DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugita et al. (WO 2017/134730) in view of Hashimoto et al. (JP 10-294023).
Sugita et al. discloses an electrical wire comprising a conductor wire (1); a non-crosslinked insulation member (2, page 4 of the machine translation) covering an outer circumference of the conductor wire; and a resin body (30) directly covering the insulation member, wherein the insulation member contains a thermoplastic polyurethane (re-claim 1).
Sugita et al. does not disclose the insulation member also containing an acrylic thermoplastic elastomer and the resin body containing polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) (re-claim 1).
Hashimoto et al. discloses an electrical wire comprising an insulation member which contains a thermoplastic polyurethane and an acrylic thermoplastic elastomer (component c) and a resin body containing PBT.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include an acrylic thermoplastic elastomer, as taught by Hashimoto et al., in the insulation member of Sugita et al. to provide the insulation member with heat resistance and water resistance.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the resin body of Sugita et al. to contain PBT since PBT is a known (molding) resin due to its ease of molding and superior mechanical strength as taught by Hashimoto et al. ([0002]).
It has been held that the patentability of a product claim is determined by the novelty and nonobviouness of the claimed product itself without consideration of the process for making it, molded, which is recited in the claim. In re Thorpe, 111 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966; see also In re Nordt Development Co., LLC, [2017-1445] (February 8, 2018).
Re-claim 2, Sugita et al. discloses the insulation member further containing PBT (page 3, last paragraph of the translation).
Re-claim 3, Sugita et al. discloses the insulation member further containing a polyester-based thermoplastic elastomer (page 3 last two paragraphs).
Re-claim 4, Sugita et al. discloses the insulation member (2) being an insulator directly covering the outer circumference of the conductor wire.
Re-claim 6, Sugita et al. discloses a plurality of insulated wires including the conductor wire (1) and the insulation member (2), wherein the insulated wires are covered collectively with the resin body.
Re-claims 7 and 8, Sugita et al. discloses the polybutylene terephthalate or polyester-based thermoplastic elastomer being contained in an amount of 30 parts by mass (pbm) relative to a total of 100 pbm of the resin contained in the insulation member (abstract).
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (JP 2019-136988) in view of Hashimoto et al.
Ikeda et al. discloses an electrical wire comprising a conductor wire (6); a non-crosslinked insulation member (5, Ikeda does not disclose sheath 5 being crosslinked) covering an outer circumference of the conductor wire; and a resin body (8) directly covering the insulation member, wherein the insulation member contains a thermoplastic polyurethane (re-claim 1).
Ikeda et al. does not disclose the insulation member (5) also containing an acrylic thermoplastic elastomer and the resin body containing PBT (re-claim 1).
Hashimoto et al. discloses an electrical wire comprising an insulation member which contains a thermoplastic polyurethane and an acrylic thermoplastic elastomer (component c) and a resin body containing PBT.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include an acrylic thermoplastic elastomer, as taught by Hashimoto et al., in the insulation member of Ikeda et al. to provide the insulation member with heat resistance and water resistance.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the resin body of Ikeda et al. to contain PBT since PBT is a known (molding) resin due to its ease of molding and superior mechanical strength as taught by Hashimoto et al. ([0002]).
It has been held that the patentability of a product claim is determined by the novelty and nonobviouness of the claimed product itself without consideration of the process for making it, molded, which is recited in the claim. In re Thorpe, 111 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966; see also In re Nordt Development Co., LLC, [2017-1445] (February 8, 2018).
Re-claim 5, Ikeda et al. discloses that the insulation member (5) is a sheath indirectly covering the outer circumference of the conductor wire.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 7 and 8 have been considered but are moot in view of new rejection.
Applicant argues that Sugita discloses that “the insulator 2 does not need to be crosslinked.” On the other hand, Hashimoto discloses that the covering layer is required to be crosslinked. Therefore, there is no motivation to combine feature of Hashimoto with Sugita.
Examiner would disagree because Sugita, on page 4 of the machine translation, discloses that the insulator 2 does not need to be crosslinked, “but may be cross-linked.” The fact that Hashimoto teaches adding the acrylic thermoplastic elastomer in the insulator would provide the same with heat resistance and water resistance, one skilled in the art would have motivated to include the acrylic thermoplastic elastomer taught by Hashimoto in the insulator of Sugita.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the combination of Ikeda and Hashimoto are similar to the arguments regarding Sugita and Hashimoto. Therefore, the response above would be equally applied herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841