DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Received 06/16/2026
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1-16, 18, and 19 has/have been amended.
The objections to the claim(s) 11 and 13-17 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments received on 01/13/2023.
The 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection to claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered in view of the amendments received on 06/16/2026 and are fully addressed in the prior art rejection below.
Response to Arguments
Received 06/16/2026
Regarding independent claim(s) 1 and 19:
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, Page 10: ¶ 6 to Page 12: ¶ 1), filed 06/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Wherein, Nishizaki et al. (US Patent No. 11077753 B2) in view of Saisho et al. (US PGPUB No. 20190061529 A1) fails to explicitly disclose the subject matter of an upper limit of the correction amount to allow a part of the content to be placed out of a display region. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn, necessitated by Applicant's amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nishizaki et al., in view of Saisho et al., and further in view of Rose et al. (US PGPUB No. 20160147297 A1).
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, Page 12: ¶ 2), filed 10/06/2023, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 19 under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive due claim 19's similarity to claim 1. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn, necessitated by Applicant's amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the prior art as mentioned above.
Regarding dependent claim(s) 2-15, 18, and 20:
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, Page 12: ¶ 4), filed 06/30/2022, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2-15, 18, and 20 under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive due the dependency upon claims 1 and 19 respectively. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn, necessitated by Applicant's amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the prior art as mentioned above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishizaki et al., US Patent No. 11077753 B2, hereinafter Nishizaki, in view of Saisho et al., US PGPUB No. 20190061529 A1, hereinafter Saisho, and further in view of Rose et al., US PGPUB No. 20160147297 A1, hereinafter Rose.
Regarding claim 1, Nishizaki discloses a display device (Nishizaki; a display device [Col. 4, lines 33-45 and Col. 5, line 61 to Col. 6, line 36], as illustrated within Figs. 3-5) comprising:
a processor that determines at least one content to be displayed in association with a target object that is present in a forward view of a vehicle (Nishizaki; the display device [as addressed above] comprises a processor [Col. 5, line 61 to Col. 6, line 11] that determines at least one content to be displayed in association with a target object (i.e. preceding vehicle) that is present in a forward view of a vehicle [Col. 16, lines 15-64], as illustrated within Figs. 10A-E; wherein, a path indicator is displayed at near or adjacent to a preceding vehicle image [Col. 18, lines 5-29 and Col. 18, line 51 to Col. 19, line 19]; moreover, operations and hardware [Col. 3, lines 16-29] in relation with presenting information [Col. 3, lines 41-55]); and
a display that displays the at least one content as a virtual image through a display medium provided in the vehicle by projecting, onto the display medium, light that represents the at least one content determined by the processor (Nishizaki; the display device [as addressed above] comprises a display (i.e. HUD) [Col. 3, lines 41-63 and Col. 5, line 61 to Col. 6, line 12] that displays the at least one content as a virtual image through a display medium (i.e. windshield) provided in the vehicle by projecting light that represents the at least one content determined by the processor onto the display medium (i.e. windshield) [Col. 3, line 41 to Col. 4, line 20]; wherein, the processor [as addressed above]; moreover, HUD projection an image onto a front windshield is light [Col. 4, line 55-67]),
wherein the processor adjusts, for each of the at least one content, a correction amount relating to a placement position of the content (Nishizaki; the display device [as addressed above] comprises wherein the processor [as addressed above] adjusts an implicit correction amount (given adjustment within one or more regions) relating to a placement position of the content for each of the at least one content [Col. 14, lines 1-28, Col. 15, line 38 to Col. 16, line 13, and Col. 16, lines 15-20]), and
wherein the processor changes, for each of the at least one content, the correction amount to allow a part of the content to be placed on a display region of the display medium while causing at least a portion of the content to be display within the display region (Nishizaki; the processor changes [as addressed above], an upper limit of the implicit correction amount (given adjustment within one or more regions) to allow a part of the content to be placed on a display region of the display medium (i.e. windshield) while causing at least a portion of the content to be display within the display region for each of the at least one content [Col. 16, lines 15-64 and Col. 17, lines 7-52], as illustrated within Fig. 10A-E; wherein, a display area is divided into three display areas and priority displayed information [Col. 17, line 53 to Col. 18, line 29]).
