DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6 recites the limitation "the translucent member" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For purposes of a prompt examination the examiner reads claim 6 as the following:
6. The semiconductor light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the [[sealing member has a dome shape.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al., US2023/0307766 (corresponding to US12,541,422).
In re Claim 1, Lin discloses a semiconductor light-emitting apparatus comprising: a package substrate 210 (Fig. 4); a semiconductor light-emitting element flip-chip 220 bonded on the package substrate 210; and a sealing member 240 that covers the semiconductor light-emitting element 220 on the package substrate 210 and has translucency at an emission wavelength of the semiconductor light-emitting element 220 (Fig. 3), wherein the semiconductor light-emitting element 220 includes an anode electrode 2252 and a cathode electrode 2251 bonded to the package substrate 210, a semiconductor layer 2220 on the anode electrode 2252 and the cathode electrode 2251, and a translucent substrate 220 on the semiconductor layer 2220 (Fig. 4), wherein the translucent substrate 220 has an upper surface US (Fig. A) in contact with the sealing member 240 and a side surface SS in contact with the sealing member 240 between the upper surface US and the semiconductor layer 2200, and an area of the side surface SS is equal to or less than an area of the upper surface US. (Figs. 1-4, 7-15; [0028 – 0076]).
In re Claim 6, Lin discloses the semiconductor light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the [[translucent]] sealing member 240 has a dome shape (Fig. 4).
Fig. A. Lin’s Fig. 4 annotated to show the details cited
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin as applied to claim 1 above.
In re Claim 2, Lin discloses all limitations of Claim 2 except for that the area of the side surface SS is equal to or more than 0.4 times the area of the upper surface US.
It is known in the art that an area is a result effective variable – because volume depends on it. Due to high level of knowledge and skills of personal capable to operate very sophisticated and expensive equipment in semiconductor technology, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice of one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor art to use the area of the side surface SS is equal to or more than 0.4 times the area of the upper surface US, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (MPEP2144.04.IV.A).
In re Claim 3, Lin discloses all limitations of Claim 3 except for that a thickness T31 of the sealing member 240 covering the upper surface US , in a direction normal to the upper surface US, is equal to or more than 0.5 times and equal to or less than twice a thickness T20 of the translucent substrate 220 (Fig. 4).
It is known in the art that thickness is a result effective variable – because mass depends on it. Due to high level of knowledge and skills of personal capable to operate very sophisticated and expensive equipment in semiconductor technology, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice of one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor art to use the thickness T31 of the sealing member 240 covering the upper surface US , in a direction normal to the upper surface US, is equal to or more than 0.5 times and equal to or less than twice a thickness T20 of the translucent substrate 220, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (MPEP2144.04.IV.A).
In re Claim 4, Lin discloses all limitations of Claim 4 except for that the thickness of the sealing member 240 that covers the upper surface US, in the direction normal to the upper surface US, is equal to or more than 100 μm and equal to or less than 250 μm.
It is known in the art that thickness of the sealing member is a result effective variable – because its mass depends on it. Due to high level of knowledge and skills of personal capable to operate very sophisticated and expensive equipment in semiconductor technology, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice of one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor art to use the thickness of the sealing member 240 that covers the upper surface US, in the direction normal to the upper surface US, is equal to or more than 100 μm and equal to or less than 250 μm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (MPEP2144.05.I).
In re Claim 5, Lin discloses all limitations of Claim 5 except for that the thickness of the translucent substrate 220 is equal to or more than 100 μm and equal to or less than 250 μm. It is known in the art that X is a result effective variable – because Y depends on it. Due to high level of knowledge and skills of personal capable to operate very sophisticated and expensive equipment in semiconductor technology, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice of one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor art to use the thickness of the translucent substrate 220 is equal to or more than 100 μm and equal to or less than 250 μm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (MPEP2144.05.I).
Conclusion
/NIKOLAY K YUSHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893