DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 line 3-4, “one or memories” should be “one or more memories”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-11 are objected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Sheng et al (US20180092104A1).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Sheng’104 discloses a base station for wireless communication (see, Fig. 1 and 7, systems and methods for grant-free access for URLLC or eMBB service between eNBs and UEs, par 0060, 0202), comprising:
one or memories (see, Fig. 7, Memory, par 0202); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or memories configured to (see, Fig. 7, processor loads instruction and/data from memory, par 0202):
perform one or more scheduled downlink transmissions to a first user equipment(UE) (see, eNB schedules eMBB downlink transmission to UE, par 0019, 0053); and
receive from the first UE (Fig. 2, UE can be equated to first UE, par 0185) or a second UE, during the one or more scheduled downlink transmissions (see, scheduled eMBB transmission, par 0019, 0053), at least one of high-priority data (receive URLLC transmission can be equated to high-priority data, par 0019) in an uplink beam from a set of uplink beams (spatial resources can be equated to uplink beam from a set of uplink beams, par 0019) for unscheduled (grant-free can be equated to unscheduled, par 0019) uplink transmissions or an unscheduled data indication indicating that the first UE or the second UE is to transmit the high-priority data to the base station (see, Fig. 2 206, eNB receives from UE the grant-free transmission for URLLC service and transmits to UE the scheduled eMBB service transmission using the same time and/or spatial resources, par 0019, 0053, 0185).
Regarding claim 12 (New), Claim 12 recites a method of wireless communication for a base station performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 18 (New), Claim 12 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a base station performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng’104 in view of Behravan et al (US20200281012A1).
Regarding claim 2 (New), Sheng’104 discloses the base station of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1 and 7, systems and methods for grant-free access for URLLC or eMBB service between eNBs and UEs, par 0060, 0202), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (see, Fig. 7, processor loads instruction and/data from memory, par 0202).
Sheng’104 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receive a scheduling request for high-priority data, wherein the scheduling request is received in one of a plurality of scheduling request transmission occasions configured for at least the first UE or the second UE, and wherein a time between any two consecutive scheduling request transmission occasions in the plurality of scheduling request transmission occasions is configured to be less than or equal to a latency threshold for the high-priority data; and
transmit a high-priority uplink grant in response to the scheduling request, wherein the high-priority data is received based on the high-priority uplink grant.
However Behravan’012 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig.1, communications between base station and UE in wireless communication network, par 0028) discloses:
receive a scheduling request for high-priority data (see, Fig. 3, BS receives SR for transmitting the higher priority data, par 0033), wherein the scheduling request is received in one of a plurality of scheduling request transmission occasions configured (Fig. 3, allocated resources for sending SRs (SR opportunities) can be equated to a plurality of scheduling request transmission occasions configured, par 0029, 0048) for at least the first UE or the second UE (see, Fig. 3, UE is allocated resources for sending SRs (SR opportunities), par 0029, 0048), and wherein a time between any two consecutive scheduling request transmission occasions (Fig. 3, periodicity between first and second resource can be equated to a time between any two consecutive scheduling request transmission occasions, par 0038) in the plurality of scheduling request transmission occasions is configured to be less than or equal to a latency threshold (Fig. 3, predetermined time interval can be equated to latency threshold, par 0031) for the high-priority data (see, Fig. 3, SR periodicity between first and second resource of resources for high priority SR (for higher priority data) is configured with predetermined time interval, par 0029, 0032-0033, 0048); and
transmit a high-priority uplink grant in response to the scheduling request (see, Fig. 3, BS transmits SG (scheduling grant) in response to SR, par 0031), wherein the high-priority data is received based on the high-priority uplink grant (see, Fig. 3, BS receives higher priority data on PUSCH resources indicated by SG (scheduling grant), par 0031, 0033. Noted, priority of SR depends on priority of the service, par 0036).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to implement the base station as taught by Behravan’012 into that of Sheng’104. The motivation would have been to solve the issue that scheduling request to request uplink resources for transmission of new transmit data overlaps scheduled data transmission (par 0011).
