Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 04/08/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-15, 19-25, 27-28, and 31-35 remain pending. Claims 4, 11, 16-18, 26, and 29-30 have been cancelled. New claims 36-38 have been added.
The amendments to the claims have overcome each and every rejection under 35 USC 112 made in Final Rejection mailed 01/09/2026 and those rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
The Applicant argues the claims are allowable since the independent claims have been amended to require wherein “the transmission is configured to drive the accessory at a desired rotational speed”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The transmission of the prior art already drives the accessory and moreover the subject limitation is functional language which the transmission of the prior art can do since all structural limitations of the claims have been met, see MPEP 2114(II).
The amendments to the claims have changed the scope of the claims necessitating new or modified grounds of rejection. Please see new or modified grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9-10, 13-15, 21, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 11333077 to Foutch ‘077.
Regarding claim 1:
Foutch ‘077 discloses a system (system 166, accessory gearbox 190, Fig 4A) configured to be operatively connected to a turbine engine (150, Fig 4A) of an aircraft (100, Fig 1) and to an accessory of the aircraft (accessories 180/191), the system comprises a transmission (power transfer unit 168, Figs 2/4) that varies a gear ratio (Col 4 Lns 60-62, Fig 4) to drive the accessory (Col 7 Lns 3-17), the system configured to selectively transfer power between a first pressure spool of the turbine engine and a second pressure spool of the turbine engine (see abstract) and to transfer power from the second pressure spool to the accessory at multiple different gear ratios (Col 6 Ln 64 – Col 7 Ln 17; system comprises continuously variable transmission, Col 4 Lns 60-62).
Regarding claim 2:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 1.
Foutch ‘077 further discloses wherein the system comprises the transmission having a clutch (170, Figs 2/4).
Regarding claim 3:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 1.
Foutch ‘077 further discloses wherein the transmission is configured to selectively operate in one of a first configuration, a second configuration, and a third configuration:
wherein the first configuration transfers power from the turbine engine to the accessory (Col 5 Lns 13-14; Col 7 Lns 3-17);
wherein the second configuration transfers power from the first pressure spool to the second pressure spool (see abstract).
The limitation “wherein the third configuration prevents the transfer of power from the turbine engine to the accessory and the prevents transfer of the power from the first pressure spool to the second pressure spool” is a functional limitation. As the prior art teaches all structural limitations of the claim, and additionally wherein both low pressure and high pressure shafts may be decoupled via a clutch (clutch 170, Figs 2/4; Col 4 Lns 34-36), the prior art can perform the claimed function.
Regarding claim 5:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 1.
Foutch ‘077 further discloses a transmission (gear train 195, Fig 4; power transfer unit 168, Figs 2/4): a first drive mechanism (output shaft 172, Fig 4) that connects the first pressure spool to the transmission (Fig 4); and a second drive mechanism (drive shaft 174, Fig 4) that connects the second pressure spool to the transmission (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 7:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 1.
Foutch ‘077 further discloses a controller with processing circuitry (EEC 180, Figs 2/4) configured to drive the accessory and to transfer the power produced from the first pressure spool to the second pressure spool (Col 5 Lns 9-14/19-21/33-36; Col 7 Lns 3-17; Col 11 Lns 22-24, Fig 10).
Regarding claim 9:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 7.
Foutch ‘077 further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to operate one or more components of the aircraft system of the aircraft (Col 5 Lns 19-21).
Regarding claim 10:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 1.
Foutch ‘077 further discloses wherein the transmission (gear train 195, Fig 4; power transfer unit 168, Figs 2/4) is configured to transfer power from the first pressure spool to the second pressure spool (see abstract) and to transfer the power from the second pressure spool to the first pressure spool (Col 2 Lns 7-10).
