DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment dated 8/6/2024, claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhee et al. (US 20200321792 A1) hereinafter Rhee in view of Jeong et al. (US 20230188885 A1) hereinafter Jeong.
Regarding claim 1, Rhee teaches an electronic device (combination of 401 and 402 in Fig. 7) comprising: a cradle (402 in Fig. 7) comprising: a mounting area configured such that a sound output device with a sound output portion at one side thereof is detachably mounted (“According to one embodiment, the housing 425 may include a first housing structure 701 in which grooves 704 having the hearables 401 seated therein have been formed” in ¶[0108] and Fig. 7), and a detection area (“At operation 1210 and operation 1220, a second electronic device (e.g., the second electronic device 401 in FIG. 4) according to one embodiment may identify that it has been connected to the first electronic device 402 by detecting the first connector pin 431 brought into contact with the first terminal 433 and the second connector pin 432 brought into contact with the second terminal 434” in ¶[0131]); a circuit board disposed within the cradle (combination of 423, 422, and 424 in Fig. 4 and “According to one embodiment, the first electronic device 402 may include connector pins 431 and 432 for supplying power to the second electronic device 401, a power supply 421 for supplying a given voltage to the connector pins 431 and 432, a current sensing IC 422 for detecting currents of the connector pins 431 and 432, and a first controller 423 operatively connected to the connector pins 431 and 432, the power supply 421, and the current sensing circuit” in ¶[0072]) and comprising a processor (First Controller 423 in Fig. 4 and “a processor (e.g., the processor 120) of the machine (e.g., the electronic device 101)” in ¶[0141]) configured to control the sound output device (“the first controller 423 may determine a state of the second electronic device 401 based on digital information extracted by the current sensing IC 422, and may perform a given function based on the identified state of the second electronic device 401” in ¶[0129]); and a sensor module (“he sensor module 176 may detect an operational state (e.g., power or temperature) of the electronic device 101 or an environmental state (e.g., a state of a user) external to the electronic device 101” in ¶[0039]) disposed adjacent to the detection area and electrically connected to the processor (Current Sensing IC 422 in Fig. 4 and is connected to the First Controller 423),
Rhee does not specifically disclose the device further comprising wherein the sound output portion is fabricated in at least one of a first type or a second type, wherein the sensor module is configured to transmit, to the processor, sensing information reflecting at least one of a contact state between the sound output portion and the sensor module based on the at least one of the first type or the second type of the sound output portion, an adjacent state between the sound output portion and the sensor module, or a state related to the at least one of the first type or the second type of the sound output portion, and wherein the processor is configured to transmit, based on the sensing information, a signal related to sound configuration for adjusting sound output configuration of the sound output device, to the sound output device however,
Since it is known in the art as evidenced by Jeong for a device to further comprise wherein the sound output portion is fabricated in at least one of a first type or a second type (“the acoustic device 200 (e.g., the acoustic device 300 in FIG. 3) may be one of an open-type earphone or a canal-type earphone” in ¶[0069]), wherein the sensor module (“the sensor module 276 may identify an ear tip 302 or 303 coupled to the main body 301” in ¶[0069]) is configured to transmit, to the processor (“and the processor 220 may control the operation attribute of the speaker unit 255 based on the information identified by the sensor module 276” in ¶[0069]), sensing information reflecting at least one of a contact state between the sound output portion and the sensor module based on the at least one of the first type or the second type of the sound output portion, an adjacent state between the sound output portion and the sensor module, or a state related to the at least one of the first type or the second type of the sound output portion (“the first sensor 319a may not substantially detect this, and in this case, the processor (e.g., the processor 120 or 220 of FIG. 1 or 2) may control the acoustic device 300 (e.g., the speaker unit 255 of FIG. 2) according to a first attribute set to correspond to an open-type earphone” in ¶[0077]), and wherein the processor is configured to transmit, based on the sensing information, a signal related to sound configuration for adjusting sound output configuration of the sound output device, to the sound output device (“Referring to FIG. 10, the control method 400 of the acoustic device 300 may include operation 401 of identifying an ear tip 302 or 303, and operation 402a or 402b of controlling the speaker unit 255 with an attribute predetermined based on the identified ear tip 302 or 303. For example, the acoustic device 300 or the processor 220 may be configured to identify whether an ear tip 302 or 303 is coupled to the main body 301 or the ear tip 302 or 303 coupled to the main body 301 (e.g., operation 401), and control the speaker unit 255 with an attribute predetermined based on the identified ear tip 302 or 303 (e.g., operation 402a or operation 402b)” in ¶[0098]),
An ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to modify the invention of Rhee with the teachings of Jeong for the benefit of improving the user experience of the device, therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rhee with Jeong.
