DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hyndman (EP 0 537 383 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hyndman discloses (Figure 2) a compression device (1) used on the finger (Abstract) (Figure 2) that is fully capable in freeing a ring trapped on a digit, the compression device comprising: an outer body (2) extending from a body proximal portion having a body proximal end to a body distal portion having a body distal end (Figure 2), the outer body comprising: a digit cavity (space inside outer body 2 where finger 4 is inserted as shown in Figure 2) extending from a cavity proximal opening at the body proximal end (Figure 2), and a fluid inlet (7); and a bladder (3) including a bladder intermediate portion joining a bladder proximal portion to a bladder distal portion (Figure 2), the bladder intermediate portion located inside the digit cavity (Figure 2), and a user feedback device (5, 6, 10 and monitor to visualize the light detector signal or plethysmogram of the finger cuff as shown in Figure 3 that is connected to the infrared light source 5 and the infrared light detector 6 via electrical cable 10) connected to the outer body (Figure 2) (Col. 2, lines 1-23 and Col. 4, lines 1-53), the user feedback device providing a visual indicia of progress in a digit compression procedure (Figure 3) (Col. 2, lines 1-23 and Col. 4, lines 1-53). [Since Hyndman discloses all of the structural elements in the same arrangement as claimed including a compression device used on the finger, then Hyndman would be fully capable in freeing a ring trapped on a digit]
Regarding claim 2, wherein the bladder proximal portion overlies the body proximal end, and the bladder distal portion overlies the body distal end (clearly shown in Figure 2) (Col. 3, lines 34-57).
Regarding claim 6, further comprising a proximal bladder engagement member (proximal O-ring 13 as shown in Figure 2) and a distal bladder engagement member (distal O-ring 13 as shown in Figure 2), each of the proximal and distal bladder engagement members engageable with the outer body (clearly shown in Figure 2) (Col. 3, lines 34-57), each bladder engagement member, when engaged, compressing a respective one of the bladder proximal portion and the bladder distal portion against the outer body to provide a fluid tight seal between the bladder and the outer body (clearly shown in Figure 2) (Col. 3, lines 34-57).
Regarding claim 7, wherein: each of the bladder proximal portion and the bladder distal portion is folded over an exterior surface of the outer body (clearly shown in Figure 2) (Col. 3, lines 34-57).
Regarding claim 12, Hyndman discloses (Figure 2) a compression device (1) used on the finger (Abstract) (Figure 2) that is fully capable in freeing a ring trapped on a digit, the compression device comprising: an outer body (2) extending from a body proximal portion having a body proximal end to a body distal portion having a body distal end (Figure 2), the outer body comprising: a digit cavity (space inside outer body 2 where finger 4 is inserted as shown in Figure 2) extending from a cavity proximal opening at the body proximal end (Figure 2), and a fluid inlet (7); one or more bladder engagement members (13) connectable to the outer body and a user feedback device (5, 6, 10 and monitor to visualize the light detector signal or plethysmogram of the finger cuff as shown in Figure 3 that is connected to the infrared light source 5 and the infrared light detector 6 via electrical cable 10) connected to the outer body (Figure 2) (Col. 2, lines 1-23 and Col. 4, lines 1-53), the user feedback device providing a visual indicia of progress in a digit compression procedure (Figure 3) (Col. 2, lines 1-23 and Col. 4, lines 1-53). [Since Hyndman discloses all of the structural elements in the same arrangement as claimed including a compression device used on the finger, then Hyndman would be fully capable in freeing a ring trapped on a digit]
Regarding claim 13, wherein: each bladder engagement member, when engaged, overlies a respective portion of the outer body (clearly shown in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, wherein: each bladder engagement member comprises a gasket that is compressed when the bladder engagement member is engaged with the outer body (clearly shown in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, wherein: each bladder engagement member (13) comprises a removable end cap (clearly shown in Figure 2) [Since the compression device 1 including the bladder engagement members 13 are removed from the finger after use, then this will result in the bladder engagement members to be considered a removable end cap].
Regarding claim 16, Hyndman discloses (Figure 2) a compression device (1) used on the finger (Abstract) (Figure 2) that is fully capable in freeing a ring trapped on a digit, the compression device comprising: an outer body (2) extending from a body proximal portion having a body proximal end to a body distal portion having a body distal end (Figure 2), the outer body comprising: a digit cavity (space inside outer body 2 where finger 4 is inserted as shown in Figure 2) extending from a cavity proximal opening at the body proximal end (Figure 2), and a fluid inlet (7); one or more disengageable bladder connectors (13) [Since the compression device 1 including the bladder connectors 13 disengage from the finger after use, then this will result in the bladder connectors 13 to be considered disengageable bladder connectors] and a user feedback device (5, 6, 10 and monitor to visualize the light detector signal or plethysmogram of the finger cuff as shown in Figure 3 that is connected to the infrared light source 5 and the infrared light detector 6 via electrical cable 10) connected to the outer body (Figure 2) (Col. 2, lines 1-23 and Col. 4, lines 1-53), the user feedback device providing a visual indicia of progress in a digit compression procedure (Figure 3) (Col. 2, lines 1-23 and Col. 4, lines 1-53). [Since Hyndman discloses all of the structural elements in the same arrangement as claimed including a compression device used on the finger, then Hyndman would be fully capable in freeing a ring trapped on a digit]
Regarding claim 17, wherein: each disengageable bladder connector, when engaged, overlies a respective portion of the outer body (clearly shown in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 18, wherein: each disengageable bladder connector comprises a gasket that is compressed when the bladder engagement member is engaged with the outer body (clearly shown in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 19, wherein: each bladder engagement member (7,11) comprises a removable end cap (7) [Since the compression device 1 including the end cap 7 are removed from the finger after use, then this will result in the end cap 7 to be considered a removable end cap].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyndman (EP 0 537 383 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lampropoulos (US Pub No. 2018/0014832).
