DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) was/were submitted on 11/25/24. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 22 and 28 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: it is suggested to change “at least one memory” in line 5 to “the at least one memory” and change “SL position frequency” to “SL positioning frequency” since later on there is a recitation of “the SL positioning frequency and time resources” and to be consistent with other independent claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 29 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: change “quantize to and the one” in line 3 to “quantize the one”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, in view of claim 1 reciting “providing…to each respective UE of the plurality of UEs”, it is unclear how there is “the coordinating entity comprises the coordinating UE” and “the plurality of UEs includes the coordinating UE”. In view of claims 1 and 7-8, the scope of claim 8 has the coordinating UE provides the SL positioning configuration to itself after the coordinating UE already has the SL positioning configuration from the determining process in claim 1. It doesn’t make sense to provide the SL positioning configuration to itself when one already has it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 10, 13, 16, 21-22, 25, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20250008537 by Sahin et al. (hereinafter Sahin).
Regarding claim 22, Sahin teaches a coordinating entity comprising (fig. 5, TUE; ¶ 15, FIG. 6 is a block diagram of a wireless station or node (e.g., network node, user node or UE, relay node, or other node); ¶ 60, a target UE (that is in need to be positioned) to coordinate SL positioning based on the SL positioning capability of UEs in its proximity; ¶ 92, the target UE might coordinate the positioning session):
at least one transceiver (fig. 6, RF transceiver 1202A and/or RF transceiver 1202B);
at least one memory (fig. 6, memory 1206);
and at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one transceiver and at least one memory (fig. 6, shows processor 1204 communicatively coupled to RF transceiver 1202A and/or RF transceiver 1202B and memory 1206),
the at least one processor configured to (¶ 137-138):
obtain resource information for each of a plurality of user equipments (UEs) (¶ 65, At operation 2 of FIG. 5, any UE (e.g., any candidate supporting UE, such as SUE 512, FIG. 5) receiving the request (via operation 1), may respond by sending its SL positioning capability information to target UE 510 (FIG. 5) (to indicate one or more of its SL positioning capabilities), and thus, target UE 510 may receive the SL positioning capability information from other UEs; fig. 5, shows TUE receiving SL pos. capability from SUE and CUE),
wherein, for each respective UE of the plurality of UEs, the resource information comprises either or both of:
a resource capability map indicative of the respective UE's capability of transmitting a sidelink (SL) positioning signal, measuring an SL positioning signal, or both, using one or more frequencies (¶ 72, SL positioning capability information may include, for example; ¶ 73, Whether UE can receive/transmit SL PRS or other reference signals used for positioning; ¶ 83, Value, range or ID of supported parameters for transmitting/receiving SL PRS, such as SL PRS bandwidth, resource configuration (comb structure, repetition, etc.), beam or antenna configuration, transmit power, etc.; ¶ 56, resource allocation for transmitting/receiving SL PRS, e.g., such as time/frequency resources or their (pre-) configurations: (sub) set(s) of a subframe, slot, subcarrier, resource block, resource element, subchannel, resource pool, bandwidth part, frequency channel, frequency band, etc., and/or a beam or antenna configuration, transmit power, etc.);
or a resource usage map indicative of the respective UE's currently scheduled usage of SL position frequency and time resources, the scheduled usage comprising transmitting an SL positioning signal, measuring an SL positioning signal, or both;
determine an SL positioning configuration for each respective UE of the plurality of UEs, wherein the determining is based at least in part on the resource information obtained for each of the plurality of UEs (¶ 95, Operation 3 of FIG. 5: Based on the received capability information of operation 2, as well as any other (reported) measurements such as SL load conditions, the target UE may determine a SL positioning configuration, e.g., which may include one or more of the following, for example; ¶ 97, SL PRS configuration for transmission and reception; ¶ 98, SL PRS measurement configurations; ¶ 99, any other target UE(s) and UEs requesting it (based on indication coming from the responses in operation 2); ¶ 100, supporting UE(s); ¶ 101, calculating UE(s); ¶ 103, Operation 4 of FIG. 5: Target UE informs other UEs about the determined SL positioning configuration for positioning session (including configurations, selected UEs, etc.); ¶ 105, The information could be broadcast/groupcast or unicast to each UE individually);
and provide the SL positioning configuration via the at least one transceiver to each respective UE of the plurality of UEs (¶ 103, Operation 4 of FIG. 5: Target UE informs other UEs about the determined SL positioning configuration for positioning session (including configurations, selected UEs, etc.); ¶ 105, The information could be broadcast/groupcast or unicast to each UE individually; fig. 6, RF transceiver 1202A and/or RF transceiver 1202B; fig. 5, shows TUE transmitting to SUE and CUE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sahin’s teachings with Sahin’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is supporting a high accuracy (or high QoS) location/position estimate requirement (Sahin ¶ 63).