Regarding claim 13 (New), Claim 13 recites a method of wireless communication for a base station performing the steps recited in claim 2 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 19 (New), Claim 19 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a base station performing the steps recited in claim 2 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Claims 3-5, 14-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng’104 in view of Kim et al (US20210360610A1, Priority Date: Nov 6, 2019).
Regarding claim 3 (New), Sheng’104 discloses the base station of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1 and 7, systems and methods for grant-free access for URLLC or eMBB service between eNBs and UEs, par 0060, 0202).
Sheng’104 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the unscheduled data indication received includes a unique indication sequence associated with the first UE or the second UE.
However Kim’610 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 28, UCI mapping when a DL assignment is received after receiving a UL grant, par 0287-0288) discloses:
wherein the unscheduled data indication (URLCC SR can be equated to unscheduled data indication, par 0407) received includes a unique indication sequence associated with the first UE or the second UE (see, information on whether the URLCC SR occurs or not may be represented by the cyclic shift of the sequence adjusted by terminal (and thus associated with terminal), par 0407. Noted, cyclic shift of a sequence representing the URLLC HARQ-ACK according to the URLLC SR in a resource of a UL control channel on which the URLLC HARQ-ACK is transmitted, and thus unique sequence, par 0378. Noted further, examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to implement the base station as taught by Kim’610 into that of Sheng’104. The motivation would have been to satisfy high reliability and low latency requirements (par 0001).
Regarding claim 4 (New), Sheng’104 discloses the base station of claim 3 (see, Fig. 1 and 7, systems and methods for grant-free access for URLLC or eMBB service between eNBs and UEs, par 0060, 0202), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (see, Fig. 7, processor loads instruction and/data from memory, par 0202).
Sheng’104 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: pre-configure the first UE or the second UE with the unique indication sequence.
However Kim’610 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 28, UCI mapping when a DL assignment is received after receiving a UL grant, par 0287-0288) discloses: pre-configure the first UE or the second UE with the unique indication sequence (see, terminal transmits data channel in a preconfigured resource including sequence information, par 0092, 0605. Noted, cyclic shift of a sequence representing the URLLC HARQ-ACK according to the URLLC SR in a resource of a UL control channel on which the URLLC HARQ-ACK is transmitted, and thus unique sequence, par 0378. Noted further, examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to implement the base station as taught by Kim’610 into that of Sheng’104. The motivation would have been to satisfy high reliability and low latency requirements (par 0001).
Regarding claim 5 (New), Sheng’104 discloses the base station of claim 3 (see, Fig. 1 and 7, systems and methods for grant-free access for URLLC or eMBB service between eNBs and UEs, par 0060, 0202), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (see, Fig. 7, processor loads instruction and/data from memory, par 0202).
Sheng’104 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
pre-configure the first UE with a first unique indication sequence or the second UE with a second unique indication sequence, wherein the unscheduled data indication includes the first unique indication sequence or the second unique indication sequence; and
determine whether the first UE or the second UE is to transmit the high-priority data based on the first unique indication sequence or the second unique indication sequence.