Nishizaki fails to explicitly disclose a correction amount; and
an upper limit of the correction amount to allow a part of the content to be placed out of a display region of the display medium while causing at least a portion of the content to be display within the display region.
However, Saisho teaches wherein the processor adjusts, for each of the at least one content, a correction amount relating to a placement position of the content (Saisho; the processor [¶ 0060 and ¶ 0064] adjusts a correction amount [¶ 0076-0078] relating to a placement position of the content for each of the at least one content [¶ 0070-0072], as illustrated within Figs. 7A-C; moreover, offset [¶ 0079], and changes from upper area to lower area [¶ 0103-0104 and ¶ 0106-0107], as illustrated within Fig. 12A-E).
Nishizaki and Saisho are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a head-up display visualization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki, to incorporate wherein the processor adjusts, for each of the at least one content, a correction amount relating to a placement position of the content (as taught by Saisho), in order to provide useful and pertinent information to a driver while being less obstructive or obtrusive to the driver’s view (Saisho; [¶ 0004-0005, ¶ 0047-0048, and ¶ 0073-0074]).
Nishizaki fails to disclose an upper limit of the correction amount to allow a part of the content to be placed out of a display region of the display medium while causing at least a portion of the content to be display within the display region.
However, Rose teaches wherein the processor adjusts, for each of the at least one content, a correction amount relating to a placement position of the content (Rose; the processor [¶ 0016, ¶ 0024-0025, and 0027] adjusts a correction amount (i.e. distance) relating to a placement position of the content for each of the at least one content [¶ 0044, ¶ 0047, and ¶ 0051]; wherein, location of a viewing space (e.g. windshield/display) implicitly corresponds to a distance (value) [¶ 0046-0046]); and
wherein the processor changes, for each of the at least one content, an upper limit of the correction amount to allow a part of the content to be placed out of a display region of the display medium while causing at least a portion of the content to be display within the display region (Rose; the processor [as addressed above] changes an upper limit of the correction amount (i.e. distance) to allow a part of the content to be placed out of a display region of the display medium while causing at least a portion of the content to be display within the display region for each of the at least one content [¶ 0044, ¶ 0047, and ¶ 0051]; moreover, presenting content at different location [¶ 0051 and ¶ 0056] in relation with a desired field of vision [¶ 0059]).
Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a head-up display visualization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki as modified by Saisho, to incorporate wherein the processor adjusts, for each of the at least one content, a correction amount relating to a placement position of the content; and wherein the processor changes, for each of the at least one content, an upper limit of the correction amount to allow a part of the content to be placed out of a display region of the display medium while causing at least a portion of the content to be display within the display region (as taught by Rose), in order to provide information to a driver while being less obstructive or obtrusive to the driver’s view (Rose; [¶ 0004-0005 and ¶ 0059]).
Regarding claim 2, Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose further discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the processor further adjusts, for each of the at least one content, the correction amount in accordance with a relation between the placement position of the content displayed in a display region of the display medium and a position of the target object that is seen through the display region (Nishizaki; the processor [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] further adjusts the implicit correction amount (given adjustment within one or more regions) in accordance with a relation between the placement position of the content displayed in the display region of the display medium (i.e. windshield) and a position of the target object (i.e. preceding vehicle) that is seen through the display region for each of the at least one content [Col. 16, lines 15-64 and Col. 17, lines 7-52], as illustrated within Fig. 10A-E).