Regarding claim 25, Sahin teaches the coordinating entity of claim 22, wherein the at least one processor is configured to (Sahin ¶ 137-138) obtain one or more resource parameters in the resource information (Sahin ¶ 65, At operation 2 of FIG. 5, any UE (e.g., any candidate supporting UE, such as SUE 512, FIG. 5) receiving the request (via operation 1), may respond by sending its SL positioning capability information to target UE 510 (FIG. 5) (to indicate one or more of its SL positioning capabilities), and thus, target UE 510 may receive the SL positioning capability information from other UEs; fig. 5, shows TUE receiving SL pos. capability from SUE and CUE; ¶ 72, SL positioning capability information may include, for example; ¶ 73, Whether UE can receive/transmit SL PRS or other reference signals used for positioning; ¶ 83, Value, range or ID of supported parameters for transmitting/receiving SL PRS, such as SL PRS bandwidth, resource configuration (comb structure, repetition, etc.), beam or antenna configuration, transmit power, etc.; ¶ 56, resource allocation for transmitting/receiving SL PRS, e.g., such as time/frequency resources or their (pre-) configurations: (sub) set(s) of a subframe, slot, subcarrier, resource block, resource element, subchannel, resource pool, bandwidth part, frequency channel, frequency band, etc., and/or a beam or antenna configuration, transmit power, etc.) when the resource information comprises the resource capability map (see rejection of claim 22), the one or more resource parameters indicative of: a bandwidth, coding, duration, periodicity, or any combination thereof, with which the respective UE is capable of transmitting SL positioning signals (Sahin ¶ 72, SL positioning capability information may include, for example; ¶ 73, Whether UE can receive/transmit SL PRS or other reference signals used for positioning; ¶ 83, Value, range or ID of supported parameters for transmitting/receiving SL PRS, such as SL PRS bandwidth, resource configuration (comb structure, repetition, etc.), beam or antenna configuration, transmit power, etc.; ¶ 56, resource allocation for transmitting/receiving SL PRS, e.g., such as time/frequency resources or their (pre-) configurations: (sub) set(s) of a subframe, slot, subcarrier, resource block, resource element, subchannel, resource pool, bandwidth part, frequency channel, frequency band, etc., and/or a beam or antenna configuration, transmit power, etc.); a bandwidth, coding, duration, periodicity, or any combination thereof, with which the respective UE is capable of measuring the SL positioning signals; a capability of the respective UE to perform simultaneous measurements of multiple SL positioning signals; or any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sahin’s teachings with Sahin’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is supporting a high accuracy (or high QoS) location/position estimate requirement (Sahin ¶ 63).
Regarding claim 28, Sahin teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising (fig. 5, SUE; ¶ 15, FIG. 6 is a block diagram of a wireless station or node (e.g., network node, user node or UE, relay node, or other node)):
at least one transceiver (fig. 6, RF transceiver 1202A and/or RF transceiver 1202B);
at least one memory (fig. 6, memory 1206);
and at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one transceiver and at least one memory (fig. 6, shows processor 1204 communicatively coupled to RF transceiver 1202A and/or RF transceiver 1202B and memory 1206),
the at least one processor configured to (¶ 137-138):
determine resource information (¶ 65, At operation 2 of FIG. 5, any UE (e.g., any candidate supporting UE, such as SUE 512, FIG. 5) receiving the request (via operation 1), may respond by sending its SL positioning capability information to target UE 510 (FIG. 5) (to indicate one or more of its SL positioning capabilities), and thus, target UE 510 may receive the SL positioning capability information from other UEs),
the resource information comprising either or both of:
a resource capability map indicative of the UE's capability of transmitting a sidelink (SL) positioning signal, measuring an SL positioning signal, or both, using one or more frequencies (¶ 72, SL positioning capability information may include, for example; ¶ 73, Whether UE can receive/transmit SL PRS or other reference signals used for positioning; ¶ 83, Value, range or ID of supported parameters for transmitting/receiving SL PRS, such as SL PRS bandwidth, resource configuration (comb structure, repetition, etc.), beam or antenna configuration, transmit power, etc.; ¶ 56, resource allocation for transmitting/receiving SL PRS, e.g., such as time/frequency resources or their (pre-) configurations: (sub) set(s) of a subframe, slot, subcarrier, resource block, resource element, subchannel, resource pool, bandwidth part, frequency channel, frequency band, etc., and/or a beam or antenna configuration, transmit power, etc.);
a resource usage map indicative of the UE's currently scheduled usage of SL position frequency and time resources, the scheduled usage comprising transmitting an SL positioning signal, measuring an SL positioning signal, or both;
and provide the resource information via the at least one transceiver to an entity coordinating SL positioning among a plurality of UEs, the plurality of UEs including the UE (¶ 65, At operation 2 of FIG. 5, any UE (e.g., any candidate supporting UE, such as SUE 512, FIG. 5) receiving the request (via operation 1), may respond by sending its SL positioning capability information to target UE 510 (FIG. 5) (to indicate one or more of its SL positioning capabilities), and thus, target UE 510 may receive the SL positioning capability information from other UEs; fig. 6, RF transceiver 1202A and/or RF transceiver 1202B; ¶ 29, coordinates the positioning services (positioning session) among UE(s); ¶ 60, a target UE (that is in need to be positioned) to coordinate SL positioning based on the SL positioning capability of UEs in its proximity; ¶ 92, the target UE might coordinate the positioning session; ¶ 62, A shown in FIG. 5, a SL positioning capability exchange and coordination 516 includes operations 1-4; fig. 5, 516 includes coordination using SUE and CUE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sahin’s teachings with Sahin’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is supporting a high accuracy (or high QoS) location/position estimate requirement (Sahin ¶ 63).