However Kim’610 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 28, UCI mapping when a DL assignment is received after receiving a UL grant, par 0287-0288) discloses:
pre-configure the first UE with a first unique indication sequence or the second UE with a second unique indication sequence (see, terminal transmits data channel in a preconfigured resource including sequence information, par 0092. Noted, cyclic shift of a sequence representing the URLLC HARQ-ACK according to the URLLC SR in a resource of a UL control channel on which the URLLC HARQ-ACK is transmitted, and thus unique sequence, par 0378. Noted further, examiner picks an option to reject), wherein the unscheduled data indication (URLLC SR can be equated to unscheduled data indication, par 0407) includes the first unique indication sequence or the second unique indication sequence (see, multiplex the eMBB HARQ-ACK and the URLLC SR to be transmitted on UL control channel and information on whether the URLCC SR occurs or not may be represented by the cyclic shift of the sequence, par 0405, 0407. Noted further, examiner picks an option to reject); and
determine whether the first UE or the second UE is to transmit the high-priority data based on the first unique indication sequence or the second unique indication sequence (see, information on whether the URLCC SR occurs or not (request for transmitting UL URLLC data) may be represented by the cyclic shift of the sequence, par 0397, 0407. Noted, examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to implement the base station as taught by Kim’610 into that of Sheng’104. The motivation would have been to satisfy high reliability and low latency requirements (par 0001).
Regarding claim 14 (New), Claim 14 recites a method of wireless communication for a base station performing the steps recited in claim 3 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 15 (New), Claim 15 recites a method of wireless communication for a base station performing the steps recited in claim 5 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Regarding claim 20 (New), Claim 20 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a base station performing the steps recited in claim 5 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng’104 in view of Rosa et al (US20230397241A1, Priority Date: Nov 6, 2020).
Regarding claim 6 (New), Sheng’104 discloses the base station of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1 and 7, systems and methods for grant-free access for URLLC or eMBB service between eNBs and UEs, par 0060, 0202), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (see, Fig. 7, processor loads instruction and/data from memory, par 0202).
Sheng’104 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receive the high-priority data within a threshold of time after the unscheduled data indication.
However Rosa’241 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 4, terminal communicate with RAN, par 0120) discloses: receive the high-priority data within a threshold of time after the unscheduled data indication (see, RAN receives SR through UCI from UE indicating remaining time budget for scheduling URLLC data packet at the time of SR transmission, par 0066, 0085).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to implement the base station as taught by Chen’698 into that of Sheng’104. The motivation would have been to improve performance of URLLC/TSC services by utilizing delay information for prioritizing data packets (par 0152).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng’104 in view of Bae et al (US 20220159652 A1, PCT Priority Date: Mar 30, 2020).
Regarding claim 7 (New), Sheng’104 discloses the base station of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1 and 7, systems and methods for grant-free access for URLLC or eMBB service between eNBs and UEs, par 0060, 0202), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (see, Fig. 7, processor loads instruction and/data from memory, par 0202).
Sheng’104 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: receive the high-priority data in a periodic uplink resource allocation associated with a configured grant, wherein a periodicity of the periodic uplink resource allocation is configured to be less than or equal to a latency threshold for the high-priority data.
However Bae’652 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, communication system includes wireless devices, BSs and network, par 0062) discloses:
receive the high-priority data (URLLC service, par 0220) in a periodic uplink resource allocation (periodicity of configured grant, par 0221) associated with a configured grant (see, URLLC service transmitted on PUSCH through configured grant with periodicity, par 0220-0221), wherein a periodicity of the periodic uplink resource allocation (periodicity P of the configured grant, par 0221) is configured to be less than or equal to a latency threshold for the high-priority data (see, time duration for transmission of K repetitions for one TB does not exceed the time duration derived by the periodicity P of the configured grant to meet latency requirements for URLLC service, par 0220-0221. Noted, time duration for transmission of K repetitions for one TB to meet latency requirements for URLLC service can be equated to a latency threshold for the high-priority data, par 0220).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to implement the base station as taught by Chen’698 into that of Sheng’104. The motivation would have been to solve the problem of performance degradation for URLLC transmission (par 0227).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng’104 in view of Chen et al (US20200053698A1).
Regarding claim 8 (New), Sheng’104 discloses the base station of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1 and 7, systems and methods for grant-free access for URLLC or eMBB service between eNBs and UEs, par 0060, 0202), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (see, Fig. 7, processor loads instruction and/data from memory, par 0202).