Saisho further teaches adjusting, for each of the at least one content, the correction amount in relation with placement position of the content (Saisho; adjusting the correction amount in relation with placement position of the content for each of the at least one content [¶ 0076-0078], as illustrated within Figs. 7A-C; wherein, a display area involves one or more areas that enable the movement of content [¶ 0070-0071, ¶ 0103-0104, and ¶ 0106-0107], as illustrated within Fig. 12A-E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki as modified by Saisho and Rose, to incorporate adjusting, for each of the at least one content, the correction amount in relation with placement position of the content (as taught by Saisho), in order to provide useful and pertinent information to a driver while being less obstructive or obtrusive to the driver’s view (Saisho; [¶ 0004-0005, ¶ 0047-0048, and ¶ 0073-0074]).
Regarding claim 3, Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose further discloses the display device according to claim 2, wherein the processor, for each of the at least one content, adjusts the correction amount to make a correction range narrower as a distance from the vehicle to the target object is longer (Nishizaki; the processor adjusts the implicitly correction amount (given adjustment within one or more regions) for each of the at least one content [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]).
Saisho further teaches adjusts, for each of the at least one content, the correction amount to make a correction range narrower as a distance from the vehicle to the target object is longer (Saisho; adjusts the correction amount to make a correction range narrower as a distance from the vehicle to the target object is longer for each of the at least one content [¶ 0076-0078], as illustrated within Figs. 7A-D; moreover, distance-to-destination image [¶ 0070-0071]), the correction range being between an upper side of the display region and an upper end of the content (Saisho; the correction range being between an upper side of the display region and an upper end of the content [¶ 0076-0078], as illustrated within Figs. 7A-D; moreover, a display control is performed to change the display position of the image at a rate lower than the moving rate [¶ 0103-0104 and ¶ 0106-0107], as illustrated within Figs. 12B-D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki as modified by Saisho and Rose, to incorporate adjusts, for each of the at least one content, the correction amount to make a correction range narrower as a distance from the vehicle to the target object is longer, the correction range being between an upper side of the display region and an upper end of the content (as taught by Saisho), in order to provide useful and pertinent information to a driver while being less obstructive or obtrusive to the driver’s view (Saisho; [¶ 0004-0005, ¶ 0047-0048, and ¶ 0073-0074]).
Regarding claim 4, Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose further discloses the display device according to claim 2, wherein the processor adjusts, for each of the at least one content, the correction amount (Nishizaki; the processor adjusts the correction amount for each of the at least one content [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]).
Saisho further teaches adjusting, for each of the at least one content, the correction amount to make a correction range narrower as a distance from the vehicle to the target object is shorter (Saisho; adjusting the correction amount [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] to make a correction range narrower as a distance from the vehicle to the target object is shorter for each of the at least one content [¶ 0076-0078], as illustrated within Fig. 7A-D; moreover, as illustrated within Fig. 7A, the image corresponding point is narrower based on a distance between vehicle), the correction range being between a lower side of the display region and a lower end of the content (Saisho; the correction range being between a lower side of the display region and a lower end of the content [¶ 0070-0071 and ¶ 0076-0078], as illustrated within Fig. 7A-D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki as modified by Saisho and Rose, to incorporate adjusting the correction amount to make a correction range narrower as a distance from the vehicle to the target object is shorter, the correction range being between a lower side of the display region and a lower end of the content (as taught by Saisho), in order to provide useful and pertinent information to a driver while being less obstructive or obtrusive to the driver’s view (Saisho; [¶ 0004-0005, ¶ 0047-0048, and ¶ 0073-0074]).
Regarding claim 5, Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose further discloses the display device according to claim 1,wherein the processor further adjusts, for each of the at least one content, the correction amount in accordance with a distance from the vehicle to the target object (Nishizaki; the processor further adjusts the implicit correction amount (given adjustment with one or more regions) for each of the at least one content [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] in accordance with a distance from the vehicle to the target object (i.e. preceding vehicle) [Col. 18, line 51 to Col. 19, line 32]).
Saisho teaches adjusting, for each of the at least one content, the correction amount in accordance with a distance from the vehicle to the target object (Saisho; adjusting the correction amount in accordance with a distance from the vehicle to the target object for each of the at least one content [¶ 0076-0078], as illustrated within Figs. 7A-C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki as modified by Saisho and Rose, to incorporate adjusting the correction amount in accordance with a distance from the vehicle to the target object for each of the at least one content (as taught by Saisho), in order to provide useful and pertinent information to a driver while being less obstructive or obtrusive to the driver’s view (Saisho; [¶ 0004-0005, ¶ 0047-0048, and ¶ 0073-0074]).
