DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to communications filed 04/28/2026. Claims 1, 13-15, 25-31 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 112 (b) rejection for claim 14, the applicant did not address the rejections. These rejections are maintained.
Regarding Claim 1, 13, and 25, the applicant argues that the amendments overcome the prior art. The applicant argues that the there is a first detection device and second detection device different from the first detection device.
In response to the arguments, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The system has two different detection devices or sensors. Saha discloses multiple sensors (See paragraph 0055, 0059, Figure 14).
Claim Objections
Claim 13-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13-15 recite “one second sensor positions on the electrical pole proximate one or more electrical lines…” The Office suggests -- one second sensor positions on the electrical pole proximate the one or more electrical lines--.
Claims 26-27 recite “a Lidar device ;” There is a minor typographical error, please delete the space.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 13-15 recites “one second sensor positioned on the electrical pole proximate one or more electrical lines used to proactively detect an anomaly…” It is unclear if the at least one second sensor – is a second sensor device that is not comprised in the first sensor device or is a sensor that the first sensor device comprises. It is noted that if it is written as if it is a separate device, then it is suggested that to be amended to “at least one second sensor device” for consistency. It is also unclear how a processor communicates with the second sensor if it is not comprised in the first sensor device when it communicates with the elements of first sensor device. Please clarify the limitations.
Claims 13-15 recites “one second sensor positions on the electrical pole proximate one or more electrical lines used to proactively detect an anomaly…” It is unclear if this is a second anomaly or the same anomaly.
Claim 14 recites “a local sensor data concentrator communicating with at least the processing unit and the control room sensor data concentrator adapted to generate an alarm and provide at least predictive image/video to the control room sensor data concentrator.” The claim language is unclear as to what is adapted to generate an alarm. It is also unclear what is providing the predicative image/video to the control room sensor data concentrator.
The Office assumes that it is the local sensor data concentrator and not the processing unit which is generating and providing. It is noted that claim 13 recites sending out an alarm and image/video.
It is unclear how the processing unit is performing the functions of claim 13 and the local sensor data concentrator are performing the functions of claim 14.
Claim 14 recites “an alarm.” It is unclear if this second instance of an alarm is a second alarm or the same alarm in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13-14, and 25-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saha et al (US 2021/0073692 and hereafter referred to as “Saha”).
Regarding Claim 1, Saha discloses a sensor device used to proactively detect an electrical line anomaly, the device comprising:
a first detection device (one of the sensors, Page 5, paragraph 0055, 0059 Page 7, paragraph 0073, Figure 14, 1400a-I, Page 10, paragraph 0106, 0107, 0109, 0110, Figure 16, 1602 or Figure 14, 1400i, Figure 16, 1604, 1012, 1622,);
a second detection device different from the first detection device (any of the other sensors, Page 5, paragraph 0055, 0059 Page 7, paragraph 0073, Figure 14, 1400a-I, Page 10, paragraph 0106, 0107, 0109, 0110, Figure 16, 1602 or Figure 14, 1400i, Figure 16, 1604, 1012, 1629) ;
an image capture device (Page 4, paragraph 0052, 0055, 0056, Figure 13-16); and
a processor communicating with the image capture device, the first detection device and the second detection device, the processor adapted to send out an alarm and image and/or video (Page 8, paragraph 0084, 0089, Page 9, paragraph 0098, Page 10, paragraph 0100,0103, Page 17, paragraph 0187,– send out alert which includes live video, the alert including probable failure or condition or potential hazard to a utility structure, Page 17, paragraph 0190-0191).
Regarding Claim 13, Saha discloses an anomaly detection system, the anomaly detection system comprising:
at least one first sensor device (Figure 13, see Page 7, paragraph 0070, Page 8, paragraph 0088, Figure 2, 202, Figure 13, 1302 with 1304 and 1306, Page 18, paragraph 0197) positioned on an electrical pole proximate one or more electrical lines used to proactively detect an anomaly (Page 4-5, paragraph 0053, 0055, 0057, Page 7-8, paragraph 0076-0078, 0083-0084), the at least one first sensor device comprising an image capture device (Page 4, paragraph 0052, 0055, 0056, Figure 2, Figure 14, 1400a, 1400b) and a global positioning system device (Page 5, paragraph 0055, Page 17, paragraph 0186, Figure 14, 1400c, Figure 13, 1302); and
at least one second sensor positioned on the electrical pole proximate one or more electrical lines used to proactively detect an anomaly (Page 5, paragraph 0055, 0059 – Figure 14, one of the other sensors that are );
a processor (Page 5, paragraph 0056, Figure 2, 222, Figure 13, 1306, 1502 and 1504, Page 21, paragraph 0232,) communicating with at least the image capture device, the global positioning system device and the second sensor (Figure 3, Page 5, paragraph 0056-0059), the processor adapted to send out an alarm, location, and image and/or video (Figure 2, 222, Figure 13, 1306, Figure 15, 1502 and 1504, Page 21, paragraph 0232, Page 8, paragraph 0084, 0089, Page 9, paragraph 0098, Page 10, paragraph 0103, Page 17, paragraph 0187,– send out alert which includes live video, the alert including probable failure or condition or potential hazard to a utility structure, Page 17, paragraph 0190-0191 – for incident location ); and
a control room sensor data concentrator communicating with at least the processor enabling an operator to mitigate the anomaly (Page 9, paragraph 0098, Page 17, paragraph 0187, a device of an operator such as an emergency responder, Figure 12 or a server).
