DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Amendments and Arguments filed on . Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Any previous objection/rejection not mentioned in this Office Action has been withdrawn by the Examiner.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
With respect to the Double Patenting Rejections, the Applicant has requested these to be held in abeyance until all other rejections have been overcome. Hence, these rejections have been updated below and maintained based on the newly amended limitations to the independent claims.
With respect to the 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejections under Jia, the Applicant asserts that the cited references fail to teach the newly amended limitations as filed in the 05/07/2026 amendments. The Examiner agrees with these assertions and therefore presents a new secondary reference therefore rendering moot the Applicant’s arguments in view of new grounds for rejection. Please see the updated mapping below for the specific mappings.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-7, 11, 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12087275 in view of Maiti et al. (“Generating Multilingual Voices Using Speaker Space Translation Based on Bilingual Speaker Data”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the issued patent are similar in scope as that of the instant application except for slight wording differences. Further, the issued patent does not specifically teach “wherein the speaker embedding is determined based on: identifying one or more embedding clusters associated with the one or more speaker preferences; identifying one or more learned groupings within the one or more embedding clusters associated with the one or more speaker preferences; and sampling the speaker embedding from the one or more learned groupings of the one or more embedding clusters;”. Maiti does teach these limitations in sect. 2.3,1st paragraph, where the speaker encoder generates a speaker embedding for each utterance (teaches first limitation), sect. 2.3, 5th paragraph , and paragraph above sect. 2.4, where clusters are determined since bilingual speaker space has two distinct but overlapping clusters (teaches second limitation), and see sect 2.4, where modification is computer to convert between average cluster embeddings in both languages to obtain embedding in language B, see equation 2 (teaches last limitation). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the embedding of the issued patent with the sampling based on speaker characteristic as taught by Maiti in order create a TTS voice that can speak a second language fluently using the speaker embedding vector (see Maiti, sect. 1, right column, last paragraph).
Please see the Mapping Table below.
Each of the dependents listed above map to the independent claim 18.
Claims 3-5, 10, 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12087275 in view of Maiti in view of Jia (as cited below) .
Each of these dependent claims are rejected based on the mappings to Jia as noted in the prior art rejections below for claims 3-5, 10, and 14. It would have been obvious to have modified the TTS model as taught by the issued patent in view of Maiti with the TTS model of Jia in order to be able to leverage the knowledge of speaker variability learned by the speaker encoder in order to generalize well and synthesize natural speech from speakers that were never seen during training (see Jia [0005]).
Instant Application: 18795734
Issued Patent: 17673417
1. A computing system for novel speaker generation, the computing system comprising:
one or more processors; and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that collectively store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to perform operations, the operations comprising:
obtaining an input dataset, wherein the input dataset comprises input text data and one or more speaker preferences, wherein the one or more speaker preferences are descriptive of one or more speaker characteristics;
processing the one or more speaker preferences with a first machine-learned model to determine a speaker embedding in an embedding space wherein the speaker embedding is determined based on:
identifying one or more embedding clusters associated with the one or more speaker preferences;
identifying one or more learned groupings within the one or more embedding clusters associated with the one or more speaker preferences; and
sampling the speaker embedding from the one or more learned groupings of the one or more embedding clusters;
processing the input text data and the speaker embedding with a second machine-learned model to generate predicted speech data; and
providing the predicted speech data, wherein the predicted speech data comprises data descriptive of one or more sound waves, wherein the predicted speech data differs from a plurality of training speech examples associated with a plurality of training datasets used to train the first machine-learned model and the second machine-learned model.
18. One or more non-transitory computer-readable media that collectively store instructions that, when executed by one or more computing devices, cause the one or more computing devices to perform operations, the operations comprising:
obtaining an input dataset, wherein the input dataset comprises phoneme data and speaker metadata;
processing the speaker metadata with a first machine-learned model to determine a speaker embedding in a learned embedding space;
See Secondary reference above
See Secondary reference above
See Secondary reference above
processing the phoneme data and the speaker embedding with a second machine-learned model to generate predicted speech data; and
providing the predicted speech data, wherein the predicted speech data comprises data descriptive of one or more sound waves, wherein the predicted speech data differs from a plurality of training speech examples associated with a plurality of training datasets used to train the first machine-learned model and the second machine-learned model.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 10-12, 14-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (WO 2019/222591 A1) in view of Maiti et al (“Generating Multilingual Voices Using Speaker Space Translation Based on Bilingual Speaker Data”)
As to claim 1, 11, and 17, Jia teaches a computing system for novel speaker generation, the computing system comprising:
one or more processors (see [0064], processor or multiple processors); and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that collectively store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to perform operations, the operations comprising (see [0066], where storage device described which includes instructions):
obtaining an input dataset, wherein the input dataset comprises input text data and one or more speaker preferences (see [0027], where input text together with an audio representation of a target speaker is described), wherein the one or more speaker preferences are descriptive of one or more speaker characteristics (see [0027], where the audio representation is of a target speaker and see [0028], where speaker vector may capture the characteristic speaking rate of the speaker);
processing the one or more speaker preferences with a first machine-learned model to determine a speaker embedding in an embedding space (see [0028]-[0029], where speaker vector/speaker embedding is determined by way of a neural network such as a LSTM and see [0039], which goes into more detail on the LSTM and embedding spaces);
processing the input text data and the speaker embedding with a second machine-learned model to generate predicted speech data (see [0053], where the input text and the speaker embedding vector is input to a spectrogram generation neural network for generation of audio of the input text); and
providing the predicted speech data, wherein the predicted speech data comprises data descriptive of one or more sound waves, wherein the predicted speech data differs from a plurality of training speech examples associated with a plurality of training datasets used to train the first machine-learned model and the second machine-learned model (see [0053], where the system generates audio representation of text in the voice of the target speaker and see [0056], where speaker embedding vector is different from speaker embedding vectors used in training the spectrogram generation neural network and parameters of the speaker embedding neural network).