Regarding claim 6, Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose further discloses the display device according claim 1, wherein when the at least one content includes a first content for showing a traveling direction on a road (Nishizaki; when (i.e. in the event that) the at least one content includes a 1st content (i.e. path indicator image, and/or direction-change instruction image) for showing a traveling direction on a road [Col. 16, lines 15-65], as illustrated within Figs. 10A-B; moreover, image of a situation in which a direction is to be changed [Col. 15, lines 38-61], as illustrated within Fig. 9), the processor further adjusts the correction amount in accordance with a distance from the vehicle to the target object to cause at least a tip to be displayed within the display region of the display medium (Nishizaki; the processor further adjusts the implicitly correction amount (given adjustment with one or more regions) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] in accordance with a distance from the vehicle to the target object (i.e. preceding vehicle) to cause at least a tip (i.e. an arrow, pointing sign) to be displayed within the display region of the display medium (i.e. windshield) [Col. 16, lines 15-65], as illustrated within Figs. 10A-B; moreover, displaying a path indicator and a pointing sign within area(s) of a display [Col. 15, lines 38-61], as illustrated within Fig. 9), the tip being shown by the first content (Nishizaki; the tip (i.e. arrow, pointing sign) being shown by the 1st content [Col. 15, lines 38-61], as illustrated within Fig. 9).
Saisho further teaches adjusting the correction amount in accordance with a distance from the vehicle to the target object (Saisho; adjusting the correction amount in accordance with a distance from the vehicle to the target object [¶ 0076-0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki as modified by Saisho and Rose, to incorporate adjusting the correction amount in accordance with a distance from the vehicle to the target object (as taught by Saisho), in order to provide useful and pertinent information to a driver while being less obstructive or obtrusive to the driver’s view (Saisho; [¶ 0004-0005, ¶ 0047-0048, and ¶ 0073-0074]).
Regarding claim 7, Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose further discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one content includes a leading content for showing, as the target object, a leading vehicle traveling ahead of the vehicle (Nishizaki; the at least one content includes a leading content (i.e. preceding vehicle image) for showing a leading vehicle traveling ahead of the vehicle as the target object (i.e. preceding vehicle) [Col. 16, lines 31-64 and Col. 18, lines 5-50], as illustrated within Fig. 10B), the target object includes the leading vehicle (Nishizaki; the target object (i.e. preceding vehicle) includes the leading vehicle [Col. 16, lines 15-64], as illustrated within Fig. 10B; in other words, the target object corresponds to the leading vehicle), and the processor further adjusts the correction amount in accordance with a distance between the leading vehicle shown by the second content and the vehicle (Nishizaki; the processor further adjusts the implicit correction amount (given adjustments within regions) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] in accordance with a distance between the leading vehicle shown by the leading content (i.e. preceding vehicle image) and the vehicle [Col. 16, lines 15-64 and Col. 19, lines 1-32], as illustrated within Figs. 10A-B).
Saisho further teaches adjusts the correction amount in accordance with a distance between the leading vehicle shown by the leading content and the vehicle (Saisho; adjusting the correction amount in accordance with a distance between the leading vehicle shown by the leading content and the vehicle [¶ 0076-0078], as illustrated within Figs. 7A-D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki as modified by Saisho and Rose, to incorporate adjusting the correction amount in accordance with a distance between the leading vehicle shown by the leading content and the vehicle (as taught by Saisho), in order to provide useful and pertinent information to a driver while being less obstructive or obtrusive to the driver’s view (Saisho; [¶ 0004-0005, ¶ 0047-0048, and ¶ 0073-0074]).