Claims 1 and 4 recite similar limitations of claims 22 and 25, respectively and are thus rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 7, Sahin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the coordinating entity comprises a coordinating UE or a location server (Sahin fig. 5, TUE; ¶ 29, coordinates the positioning services (positioning session) among UE(s); ¶ 60, a target UE (that is in need to be positioned) to coordinate SL positioning based on the SL positioning capability of UEs in its proximity; ¶ 92, the target UE might coordinate the positioning session; ¶ 62, A shown in FIG. 5, a SL positioning capability exchange and coordination 516 includes operations 1-4; fig. 5, 516 includes coordination using SUE and CUE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sahin’s teachings with Sahin’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is supporting a high accuracy (or high QoS) location/position estimate requirement (Sahin ¶ 63).
Regarding claim 10, Sahin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the SL positioning configuration for each respective UE in the plurality of UEs comprises:
an SL Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) configuration to be transmitted by the respective UE (Sahin ¶ 95, Operation 3 of FIG. 5: Based on the received capability information of operation 2, as well as any other (reported) measurements such as SL load conditions, the target UE may determine a SL positioning configuration, e.g., which may include one or more of the following, for example; ¶ 97, SL PRS configuration for transmission and reception; ¶ 98, SL PRS measurement configurations; ¶ 99, any other target UE(s) and UEs requesting it (based on indication coming from the responses in operation 2); ¶ 100, supporting UE(s); ¶ 101, calculating UE(s); ¶ 103, Operation 4 of FIG. 5: Target UE informs other UEs about the determined SL positioning configuration for positioning session (including configurations, selected UEs, etc.); ¶ 105, The information could be broadcast/groupcast or unicast to each UE individually; ¶ 103, Operation 4 of FIG. 5: Target UE informs other UEs about the determined SL positioning configuration for positioning session (including configurations, selected UEs, etc.); ¶ 105, The information could be broadcast/groupcast or unicast to each UE individually; fig. 6, RF transceiver 1202A and/or RF transceiver 1202B; fig. 5, shows TUE transmitting to SUE and CUE; ¶ 39, at least one of the supporting UEs to be a relay UE, e.g., either 1) a UE that has a connection to the network or be able to forward information to a UE); a plurality of SL PRS configurations to be measured by the respective UE, wherein each SL PRS configuration in the plurality of SL PRS configurations is transmitted by some other UE in the plurality of UEs; or both of these.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sahin’s teachings with Sahin’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is supporting a high accuracy (or high QoS) location/position estimate requirement (Sahin ¶ 63).
Claim 13 recite similar limitations of claim 28 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 16 recite similar limitations of claim 25 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 21, Sahin teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising obtaining an SL positioning configuration from the entity coordinating SL positioning among the plurality of UEs, wherein the SL positioning configuration is based at least in part on the resource information (Sahin ¶ 103, Operation 4 of FIG. 5: Target UE informs other UEs about the determined SL positioning configuration for positioning session (including configurations, selected UEs, etc.); ¶ 105, The information could be broadcast/groupcast or unicast to each UE individually; fig. 6, RF transceiver 1202A and/or RF transceiver 1202B; fig. 5, shows TUE transmitting to SUE and CUE; ¶ 65, At operation 2 of FIG. 5, any UE (e.g., any candidate supporting UE, such as SUE 512, FIG. 5) receiving the request (via operation 1), may respond by sending its SL positioning capability information to target UE 510 (FIG. 5) (to indicate one or more of its SL positioning capabilities), and thus, target UE 510 may receive the SL positioning capability information from other UEs; fig. 5, shows TUE receiving SL pos. capability from SUE and CUE; ¶ 95, Operation 3 of FIG. 5: Based on the received capability information of operation 2, as well as any other (reported) measurements such as SL load conditions, the target UE may determine a SL positioning configuration, e.g., which may include one or more of the following, for example; ¶ 97, SL PRS configuration for transmission and reception; ¶ 98, SL PRS measurement configurations; ¶ 99, any other target UE(s) and UEs requesting it (based on indication coming from the responses in operation 2); ¶ 100, supporting UE(s); ¶ 101, calculating UE(s); ¶ 29, coordinates the positioning services (positioning session) among UE(s); ¶ 60, a target UE (that is in need to be positioned) to coordinate SL positioning based on the SL positioning capability of UEs in its proximity; ¶ 92, the target UE might coordinate the positioning session; ¶ 62, A shown in FIG. 5, a SL positioning capability exchange and coordination 516 includes operations 1-4; fig. 5, 516 includes coordination using SUE and CUE; ¶ 72; ¶ 73; ¶ 83; ¶ 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sahin’s teachings with Sahin’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is supporting a high accuracy (or high QoS) location/position estimate requirement (Sahin ¶ 63).
Claim(s) 2, 14, 23, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahin in view of US 20120207067 by Malladi et al. (hereinafter Malladi).
Regarding claim 23, Sahin teaches the coordinating entity of claim 22.
