DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant Arguments/Remarks of July 31, 2026, have been entered. Claim 39 has been amended. Claims 5, 17-19, 30-34, 36-37, and 42 were cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-4, 6-16, 20-29, 35, and 38-41 are currently pending in the application, with claims 1, 35, and 38 being independent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4, 6-16, and 20-29 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 1 and its dependents are allowed because the closest prior art either alone or in combination, fail to anticipated or render obvious, the claimed limitations of "wherein the processing subsystem is configured to selectively apply an attenuation function to the input audio signal to attenuate a signal component of the input audio signal at a frequency that causes mechanical rattle in the computer; and an analyser subsystem configured to receive the input audio signal and to output a control signal to the processing subsystem to control application of the attenuation function to the input audio signal by the processing subsystem based on a spectral content of the received input audio signal" in combination with all other limitations in the claims as defined by Applicant.
The prior art discloses mitigating mechanical rattle arising due to a mechanical coupling of an audio output transducer to a part of the computer device but does not teach or suggest subsystem configured to receive the input audio signal and to output a control signal to the processing subsystem to control application of the attenuation function to the input audio signal by the processing subsystem based on a spectral content of the received input audio signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 35 and 38-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Centen et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2019/0059761 A1).
In regards to claim 35, Centen discloses a system for mitigating mechanical rattle in a computer arising due to a mechanical coupling of an audio transducer to a part of the computer (See [0070]), the system comprising: a classifier subsystem configured to classify the audio input signal (i.e., noise) into one or more of a plurality of classes (i.e., type of noise/noise source; mechanical or vibrational) (See [0070]); and a processing block configured to selectively apply an attenuation function to the input signal to attenuate a signal component of the input audio signal according to the classification of the audio input signal (See [0071] [0072]).
In regards to claim 38, Centen discloses a system for mitigating mechanical resonance in a host device arising due to a mechanical coupling of an audio output transducer to a part of the host device (See [0070]), the system comprising: a processing subsystem configured to receive an input audio signal and to output a drive signal for driving the audio output transducer to produce a transducer output (See [0030]; [0070]; and [0076]), wherein the processing subsystem is configured to selectively apply an attenuation function to the input audio signal to attenuate a signal component of the input audio signal at a frequency that causes mechanical resonance in the host device (See [0071] [0072] and [0031]).
In regards to claim 39, Centen discloses an integrated circuit implementing the system (See [0052] and [0069]).
In regards to claim 40, Centen discloses the integrated circuit, wherein the integrated circuit comprises a smart amplifier integrated circuit (See [0032]).
In regards to claim 41, Centen discloses a host device comprising the system, wherein the host device comprises a laptop, notebook, netbook or tablet computer, an all-in-one computer, a gaming device, a games console, a controller or a games console, a virtual reality (VR) or augmented reality (AR) device, a mobile telephone, a portable audio player, a portable device, an accessory device for use with a laptop, notebook, netbook or tablet computer, a gaming device, a games console a VR or AR device, a mobile telephone, a portable audio player or other portable device, or a vehicle (See [0032]).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 07/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicants’ argument that there is no mention of mechanical rattle in a computer arising due to a mechanical coupling of an audio transducer to a part of the computer, in Centen, Examiner would like to bring to Applicants’ attention that these features are not taught nor disclosed in the body of the claim. The body of the claim does not disclose …” mechanical rattle in a computer arising due to a mechanical coupling of an audio transducer to a part of the computer”, nor does the claim teach how these features are performed.
In response to Applicants’ argument that there is no disclosure or suggestion of the claimed “classifier subsystem” or the claimed “processing block”, Examiner disagrees. Centen does disclose and suggest the claimed classifier subsystem configured to classify the audio input signal (i.e., noise) into one or more of a plurality of classes (i.e., type of noise/noise source; mechanical or vibrational) (See [0070]). Centen further discloses and suggests the claimed processing subsystem configured to selectively apply an attenuation function to the input audio signal to attenuate a signal component of the input audio signal at a frequency that causes mechanical resonance in the host device (See [0071] [0072] and [0031]).
In response to Applicants’ argument that Centen is not concerned in any way with mitigating mechanical resonance in a host device arising due to a mechanical coupling of an audio output transducer to a part of the host device, Examiner would like to bring to Applicants’ attention that these features are not taught nor disclosed in the body of the claim. The body of the claim does not disclose … “mitigating mechanical resonance in a host device arising due to a mechanical coupling of an audio output transducer to a part of the host device”, nor does the claim teach how these features are performed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THJUAN K ADDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693