DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed 5/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yuan et al (CN 116035603 A) and Leussler et al (CN 119301700 A). A final rejection is made necessitated by amendment to claims 1 and 11.
Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 5/15/2026 has been accepted and entered. Claims 1, 3, 1 are amended. No claims are cancelled. New claim 20 is added. Thus, claims 1-20 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yuan et al (CN 116035603 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan et al discloses a method for automated control of a heating function (preheating) of an x-ray source of an x-ray system (200) (pages 9-10), the method comprising: automatically (automatic preheating of medical scanning equipment) (page 10) detecting (202) (control module) whether a preparatory action for a use of the x-ray system for a new patient is in progress; and starting a heating operation for heating the x-ray source in response to the preparatory action for using the use of the x-ray system for the new patient being detected (when target object is at the position (s105) (page 3) to be detected of the medical scanning device) (pages 3, 9), the heating operation including initiating preheating (warming up) (page 3) the x-ray source to a desired operation temperature (page 10).
Regarding claim 2, Yuan et al discloses wherein initially a start time for the heating operation for heating the x-ray source is specified in response to the preparatory action for the use of the x-ray system for the new patient being detected (target object located at position to be detected of medical scanning device) (page 4) and the heating operation is started at the specified start time (preheats from idle state to standby state).
Regarding claim 3, Yuan et al discloses wherein the automated detection comprises determining a type of the detected preparatory action, and the start time (idle to stand by) of the heating operation is specified as a function of the type of preparatory action (preheating parameters obtained based on the working parameters) (pages 3-4).
Regarding claim 4, Yuan et al discloses wherein the preparatory action comprises an operation for transferring the new patient to the x-ray system (object in preset area) (page 4).
Regarding claim 7, Yuan et al discloses wherein the preparatory action comprises an operation for adjusting a position of the new patient for at least one of an x-ray imaging session or an x-ray treatment (position information and sign information of target object) (See Abstract and page 3).
Regarding claim 8, Yuan et al discloses wherein the preparatory action comprises an operation for at least one of registering new patient or for entering patient information (sign information) (page 2).
Regarding claim 9, Yuan et al discloses wherein a termination operation (control module to control medial scanning apparatus to stop preheating) (page 7) to conclude a treatment or an imaging procedure of the new patient is detected automatically and the heating operation for heating the x-ray source is terminated automatically based on the detection of the termination operation (page 6).
Regarding claim 11, Yuan et al discloses a control device, comprising: a detection unit configured to automatically (automatic preheating of medical scanning equipment) (page 10) detect (202) (control module) whether a preparatory action for a use of an x-ray system for a new patient is in progress; and a start unit configured to start a heating operation for heating an x-ray source of the x-ray system in response to the preparatory action for the use of the x-ray system for the new patient being detected (when target object is at the position (s105) (page 3) the heating operation including initiating preheating (warming up) (page 3) the x-ray source to a desired operation temperature (page 10).
Regarding claim 12, Yuan et al discloses comprising: an x-ray source (tube) (page 9) configured to emit x-rays; a heating element configured to heat the x-ray source (page 7); an x-ray detector unit configured to detect the emitted x-rays; and the control device (page 8).
Regarding claim 13, Yuan et al discloses wherein the x-ray system comprises one of the following system types: an x-ray imaging system; or an x-ray radiotherapy system (200) (pages 9-10).
Regarding claim 14, Yuan et al discloses wherein a non-transitory computer program product comprising a computer program (page 11) (processor) (31) which, when executed by a control device of an x-ray system, causes the x-ray system to perform the method of automated control of heating function of x-ray source.
Regarding claim 15, Yuan et al discloses wherein program sections which, when executed by a computer unit (31), causes the computer unit to perform the automated control of heating function of x-ray source (page 11).
Regarding claim 16, Yuan et al discloses wherein the preparatory action comprises an operation for transferring the new patient to the x-ray source (object in preset area) (page 4).
Regarding claim 17, Yuan et al discloses wherein the preparatory action comprises an operation for adjusting a position of the new patient for at least one of an x-ray imaging session or an x-ray treatment (position information and sign information of target object) (See Abstract and page 3).
Regarding claim 18, Yuan et al discloses wherein the preparatory action comprises an operation for at least one of registering the new patient or for entering patient information (sign information) (page 2).
Regarding claim 19, Yuan et al discloses wherein a termination operation (control module to control medial scanning apparatus to stop preheating) (page 7) to conclude a treatment or an imaging procedure of the new patient is detected automatically and the heating operation for heating the x-ray source is terminated automatically based on the detection of the termination operation (page 6).
Regarding claim 20, Yuan et al discloses wherein a start time for the heating operation for heating the x-ray source is specified in response to the preparatory action for the use of the x-ray system for the new patient being detected and the heating operation is started at the specified start time (s103) (page 3).
Claim(s) 5-6, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al (CN 116035603 A) in view of Leussler et al (CN 119301700 A).
Regarding claims 5-6, Yuan et al discloses all of the limitations of claims 4, however Yuan et al is silent with regards to transferring the new patient comprises opening doors to shielding radiology room as claimed. Leussler et al discloses access and security control of radiation shielding areas, comprising: wherein operation for transferring a patient comprises opening a door to a shielded radiology room in which the x-ray system is installed; wherein the opening of the door is detected via sensors (See Abstract). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Yuan et al with the teaching of Leussler et al, so as to enable controlling radiation shielding.
Regarding claim 10, Yuan et al in view of Leussler et al discloses wherein the termination operation comprising an exiting from the x-ray system (exiting the radiation shielding region) (100) (Section: Brief Description of the Drawings: paragraphs 12, 14, 16).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yanagida et al (JP 2003116831 A) discloses X-ray examination equipment equipped with an envelope 30 formed from an X- ray shielding member and having an X-ray irradiation window 30a provided at a part thereof and holding the X-ray tube 3 and a shutter 31 constituted of the X-ray shielding member provided so as to open and close the X-ray irradiation window of the envelope. The X-ray irradiation window is closed by the shutter to perform the warming-up operation of the X-ray tube not only to enable the work in the examination room without leaking X-rays to the outside during the warming-up operation but also to enhance the throughput of patients to rapidly perform the preparation of clinical examination even in case of emergency to contribute to lifesaving.
Khutoryansky et al (DE 19752694 A1) discloses a method for use with a radiography / fluoroscopic imaging system for diagnostic purposes with a radiographic radiation mode, a fluoroscopic radiation mode and an X-ray emitter, the X-ray emitter having an X-ray output level that is substantially instantaneous from a first supply parameter for an electrical power; wherein the X-ray emission device has an X-ray output level that is not dependent on a second supply parameter for an electrical power; the method of rapidly transitioning from fluoroscopic to radiographic imaging mode comprising the steps of: (a) establishing a desired x-ray dose; (b) maintaining the first parameter at a level used during the fluoroscopic exposure mode; (c) changing the second parameter to a value suitable for the radiography mode; (d) measuring an accumulated X-ray dose delivered by the X-ray emission device; (e) Exit the radiographic exposure mode when the measured, accumulated x-ray dose reaches or exceeds the desired x-ray dose.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884