DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 3, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-18) in the reply filed on August 3, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 202020006101U1.
Regarding claim 1, DE 202020006101U1 teaches a wing nut 112 cooperable with a threaded fastening element, the wing-nut comprising a rigid insert 110 formed as having a hollow cylindrical body (figure 1) having a proximal end (upper end, as shown in figure 1) and a distal end (lower end, as shown in figure 1), the proximal end being an end of the rigid insert 110 towards an end of the wing-nut to receive the threaded fastening element (at 142, see Abstract) and the distal end being axially opposite to the proximal end (figure 1), the rigid insert 110 comprising a plurality of threads (at 142; Abstract) formed on an inner wall of the hollow cylindrical body, and a plurality of retention elements 130 at the proximal end of the rigid insert 110, and a body component 114 surrounding the rigid insert (figure 2), the body component 114 having an opening, coaxial with a central longitudinal axis of the rigid insert (figure 2), to create a through-hole with the hollow cylindrical body of the rigid insert to receive the threaded fastening element (“The metal insert can have at least one internal thread, particularly for screw connections”), wherein each of the plurality of retention elements 130 is encapsulated by the body component 114 (figure 2) to be interlocked and fixed in the body component.
Regarding claim 2, the body component 114 is made of plastic material (“plastic component”) and the rigid insert 110 is made of metal (“metal insert”).
Regarding claim 3, the plurality of threads of 142 is formed of any one of ACME threads, square-shaped threads, and metric threads (“M4, M5, or M6 metric thread”).
Regarding claim 4, the rigid insert 110 has a flared portion 120 at the distal end of the rigid insert 110 extending from the plurality of threads at 142, wherein the flared portion 120 extends radially outwards and away from the central longitudinal axis (figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, each of the plurality of retention elements 130 have an arduous profile at the proximal end (figure 1) of the rigid insert 110, wherein each of the plurality of retention elements 130 is diametrically opposite to one another and have a free retention end facing the distal end (figure 1) of the rigid insert 110, wherein the arduous profile of each of the plurality of the retention elements 130 is configured to maintain integration between the rigid insert 110 and the body component 114 even when subjected to opposing forces.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202020006101U1 in view of Berger et al. (DE 102020134501A1).
Regarding claim 5, DE 202020006101U1 discloses the claimed invention except for the plurality of notches. Berger et al. teaches that it is known to provide an insert with a plurality of notches (see lead line 42 in figure 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention t to provide the wing nut of DE 202020006101U1 with the plurality of notches, as taught by Berger et al., in order to improve the integration of the insert in the plastic material.
Claims 7-15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Wilke et al. (.S. 11,572,909) in view of DE 202020006101U1.
Regarding claim 7, Wilke et al. teaches a tolerance compensating fastener 1 to align two components 200, 300 to be fastened thereby using a threaded fastening element 100, the tolerance compensating fastener 1 comprising a compensation nut 11 having a hollow cylindrical body, an external wall thereof having a thread-like profile (at 43), the compensation nut 11 having a free end and an insertion end (figure 7a), wherein the insertion end is to receive the threaded fastening element 100 (figure 7a) and the free end is distal to the insertion end, a floatation element (at lead line 22; figure 7a) engaged at the free end of the compensation nut 11, the floatation element 22 comprising a floatation-element aperture coaxially aligned with respect to the hollow cylindrical body of the compensation nut (figure 7a), the floatation element 22 being mountable to one of the two components 200, a mounting element (at lead line 28) having a mounting-element aperture (figure 7b) coaxially aligned with a central longitudinal axis of the compensation nut 11 and the floatation-element aperture of the floatation element 22, wherein the mounting element 28 is interlocked with the floatation element 22 (see element 28’’’) and is movably mountable to the one of the two components 200 (figure 7c), wherein the compensation nut 11, the floatation element 22, and the mounting element 28 are capable of collectively exhibiting a movement having at most six degrees of freedom (col. 3 lines 25-31), and a wing-nut 30 mountable, away from the insertion end (figure 7a), to one of the compensation nut 11, the floatation element 22, and the mounting element 28, and to receive the threaded fastening element 100.
Regarding claim 7, Wilke et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the rigid insert and body component of the wing-nut. DE 202020006101U1 teaches that it is known to provide a wing-nut with a rigid insert and body component (see figures 1-3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention t to provide the fastener of Wilke et al. with the wing-nut having a rigid insert and body component, as taught by DE 202020006101U1, in order to reinforce the wing-nut.