Although Sahin teaches to obtain the resource information comprising the resource capability map (see rejection of claim 22), the at least one processor is configured to obtain information comprising the one or more frequencies (Sahin ¶ 137-138; ¶ 65, At operation 2 of FIG. 5, any UE (e.g., any candidate supporting UE, such as SUE 512, FIG. 5) receiving the request (via operation 1), may respond by sending its SL positioning capability information to target UE 510 (FIG. 5) (to indicate one or more of its SL positioning capabilities), and thus, target UE 510 may receive the SL positioning capability information from other UEs; fig. 5, shows TUE receiving SL pos. capability from SUE and CUE; ¶ 72, SL positioning capability information may include, for example; ¶ 73, Whether UE can receive/transmit SL PRS or other reference signals used for positioning; ¶ 83, Value, range or ID of supported parameters for transmitting/receiving SL PRS, such as SL PRS bandwidth, resource configuration (comb structure, repetition, etc.), beam or antenna configuration, transmit power, etc.; ¶ 56, resource allocation for transmitting/receiving SL PRS, e.g., such as time/frequency resources or their (pre-) configurations: (sub) set(s) of a subframe, slot, subcarrier, resource block, resource element, subchannel, resource pool, bandwidth part, frequency channel, frequency band, etc., and/or a beam or antenna configuration, transmit power, etc.), Sahin does not explicitly disclose the at least one processor is configured to obtain information in which the one or more frequencies are quantized using resource blocks or resource elements of an OFDM communication scheme.
Malladi in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches information in which one or more frequencies are quantized using resource blocks or resource elements of an OFDM communication scheme (¶ 59, LTE…communications…physical resources (time and frequency) are quantized to resource elements (RE) 501, where each resource element corresponds to a certain frequency domain span (one subcarrier) and a certain time domain span (one OFDM symbol)). By modifying the Sahin’s teachings of the at least one processor is configured to obtain information comprising the one or more frequencies with Malladi’s teachings of information in which one or more frequencies are quantized using resource blocks or resource elements of an OFDM communication scheme, the modification results in the at least one processor is configured to obtain information in which the one or more frequencies are quantized using resource blocks or resource elements of an OFDM communication scheme.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sahin’s teachings with Malladi’s above teachings. The motivation is that it is well known in the art that applying a well known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability. Known work in one field of endeavor (Malladi prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Sahin prior art) based on design incentives (significantly improved industrial applicability) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 29, Sahin teaches the UE of claim 28.
Although Sahin teaches to provide the resource information comprising the resource capability map (see rejection of claim 28), the at least one processor is configured to process the one or more frequencies (Sahin ¶ 137-138; ¶ 65, At operation 2 of FIG. 5, any UE (e.g., any candidate supporting UE, such as SUE 512, FIG. 5) receiving the request (via operation 1), may respond by sending its SL positioning capability information to target UE 510 (FIG. 5) (to indicate one or more of its SL positioning capabilities), and thus, target UE 510 may receive the SL positioning capability information from other UEs; fig. 5, shows TUE receiving SL pos. capability from SUE and CUE; ¶ 72, SL positioning capability information may include, for example; ¶ 73, Whether UE can receive/transmit SL PRS or other reference signals used for positioning; ¶ 83, Value, range or ID of supported parameters for transmitting/receiving SL PRS, such as SL PRS bandwidth, resource configuration (comb structure, repetition, etc.), beam or antenna configuration, transmit power, etc.; ¶ 56, resource allocation for transmitting/receiving SL PRS, e.g., such as time/frequency resources or their (pre-) configurations: (sub) set(s) of a subframe, slot, subcarrier, resource block, resource element, subchannel, resource pool, bandwidth part, frequency channel, frequency band, etc., and/or a beam or antenna configuration, transmit power, etc.), Sahin does not explicitly disclose the at least one processor is configured to quantize the one or more frequencies using resource blocks or resource elements of an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) communication scheme.
Malladi in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches quantize one or more frequencies using resource blocks or resource elements of an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) communication scheme (¶ 59, LTE…communications…physical resources (time and frequency) are quantized to resource elements (RE) 501, where each resource element corresponds to a certain frequency domain span (one subcarrier) and a certain time domain span (one OFDM symbol)). By modifying the Sahin’s teachings of the at least one processor is configured to process the one or more frequencies with Malladi’s teachings of quantize one or more frequencies using resource blocks or resource elements of an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) communication scheme, the modification results in the at least one processor is configured to quantize the one or more frequencies using resource blocks or resource elements of an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) communication scheme.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sahin’s teachings with Malladi’s above teachings. The motivation is that it is well known in the art that applying a well known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability. Known work in one field of endeavor (Malladi prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Sahin prior art) based on design incentives (significantly improved industrial applicability) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 2 recite similar limitations of claim 23 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 14 recite similar limitations of claim 29 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 3, 15, 24, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahin in view of US 20250267737 by Hoang et al. (hereinafter Hoang) and in further view of US 20120207067 by Malladi et al. (hereinafter Malladi).
Regarding claim 24, Sahin teaches the coordinating entity of claim 22.
Although Sahin teaches to obtain the resource information and the respective UE and the at least one processor, Sahin does not explicitly disclose to obtain the resource information comprising the resource usage map, the at least one processor is configured to obtain information comprising the resource usage map.