Regarding claim 13:
Foutch ‘077 discloses a system (system 166, accessory gearbox 190, Fig 4A) configured to be operatively connected to a turbine engine (150, Fig 4A) of an aircraft (100, Fig 1), the system comprising:
an accessory (accessories 180/191);
a transmission (power transfer unit 168, Figs 2/4) comprising a continuously variable transmission (Col 4 Lns 60-62);
a first drive mechanism (one of output shaft 172 and drive shaft 174, Fig 4) that connects the transmission to a first pressure spool (a respective one of high pressure spool 156 and low pressure spool 162, Fig 4) of the turbine engine;
a second drive mechanism (the other one of output shaft 172 and drive shaft 174, Fig 4) that connects the transmission to a second pressure spool (the respective other one of high pressure spool 156 and low pressure spool 162, Fig 4) of the turbine engine;
wherein the transmission is configured to transfer power of the turbine engine through the first drive mechanism and the second drive mechanism (see abstract); and
wherein the transmission is configured to drive the accessory (Col 6 Lns 64-66; Fig 4) at different gear ratios through the second drive mechanism (transmission is a continuously variable transmission, Col 4 Lns 60-62).
Regarding claim 14:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 13.
Foutch ‘077 further discloses wherein the transmission is configured to transfer the power from the first pressure spool to the second pressure spool through the first drive mechanism and the second drive mechanism (see abstract, Col 2 Lns 7-10).
Regarding claim 15:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 13.
Foutch ‘077 further discloses wherein the transmission is configured to transfer the power from the second pressure spool to the first pressure spool through the first drive mechanism and the second drive mechanism (see abstract, Col 1 Ln 64 - Col 2 Ln 10).
Regarding claim 21:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 13.
Foutch ‘077 further discloses a controller (EEC 180, Fig 4) configured to selectively operate (via clutches 170) the transmission in a first mode to transfer the power of the turbine engine through the first drive mechanism and the second drive mechanism (see abstract, Col 2 Lns 7-10) and in a second mode to drive the accessory (Col 5 Lns 9-14/19-21/33-36; Col 7 Lns 3-17; Col 11 Lns 22-24, Fig 10).
Regarding claim 36:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 1.
Foutch ‘077 further discloses wherein the transmission comprises a continuously variable transmission (Col 4 Lns 60-62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 12, 19-20, 22-23, 25, 27-28, and 31-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11333077 to Foutch henceforth referred to as Foutch ‘077 in view of US 9810158 to Foutch henceforth referred to as Foutch ‘158.
Regarding claim 6.
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 1.
Foutch ‘077 further discloses the transmission configured to operate at different speeds (Col 4 Lns 60-62).
Foutch ‘077 suggests (Col 7 Lns 1-2) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the accessory is a compressor and the transmission to cause the compressor to deliver air at a desired pressure to the aircraft system of the aircraft.
Foutch ‘158 is also in the field of aircraft engines (see abstract) and teaches a transmission (gearbox 276 and variable speed transmission 402, Fig 4), an accessory comprising a compressor (turbo compressor 230, Fig 4), wherein the transmission is configured to operate at different speeds to cause a compressor to deliver air at a desired pressure (Col 13 Lns 50-57) to an aircraft system (system 228, Fig 4; Col 6 Ln 63 – Col 7 Ln 6) of an aircraft (100, Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the accessory as disclosed by Foutch ‘077 to be a compressor as taught by Foutch ‘158 for the purpose of providing compressed bleed air to a system of the aircraft (Col 7 Lns 13-14).
Regarding claim 12:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 1.
Foutch ‘077 further discloses wherein the first pressure spool is a low pressure spool (low pressure spool 162, Figs 2/4), and the second spool is a high pressure spool (high pressure spool 156, Figs 2/4), and wherein the system is configured to selectively transfer power between the low pressure spool and the second pressure spool (see abstract).
Foutch ‘077 suggests (Col 7 Lns 1-2) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the accessory is a compressor to deliver air to an aircraft system of the aircraft.