Sheng’104 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
based upon receiving the unscheduled data indication from the first UE or the second UE:
transmit at least one of an uplink modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a transmit power configuration, or an uplink beam configuration to the first UE or the second UE for the high-priority data in response to the unscheduled data indication; and
receive the high-priority data based on at least one of the uplink MCS, the transmit power configuration, or the uplink beam configuration.
However Chen’698 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, radio communication system includes base station communicates with a plurality of terminal devices, par 0051) discloses:
based upon receiving the unscheduled data indication from the first UE or the second UE (see, after BS receives scheduling request for URLLC, par 0086):
transmit at least one of an uplink modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a transmit power configuration, or an uplink beam configuration to the first UE or the second UE for the high-priority data in response to the unscheduled data indication (BS transmits URLLC control signal including modulation technique and specified transmission electrical power of URLLC data to terminal, par 0086. Noted, the examiner picks options to reject); and
receive the high-priority data based on at least one of the uplink MCS, the transmit power configuration, or the uplink beam configuration (see, BS receives URLLC generates and transmitted according to transmission electrical power included in URLLC control signal, par 0086, 0141).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to implement the base station as taught by Chen’698 into that of Sheng’104. The motivation would have been to satisfy the condition requested by URLLC data while simultaneously supporting URLLC data and eMBB data by using the same carrier (par 0008, 0031).
Regarding claim 16 (New), Claim 16 recites a method of wireless communication for a base station performing the steps recited in claim 8 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 8.
Claims 9-11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheng’104 in view of Oteri et al (US 20190327757 A1).
Regarding claim 9 (New), Sheng’104 discloses the base station of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1 and 7, systems and methods for grant-free access for URLLC or eMBB service between eNBs and UEs, par 0060, 0202), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (see, Fig. 7, processor loads instruction and/data from memory, par 0202).
Sheng’104 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
based upon receiving the unscheduled data indication from the first UE or the second UE, cancel the one or more scheduled downlink transmissions to the first UE in response to the unscheduled data indication.
However Oteri’757 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1A, communications system includes WTRUs, RAN, CN, PSTN, Internet and other networks, par 0042) discloses: based upon receiving the unscheduled data indication from the first UE or the second UE, cancel the one or more scheduled downlink transmissions to the first UE in response to the unscheduled data indication (see, Fig. 7, gNB dynamically changes DL virtual mini-slot to UL virtual mini-slot or overwrite previous configuration after URLLC WTRU transmits PSR (request for pre-emptive UL scheduling) to request resource for pre-emptive UL data in the link switched UL virtual mini-slot, par 0124-0126. Noted, DL virtual mini-slot under previous configuration can be equated to one or more scheduled downlink transmissions, par 0126).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to implement the base station as taught by Oteri’757 into that of Sheng’104. The motivation would have been to pre-emptively schedule UL resources for UL URLLC communication in scheduled URLLC communications (par 0110).
Regarding claim 10 (New), Sheng’104 discloses the base station of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1 and 7, systems and methods for grant-free access for URLLC or eMBB service between eNBs and UEs, par 0060, 0202), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (see, Fig. 7, processor loads instruction and/data from memory, par 0202).
Sheng’104 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
based upon receiving the unscheduled data indication from the first UE or the second UE, reconfigure a downlink transmission configuration for the one or more scheduled downlink transmissions in response to the unscheduled data indication, wherein the downlink transmission configuration includes at least one of an MCS or a transmit power for the one or more scheduled downlink transmissions, such that the reconfigured downlink transmission configuration enables the receipt of the high-priority data in the full-duplex mode.