Hoang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches resource information comprising a resource usage map indicative of a respective UE's currently scheduled usage of SL positioning frequency and time resources, the scheduled usage comprising transmitting an SL positioning signal, measuring an SL positioning signal, or both (¶ 469, At 1906, the anchor WTRU may send a request to the gNB to schedule resources for transmission of PRS for anchor WTRU and/or target WTRU. At 1908, the gNB may respond to the anchor WTRUs with SL-PRS resource and/or SL-PRS configurations; ¶ 470, At 1910, the target WTRU may receive resource information (e.g., location(s) of SL-PRS in time and/or frequency domain) from the anchor WTRU. Next, though not shown in FIG. 19, the target WTRU may receive, from the anchor WTRU(s) and/or gNB, a set of resources and/or SL PRS configurations; ¶ 244, One WTRU (e.g., the target WTRU) may receive SL-PRS resource usage reporting from another WTRU (e.g., anchor WTRU), which may indicate that the WTRU does not perform SL-PRS reception and/or transmission in a scheduled and/or indicated sidelink resource; ¶ 246, The WTRU (e.g., target WTRU) receives the SL-PRS resource usage reporting and/or SL-PRS measurement reporting from another WTRU implicitly and/or explicitly indicating the scheduled resource may not be used and/or not sufficient; ¶ 180, The indicated and/or reserved resource may be one or any combination of the following resources: SL-PRS transmission, SL-PRS reception, SL-PRS resource usage reporting/indication, SL-PRS measurement report, uplink resource(s) to indicate and/or report the usage of the scheduled sidelink resource for sidelink positioning; ¶ 181, The resource(s) may be sidelink resource(s) for SL-PRS transmission, SL-PRS reception, used to report the SL-PRS positioning measurement, and/or used to indicate and/or report the usage of the scheduled sidelink resources for sidelink positioning (e.g., the SL-PRS transmission, SL-PRS reception, and/or SL-PRS measurement reporting resources); ¶ 520, “a” or “an” (e.g., “a” and/or “an” should be interpreted to mean “at least one” or “one or more”)) and at least one processor is configured to obtain the resource usage map (¶ 510; ¶ 470, At 1910, the target WTRU may receive resource information (e.g., location(s) of SL-PRS in time and/or frequency domain) from the anchor WTRU. Next, though not shown in FIG. 19, the target WTRU may receive, from the anchor WTRU(s) and/or gNB, a set of resources and/or SL PRS configurations; ¶ 244; ¶ 246; ¶ 520). By modifying Sahin’s teachings of to obtain the resource information and the respective UE and the at least one processor with Hoang’s teachings of resource information comprising a resource usage map indicative of a respective UE's currently scheduled usage of SL positioning frequency and time resources, the scheduled usage comprising transmitting an SL positioning signal, measuring an SL positioning signal, or both and at least one processor is configured to obtain information comprising the resource usage map, the combination results in to obtain the resource information comprising the resource usage map, the at least one processor is configured to obtain information comprising the resource usage map.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sahin’s teachings with Hoang’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing signaling overhead between gNB and the WTRUs (Hoang ¶ 3). Known work in one field of endeavor (Hoang prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Sahin prior art) based on design incentives (reduce signaling overhead between gNB and the WTRUs) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Although the combination teaches the at least one processor is configured to obtain information and the SL positioning frequency and time resources, the combination does not explicitly disclose the at least one processor is configured to obtain information in which the SL positioning frequency and time resources are quantized using resource blocks or resource elements of an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) communication scheme.
Malladi in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches information in which frequency and time resources are quantized using resource blocks or resource elements of an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) communication scheme (¶ 59, LTE…communications…physical resources (time and frequency) are quantized to resource elements (RE) 501, where each resource element corresponds to a certain frequency domain span (one subcarrier) and a certain time domain span (one OFDM symbol)). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the at least one processor is configured to obtain information and the SL positioning frequency and time resources with Malladi’s teachings of information in which frequency and time resources are quantized using resource blocks or resource elements of an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) communication scheme, the modification results in the at least one processor is configured to obtain information in which the SL positioning frequency and time resources are quantized using resource blocks or resource elements of an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) communication scheme.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sahin’s teachings with Malladi’s above teachings. The motivation is that it is well known in the art that applying a well known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability. Known work in one field of endeavor (Malladi prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Sahin prior art) based on design incentives (significantly improved industrial applicability) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 30, Sahin teaches the UE of claim 28.
Although Sahin teaches the respective UE and to provide the resource information, and the at least one processor is configured to process SL positioning frequency and time resources (Sahin ¶ 137-138; ¶ 65, At operation 2 of FIG. 5, any UE (e.g., any candidate supporting UE, such as SUE 512, FIG. 5) receiving the request (via operation 1), may respond by sending its SL positioning capability information to target UE 510 (FIG. 5) (to indicate one or more of its SL positioning capabilities), and thus, target UE 510 may receive the SL positioning capability information from other UEs; fig. 5, shows TUE receiving SL pos. capability from SUE and CUE; ¶ 72, SL positioning capability information may include, for example; ¶ 73, Whether UE can receive/transmit SL PRS or other reference signals used for positioning; ¶ 83, Value, range or ID of supported parameters for transmitting/receiving SL PRS, such as SL PRS bandwidth, resource configuration (comb structure, repetition, etc.), beam or antenna configuration, transmit power, etc.; ¶ 56, resource allocation for transmitting/receiving SL PRS, e.g., such as time/frequency resources or their (pre-) configurations: (sub) set(s) of a subframe, slot, subcarrier, resource block, resource element, subchannel, resource pool, bandwidth part, frequency channel, frequency band, etc., and/or a beam or antenna configuration, transmit power, etc.), Sahin does not explicitly disclose to provide the resource information comprising the resource usage map, the at least one processor is configured to quantize the SL positioning frequency and time resources using resource blocks or resource elements of an OFDM communication scheme.