Foutch ‘158 is also in the field of aircraft engines (see abstract) and teaches a transmission (gearbox 276 and variable speed transmission 402, Fig 4), an accessory comprising a compressor (turbo compressor 230, Fig 4) to deliver air to an aircraft system (system 228, Fig 4; Col 6 Ln 63 – Col 7 Ln 6) of an aircraft (100, Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the accessory as disclosed by Foutch ‘077 to be a compressor as taught by Foutch ‘158 for the purpose of providing compressed bleed air to an aircraft system of the aircraft (Col 7 Lns 13-14).
Regarding claim 19:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 13.
Foutch ‘077 does not disclose a bleed air system comprising one or more ports and first passageways through which air is delivered from the turbine engine to the aircraft.
Foutch ‘158 is also in the field of aircraft engines (see abstract) and teaches a bleed air system (bleed air system 202, shown in Fig 2 and unlabeled in Fig 5) comprising one or more ports (bleed port 238, Fig 5) and first passageways (passageways 254/505, shown in Fig 2 and unlabeled in Fig 5) through which air is delivered from a turbine engine (200, Fig 5) to an aircraft (100, Fig 1; Col 6 Ln 63 – Col 7 Ln 6; Col 7 Lns 13-14, Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the accessory as disclosed by Foutch ‘077 to be a compressor as taught by Foutch ‘158 for the purpose of providing compressed bleed air to an aircraft system of the aircraft (Col 7 Lns 13-14).
Regarding claim 20:
Foutch ‘077 as modified by Foutch ‘158 teaches the system of claim 19.
Foutch ‘158 further teaches wherein the accessory is a compressor (compressor 232 of turbo compressor 230, shown in Fig 2 and unlabeled in Fig 5) and the bleed air system further comprises a second passageway (passageway 240, shown in Fig 2 and unlabeled in Fig 5) that delivers air from the turbine engine to the compressor (Col 7 Lns 27-31), the second passageway being separate from the first passageways (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 22:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 21.
Foutch ‘077 does not disclose wherein the controller is further configured to control operation of a bleed air system that delivers air from the turbine engine to the aircraft.
Foutch ‘158 is also in the field of aircraft engines (see abstract) and teaches a controller (control system 293, Fig 4) configured to control operation of a bleed air system (bleed air system 202, shown in Fig 2 and unlabeled in Fig 4) that delivers air from a turbine engine (200, Fig 4) to an aircraft (100, Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller as disclosed by Foutch ‘077 to also control operation of a bleed air system as taught by Foutch ‘158 for the purpose of controlling a bleed air system (Col 2 Lns 4-7) such that compressed bleed air is delivered to an aircraft system of the aircraft (Col 7 Lns 13-14) within a desired pressure range (Col 12 Lns 10-32).
Regarding claim 23:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 13.
Foutch ‘077 does not disclose a bleed air system configured to supply air from the turbine engine to the accessory.
Foutch ‘158 is also in the field of aircraft engines (see abstract) and teaches a bleed air system (202, shown in Fig 2 and unlabeled in Fig 4) configured to supply air (via passageway 240, shown in Fig 2 and unlabeled in Fig 4) from a turbine engine (200, Fig 4) to an accessory (compressor 232 of turbo compressor 230, Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as disclosed by Foutch ‘077 with the above aforementioned bleed air system and accessory as taught by Foutch ‘158 for the purpose of providing compressed bleed air to a system of the aircraft (Col 7 Lns 13-14).
Regarding the method of claim 25:
Foutch ‘077 teaches the method of claim 24.
Foutch ‘077 does not disclose the accessory being a compressor and transferring power from the turbine engine to the compressor and delivering air from the turbine engine to an aircraft system.
Foutch ‘158 is also in the field of aircraft engines (see abstract) and teaches an accessory comprising a compressor (turbo compressor 230, Fig 4) and transferring power from a turbine engine (200, Fig 4) to the compressor (via drive shaft 266, gearbox 276, transmission 402, clutch 404, and shaft 250; Fig 4) to deliver air to an aircraft system (system 228, Fig 4; Col 6 Ln 63 – Col 7 Ln 6) of an aircraft (100, Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the accessory as disclosed by Foutch ‘077 to be a compressor as taught by Foutch ‘158 for the purpose of providing compressed bleed air to an aircraft system of the aircraft (Col 7 Lns 13-14).
