Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
7. Claim 14 is objected to because the limitation “the second personal accessory” should be “the first person accessory”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kieley (US 9,856,895 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Kieley discloses an accessory holder, comprising: a mounting portion (2/3) configured to attach the accessory holder to wearable support structure (wearable support structure not being claimed in combination), the mounting portion including attachment means (15) for securing the accessory holder to the wearable support structure; a carrier frame (6A/7/9) configured to hold a first personal accessory (first personal accessory not being claimed in combination), the carrier frame including a retaining means (9) for holding the first personal accessory; and an arm (4/6B, see Figure 1) connecting the carrier frame to the mounting portion, the arm including a first hinge (4) configured to allow the carrier frame to move between a folded position and an unfolded position with respect to the mounting portion (see Figures 4A-4C).
Regarding claim 10, Kieley discloses the accessory holder of claim 1, wherein the carrier frame is configured to hold a smart phone having a screen (smart phone not being claimed in combination, though Kieley discloses tablet 11), and the accessor holder is configured to allow viewing of the screen in the unfolded position, and to protect the screen from direct contact in the folded position.
Regarding claim 15, Kieley discloses the accessory holder of claim 1, wherein the wearable support structure (still not being claimed in combination) is at least one of a plate carrier, a tactical vest, a backpack, a parachute harness, or a personal harness (Kieley shows a personal harness in Figures 8-9).
11. Claims 1, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bruns (US 9,737,132 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Bruns discloses an accessory holder, comprising: a mounting portion (40) configured to attach the accessory holder to wearable support structure (wearable support structure not being claimed in combination), the mounting portion including attachment means (48) for securing the accessory holder to the wearable support structure; a carrier frame (42) configured to hold a first personal accessory (first personal accessory not being claimed in combination), the carrier frame including a retaining means (peripheral rim/lip and latch, see Figure 7)) for holding the first personal accessory; and an arm (46/60) connecting the carrier frame to the mounting portion, the arm including a first hinge (60) configured to allow the carrier frame to move between a folded position and an unfolded position with respect to the mounting portion (see Figures).
Regarding claim 10, Bruns discloses the accessory holder of claim 1, wherein the carrier frame is configured to hold a smart phone having a screen (smart phone not being claimed in combination, though Brun discloses such device, see col. 3 lines 24-29), and the accessor holder is configured to allow viewing of the screen in the unfolded position, and to protect the screen from direct contact in the folded position.
Regarding claim 15, Bruns discloses the accessory holder of claim 1, wherein the wearable support structure (still not being claimed in combination) is at least one of a plate carrier, a tactical vest, a backpack, a parachute harness, or a personal harness (the attaching means 48 of Brun would allow for attachment to any of these).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruns (US 9,737,132 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Bruns discloses the accessory holder of claim 1 in his Figures 1-12 embodiment, but this embodiment appears to fail to include wherein a length of the arm is configured to be manually adjusted by a user, such that a relative position of the carrier frame with respect to the mounting portion may be changed. In another embodiment shown in Figures 22-32, Bruns shows the arm (340) being manually adjusted by the user to reposition the phone. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to have provided the Figures 1-12 embodiment of Bruns with the extendable arm from the Figures 22-32 embodiment of Bruns, the motivation being to allow a user to further orient the phone as desired.
14. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruns (US 9,737,132 B2) in view of Graham (US 2007/0164987 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Bruns discloses the accessory holder of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the arm includes a pivot configured to allow manual rotation of the carrier frame with respect to the arm. Graham teaches that it was already know in the art to the provide an accessory holder arm like that of Bruns with a pivot (384) configured to allow manual rotation of the carrier frame with respect to the arm to allow a user to choose between portrait and landscape viewing orientations (see [0129]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to have provided the arm of Bruns with a pivot, the motivation being to allow a user to rotate the accessory between portrait and landscape viewing orientations, as taught by Graham.
15. Claims 7, 8, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruns (US 9,737,132 B2) in view of Corcoran et al. (US 2013/0048514 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Bruns discloses the accessory holder of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the retaining means includes a length of elastomeric material configured to hold the first personal accessory to the carrier frame. The retaining means in Bruns is a perimeter wall and latch attaching what seems to be a fixed size portable electronic device to the planar carrier frame. Corcoran teaches that it was also known in the art to hold a portable electronic device against a planar backing using a length of elastomeric material (105) spanning corners thereof (see Figure 1A) in order to hold PEDs of varying sizes (see [0040]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to have replaced the perimeter wall and latch retaining means of Bruns with a corner elastic material, the motivation being to allow a user to attach PEDs of varying sizes, as taught by Corcoran.
Regrading claims 8 and 18, Bruns as modified above would include the accessory holder of claim 7 and 17, wherein the length of elastomeric material spans corners of the carrier frame, such that personal accessories having different lengths or widths may be secured within a perimeter of the carrier frame, as taught by Corcoran.
16. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruns (US 9,737,132 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Bruns discloses the accessory holder of claim 1 in his Figures 1-12 embodiment, but this embodiment fails to include wherein the attachment means include MOLLE compliant straps as only a belt clip is shown. In another embodiment shown in Figures 13-21, Bruns shows the attachment means being MOLLE compliant straps (222). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to have replaced the attachment means of the Figures 1-12 embodiment of Bruns with the attachment means from the Figures 22-32 embodiment of Bruns as a simple substitution of one known attachment means design for another. There is no inventive step in simply choosing between known attachment means designs absent a showing of unexpected results.
Double Patenting
17. A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
18. A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
19. Claims 3, 19, and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1, 18, and 19 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,053,082. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
24. Claims 1, 2, and 4-18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,053,082. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the presently recited structure is also recited in the patented claims. Regarding claim 1, see patented claim 1. Regarding claim 2, see patented claim 18. Regarding claim 4, see patented claim 2. Regarding claim 5, see patented claim 3. Regarding claim 6, see patented claim 4. Regarding claim 7, see patented claim 9. Regarding claim 8, see patented claim 10. Regarding claim 9, see patented claim 11. Regarding claim 10, see patented claim 5. Regarding claim 11, see patented claim 12. Regarding claim 12, see patented claim 13. Regarding claim 13, see patented claim 14. Regarding claim 14, see patented claim 6. Regarding claim 15, see patented claim 7. Regarding claim 16, see patented claim 8. Regarding claim 17, see patented claim 15. Regarding claim 18, see patented claim 16.
Conclusion
25. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MATTHEW LARSON whose telephone number is (571)272-8649. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Newhouse can be reached on (571)272-4544. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUSTIN M LARSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734 11/12/25