Hoang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches resource information comprising a resource usage map indicative of a respective UE's currently scheduled usage of SL positioning frequency and time resources, the scheduled usage comprising transmitting an SL positioning signal, measuring an SL positioning signal, or both (¶ 469, At 1906, the anchor WTRU may send a request to the gNB to schedule resources for transmission of PRS for anchor WTRU and/or target WTRU. At 1908, the gNB may respond to the anchor WTRUs with SL-PRS resource and/or SL-PRS configurations; ¶ 470, At 1910, the target WTRU may receive resource information (e.g., location(s) of SL-PRS in time and/or frequency domain) from the anchor WTRU. Next, though not shown in FIG. 19, the target WTRU may receive, from the anchor WTRU(s) and/or gNB, a set of resources and/or SL PRS configurations; ¶ 244, One WTRU (e.g., the target WTRU) may receive SL-PRS resource usage reporting from another WTRU (e.g., anchor WTRU), which may indicate that the WTRU does not perform SL-PRS reception and/or transmission in a scheduled and/or indicated sidelink resource; ¶ 246, The WTRU (e.g., target WTRU) receives the SL-PRS resource usage reporting and/or SL-PRS measurement reporting from another WTRU implicitly and/or explicitly indicating the scheduled resource may not be used and/or not sufficient; ¶ 180, The indicated and/or reserved resource may be one or any combination of the following resources: SL-PRS transmission, SL-PRS reception, SL-PRS resource usage reporting/indication, SL-PRS measurement report, uplink resource(s) to indicate and/or report the usage of the scheduled sidelink resource for sidelink positioning; ¶ 181, The resource(s) may be sidelink resource(s) for SL-PRS transmission, SL-PRS reception, used to report the SL-PRS positioning measurement, and/or used to indicate and/or report the usage of the scheduled sidelink resources for sidelink positioning (e.g., the SL-PRS transmission, SL-PRS reception, and/or SL-PRS measurement reporting resources); ¶ 520, “a” or “an” (e.g., “a” and/or “an” should be interpreted to mean “at least one” or “one or more”)). By modifying Sahin’s teachings of the resource information and the respective UE with Hoang’s teachings of resource information comprising a resource usage map indicative of a respective UE's currently scheduled usage of SL positioning frequency and time resources, the scheduled usage comprising transmitting an SL positioning signal, measuring an SL positioning signal, or both, the modification results in the resource information comprising the resource usage map.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sahin’s teachings with Hoang’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing signaling overhead between gNB and the WTRUs (Hoang ¶ 3). Known work in one field of endeavor (Hoang prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Sahin prior art) based on design incentives (reduce signaling overhead between gNB and the WTRUs) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Although the combination teaches the at least one processor is configured to process SL positioning frequency and time resources, the combination does not explicitly disclose the at least one processor is configured to quantize the SL positioning frequency and time resources using resource blocks or resource elements of an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) communication scheme.
Malladi in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches quantize frequency and time resources using resource blocks or resource elements of an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) communication scheme (¶ 59, LTE…communications…physical resources (time and frequency) are quantized to resource elements (RE) 501, where each resource element corresponds to a certain frequency domain span (one subcarrier) and a certain time domain span (one OFDM symbol)). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the at least one processor is configured to process SL positioning frequency and time resources with Malladi’s teachings of quantize frequency and time resources using resource blocks or resource elements of an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) communication scheme, the modification results in the at least one processor is configured to quantize the SL positioning frequency and time resources using resource blocks or resource elements of an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) communication scheme.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Malladi’s above teachings. The motivation is that it is well known in the art that applying a well known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability. Known work in one field of endeavor (Malladi prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Sahin prior art) based on design incentives (significantly improved industrial applicability) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 3 recite similar limitations of claim 24 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 15 recite similar limitations of claim 30 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 5, 9, 17, 19, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahin in view of US 20250267737 by Hoang et al. (hereinafter Hoang).
Regarding claim 26, Sahin teaches the coordinating entity of claim 22.
Although Sahin teaches the at least one processor is configured to and the resource information and the respective UE, Sahin does not explicitly disclose the at least one processor is configured to obtain one or more resource parameters in the resource information when the resource information comprises the resource usage map, the one or more resource parameters indicative of: a bandwidth, coding, duration, periodicity, or any combination thereof, with which the respective UE is configured to transmit SL positioning signals; a bandwidth, coding, duration, periodicity, or any combination thereof, with which the respective UE is configured to measure the SL positioning signals; or any combination thereof.