Regarding claim 27:
Foutch ‘077 as modified by Foutch ‘158 teaches the method of claim 25.
Foutch ‘077 as modified by Foutch ‘158 further teaches providing air to the aircraft system through a bleed air system (see rejection of claim 25 above) when the transmission is in the first configuration (see rejection of claim 24 above).
Regarding claim 28:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the method of claim 24.
Foutch ‘077 does not disclose preventing power from being transferred from the turbine engine to the accessory.
Foutch ‘158 teaches a turbine engine (102, Fig 1; 200, Fig 2) connected to an accessory (compressor 232, Fig 2) and a method step of preventing power from being transferred from the turbine engine to the accessory (when idling clutch 278 is disconnected and the compressor 232 is driven by a turbine 234 powered by a high pressure air source, thereby allowing for higher RPMs than the transmission allows Col 10 Ln 62 – Col 11 Ln 11, the high pressure air source being either from the high pressure compressor or an external source such as an auxiliary power unit, ground cart, etc., Col 5 Lns 20-31, Fig 5) in the second configuration (see rejection of claim 24 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as disclosed by Foutch ‘077 with the method step of preventing power from being transferred from the turbine to the accessory as taught by Foutch ‘158 for the purpose of driving the accessory at RPMs higher than would otherwise be achievable (Col 5 Lns 20-31, Col 10 Ln 62 – Col 11 Ln 11).
Regarding claim 31:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 1.
Foutch ‘077 does not disclose:
a bleed air system comprising one or more ports and first passageways through which air is delivered from the turbine engine to the aircraft; and
wherein the accessory is a compressor and the bleed air system further comprises a second passageway that delivers air from the turbine engine to the compressor,
the second passageway being separate from the first passageways.
Foutch ‘158 teaches:
a bleed air system (bleed air system 202, Fig 2) comprising one or more ports (flow control member 248, Fig 2) and first passageways (conduit 246, Fig 2) through which air is delivered from the turbine engine to an aircraft (Col 6 Lns 57-63 and Col 8 Lns 14-19); and
wherein an accessory is a compressor (compressor 232, Fig 2) and the bleed air system further comprises a second passageway (conduit 240, Fig 2) that delivers air from the turbine engine to the compressor (conduit 240 fluidly couples bleed port 238 to compressor inlet 236, Fig 2),
the second passageway being separate from the first passageways (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Foutch ‘077 with the above aforementioned bleed air system as taught by Foutch ‘158 for the purpose of supply various systems of an aircraft with pressurized air (Col 6 Lns 57-68).
Regarding claim 32:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 1.
Foutch ‘077 suggests (Col 7 Lns 1-2) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the accessory is a compressor and the transmission is configured provide power to the compressor for the compressor to operate at a required speed.
Foutch ‘158 is also in the field of aircraft engines (see abstract) and teaches a transmission (gearbox 276 and variable speed transmission 402, Fig 4), an accessory comprising a compressor (turbo compressor 230, Fig 4), wherein the transmission is configured to provide power to the compressor for the compressor to operate at a required speed (whichever speed is necessary to meet pressure and flow requirements, Col 13 Lns 50-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the accessory as disclosed by Foutch ‘077 to be a compressor as taught by Foutch ‘158 for the purpose of providing compressed bleed air to a system of the aircraft (Col 7 Lns 13-14).
Regarding claim 33:
Foutch ‘077 teaches the method of claim 24.
Foutch ‘077 suggests (Col 7 Lns 1-2) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the accessory is a compressor and further comprising providing power to the compressor and operating the compressor at a required speed.
Foutch ‘158 is also in the field of aircraft engines (see abstract) and teaches an accessory comprising a compressor (turbo compressor 230, Fig 4), providing power to the compressor (via gearbox 276 and variable speed transmission 402, Figs 2/4), operating the compressor at a required speed (whichever speed is necessary to meet pressure and flow requirements, Col 13 Lns 50-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the accessory as disclosed by Foutch ‘077 to be a compressor as taught by Foutch ‘158 for the purpose of providing compressed bleed air to a system of the aircraft (Col 7 Lns 13-14).