Regarding claim 8, Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose further discloses the display device according to claim 7, wherein the processor adjusts the correction amount in accordance with the distance between the leading vehicle shown by the leading content and the vehicle to cause at least part of the second content to be displayed within the display region of the display medium (Nishizaki; the processor adjusts the implicit correction amount (given adjustments within regions) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] in accordance with the distance between the leading vehicle shown by the leading content (i.e. preceding vehicle image) and the vehicle to cause at least part of the leading content (i.e. preceding vehicle image) to be displayed within the display region [Col. 16, lines 15-64 and Col. 19, lines 1-32] of the display medium (i.e. windshield) [Col. 15, line 38 to Col. 16, line 12], as illustrated within Figs. 9 and 10A-B).
Saisho further teaches adjusting the correction amount in accordance with the distance between the leading vehicle and the vehicle (Saisho; adjusting the correction amount in accordance with the distance between the leading vehicle and the vehicle [¶ 0076-0078], as illustrated within Figs. 7A-D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki as modified by Saisho and Rose, to incorporate adjusting the correction amount in accordance with the distance between the leading vehicle and the vehicle (as taught by Saisho), in order to provide useful and pertinent information to a driver while being less obstructive or obtrusive to the driver’s view (Saisho; [¶ 0004-0005, ¶ 0047-0048, and ¶ 0073-0074]).
Regarding claim 9, Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose further discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one content includes a mobile content for showing a mobile object that is present in the forward view (Nishizaki; the at least one content [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] includes a mobile content (corresponding to preceding vehicle image) for showing a mobile object (i.e. vehicle (ahead)) that is present in the forward view [Col. 16, lines 15-64 and Col. 19, lines 1-32], as illustrated within Figs. 10A-E; wherein, a forward view corresponds to being ahead-of or in-front of the windshield [Col. 15, line 38 to Col. 16, line 12], as illustrated within Fig. 9), and the processor adjusts the correction amount in accordance with a distance between the mobile object shown by the mobile content and the vehicle (Nishizaki; the processor adjusts the implicit correction amount (given adjustments within regions) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] in accordance with a distance between the mobile object (i.e. vehicle (ahead)) shown by the mobile content (corresponding to preceding vehicle image) and the vehicle [Col. 16, lines 15-64 and Col. 19, lines 1-32], as illustrated within Figs. 10A-B).
Saisho further teaches adjusting the correction amount in accordance with a distance between the mobile object and the vehicle (Saisho; adjusting the correction amount in accordance with a distance between the mobile object (i.e. vehicle in-front) and the vehicle [¶ 0076-0078], as illustrated within Figs. 7A-D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki as modified by Saisho and Rose, to incorporate adjusting the correction amount in accordance with a distance between the mobile object and the vehicle (as taught by Saisho), in order to provide useful and pertinent information to a driver while being less obstructive or obtrusive to the driver’s view (Saisho; [¶ 0004-0005, ¶ 0047-0048, and ¶ 0073-0074]).
Regarding claim 10, Nishizaki in view of Saisho further discloses the display device according to claim 9, wherein the processor adjusts the correction amount in accordance with the distance between the mobile object shown by the mobile content and the vehicle to cause at least part of the third content to be displayed within a display region of the display medium (Nishizaki; the controller adjusts the implicit correction amount (given the adjustment of regions) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] in accordance with the distance between the mobile object (i.e. vehicle (ahead)) shown by the mobile content (corresponding to preceding vehicle image) and the vehicle to cause at least part of the mobile content (corresponding to preceding vehicle image) to be displayed [Col. 16, lines 15-64 and Col. 19, lines 1-32], as illustrated within Figs. 10A-B, within the display region of the display medium (windshield) [Col. 15, line 38 to Col. 16, line 12], as illustrated within Fig. 9).
Saisho further teaches adjusting the correction amount in accordance with a distance between the mobile object and the vehicle (Saisho; adjusting the correction amount in accordance with a distance between the mobile object (i.e. vehicle in-front) and the vehicle [¶ 0076-0078], as illustrated within Figs. 7A-D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki as modified by Saisho and Rose, to incorporate adjusting the correction amount in accordance with a distance between the mobile object and the vehicle (as taught by Saisho), in order to provide useful and pertinent information to a driver while being less obstructive or obtrusive to the driver’s view (Saisho; [¶ 0004-0005, ¶ 0047-0048, and ¶ 0073-0074]).