Regarding claim 2, Rhee as modified Jeong teaches the device of claim 1, Jeong further teaches the device further comprising wherein the first type comprises a canal-type earset or a structure configured to be mounted in a user’s external auditory canal, and wherein the second type comprises an open-type earset or a structure configured to be mounted on a user’s auricle (“In an embodiment of the disclosure, the first ear tip 302 corresponding to the open-type earphone may not include the identifier, and the second ear tip 303 corresponding to the canal-type earphone may include the identifier” in ¶[0099]).
Regarding claim 3, Rhee as modified Jeong teaches the device of claim 1, Rhee further teaches the device further comprising wherein the sensor module comprises a spring, a pad, or a pogo pin to determine the contact state between the sound output portion and the sound output device (“According to one embodiment, pogo pins may be used as the connector pins 431 and 432.” in ¶[0073] and Pogo + and Pogo – in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Rhee as modified Jeong teaches the device of claim 1, Jeong further teaches the device further comprising wherein the sound output device comprises a ear tip on the sound output portion (“For example, the second ear tip 303 may be different from the first ear tip 302 in that the second ear tip 303 includes a structure (e.g., the second coupling portion 303c) that comes into close contact with the inner wall of an ear canal (e.g., the ear canal EI in FIG. 8 or 9). In another embodiment of the disclosure, the main body 301 itself may be utilized as an open-type earphone in the state in which the ear tips 302 and 303 are not coupled” in ¶[0075] and 303b in Fig. 3), wherein the ear tip is detachable (“a speaker unit (e.g., the speaker unit 255 in FIG. 2) accommodated in the main body, a first ear tip (e.g., the first ear tip in FIG. 3) including at least one first opening area (e.g., first opening area 325 in FIG. 3) corresponding to the at least one air vent port and detachably coupled to the main body” in ¶[0142]);
Rhee further teaches the device further comprising wherein the ear tip is configured to be placed in the detection (ear tip of 410a fits into space 704 in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Rhee as modified Jeong teaches the device of claim 4, Jeong further teaches the device further comprising wherein the sensor module is configured to obtain information related to a shape of the ear tip (“when the first ear tip is mounted, a larger area of the at least one air vent port may be exposed to an external space through the at least one first opening area than when the second ear tip is mounted” in ¶[0142] and Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Rhee as modified Jeong teaches the device of claim 1, Jeong further teaches the device further comprising wherein the device is configured to transmit a signal related to the sound configuration to the sound output device based on the information related to the shape of the ear tip obtained by the sensor module (“wherein the processor may be configured to identify at least one of the first ear tip or the second ear tip coupled to the main body, and control the speaker unit based on the ear tip identified from among the first ear tip or the second ear tip” in ¶[0143]),
Rhee further teaches the device further comprising the device being the cradle (402 in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, Rhee as modified Jeong teaches the device of claim 5, Jeong further teaches the device further comprising wherein the information related to the shape comprises size information of the ear tip (“when the first ear tip is mounted, a larger area of the at least one air vent port may be exposed to an external space through the at least one first opening area than when the second ear tip is mounted” in ¶[0142] and Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Rhee as modified by Jeong teaches the device of claim 1, Jeong further teaches the device further comprising wherein the sound output device is configured to change the sound output configuration of the sound output device based on a signal related to the sound configuration received from the device (“Referring to FIG. 10, the control method 400 of the acoustic device 300 may include operation 401 of identifying an ear tip 302 or 303, and operation 402a or 402b of controlling the speaker unit 255 with an attribute predetermined based on the identified ear tip 302 or 303. For example, the acoustic device 300 or the processor 220 may be configured to identify whether an ear tip 302 or 303 is coupled to the main body 301 or the ear tip 302 or 303 coupled to the main body 301 (e.g., operation 401), and control the speaker unit 255 with an attribute predetermined based on the identified ear tip 302 or 303 (e.g., operation 402a or operation 402b)” in ¶[0098]),
Rhee further teaches the device further comprising the device being a cradle (402 in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Rhee as modified Jeong teaches the device of claim 1, Rhee further teaches the device further comprising wherein the cradle further comprises a contact terminal disposed in the mounting area (“As illustrated in FIG. 7, a connector pin 710 for supplying power to the hearables 401 may be positioned in the groove 704 of the first housing structure 701” in ¶[0112]), and wherein the cradle is configured to be electrically connected to the sound output device (“the connector pin 710 may include a first connector pin 711 (e.g., the first connector pin 431 in FIG. 4) for supplying a high potential voltage and a second connector pin 712 (e.g., the second connector pin 432 in FIG. 4) for supplying a low potential voltage” in ¶[0112]).
