DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim to priority under 35 U.S.C. § 119(e) of U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/531,316, filed 2023-08-08. This application has been afforded this earlier filing date.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2025-09-09 and 2026-05-15 have been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 18, and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities: in line 5 of claims 8, 18, and 28, it appears that “…one or more of the reference magnetic recordings by an electronic device, accessing a…” should read “…one or more of the reference magnetic recordings by an electronic device comprise a…”. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret line 5 of claims 8, 18, and 28 to read “…one or more of the reference magnetic recordings by an electronic device comprise a…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”. Because the following claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Such claim limitations and their corresponding structure(s) are as follows. In claim 31: line 2, “means for accessing…”; line 4, “means for accessing…”; line 5, “means for comparing…”; line 6, “means for … determining…”; and line 7, “means for … authenticating”; are being interpreted to cover the structure that performs these steps described in: claim 1, “electronic device”; claim 11, “one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media…”; claim 21, “a system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media coupled to one or more of the processors…”; as well as the corresponding structure found in at least Figs. 2 and 20, ¶¶0050-0067, and ¶¶0106-0126 of applicant’s Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 19, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9, 19, and 29 recite the limitation "the difference" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, claims 9, 19, and 29 each depend from claims 7, 17, and 27, respectively, which each depend from claims 1, 11, and 21, respectively. None of claims 1, 11, 21, 7, 17, or 27 recite a “difference” to provide antecedent basis for “the difference” recited in claims 9, 19, and 29. However, claims 8, 18, and 28 each recite “calculating a difference between the first and second series as aligned with each other”. Therefore, it appears that claims 9, 19, and 29 should depend from claims 8, 18, and 28, respectively. For the purposes of examination, examiner will interpret claims 9, 19, and 29 as depending from claims 8, 18, and 28, respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-15, 17-18, 20-25, 27-28, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0289753 to Mahasenan et al. (“Mahasenan”).
As to claim 21 (and similarly applied to claims 1, 11, and 31), Mahasenan discloses a system comprising: one or more processors (Mahasenan, Fig. 1, processor 114, and ¶0030; please also see ¶¶0019-0020); and one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media coupled to one or more of the processors and comprising instructions operable when executed by one or more of the processors (Mahasenan, Fig. 1, memory 116, and ¶¶0030-0031; please also see ¶¶0019-0020) to cause the system to: access magnetic data from a magnetic-measurement device, wherein the magnetic data corresponds to one or more locations of the magnetic-measurement device (Mahasenan, ¶0037, "the mobile device can include a magnetic sensor. The magnetic sensor can determine a level and/or a direction of a magnetic field where the mobile device is located. Because, for instance, each location may have a unique or characteristic magnetic “fingerprint,” the determination of the magnetic field can allow the verification that the mobile device is actually in a same location determined using the location information above"; please also see ¶¶0007-0014, ¶0029, and ¶¶0038-0045); access geofencing data corresponding to an area (Mahasenan, ¶0039, "A baseline fingerprint can be determined during a commissioning of a relay, for instance. In some embodiments, a user can walk around the area and collect fingerprint data (RF and/or magnetic) to determine the baseline fingerprint. In some embodiments, the user can define the area and/or the geofence"; please also see ¶¶0007-0014 and ¶¶0037-0045); compare the magnetic data with the geofencing data (Mahasenan, ¶0043, "compare the determined magnetic field information with the magnetic fingerprint associated with the location"; please also see ¶¶0007-0014 and ¶¶0037-0045); based on the comparison, determine that the locations correspond to the area (Mahasenan, ¶0043, "The determination of magnetic field information can allow embodiments herein to determine if the user is indeed at the location or if the location has somehow been spoofed, for instance. Embodiments of the present disclosure can compare the determined magnetic field information with the magnetic fingerprint associated with the location"; please also see ¶¶0007-0014 and ¶¶0037-0045); based on the determination, authenticate the magnetic-measurement device for access to one or more resources (Mahasenan, ¶0044, "Depending on the comparison, embodiments of the present disclosure can allow access or deny access. For example, if the determined magnetic field information “matches” the magnetic fingerprint (and/or the RF fingerprint), embodiments of the present disclosure can determine that a valid user is actually present at the location attempting to gain access and can allow the user access"; please also see ¶¶0007-0014, ¶¶0037-0045, ¶¶0050-0059, and ¶0064).