Regarding claim 34:
Foutch ‘077 as modified by Foutch ‘158 teaches the method of claim 33.
Foutch ‘077 does not disclose preventing the transfer of power from the turbine engine to the accessory which is a compressor.
Foutch ‘158 further teaches preventing the transfer of power between the turbine engine (200, Fig 2) to the compressor (via clutch 278, Figs 2/5; Col 5 Lns 18-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Foutch ‘077 to include the step of preventing transmission of power from the turbine engine to the accessory which is a compressor as taught by Foutch ‘158 for the purpose of allowing the accessory/compressor to be powered by other means when power supplied by the transmission is insufficient, e.g. at idle (Col 5 Lns 18-31).
Regarding claim 35:
Foutch ‘077 as modified by Foutch ‘158 teaches the method of claim 34.
Foutch ‘158 further teaches delivering the air from the turbine engine to an aircraft system (Col 6 Lns 57-68).
Claim(s) 8, 24, and 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11333077 to Foutch (henceforth referred to as Foutch ‘077).
Regarding claim 8:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 7.
Foutch ‘077 does not disclose wherein the controller is integrated within a body of a transmission.
The Applicant has disclosed no criticality, nor described any new or unexpected results, from having the controller be integrated within a body of a transmission, shifting the position of the controller would not change the operation of the system, and the prior would perform the same having the controller be integrated within a body of a transmission. Mere rearrangement of parts supports a prima facie obviousness determination, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller as disclosed by Foutch ‘077 to be integrated within a body of a transmission as claimed as an obvious matter of design choice through mere rearrangement of parts, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 24:
Foutch ‘077 discloses a method of transferring mechanical power in a turbine engine (see title) of an aircraft (100, Fig 1), the method comprising:
positioning a transmission (power transfer unit 168, Figs 2/4) with a continuously variable transmission (Col 4 Lns 60-62) in a first configuration and transferring power from the turbine engine to an accessory (when either or both clutches 170 of output shaft 172 and drive shaft 174 are engaged power is transferred via drive chain 195 to accessories 189/191); and
positioning the transmission in a second configuration and transferring power from a low pressure spool of the turbine engine to the high pressure spool of the turbine engine (Col 1 Lns 45-49 and Col 2 Lns 4-10).
Foutch ‘077 does not disclose wherein the transmission in the first configuration transfers power from a high pressure spool of the turbine engine to an accessory to drive the accessory at different gear ratios.
In Foutch ‘077, the low pressure spool is connected to the accessories via a continuously variable transmission thus a modification to have the high pressure spool also be connected to the accessories via a continuously variable transmission would merely require duplication of parts. Mere duplication of parts supports a prima facie obviousness determination, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the high pressure spool as disclosed by Foutch ‘077 to drive the accessories through a continuously variable transmission as claimed through mere duplication of parts, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claim 37:
Foutch ‘077 discloses the system of claim 13.
Foutch ‘077 further teaches wherein the first pressure spool is a low pressure spool and the second pressure spool is a high pressure spool (as defined) but does not teach wherein the transmission is configured to drive the accessory at the different gear ratios through the high pressure spool.
In Foutch ‘077, the low pressure spool is connected to the accessories via a continuously variable transmission thus a modification to have the high pressure spool also be connected to the accessories via a continuously variable transmission would merely require duplication of parts. Mere duplication of parts supports a prima facie obviousness determination, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the high pressure spool as disclosed by Foutch ‘077 to drive the accessories through a continuously variable transmission as claimed through mere duplication of parts, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claim 38:
Foutch ‘077 teaches the system of claim 37.
Foutch ‘077 further discloses transferring power from the low pressure spool to the high pressure spool (Col 1 Lns 45-49 and Col 2 Lns 4-10).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN A PRUITT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745