DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8, 12-14, 17, 21, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Macram N. Bishai U.S. Patent 4,966,410 (Bishai).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Bishai discloses an apparatus and method comprising: a pump (Figure 2 Element 16); at least one fluid bladder (Element 14) fluidly connected to the pump, the at least one fluid bladder moveable between an inflate state and a deflate state; at least one valve (Element 36) downstream of the pump and the at least one fluid bladder; and a connector connected to the pump (component that is the connector indicated as Element 36), the at least one fluid bladder, and the at least one valve, wherein the pump selectively inflates the at least one fluid bladder to the inflate state, and the at least one valve selectively and actively deflates the at least one fluid bladder (fluid flow control Element 28).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Bishai discloses the apparatus and the method wherein active deflation utilizes a vacuum effect for active deflation (Column 2 Line 50-60).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Bishai discloses the apparatus and the method wherein the connector is a multi-channel connector that has a first channel fluidly connected to the pump (Element 36 connected to Element 16), a second channel (Element 36 connected to Element 14) fluidly connected to the at least one fluid bladder, and a third channel (Element 36 connected to Element 30) fluidly connected to the at least one valve.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Bishai discloses the apparatus and the method including a vacuum generator (Column 2 Line 50-60), and wherein the at least one valve comprises at least a first valve and a second valve, and wherein the connector comprises a multi-channel connector that has a first channel fluidly connected to the pump (Element 16 with 36), a second channel fluidly connected to the at least one fluid bladder via the first valve (Element 14 with Element 36), and a third channel fluidly connected to the vacuum generator (Element 36 with Element 30).
Regarding claim 8, Bishai discloses the apparatus and the method wherein the first valve and the second valve comprise two-way valves (Column 2 Lines 50-60 bi-directional flow).
Regarding claims 21 and 23, Bishai discloses the method and apparatus further comprising a controller in communication with the pump and the at least one valve, via the controller; selectively activating the pump, and controlling a position of the at least one valve to selectively and independently inflate and deflate the at lea tone fluid bladder (Column 2 Line 41-60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macram N. Bishai U.S. Patent 4,966,410 (Bishai).
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Bishai discloses the apparatus and the method comprising at least one bladder (Element 14); wherein the at least one fluid bladder comprises fluid bladders, and wherein the pump comprises a single pump, and including controlling inflation and deflation of the bladder. Bishai does not directly dislcose a plurality of bladders. Duplication of parts is common and well known in the art. It would be an obvious modification well known in the art to provide a plurality of bladders to enhance the support for the comfort of the users.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 9, 10, 15, 16, 18, 19, 22, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The functions of the switch as taught by Bishai, disclose the inflation and deflation of the bladders by controlling the fluid flow through the valves manipulated by the controller element 36.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIN H KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636