Regarding the wing-nut of claim 7, the wing-nut 30 (as modified by DE 202020006101U1) comprising a rigid insert (110 of DE 202020006101U1) formed as having a hollow cylindrical body having a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end being an end of the rigid insert (110 of DE 202020006101U1) towards an end of the wing-nut to receive the threaded fastening element and the distal end being axially opposite to the proximal end, the rigid insert comprising a plurality of threads (of 142 of DE 202020006101U1) formed on an inner wall of the hollow cylindrical body, and a plurality of retention elements (130 of DE 202020006101U1) at the proximal end of the rigid insert, and a body component (114 of DE 202020006101U1) surrounding the rigid insert (figure 2 of DE 202020006101U1), the body component having an opening, coaxial with a central longitudinal axis of the rigid insert (figure 2 of DE 202020006101U1), to create a through-hole with the hollow cylindrical body of the rigid insert to receive the threaded fastening element, wherein each of the plurality of retention elements (130 of DE 202020006101U1) is encapsulated by the body component (114 of DE 202020006101U1) to be interlocked and fixed in the body component.
Regarding claim 8, the mounting element 28 and the floatation element 22 are snap-fitted to each other at 28’’’.
Regarding claim 9, the floatation element 22 comprises a plurality of flexible arms at 22’, a plurality of fixing components, and a base portion (figure 7b), wherein the base portion (204) comprises the floatation-element aperture (figure 7b), and wherein each of the plurality of flexible arms (at 22, 22’) extends arcuately from the base portion (figure 7a) towards each of the plurality of fixing components, and wherein each of the plurality of fixing components is configured to be fixedly locked on the one of the two components and each of the plurality of flexible arms is configured to float about each of the plurality of the fixing components (due to flexibility of 22, 22’).
Regarding claim 10, the plurality of fixing components comprises a plurality of columns, wherein each of the plurality of columns is diametrically opposite to the other of the plurality of columns, and each of the plurality of columns extend orthogonally from a corresponding flexible arms (figure 7b).
Regarding claim 11, the mounting element 28 comprises a mounting base and a plurality of floating elements 22’’’, wherein the mounting-element aperture is on the mounting base (figure 7b) and wherein each of the plurality of floating elements 22’’’ is diametrically opposite to one another about the mounting element and extend orthogonally from the mounting base parallel to the compensation nut (figure 7a).
Regarding claim 12, each of the plurality of floating elements 22’’’ are at least one of claw-shaped, hook-shaped, and grapnel- shaped (figure 7a).
Regarding claim 13, the body component (114 of DE 202020006101U1) is made of plastic material and the rigid insert (110 of DE 202020006101U1) is made of metal.
Regarding claim 14, the plurality of threads (142 of DE 202020006101U1) of the wing-nut is formed of any one of ACME threads, square- shaped threads, and metric threads (“M4, M5, or M6 metric thread” of DE 202020006101U1).
Regarding claim 15, the rigid insert (110 of DE 202020006101U1) has a flared portion (120 of DE 202020006101U1) at the distal end of the rigid insert (figure 1 of DE 202020006101U1) extending from the plurality of threads, wherein the flared portion (120 of DE 202020006101U1) extends radially outwards and away from the central longitudinal axis (figure 1 of DE 202020006101U1).
Regarding claim 17, each of the plurality of retention elements (130 of DE 202020006101U1) have an arduous profile at the proximal end of the rigid insert (figure 1 DE 202020006101U1), wherein each of the plurality of retention elements (130 DE 202020006101U1) is diametrically opposite to one another and have a free retention end facing the distal end of the rigid insert (figure 1 DE 202020006101U1), wherein the arduous profile of the retention element is configured to maintain integration between the rigid insert and the body component even when subjected to opposing forces.
Regarding claim 18, Wilke et al. teaches a door assembly for a vehicle (col. 7 lines 11-17), wherein the door assembly comprises a door handle assembly (col. 7 lines 11-17) having a frame 200 and a first aperture a door panel having a reinforcement panel 300 and a second aperture aligned with the first aperture, a tolerance compensating fastener 1 of claim 7 (as described above) disposed between the door handle assembly and the door panel, the tolerance compensating fastener 1 comprising a through-hole aligned with the first aperture and the second aperture (figures 7a-7d), and a threaded fastening element 100 positioned in the through-hole, the first aperture, and the second aperture, to couple the tolerance compensating fastener 1, the door handle assembly (figure 7c), and the door panel, wherein a movement of the tolerance compensating fastener in at least one direction from six degrees of freedom is to align the door panel and the door handle assembly.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilke et al. (.S. 11,572,909) in view of DE 202020006101U1, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Berger et al. (DE 102020134501A1).
Regarding claim 16, the modified assembly of Wilke et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the plurality of notches. Berger et al. teaches that it is known to provide an insert with a plurality of notches (see lead line 42 in figure 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified wing nut of Wilke et al. with the plurality of notches, as taught by Berger et al., in order to improve the integration of the insert in the plastic material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art is cited for the rigid insert.
THIS ACTION IS NON-FINAL.
/NIKI M ELOSHWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3736