As to claim 22 (and similarly applied to claims 2 and 12), Mahasenan discloses the system of Claim 21, wherein the system is a component of the magnetic-measurement device (Mahasenan, Fig. 1 and ¶¶0019-0020).
As to claim 23 (and similarly applied to claims 3 and 13), Mahasenan discloses the media of Claim 21, wherein the magnetic-measurement device is a smartphone (Mahasenan, Fig. 1 and ¶¶0019-0020).
As to claim 24 (and similarly applied to claims 4 and 14), Mahasenan discloses the media of Claim 21, wherein: the magnetic data comprises one or more magnetic-field values measured by the magnetic-measurement device at one or more of the locations (Mahasenan, ¶0037; please also see ¶¶0007-0014, ¶0029, and ¶¶0038-0045); and the geofencing data comprises one or more magnetic-field values or ranges of magnetic-field values corresponding to the area (Mahasenan, ¶0039; please also see ¶0007-0014 and ¶¶0037-0045).
As to claim 25 (and similarly applied to claims 5 and 15), Mahasenan discloses the media of Claim 24, wherein, the magnetic-field values comprise one or more of: a strength of a magnetic field; a gradient of the magnetic field; an inclination angle of the magnetic field; a declination angle of the magnetic field; magnetic susceptibility; magnetic conductivity; one or more individual components of one or more magnetic-field values; one or more derivatives of one or more of magnetic-field values; or a combination of one or more magnetic-field values (Mahasenan, ¶0029; please also see ¶¶0007-0014 and ¶¶0037-0045).
As to claim 27 (and similarly applied to claims 7 and 17), Mahasenan discloses the media of Claim 21, wherein the magnetic data comprises one or more candidate magnetic recordings corresponding to one or more of the locations (Mahasenan, ¶0037-0045, ¶¶0007-0014, and ¶0029. Examiner notes ¶0046 of applicant's specification, which states "The magnetic recording may serve as a reference magnetic recording that may be compared with a subsequently generated candidate magnetic recording to facilitate authentication of the user or device" and thus "candidate magnetic recording" is interpreted to refer to a magnetic recording of the device's current location that is to be compared with the reference magnetic recordings corresponding to the area (i.e., the geofencing data); please also see ¶0056 and ¶0058 of applicant's specification.); and the geofencing data comprises one or more reference magnetic recordings corresponding to the area (Mahasenan, ¶0039; please also see ¶0007-0014 and ¶¶0037-0045).
As to claim 28 (and similarly applied to claims 8 and 18), Mahasenan discloses the media of Claim 27, wherein: one or more of the candidate magnetic recordings comprise a first series of first magnetic-field values that represents a first magnetic recording that comprises a first set of first magnetic-field measurements that are each represented by one of the first magnetic-field values (Mahasenan, ¶0029, "The magnetic sensor can determine a magnetic field associated with (e.g., immediately around) the mobile device 102. The magnetic field can include a level (e.g., value and/or intensity) of the field. In some embodiments, the level of the magnetic field may be represented by Tesla units. The magnetic field can include a direction (e.g., an orientation) of the field. In some embodiments, the direction of the magnetic field may be represented by a compass heading (e.g., in degrees)"); one or more of the reference magnetic recordings by an electronic devicecomprise a second series of second magnetic-field values that represents a second magnetic recording that comprises a second set of second magnetic-field measurements that are each represented by one of the second magnetic-field values (Mahasenan, ¶¶0039-0041; please also see ¶0007-0014 and ¶¶0037-0045); and comparing the magnetic data with the geofencing data comprises: approximately aligning the first and second series with each other; calculating a difference between the first and second series as aligned with each other; and determining a similarity between the first and second series based on the difference (Mahasenan, ¶¶0042-0045; please also see ¶¶0013-0014).
As to claim 30 (and similarly applied to claims 10 and 20), Mahasenan discloses the media of Claim 28, wherein determining the similarity between the first and second series based on the difference comprises: comparing the difference with a predetermined threshold; and determining that the first and second series are similar to each other when the difference is approximately less than the predetermined threshold (Mahasenan, ¶¶0042-0045; please also see ¶¶0013-0014).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 16, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahasenan in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0206129 to Mahan et al. (“Mahan”).
As to claim 26 (and similarly applied to claims 6 and 16), Mahasenan discloses the media of claim 24.
