 has 119; [0029], [0037] & [0038])
at least one imaging device (Figs. 4-5, 130; [0029]) coupled to the end face of the body ([0029]); and
at least one light source (Fig. 4, a pair of 120; [0029]) coupled to the at least one arm ([0029]).
Regarding Claim 17, Hsu discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 16. Hsu further discloses wherein the plurality of electrical connection points includes proximal connection points (Fig. 5, 119; [0038]) and distal connection points (Figs. 4-5, an image-obtaining-device conductive pad disposed on 112† and a pair of lighting-device conductive pads respectively disposed on each 115‡; [0029], [0037] & [0038]), and wherein each electrically conductive trace of the plurality of electrically conductive traces electrically connects a proximal connection point to a respective distal connection point ([0037] & [0038]).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuo et al. (hereinafter "Kuo") (US 2020/0196434) as evidenced by Khandpur R.S., Printed Circuit Boards Design, Fabrication and Assembly, 2006, McGraw-Hill, 427-452 (hereinafter "Khandpur").
Regarding Claim 19, Kuo, as evidenced by Khandpur, discloses an electronic assembly (Fig. 5, 3; [0029]) for a medical device (Fig. 5, U; [0029]), the electronic assembly including:
a body (Fig. 1, 32; [0029]) that includes an end face (Fig. 1, 321; [0030]) and at least one arm adjacent to the end face (Fig. 1, 332; [0030]),
wherein the body comprises
an electrically insulative material (Fig. 1, 32 is a flexible circuit board (Kuo; [0029]) —wherein Khandpur evidences that flexible circuit boards are made of an electrically insulated material (Khandpur; §12.2.1)),
a plurality of electrical connection points on an external surface of the body (Figs. 1-2 & 8, 34, 35 and 36 are mounted on 321, 322 & 326 of 32, respectively, and are all in electrical communication (Kuo; [0032] & [0037]) —wherein Khandpur evidences that solder pads are used to mount and electrically connect components; (Khandpur; Page. 442-443)), and
a plurality of electrically conductive traces that passes through an interior of the body between two electrical connection points of the plurality of electrical connection points (Figs. 1-2 & 8, 34, 35 and 36 are mounted on 321, 322 & 326 of 32, respectively, and are all in electrical communication (Kuo; [0032] & [0037]) —wherein Khandpur evidences that the solder pads are electrically connected by trace disposed in the electrically insulated material; (Khandpur; Page 442)),
wherein the body includes a stepped portion (Fig. 1, a stepped assembly comprising 323 and 324; [0030]);
at least one imaging device (Fig. 8, 34; [0037]) coupled to the end face ([0037]);
at least one light source (Fig. 1, 35; [0032]) coupled to the at least one arm ([0032]);
a resistor (Fig. 1, a first 37; [0032]) located on a first step of the stepped portion (Fig. 1, the first 37 is disposed on 323 of the stepped assembly; [0030] & [0032]); and
a capacitor (Fig. 1, a second 37; [0032]) located on a second step of the stepped portion (Fig. 1, the second 37 is disposed on 324 of the stepped assembly; [0030] & [0032]), wherein the first step is located proximal to the second step ([0042]).
Regarding Claim 20, Kuo, as evidenced by Khandpur, discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 19. Kuo further discloses wherein the plurality of electrical connection points includes proximal connection points (36, and therefore the solder pad thereof, is mounted on a proximal portion of 32; see Figs. 13-14) and distal connection points (35, and therefore the solder pads thereof, are mounted on a distal portion of 32; see Figs. 13-14), a proximal portion of the body including the proximal connection points (see Figs. 13-14) and an intermediate portion of the body including the distal connection points (see Figs. 13-14), and wherein the stepped portion is between the proximal portion and the intermediate portion (see Fig. 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (US 2024/0180399) in view of Kucklick (US 2012/0029280).
Regarding Claims 4-5, Hsu discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 1. Hsu further discloses at least one electrical component (Fig. 4, 140; [0038]) coupled to the body on a side of the body opposite at least one electrical connection point of the plurality of electrical connection points (Fig. 4, 140 is disposed on 113 which is a side opposite 114 which has 119; [0038]).
Hsu fails to explicitly disclose at the at least one electrical component is at least one sensor; and wherein the at least one sensor includes a pressure sensor.
However, Kucklick teaches an electronic assembly (Fig. 4, 7; [0038]) for a medical device (Fig. 1, 1; [0037]), the electronic assembly including:
a body (Fig. 5a, 18; [0041]) including electrical connection points (Fig. 5b, 21; [0041]);
an imaging device (Fig. 6, 24; [0042]) coupled to one or more of the connection points ([0041]); and
a pressure sensor (Fig. 6, 22; [0041]).
The advantage of the distal pressure sensor is to accurately measure pressure inside of a patient during a procedure (Kucklick; [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric component as disclosed by Hsu, to be the pressure sensor taught by Kucklick, to accurately measure pressure inside of a patient during a procedure (Kucklick; [0066]).
Regarding Claim 18, Hsu discloses the electronic assembly of Claim 16. Hsu further discloses an electric component (Fig. 4, 140; [0038]) coupled to one or more of the electrical connection points of the plurality of electrical connection points ([0038]).
Hsu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the electrical component is pressure sensor.
However, Kucklick teaches an electronic assembly (Fig. 4, 7; [0038]) for a medical device (Fig. 1, 1; [0037]), the electronic assembly including:
a body (Fig. 5a, 18; [0041]) including electrical connection points (Fig. 5b, 21; [0041]);
an imaging device (Fig. 6, 24; [0042]) coupled to one or more of the connection points ([0041]); and
a pressure sensor (Fig. 6, 22; [0041]).
The advantage of the distal pressure sensor is to accurately measure pressure inside of a patient during a procedure (Kucklick; [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric component as disclosed by Hsu, to be the pressure sensor taught by Kucklick, to accurately measure pressure inside of a patient during a procedure (Kucklick; [0066]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHEN FLOYD LONDON/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795