However Oteri’757 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1A, communications system includes WTRUs, RAN, CN, PSTN, Internet and other networks, par 0042) discloses: based upon receiving the unscheduled data indication from the first UE or the second UE, reconfigure a downlink transmission configuration for the one or more scheduled downlink transmissions in response to the unscheduled data indication (see, Fig. 7, gNB lower DL communication power for certain REs within a region where virtual UL mini-slot overlaps with the regular or full-sized DL slot and virtual UL mini-slot granted from received PSR (pre-emptive SR), par 0120, 0125), wherein the downlink transmission configuration includes at least one of an MCS or a transmit power for the one or more scheduled downlink transmissions (see, lower configured DL communication power for certain REs within a region, par 0120), such that the reconfigured downlink transmission configuration enables the receipt of the high-priority data in the full-duplex mode (see, lower noise or interference caused by DL communications on the UL communications by URLLC WTRUs by lower configured DL communication power in FDD (frequency division duplex), par 0095, 0120. Noted, frequency division duplex can be equated to full-duplex, par 0095).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to implement the base station as taught by Oteri’757 into that of Sheng’104. The motivation would have been to pre-emptively schedule UL resources for UL URLLC communication in scheduled URLLC communications (par 0110).
Regarding claim 11 (New), Sheng’104 discloses the base station of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1 and 7, systems and methods for grant-free access for URLLC or eMBB service between eNBs and UEs, par 0060, 0202), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (see, Fig. 7, processor loads instruction and/data from memory, par 0202).
Sheng’104 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein, responsive to the first or second UE transmitting the high-priority data via the uplink beam from the set of uplink beams for unscheduled uplink transmissions,
cancel at least one downlink transmission of the one or more scheduled downlink transmissions; or
reduce one or more of the modulation and coding scheme or transmit power of the at least one downlink transmission of the one or more scheduled downlink transmissions.
However Oteri’757 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1A, communications system includes WTRUs, RAN, CN, PSTN, Internet and other networks, par 0042) discloses:
wherein, responsive to the first or second UE transmitting the high-priority data (URLLC UL communication, par 0122) via the uplink beam from the set of uplink beams for unscheduled uplink transmissions (see, UE transmits grant-free URLLC UL communication in the next or subsequent configured UL virtual mini-slot using specific beam in specific beam(s) for transmission, par 0122, 0142, 0152. Noted, specific beam parameter for transmission can be modified for URLLC WTRU and thus multiple beams, beam with modified beam for transmission can be equated to set of uplink beams, par 0152),
cancel at least one downlink transmission of the one or more scheduled downlink transmissions ; or
reduce one or more of the modulation and coding scheme or transmit power of the at least one downlink transmission of the one or more scheduled downlink transmissions (see, gNB lower DL communication power for certain REs where virtual UL mini-slot overlaps with the configured regular or full-sized DL slot, par 0120. Noted, UL Virtual mini-slots grant free URLLC UL communication, par 0122).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to implement the base station as taught by Oteri’757 into that of Sheng’104. The motivation would have been to pre-emptively schedule UL resources for UL URLLC communication in scheduled URLLC communications (par 0110).
Regarding claim 17 (New), Claim 17 recites a method of wireless communication for a base station performing the steps recited in claim 11 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jiang et al (US20190053266A1) discloses: the SR format can be assigned for URLLC communications (par 0082); The SR format may define, in some non-limiting examples, a payload size associated with the SR, a resource allocation and/or RA size associated with the SR, a sequence, sequence type, and/or sequence length associated with the SR, a multiplexing level associated with the SR, and/or a cyclic prefix (CP) length associated with the SR (par 0083); “the BS assigns UEs with worse channel conditions to more protected/conservative SR format (e.g., to improve link budget). For example, the BS assigns a SR format associated with a larger payload size, a larger RA, a larger SR sequence length, a higher SR multiplexing level, a longer CP, and/or a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence type (e.g., for coherent channel detection since the channel is good) for a UE having better channel conditions, while the BS assigns a SR format associated with a smaller payload size (e.g., 1 bit), a smaller RA, a shorter SR sequence length (e.g., Chu sequence), a lower SR multiplexing level, a shorter CP, and/or a non-DMRS sequence type for UE having worse channel conditions” (par 0084). This applied to claims 3-5.
/XUAN LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473