CTNF 18/795,696 CTNF 84222 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 7-8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minetomo et al. US2024/0020069 hereinafter referred to as Minetomo in view of Hirakata et al. US2019/0007575 hereinafter referred to as Hirakata . As per Claim 1 , Minetomo teaches a function executing device, comprising: a memory configured to store a plurality of setting information corresponding to a plurality of setting items; and (Minemoto, Figure 3, Paragraph [0056]-[0058]) a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: acquire environmental information related to an installation environment of the function executing device; (Minetomo, Figure 3, 321) determine whether the installation environment of the function executing device has changed by using the environmental information; (Minetomo, Paragraph [0138], “For example, when the setting information about the environment of the network is changed, or when the information obtained from peripheral network devices is changed, the identification result from the network environment identification unit 321 about the environment of the network to which the MFP 100 is connected changes”) in a case where it is determined that the installation environment of the function executing device has changed, send change information to a server; (Minetomo, Paragraph [0139], “The network environment identifier management unit 402 updates the MFP-network environment correspondence table 601 based on the network environment identifier acquired from the MFP 100 by the network environment identifier acquisition unit 401. If the environment of the network to which the MFP 100 is connected is changed, the security policy delivery unit 412 delivers the security policy associated with the changed environment of the network (in other words, the network environment identifier) to the MFP 100”) in a case where the change information is sent to the server and a request is provided to the server from a user of the function executing device, receive a instruction from the server; and (Minetomo, Paragraph [0106] and [0139], “As a specific example, a situation in which the user (e.g., administrator) changes the security policy to strengthen the security and improve the usability can occur” and “The network environment identifier management unit 402 updates the MFP-network environment correspondence table 601 based on the network environment identifier acquired from the MFP 100 by the network environment identifier acquisition unit 401. If the environment of the network to which the MFP 100 is connected is changed, the security policy delivery unit 412 delivers the security policy associated with the changed environment of the network (in other words, the network environment identifier) to the MFP 100”) in a case where the instruction is received from the server, modify at least one setting information of the plurality of setting information from the memory. (Minetomo, Paragraph [0135], “when the environment of the network to which the MFP 100, to which the security policy has already been applied, is connected is changed, the management server 120 selects the security policy suitable for the changed environment of the network and delivers the selected security policy to the MFP 100”) Minetomo does not explicitly teach receive a deletion instruction from the server Hirakata teaches receive a deletion instruction from the server (Hirakata, Paragraph [0090], “Examples of the application command according to the present embodiment include an installation instruction, an update instruction, and an uninstallation instruction… The uninstallation instruction indicates an instruction to delete an already-installed application and restore the MFP 4 to a state before the already-installed application was installed” server sending commands to the MFP such as a delete instruction) Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Hirakata into Minetomo. Minetomo discloses the ability to have the server communicate an action such as an update/change to the printer when a certain situation occurs. It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to send other commands such as disclosed by Hirakata from server to the printer to allow for other functionality to be added/removed from the printer. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the two references to obtain the invention in Claim 1. As per Claim 7 , Minetomo in view of Hirakata teaches the function executing device as in claim 1, wherein the environmental information is a network address. (Minetomo, Paragraph [0080], [0098]) The rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. As per Claim 8 , Minetomo teaches a server comprising: a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: in a case where an installation environment of a function executing device changes, receive change information from the function executing device, (Minetomo, Paragraph [0139], “The network environment identifier management unit 402 updates the MFP-network environment correspondence table 601 based on the network environment identifier acquired from the MFP 100 by the network environment identifier acquisition unit 401. If the environment of the network to which the MFP 100 is connected is changed, the security policy delivery unit 412 delivers the security policy associated with the changed environment of the network (in other words, the network environment identifier) to the MFP 100”) wherein the function executing device is configured to store a plurality of setting information corresponding to a plurality of setting items; (Minemoto, Figure 3, Paragraph [0056]-[0058]) and in a case where the change information is received from the function executing device and a request is acquired from a user of the function executing device, (Minetomo, Paragraph [0106] and [0139], “As a specific example, a situation in which the user (e.g., administrator) changes the security policy to strengthen the security and improve the usability can occur” and “The network environment identifier management unit 402 updates the MFP-network environment correspondence table 601 based on the network environment identifier acquired from the MFP 100 by the network environment identifier acquisition unit 401. If the environment of the network to which the MFP 100 is connected is changed, the security policy delivery unit 412 delivers the security policy associated with the changed environment of the network (in other words, the network environment identifier) to the MFP 100”) send a instruction to the function executing device, wherein the instruction is an instruction to modify at least one setting information of the plurality of setting information. (Minetomo, Paragraph [0135], “when the environment of the network to which the MFP 100, to which the security policy has already been applied, is connected is changed, the management server 120 selects the security policy suitable for the changed environment of the network and delivers the selected security policy to the MFP 100”) Minetomo does not explicitly teach receive a deletion instruction from the server Hirakata teaches receive a deletion instruction from the server (Hirakata, Paragraph [0090], “Examples of the application command according to the present embodiment include an installation instruction, an update instruction, and an uninstallation instruction… The uninstallation instruction indicates an instruction to delete an already-installed application and restore the MFP 4 to a state before the already-installed application was installed” server sending commands to the MFP such as a delete instruction) Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Hirakata into Minetomo. Minetomo discloses the ability to have the server communicate an action such as an update/change to the printer when a certain situation occurs. It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to send other commands such as disclosed by Hirakata from server to the printer to allow for other functionality to be added/removed from the printer. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the two references to obtain the invention in Claim 8. As per Claim 13 , Claim 13 claims a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions for a function executing device, wherein the function executing device as claimed in Claim 1. Therefore the rejection and rationale are analogous to that made in Claim 1 . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2-6 and 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MING HON whose telephone number is (571)270-5245. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9am - 5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Emily Terrell can be reached on 571-270-3717. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MING Y HON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666 Application/Control Number: 18/795,696 Page 2 Art Unit: 2666 Application/Control Number: 18/795,696 Page 3 Art Unit: 2666 Application/Control Number: 18/795,696 Page 4 Art Unit: 2666 Application/Control Number: 18/795,696 Page 5 Art Unit: 2666 Application/Control Number: 18/795,696 Page 6 Art Unit: 2666