Regarding claim 11, Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose further discloses the display device according to claim 1,
wherein the at least one content includes a lane content for showing a lane (Nishizaki; the at least one content includes a lane content (i.e. lane indicator, path indicator, route navigation info) for showing a lane [Col. 7, line 49 to Col. 8, line 13 and Col. 9, lines 15-42]), and the processor adjusts the correction amount in accordance with a distance between the target object shown by the lane content and the vehicle to cause at least part of the fourth content to be displayed within the display region of the display medium (Nishizaki; the processor adjusts the implicit correction amount (given the adjustment regions) [as addressed parent claim(s)] in accordance with a distance between the target object (i.e. preceding vehicle) shown by the lane content (i.e. lane indicator, path indicator, route navigation info) and the vehicle to cause at least part of the lane content (i.e. lane indicator, path indicator, route navigation info) to be displayed [Col. 16, lines 15-64 and Col. 19, lines 1-32], as illustrated within Figs. 10A-B, within the display region of the display medium (windshield) [Col. 15, line 38 to Col. 16, line 12], as illustrated within Fig. 9).
Saisho further teaches adjusting the correction amount in accordance with a distance between the target object and the vehicle (Saisho; adjusting the correction amount in accordance with a distance between the target object and the vehicle [¶ 0076-0078], as illustrated within Figs. 7A-D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki as modified by Saisho and Roase, to incorporate adjusting the correction amount in accordance with a distance between the target object and the vehicle (as taught by Saisho), in order to provide useful and pertinent information to a driver while being less obstructive or obtrusive to the driver’s view (Saisho; [¶ 0004-0005, ¶ 0047-0048, and ¶ 0073-0074]).
Regarding claim 12, Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose further discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the processor further adjusts the correction amount in accordance with a traveling speed of the vehicle (Nishizaki; the processor further adjusts the implicit correction amount (given the adjustment within regions) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] in accordance with a traveling speed of the vehicle [Col. 19, lines 1-52]; moreover, a prescribed safe range may vary according to the vehicle speed [id.]; wherein, as illustrated within Figs. 10A-E, the presentation of content is affected by the (changes in) range/distance between the two vehicles; in other words, as a vehicle travels between two points and the traveling speed of the vehicle increases, the distance becomes shorter more quickly).
Saisho further teaches adjusting the correction amount associated with the vehicle (Saisho; adjusting the correction amount associated with the view of the vehicle [¶ 0076-0078], as illustrated within Figs. 7A-D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki as modified by Saisho and Rose, to incorporate adjusting the correction amount associated with the vehicle (as taught by Saisho), in order to provide useful and pertinent information to a driver while being less obstructive or obtrusive to the driver’s view (Saisho; [¶ 0004-0005, ¶ 0047-0048, and ¶ 0073-0074]).
Regarding claim 13, Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose further discloses the display device according to claim 12, wherein the processor further adjusts the correction amount to be smaller as the traveling speed of the vehicle is higher (Nishizaki; the processor further adjusts the implicit correction amount (given the adjustments within regions) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]).
Saisho further discloses adjusting the correction amount to be smaller as the traveling speed of the vehicle is higher (Saisho; adjusting the correction amount to be smaller as the traveling speed of the vehicle is higher [¶ 0068 and ¶ 0073-0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki as modified by Saisho and Rose, to incorporate adjusting the correction amount to be smaller as the traveling speed of the vehicle is higher (as taught by Saisho), in order to provide useful and pertinent information to a driver while being less obstructive or obtrusive to the driver’s view (Saisho; [¶ 0004-0005, ¶ 0047-0048, and ¶ 0073-0074]).