Hoang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches at least one processor is configured to (¶ 510) obtain one or more resource parameters in resource information when the resource information comprises a resource usage map indicative of respective UE's currently scheduled usage of SL positioning frequency and time resources, the scheduled usage comprising transmitting an SL positioning signal, measuring an SL positioning signal, or both, the one or more resource parameters indicative of: a bandwidth, coding, duration, periodicity, or any combination thereof, with which the respective UE is configured to transmit SL positioning signals; a bandwidth, coding, duration, periodicity, or any combination thereof, with which the respective UE is configured to measure the SL positioning signals; or any combination thereof (¶ 469, At 1906, the anchor WTRU may send a request to the gNB to schedule resources for transmission of PRS for anchor WTRU and/or target WTRU. At 1908, the gNB may respond to the anchor WTRUs with SL-PRS resource and/or SL-PRS configurations; ¶ 470, At 1910, the target WTRU may receive resource information (e.g., location(s) of SL-PRS in time and/or frequency domain) from the anchor WTRU. Next, though not shown in FIG. 19, the target WTRU may receive, from the anchor WTRU(s) and/or gNB, a set of resources and/or SL PRS configurations; ¶ 244, One WTRU (e.g., the target WTRU) may receive SL-PRS resource usage reporting from another WTRU (e.g., anchor WTRU), which may indicate that the WTRU does not perform SL-PRS reception and/or transmission in a scheduled and/or indicated sidelink resource; ¶ 246, The WTRU (e.g., target WTRU) receives the SL-PRS resource usage reporting and/or SL-PRS measurement reporting from another WTRU implicitly and/or explicitly indicating the scheduled resource may not be used and/or not sufficient; ¶ 180, The indicated and/or reserved resource may be one or any combination of the following resources: SL-PRS transmission, SL-PRS reception, SL-PRS resource usage reporting/indication, SL-PRS measurement report, uplink resource(s) to indicate and/or report the usage of the scheduled sidelink resource for sidelink positioning; ¶ 181, The resource(s) may be sidelink resource(s) for SL-PRS transmission, SL-PRS reception, used to report the SL-PRS positioning measurement, and/or used to indicate and/or report the usage of the scheduled sidelink resources for sidelink positioning (e.g., the SL-PRS transmission, SL-PRS reception, and/or SL-PRS measurement reporting resources); ¶ 520, “a” or “an” (e.g., “a” and/or “an” should be interpreted to mean “at least one” or “one or more”); ¶ 372, configuration may include property of one SL-PRS resource. For example, the WTRU may be (pre-) configured with one or any combination of the following parameters for one SL-PRS resource: the bandwidth of one SL-PRS resource, the comb value and offset of one SL-PRS resource, the cyclic shift of one SL-PRS resource, the number transmission symbols for one SL-PRS resource, the SL-PRS resource repetition pattern, and/or the cover code associated with the resource). By modifying Sahin’s teachings of the at least one processor is configured to and the resource information and the respective UE with Hoang’s teachings of at least one processor is configured to obtain one or more resource parameters in resource information when the resource information comprises a resource usage map indicative of respective UE's currently scheduled usage of SL positioning frequency and time resources, the scheduled usage comprising transmitting an SL positioning signal, measuring an SL positioning signal, or both, the one or more resource parameters indicative of: a bandwidth, coding, duration, periodicity, or any combination thereof, with which the respective UE is configured to transmit SL positioning signals; a bandwidth, coding, duration, periodicity, or any combination thereof, with which the respective UE is configured to measure the SL positioning signals; or any combination thereof, the modification results in the at least one processor is configured to obtain one or more resource parameters in the resource information when the resource information comprises the resource usage map, the one or more resource parameters indicative of: a bandwidth, coding, duration, periodicity, or any combination thereof, with which the respective UE is configured to transmit SL positioning signals; a bandwidth, coding, duration, periodicity, or any combination thereof, with which the respective UE is configured to measure the SL positioning signals; or any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sahin’s teachings with Hoang’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing signaling overhead between gNB and the WTRUs (Hoang ¶ 3). Known work in one field of endeavor (Hoang prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Sahin prior art) based on design incentives (reduce signaling overhead between gNB and the WTRUs) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 5 recite similar limitations of claim 26 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 9, Sahin teaches the method of claim 1.
Although Sahin teaches the resource information and the respective UE, Sahin does not explicitly disclose the resource information comprises the resource usage map, and wherein time information included in the resource usage map includes only information corresponding to SL positioning occasions.
Hoang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches resource information comprises a resource usage map indicative of respective UE's currently scheduled usage of SL positioning frequency and time resources, the scheduled usage comprising transmitting an SL positioning signal, measuring an SL positioning signal, or both, and wherein time information included in the resource usage map includes only information corresponding to SL positioning occasions (¶ 469, At 1906, the anchor WTRU may send a request to the gNB to schedule resources for transmission of PRS for anchor WTRU and/or target WTRU. At 1908, the gNB may respond to the anchor WTRUs with SL-PRS resource and/or SL-PRS configurations; ¶ 470, At 1910, the target WTRU may receive resource information (e.g., location(s) of SL-PRS in time and/or frequency domain) from the anchor WTRU. Next, though not shown in FIG. 19, the target WTRU may receive, from the anchor WTRU(s) and/or gNB, a set of resources and/or SL PRS configurations; ¶ 244, One WTRU (e.g., the target WTRU) may receive SL-PRS resource usage reporting from another WTRU (e.g., anchor WTRU), which may indicate that the WTRU does not perform SL-PRS reception and/or transmission in a scheduled and/or indicated sidelink resource; ¶ 246, The WTRU (e.g., target WTRU) receives the SL-PRS resource usage reporting and/or SL-PRS measurement reporting from another WTRU implicitly and/or explicitly indicating the scheduled resource may not be used and/or not sufficient; ¶ 180, The indicated and/or reserved resource may be one or any combination of the following resources: SL-PRS transmission, SL-PRS reception, SL-PRS resource usage reporting/indication, SL-PRS measurement report, uplink resource(s) to indicate and/or report the usage of the scheduled sidelink resource for sidelink positioning; ¶ 181, The resource(s) may be sidelink resource(s) for SL-PRS transmission, SL-PRS reception, used to report the SL-PRS positioning measurement, and/or used to indicate and/or report the usage of the scheduled sidelink resources for sidelink positioning (e.g., the SL-PRS transmission, SL-PRS reception, and/or SL-PRS measurement reporting resources); ¶ 520, “a” or “an” (e.g., “a” and/or “an” should be interpreted to mean “at least one” or “one or more”); ¶ 372, configuration may include property of one SL-PRS resource. For example, the WTRU may be (pre-) configured with one or any combination of the following parameters for one SL-PRS resource: the bandwidth of one SL-PRS resource, the comb value and offset of one SL-PRS resource, the cyclic shift of one SL-PRS resource, the number transmission symbols for one SL-PRS resource, the SL-PRS resource repetition pattern, and/or the cover code associated with the resource). By modifying Sahin’s teachings of the resource information and the respective UE with Hoang’s teachings of resource information comprises a resource usage map indicative of respective UE's currently scheduled usage of SL positioning frequency and time resources, the scheduled usage comprising transmitting an SL positioning signal, measuring an SL positioning signal, or both, and wherein time information included in the resource usage map includes only information corresponding to SL positioning occasions, the modification results in the resource information comprises the resource usage map, and wherein time information included in the resource usage map includes only information corresponding to SL positioning occasions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sahin’s teachings with Hoang’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing signaling overhead between gNB and the WTRUs (Hoang ¶ 3). Known work in one field of endeavor (Hoang prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Sahin prior art) based on design incentives (reduce signaling overhead between gNB and the WTRUs) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 17 recite similar limitations of claim 26 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 19 recite similar limitations of claim 9 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 11-12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahin in view of US 20240323910 by Pan et al. (hereinafter Pan).