Regarding Claim 14, Saha discloses all the limitations of Claim 1. Saha discloses further comprising a local sensor data concentrator communicating with at least the processing unit and the control room sensor data concentrator adapted to generate an alarm and provide at least predictive image/video to the control room sensor data concentrator ( the second interpretation: is the UAS control module gets data from the detection module paragraph 0090, 0190, paragraph 0190, Figure 28 ).
Regarding Claim 25, Saha discloses a method for detecting an anomaly in one or more electrical lines, the method comprising:
proactively detecting an anomaly of the one or more electrical lines using at least a first sensor device and a second sensor device different from the first sensor device positioned on an electrical pole proximate the one or more electrical lines (Page 4-5, paragraph 0053, 0055, 0057, 0059, Page 7-8, paragraph 0076-0078, 0083-0084, Page 1, paragraph 0011, Page 17, paragraph 0187 – it is proactive to detect potential hazards and preemptively performing actions, the sensor package includes multiple sensor devices);
generating an alarm and providing an image and/or video (Page 8, paragraph 0084, 0089, Page 9, paragraph 0098, Page 10, paragraph 0103, Page 17, paragraph 0187,– send out alert which includes live video, the alert including probable failure or condition or potential hazard to a utility structure, Page 17, paragraph 0190-0191); and
mitigating the anomaly (Page 8, paragraph 0084, 0089, Page 9, paragraph 0098, Page 10, paragraph 0103, Page 17, paragraph 0187,– send out alert which includes live video, the alert including probable failure or condition or potential hazard to a utility structure, Page 17, paragraph 0190-0191).
Regarding Claim 26 and 29, Saha discloses all the limitations of Claim 1 and 13 respectively. Saha discloses wherein the first detection device is selected from the group consisting of a sound detection device; a temperature-sensing device; a gravity-sensing device; an infrared detection device; a motion-detecting device; a weather-detecting device; an accelerometer detection device; a Lidar device ; a Radar sensor device; and a global positioning system device communicating with at least the processor (Figure 14, 1400a-i, Page 7, paragraph 0073, Page 5, paragraph 0055, 0056, 0059, Page 17, paragraph 0186, Page 8, paragraph 0078, vibration, Page 10, paragraph 0106, 0107, 0109, 0110).
Regarding Claim 27 and 30, Saha discloses all the limitations of Claim 1 and 13 respectively. Saha discloses wherein the second detection device is selected from the group consisting of a sound detection device; a temperature- sensing device; a gravity-sensing device; an infrared detection device; a motion- detecting device; a weather-detecting device; an accelerometer detection device; a Lidar device ; a Radar sensor device; and a global positioning system device communicating with at least the processor (Figure 14, 1400a-i, Page 7, paragraph 0073, Page 5, paragraph 0055, 0056, 0059, Page 17, paragraph 0186, Page 8, paragraph 0078, vibration, Page 10, paragraph 0106, 0107, 0109, 0110).
Regarding Claim 28 and 31, Saha discloses all the limitations of Claim 1 and 13 respectively. Saha discloses wherein the image and/or vi)deo is a predictive image and/or video generated prior to the actual incident (Page 11-12, paragraph 0117, 0122, 0131).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saha in view of Messenger et al (US 2023/0243976 and hereafter referred to as “Messenger”).
Regarding Claim 2 and 15, Saha discloses all the limitations of Claim 1 and 13 respectively. Saha discloses cameras communicating with at least the processing unit (Figure 13, Figure 14, Figure 15, Figure 16) not disclose the image capture device comprises a 360o camera. Messenger discloses the image capture device comprises a 360o camera communicating with at least the processing unit (Page 10-11, paragraph 0102, 0103, 0109, 0110 see also paragraphs 0095-0100, Figure 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Saha to include the missing limitation as taught by Messenger in order to determine sag of wires (paragraph 0333) as disclosed by Messenger.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARZANA HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482
June 26, 2026