Mahasenan does not disclose: wherein one or more of the magnetic-field values corresponding to the area were obtained or derived from one or more of: World Magnetic Model (WMM); International Geomagnetic Reference Field (IGRF) model; or Enhanced Magnetic Model (EMM).
However, Mahan discloses: wherein one or more of the magnetic-field values corresponding to the area were obtained or derived from one or more of: World Magnetic Model (WMM); International Geomagnetic Reference Field (IGRF) model; or Enhanced Magnetic Model (EMM) (Mahan, Fig. 8 and ¶0086. Mahan describes a method of obtaining expected (i.e., reference, baseline) magnetic-field values from a data model such as the World Magnetic Model (WMM) and comparing them to measured magnetic-field (i.e., candidate) values).
Mahasenan and Mahan are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: magnetic sensors and/or magnetic positioning using the magnetic field of the earth, particularly magnetic positioning based on detecting real-time magnetic field information and comparing it to reference magnetic field information; magnetometers; and/or methods for magnetic fingerprinting for proximity-based systems. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mahasenan to incorporate the teachings of Mahan to include: wherein one or more of the magnetic-field values corresponding to the area were obtained or derived from one or more of: World Magnetic Model (WMM); International Geomagnetic Reference Field (IGRF) model; or Enhanced Magnetic Model (EMM). Doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods (i.e., obtaining expected (i.e., reference, baseline) magnetic-field values from a data model such as the World Magnetic Model (WMM) and comparing them to measured magnetic-field (i.e., candidate) values) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 9, 19, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahasenan in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0379062 to Ho.
As to claim 29 (and similarly applied to claims 9 and 19), Mahasenan discloses the media of Claim 28.
Mahasenan does not disclose: wherein the difference comprises a sum of one or more Euclidean distances, dynamic time warping (DTW) distances, or Fréchet distances between corresponding first and second magnetic-field values.
However, Ho discloses: wherein the difference comprises a sum of one or more Euclidean distances, dynamic time warping (DTW) distances, or Fréchet distances between corresponding first and second magnetic-field values (Ho, ¶¶0084-0088).
Mahasenan and Ho are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: magnetic sensors and/or magnetic positioning using the magnetic field of the earth, particularly magnetic positioning based on detecting real-time magnetic field information and comparing it to reference magnetic field information; magnetometers; and/or methods for magnetic fingerprinting for proximity-based systems. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mahasenan to incorporate the teachings of Ho to include: wherein the difference comprises a sum of one or more Euclidean distances, dynamic time warping (DTW) distances, or Fréchet distances between corresponding first and second magnetic-field values. Doing so would help by "[achieving] high accuracy even in areas with obstacles or undulating terrain" (Ho, ¶0006) across a variety of applications/environments including land, sea, and air (Ho, ¶0008). Additionally, it would be obvious to combine the teachings of Ho and Mahasenan because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
References Cited
Ho, Cheng-Tsai (2020). Method and system of magnetic positioning (US 2020/0379062 A1). Filed 2020-05-29.
Mahan, Laura et al. (2012). System and method for calibrating a magnetometer with visual affordance (US 2012/0206129 A1). Filed 2011-08-26.
Mahasenan, Arun Vijayakumari et al. (2017). Magnetic fingerprinting for proximity-based systems (US 2017/0289753 A1). Filed 2016-03-30.
Other Pertinent References
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Chan, Shueng Han Gary et al. (2020). Effective indoor localization using geo-magnetic field (US 20200103232 A1). Filed 2018-02-05.
Haverinen, Janne (2015). Utilizing magnetic field based navigation (US 9078104 B2). Filed 2013-06-26.
Lee, Youngpo et al. (2021). Electronic device detecting location and method thereof (US 20210211839 A1). Filed 2020-10-26.
Okada, Keita et al. (2022). Position detection apparatus, position detection system, and position detection method (US 20220252425 A1). Filed 2022-02-03.
Sharma, Saransh et al. (2021). Electromagnet gradient coil apparatus for micro-device localization (US 20210141034 A1). Filed 2020-11-13.
Snow, Christopher Harris et al. (2012). System and method for determining quality of calibration parameters for a magnetometer (US 20120101766 A1). Filed 2011-09-19.
Steinberg, Gregory M. et al. (2025). System and method for providing location-based positioning and navigation in gps-denied environments (US 20250093495 A1). Filed 2024-11-18.
Villien, Christophe (2020). Method for determining the position and orientation of a vehicle (US 20200326189 A1). Filed 2020-04-10.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL H. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649