Regarding claims 8-10, Hyndman discloses the invention of claim 1 above except for a valve located upstream of the inflation chamber, the valve being openable to admit pressurized fluid into the inflation chamber, and sealable to seal pressurized fluid in the inflation chamber; wherein: the valve is part of a fluid conduit connector that provides connectivity for an upstream pressurized fluid supply conduit, and the valve is sealable when the fluid conduit connector is disconnected from the upstream pressurized fluid supply conduit and wherein: the valve automatically seals when the fluid conduit connector is disconnected from the upstream pressurized fluid supply conduit.
Lampropoulos, in the analogous art of compression devices, teaches (Figures 1-2) a radial artery compression device (100) that includes a valve (140) located upstream of the inflation chamber (126) (Paragraphs 0027 and 0043), the valve being openable to admit pressurized fluid into the inflation chamber (Paragraphs 0027 and 0043), and sealable to seal pressurized fluid in the inflation chamber (Paragraphs 0027 and 0043); wherein: the valve is part of a fluid conduit connector (135) (Figures 1-2) that provides connectivity for an upstream pressurized fluid supply conduit (Paragraphs 0027 and 0043), and the valve is sealable when the fluid conduit connector is disconnected from the upstream pressurized fluid supply conduit (Paragraphs 0027 and 0043) and wherein: the valve automatically seals when the fluid conduit connector is disconnected from the upstream pressurized fluid supply conduit (Paragraphs 0027 and 0043). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hyndman to have a valve located upstream of the inflation chamber, the valve being openable to admit pressurized fluid into the inflation chamber, and sealable to seal pressurized fluid in the inflation chamber; wherein: the valve is part of a fluid conduit connector that provides connectivity for an upstream pressurized fluid supply conduit, and the valve is sealable when the fluid conduit connector is disconnected from the upstream pressurized fluid supply conduit and wherein: the valve automatically seals when the fluid conduit connector is disconnected from the upstream pressurized fluid supply conduit as taught by Lampropoulos, in order to allow fluid to flow through the valve when the valve is coupled to an inflation device, and prevent fluid flow through the valve when the valve is not coupled to the inflation device (Lampropoulos, Paragraphs 0027 and 0043).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyndman (EP 0 537 383 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Spickermann (US Pub No. 2018/0250018).
Regarding claim 11, Hyndman discloses the invention of claim 1 above except for a controller having one or more processors, and memory storing computer readable instructions that when executed by the one or more processors configure the one or more processors to collectively: direct a fluid source to supply fluid through the fluid inlet into the inflation chamber, while directing the fluid source to supply fluid, receive signals indicative of a fluid pressure in the inflation chamber, and direct the fluid source to slow or stop supplying fluid into the inflation chamber in response to determining that the fluid pressure in the inflation chamber has reached a predetermined target pressure.
Spickermann, in the analogous art of compression devices, teaches (Figures 1-8) a compression device (100) that includes a controller (104) (Figure 1a) having one or more processors (700) (Figure 7) (Paragraph 0094), and memory storing computer readable instructions (106) (Figure 7) (Paragraph 0094) that when executed by the one or more processors configure the one or more processors to collectively: direct a fluid source to supply fluid through the fluid inlet into the inflation chamber (Paragraphs 0085-0087 and 0094), while directing the fluid source to supply fluid, receive signals indicative of a fluid pressure in the inflation chamber (Paragraphs 0050, 0051, 0085-0087 and 0094), and direct the fluid source to slow or stop supplying fluid into the inflation chamber in response to determining that the fluid pressure in the inflation chamber has reached a predetermined target pressure (Paragraphs 0050, 0051, 0085-0087 and 0094). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hyndman to have a controller having one or more processors, and memory storing computer readable instructions that when executed by the one or more processors configure the one or more processors to collectively: direct a fluid source to supply fluid through the fluid inlet into the inflation chamber, while directing the fluid source to supply fluid, receive signals indicative of a fluid pressure in the inflation chamber, and direct the fluid source to slow or stop supplying fluid into the inflation chamber in response to determining that the fluid pressure in the inflation chamber has reached a predetermined target pressure as taught by Spickermann, in order to safely regulate the fluid entering and exiting the inflation chamber (Spickermann, Paragraphs 0050, 0051, 0085-0087 and 0094).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,702,282. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are fully contained within the claim of the patent application.
Claims
18/795,535
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
Claims
Patent 10,702,282
1, 12
2
3
4
5
6,7
8
9
10
11
13
1, 3, 12
2
6, 7
4
1, 3, 12
2
6, 7
4
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and also, if they overcome the double patenting rejection set forth in this Office Action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter in the dependent claims:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the combination of features as claimed. In particular, the prior art of record fails to disclose at least one bladder engagement member that is releasably engageable with the outer body, each bladder engagement member, when engaged, compressing at least one of the bladder proximal portion and the bladder distal portion against the outer body to provide a fluid tight seal between the bladder and the outer body (claim 3).
Conclusion
/MAJID JAMIALAHMADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771