Regarding claim 12, Rhee as modified Jeong teaches the device of claim 1, Rhee further teaches the device further comprising wherein the cradle is configured to transmit a signal related to the sound configuration to the sound output device via the contact terminal (“The cradle may supply power to the electronic device or transmit and receive data to and from the electronic device through the plurality of connector pins” in ¶[0005]).
Regarding claim 13, Rhee as modified Jeong teaches the device of claim 1, Jeong further teaches the device further comprising wherein the device is capable of wirelessly transmitting a sound parameter to the sound output device (“the acoustic device 300 or the processor 220 may transmit information about the current operation mode or operation state to the external electronic device while performing wireless communication by using the communication module 290” in ¶[0101]),
Rhee further teaches the device further comprising the device being a cradle (“The cradle may supply power to the electronic device or transmit and receive data to and from the electronic device through the plurality of connector pins” in ¶[0005]).
Regarding claim 14, claim is rejected for being the method comprising at least the same elements and performing at least the same functions performed by the device of rejected claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 15, claim is rejected for being the method comprising at least the same elements and performing at least the same functions performed by the device of rejected claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above).
Regarding claim 18, claim is rejected for being the One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to comprise at least the same elements and perform at least the same functions performed by the device of rejected claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 19, claim is rejected for being the One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to comprise at least the same elements and perform at least the same functions performed by the device of rejected claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above).
Regarding claim 16, claim is rejected for being the method comprising at least the same elements and performing at least the same functions performed by the device of rejected claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhee et al. (US 20200321792 A1) hereinafter Rhee in view of Jeong et al. (US 20230188885 A1) hereinafter Jeong and further in view of Li et al. (US 20220338554 A1) hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 9, Rhee as modified by Jeong teaches the device of claim 1, Rhee further teaches the device further comprising wherein the cradle comprises: a support portion on which the mounting area is provided (704 is part of the base 701 in Fig. 7) and an upper cover (703 in Fig. 7) connected to the support portion (704 which is part of 701 is connected to cover 703 in Fig. 7) , and when the mounting area is shielded by the upper cover (Fig. 7 shows open state of cover and Fig. 8 shows the closed state of the cover),
Rhee does not specifically disclose the device further comprising the mounting area is provided as a shielded sound chamber within the cradle however,
Since it is known in the art as evidenced by Li for a device to further comprise the mounting area is provided as a shielded sound chamber within the cradle in (“When the charging case is closed, the first inclined surface 121 completely conforms to the second inclined surface and a top surface of the first guide structure 12 completely conforms to a top surface of the shell 25 so that the charging case can be sealed completely” in ¶[0078]),
An ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to modify the invention of Rhee as modified by Jeong with the teachings of Li for the benefit of improving the protection of the device, therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rhee as modified by Jeong with Li.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 17, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
AMMAR T. HAMID
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2695
/AMMAR T HAMID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695