Regarding claim 11, Sahin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the resource information for each of the plurality of UEs comprises receiving the resource information from each of the plurality of UEs, that is not the coordinating entity, in a message (Sahin ¶ 65, At operation 2 of FIG. 5, any UE (e.g., any candidate supporting UE, such as SUE 512, FIG. 5) receiving the request (via operation 1), may respond by sending its SL positioning capability information to target UE 510 (FIG. 5) (to indicate one or more of its SL positioning capabilities), and thus, target UE 510 may receive the SL positioning capability information from other UEs; fig. 5, shows TUE receiving SL pos. capability from SUE and CUE).
Although Sahin teaches a message, Sahin does not explicitly disclose but Pan in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a Sidelink Positioning Protocol (SLPP) message (¶ 103, The new logical layer may be used to convey SL positioning related information…the signaling transferred in the new layer may be…a new version of signaling, such as SL positioning protocol).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sahin teachings with Pan’s above teachings. The motivation is that applying a well known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability. Known work in one field of endeavor (Pan prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Sahin prior art) based on design incentives (significantly improved industrial applicability) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 12, Sahin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein providing the SL positioning configuration to each respective UE of the plurality of UEs comprises sending the resource information to the respective UE in a message, when the respective UE is not the coordinating entity (Sahin ¶ 103, Operation 4 of FIG. 5: Target UE informs other UEs about the determined SL positioning configuration for positioning session (including configurations, selected UEs, etc.); ¶ 105, The information could be broadcast/groupcast or unicast to each UE individually; fig. 5, shows TUE transmitting to SUE and CUE).
Although Sahin teaches a message, Sahin does not explicitly disclose but Pan in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a Sidelink Positioning Protocol (SLPP) message (¶ 103, The new logical layer may be used to convey SL positioning related information…the signaling transferred in the new layer may be…a new version of signaling, such as SL positioning protocol).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sahin teachings with Pan’s above teachings. The motivation is that applying a well known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability. Known work in one field of endeavor (Pan prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Sahin prior art) based on design incentives (significantly improved industrial applicability) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 20, Sahin teaches the method of claim 13, wherein providing the resource information to the entity coordinating SL positioning among the plurality of UEs comprises sending the resource information to the entity coordinating SL positioning among the plurality of UEs in a message when the UE is not the entity coordinating SL positioning among the plurality of UEs (Sahin ¶ 65, At operation 2 of FIG. 5, any UE (e.g., any candidate supporting UE, such as SUE 512, FIG. 5) receiving the request (via operation 1), may respond by sending its SL positioning capability information to target UE 510 (FIG. 5) (to indicate one or more of its SL positioning capabilities), and thus, target UE 510 may receive the SL positioning capability information from other UEs; fig. 5, shows TUE receiving SL pos. capability from SUE and CUE; ¶ 29, coordinates the positioning services (positioning session) among UE(s); ¶ 60, a target UE (that is in need to be positioned) to coordinate SL positioning based on the SL positioning capability of UEs in its proximity; ¶ 92, the target UE might coordinate the positioning session; ¶ 62, A shown in FIG. 5, a SL positioning capability exchange and coordination 516 includes operations 1-4; fig. 5, 516 includes coordination using SUE and CUE).
Although Sahin teaches a message, Sahin does not explicitly disclose but Pan in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a Sidelink Positioning Protocol (SLPP) message (¶ 103, The new logical layer may be used to convey SL positioning related information…the signaling transferred in the new layer may be…a new version of signaling, such as SL positioning protocol).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sahin teachings with Pan’s above teachings. The motivation is that applying a well known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability. Known work in one field of endeavor (Pan prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Sahin prior art) based on design incentives (significantly improved industrial applicability) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6, 18, and 27 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20240250793 discloses a target UE is aware of resource pool configuration(s) and availability of each resource for each of the three SL UE which participated in the discovery process and based on this, the target UE 1302 issues a configuration recommendation 1324 to each of the SL UEs and the SL UEs UE1 1304, UE2 1306, and UE3 1308 have selected the SL positioning resources configuration that was suggested by the target UE.
/PETER P CHAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476