Regarding claim 14, Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose further discloses the display device according to claim 1,wherein the processor further adjusts the correction amount in accordance with a type of a road on which the vehicle travels (Nishizaki; the processor further adjusts the implicit correction amount (given adjustment within regions) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] in accordance with vehicle travel [Col. 16, lines 15-64 and Col. 19, lines 1-32]).
Saisho further teaches adjusts the correction amount in accordance with a type of a road on which the vehicle travels (Saisho; adjusting the correction amount in accordance [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] with a type of a road on which the vehicle travels [¶ 0109-0110 and ¶ 0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki as modified by Saisho and Rose, to incorporate adjusting the correction amount in accordance with a type of a road on which the vehicle travels (as taught by Saisho), in order to provide useful and pertinent information to a driver while being less obstructive or obtrusive to the driver’s view (Saisho; [¶ 0004-0005, ¶ 0047-0048, and ¶ 0073-0074]).
Regarding claim 15, Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose further discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein, to display the at least one content within the display region of the display medium (Nishizaki; to display the at least one content [Col. 16, lines 15-64], as illustrated within Figs. 10A-B, within the display region of the display medium (i.e. windshield) [Col. 15, line 38 to Col. 16, line 12], as illustrated within Fig. 9), the processor adjusts an orientation of the at least one content more, as a distance from the vehicle to the target object is longer, the at least one content being displayed in association with the target object (Nishizaki; the processor [as addressed within parent claim(s)] adjusts an orientation of the at least one content more, as a distance from the vehicle to the target object (i.e. preceding vehicle) is longer, the at least one content being displayed in association with the target object (i.e. preceding vehicle) [Col. 16, lines 15-64], as illustrated within Figs. 10A-B; wherein, implicitly the reversal (to the above teachings going from Fig. 10A to Fig. 10B) the distance increases (going from Fig. 10B to Fig. 10A), given the manner in which vehicles operate within a traffic environment; moreover, priority for-driver information [Col. 17, lines 7-52]).
Regarding claim 18, Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose further discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the processor extracts a smallest correction amount from a plurality of correction amounts of contents (Saisho; the processor [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] extracts a smallest correction amount from a plurality of correction amounts of contents [¶ 0076-0078], as illustrated within Fig. 7A-D; moreover, moving rate [¶ 0103-0104 and ¶ 0106-0107]), and adjusts remaining one or more of the plurality of correction amounts to the smallest correction amount extracted, the plurality of correction amounts each being the correction amount, the contents being the content (Saisho; adjusting (the) remaining one or more of the plurality of correction amounts to the smallest correction amount (corresponding to a rate) extracted the contents being the content the plurality of correction amounts each being the correction amount [¶ 0076-0078], as illustrated within Fig. 7A-D; in other words, one or more rate related movements of content is small increments).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki as modified by Saisho and Rose, to incorporate the processor extracts a smallest correction amount from a plurality of correction amounts of contents, and adjusts remaining one or more of the plurality of correction amounts to the smallest correction amount extracted, the plurality of correction amounts each being the correction amount, the contents being the content (as taught by Saisho), in order to provide useful and pertinent information to a driver while being less obstructive or obtrusive to the driver’s view (Saisho; [¶ 0004-0005, ¶ 0047-0048, and ¶ 0073-0074]).
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 19 is addressed within the rejection of claim 1, due to the similarities claim 19 and claim 1 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 1 regarding the rejection of claim 19. Although, claim 19 and claim 1 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. However, the subject matter/limitations not addressed by claim 1 is/are addressed below.
Nishizaki discloses adjusting, for each of the at least one content, a correction amount relating to a placement position of each of the at least one content (Nishizaki; adjusting an implicit correction amount (given adjustments within regions) relating to a placement position of each of the at least one content for each of the at least one content [Col. 16, lines 15-64], as illustrated within Fig. 10B), using a correction amount appropriate to the content, the adjusting being performed by the processor (Nishizaki; the adjusting being performed by the processor using an implicit correction amount (given adjustment within regions) appropriate to the content [Col. 16, lines 15-64], as illustrated within Fig. 10B; moreover, displayed (placement of) content on a priority basis [Col. 17, lines 7-52]).
