DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/795503. Claims 1-16 are currently pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 12, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANAKA (2010/0292039) in view of GARBAGNATI (2003/0167749).
Regarding Claim 1, TANAKA teaches A roller chain comprising: a bush (3) having a first end and a second end, a pin (5) extending through the bush and having a first end extending from the first end of the bush and a second end extending from the second end of the bush, a roller (6) supported by an outer surface of the bush and having a first end and a second end, a first inner link (2) having a first opening mounted on the bush (3) at the first end of the roller (6) and a second inner link (2) having a first opening mounted on the bush at the second end of the roller, a first outer link (4) having a first opening mounted on the first end of the pin and a second outer link (4) having a first opening mounted at the second end of the pin, wherein the bush comprises a sintered cylinder impregnated with a lubricant.
TANAKA does not teach and a first seal body axially mounted between the first inner link and the first outer link and a second seal body axially mounted between the second inner link and the second outer link.
GARBAGNATI teaches and a first seal body (15) axially mounted between the first inner link (11) and the first outer link (12) and a second seal body (15) axially mounted between the second inner link (11) and the second outer link (12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the chain in TANAKA to have the seal in GARBAGNATI to help block debris from interfering with normal pivoting of the chain and causing wear. Lubricant is also retained in the bushing area to reduce wear and preserve normal chain link pivoting.
Regarding Claim 2, TANAKA as modified teaches wherein the first end of the bush (GARBAGNATI 14) is located on a side of the first inner link (GARBAGNATI 11) opposite the roller (GARBAGNATI 16), and wherein a portion of the first seal body (GARBAGNATI 15) is mounted on the first end of the bush (GARBAGNATI 14).
Regarding Claim 3, TANAKA as modified teaches wherein the second end of the bush (GARBAGNATI 14) is located on a side of the second inner link (GARBAGNATI 11) opposite the roller (GARBAGNATI 16), and wherein a portion of the second seal body (GARBAGNATI 15) is mounted on the second end of the bush (GARBAGNATI 14).
Regarding Claim 4, TANAKA as modified teaches wherein the first seal body (GARBAGNATI 15) axially contacts the first inner link (GARBAGNATI 11) and the first outer link (GARBAGNATI 12).
Regarding Claim 5, TANAKA as modified teaches wherein the second seal body (GARBAGNATI 15) axially contacts the second inner link (GARBAGNATI 11) and the second outer link (GARBAGNATI 12).
Regarding Claim 7, TANAKA as modified teaches wherein the first seal body (GARBAGNATI 15) is an X-ring seal body.
Regarding Claim 12, TANAKA as modified teaches wherein the first seal body (GARBAGNATI 15) axially contacts the first inner link (GARBAGNATI 11) and the first outer link (GARBAGNATI 12), and wherein the second seal body (GARBAGNATI 15) axially contacts the second inner link (GARBAGNATI 11) and the second outer link (GARBAGNATI 12).
Regarding Claim 15, 16, TANAKA as modified teaches wherein the bush (3) includes pores and the lubricant at least partially fills the pores [0028]-[0039].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANAKA (2010/0292039) in view of GARBAGNATI (2003/0167749) and further in view of TRACY (4,571,228)
Regarding Claim 6, TANAKA as modified does not teach wherein the first and second inner links and the first and second outer links are plated with nickel or coated with black oxide.
TRACY teaches wherein the first and second inner links and the first and second outer links are plated with nickel (Col. 2 line 63 - Col. 3 line 11)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the chain in TANAKA as modified to have the plating in TRACY to improve corrosion resistance and wear resistance of the chain.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANAKA (2010/0292039) in view of GARBAGNATI (2003/0167749) and further in view of SATO (4,424,050)
Regarding Claim 8, TANAKA as modified does not teach wherein the first seal body is an O-ring seal body.
SATO teaches wherein the first seal body (4) is an O-ring seal body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the chain in TANAKA as modified to have the seal shape in TRACY so the chain is more cost effective.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANAKA (2010/0292039) in view of GARBAGNATI (2003/0167749) and further in view of KANEHIRA (2002/0072443).
Regarding Claim 9, TANAKA as modified does not teach wherein the first seal body is made from urethane.
KANEHIRA teaches wherein the first seal body (18) is made from urethane [0051].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the chain seal material in TANAKA as modified to have the material in KANEHIRA so the chain seal is durable and flexible
Claim(s) 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANAKA (2010/0292039) in view of GARBAGNATI (2003/0167749) and further in view of KILBY (2005/0061637).
Regarding Claim 10, TANAKA as modified does not teach wherein the first seal body is made from a fluoropolymer.
KILBY teaches seal bodies made from a fluoropolymer [0064].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the chain seal material in TANAKA as modified to have the material in KILBY so the chain seal is durable, heat resistant, and chemical resistant.
Regarding Claim 11, TANAKA as modified does not teach wherein the first seal body is made from Viton™.
KILBY teaches seal bodies made from Viton [0064].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the chain seal material in TANAKA as modified to have the material in KILBY so the chain seal is durable, heat resistant, and chemical resistant.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANAKA (2010/0292039) in view of GARBAGNATI (2003/0167749) and further in view of TRACY (4,571,228) and KANEHIRA (2002/0072443).
Regarding Claim 13, TANAKA as modified does not teach wherein the first and second inner links and the first and second outer links are plated with nickel or coated with black oxide, and wherein the first seal body is made from urethane.
TRACY teaches wherein the first and second inner links and the first and second outer links are plated with nickel (Col. 2 line 63 - Col. 3 line 11)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the chain in TANAKA as modified to have the plating in TRACY to improve corrosion resistance and wear resistance of the chain.
KANEHIRA teaches wherein the first seal body (18) is made from urethane [0051].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the chain seal material in TANAKA as modified to have the material in KANEHIRA so the chain seal is durable and flexible
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANAKA (2010/0292039) in view of GARBAGNATI (2003/0167749) and further in view of TRACY (4,571,228) and KILBY (2005/0061637).
Regarding Claim 14, TANAKA as modified does not teach wherein the first and second inner links and the first and second outer links are plated with nickel or coated with black oxide, and wherein the first seal body is made from a fluoropolymer.
TRACY teaches wherein the first and second inner links and the first and second outer links are plated with nickel (Col. 2 line 63 - Col. 3 line 11)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the chain in TANAKA as modified to have the plating in TRACY to improve corrosion resistance and wear resistance of the chain.
KILBY teaches seal bodies made from Viton [0064].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the chain seal material in TANAKA as modified to have the material in KILBY so the chain seal is durable, heat resistant, and chemical resistant.
Conclusion
HENRY Y. LIU
Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/HENRY Y LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654