Nishizaki fails to explicitly disclose adjusting a correction amount.
However, Saisho teaches adjusting a correction amount relating to a placement position of each of the at least one content (Saisho; adjusting a correction amount [¶ 0076-0078] relating to a placement position of each of the at least one content [¶ 0070-0072], as illustrated within Figs. 7A-C; moreover, changes from upper area to lower area [¶ 0103-0104 and ¶ 0106-0107], as illustrated within Fig. 12A-E).
Nishizaki and Saisho are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a head-up display visualization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki, to incorporate wherein the controller adjusts, for each of the at least one content, a correction amount relating to a placement position of the content (as taught by Saisho), in order to provide useful and pertinent information to a driver while being less obstructive or obtrusive to the driver’s view (Saisho; [¶ 0004-0005, ¶ 0047-0048, and ¶ 0073-0074]).
(further refer to the rejection of claim 1)
Regarding claim 20, Nishizaki discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for causing a computer to execute the display method according to claim 19 (Nishizaki; a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for causing a computer to execute [Col. 3, lines 16-29 and Col. 8, lines 50-65] the display method according to claim 19 [further refer to the rejection of claim 19]).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Lee, US PGPUB No. 20220308344 A1, hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 16, Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose further discloses the display device according to claim 1.
Nishizaki as modified by Saisho and Rose fails to disclose wherein the processor calculates a misalignment correction value for correcting a misalignment from the target object that is present in the forward view of the vehicle to the at least one content, and the processor outputs, to the display, an instruction for displaying auxiliary information together with the at least one content, when the placement position of the content has been corrected based on the misalignment correction value.
Lee further teaches the processor calculates a misalignment correction value for correcting a misalignment from the target object that is present in the forward view of the vehicle to the at least one content (Lee; the processor [¶ 0078] calculates a misalignment correction value (i.e. match ratio) for correcting a misalignment from the target object that is present in the forward view of the vehicle to the at least one content [¶ 0082-0083 and ¶ 0085-0086]), and the processor outputs, to the display, an instruction for displaying auxiliary information together with the content (Lee; the controller outputs an instruction for displaying auxiliary information together with the at least one content to the display [¶ 0080, ¶ 0082, and ¶ 0086]), when the placement position of the content has been corrected based on the misalignment correction value (Lee; when the placement position of the content has been corrected based on the misalignment correction value (i.e. match ratio) [¶ 0086-0088]).
Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose and Lee are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce a head-up display visualization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki as modified by Saisho and Rose, to incorporate the processor calculates a misalignment correction value for correcting a misalignment from the target object that is present in the forward view of the vehicle to the at least one content, and the processor outputs, to the display, an instruction for displaying auxiliary information together with the content, when the placement position of the at least one content has been corrected based on the misalignment correction value (as taught by Lee), in order to provide proper placement of information within a specific range within a moving environment (Lee; [¶ 0003-0005 and ¶ 0008-0009]).
Regarding claim 17, Nishizaki in view of Saisho and Rose and Lee further discloses the display device according to claim 16, wherein the auxiliary information includes a direction from the vehicle to the target object and a distance from the vehicle to the target object (Lee; the auxiliary information [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] includes a direction from the vehicle to the target object and a distance from the vehicle to the target object [¶ 0082 and ¶ 0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Nishizaki as modified by Saisho, Rose, and Lee, to incorporate the auxiliary information includes a direction from the vehicle to the target object and a distance from the vehicle to the target object (as taught by Lee), in order to provide proper placement of information within a specific range within a moving environment (Lee; [¶ 0003-0005 and ¶ 0008-0009]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
(regarding placement of content within a viewing area)
Sato et al. (US PGPUB No. 20170270899 A1);
Matsubara et al. (US PGPUB No. 20160004076 A1); and
Takazawa et al. (US PGPUB No. 20160159280 A1).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHARLES LLOYD. BEARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2611
/CHARLES L BEARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611