However Jia does not specifically teach wherein the speaker embedding is determined based on: identifying one or more embedding clusters associated with the one or more speaker preferences; identifying one or more learned groupings within the one or more embedding clusters associated with the one or more speaker preferences; and sampling the speaker embedding from the one or more learned groupings of the one or more embedding clusters. The Examiner does note that Jia does teach embeddings being determined singly and based on group of embeddings.
Maiti does teach wherein the speaker embedding is determined based on: identifying one or more embedding clusters associated with the one or more speaker preferences (see sect. 2.3,1st paragraph, where the speaker encoder generates a speaker embedding for each utterance, where speaker characteristics is the desire to convert language A voice to language B, and where each speaker utterances form a cluster in the embedding space);
identifying one or more learned groupings within the one or more embedding clusters associated with the one or more speaker preferences (see sect. 2.3, 5th paragraph and paragraph above sect. 2.4, where clusters are determined since bilingual speaker space has two distinct but overlapping clusters); and
sampling the speaker embedding from the one or more learned groupings of the one or more embedding clusters (see sect 2.4, where modification is computer to convert between average cluster embeddings in both languages to obtain embedding in language B, see equation 2) (e.g. The Examiner notes “sampling” to be the derivation of speaker embedding from clusters under BRI);
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the embedding of Jia with the sampling based on speaker characteristic as taught by Maiti in order create a TTS voice that can speak a second language fluently using the speaker embedding vector (see Maiti, sect. 1, right column, last paragraph).
As to claim 11 and 17, apparatus claim 1 and 17 and method claim 11 are related as apparatus and the method of using same, with each claimed element's function corresponding to the claimed apparatus function. Accordingly claims 11 and 17 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to apparatus claim.
As to claim 3, Jia in view of Maiti teaches all of the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Furthermore, Jia teaches wherein generating the predicted speech data comprises autoregressively predicting a spectrogram sequence based on the input text data and the speaker embedding (see [0061]-[0062], where audio representation of the input text can provide a time domain representation where a vocoder is used and can be a sample by sample autoregressive wavenet) (e.g. The examiner notes that as per para [0053], the vocoder receives this speaker embedding).
As to claim 4, Jia in view of Maiti teaches all of the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Furthermore, Jia teaches wherein the predicted speech data comprises audio frequency data, wherein the audio frequency data is descriptive of a mel spectrogram representation (see [0034], where audio representation generation by the spectrogram generation engine can be a mel spectrogram).
As to claim 5, Jia in view of Maiti teaches all of the limitations as in claim 4 above.
Furthermore, Jia teaches wherein the audio frequency data differs from a plurality of training audio frequency datasets associated with a plurality of training datasets used to train the first machine-learned model and the second machine-learned model (see [0007], [0043], where the output of the system is a novel or unseen speaker never seen before from a single short clip).
As to claim 6, Jia in view of Maiti teaches all of the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Furthermore, Jia teaches wherein the first machine-learned model comprises an embedding model (see [0028]-[0029], and [0038]-[0039], where LSTM speaker encoder is the embedding model).
As to claim 7, Jia in view of Maiti teaches all of the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Furthermore, Jia teaches wherein the second machine-learned model comprises a generation model (see [0053], spectrogram generation neural network).
As to claim 10 and 18, Jia in view of Maiti teaches all of the limitations as in claim 1 and 17 above.
Furthermore, Jia teaches wherein processing the one or more speaker preferences with the first machine-learned model to determine the speaker embedding in the learned embedding space comprises: determining the speaker embedding based on a learned distribution within the embedding space (see [0052], where speaker embedding vectors are generated based on audio representations of speech from the same speaker being closer together as well as different speakers that are distant from each other and see [0039], LSTM speaker encoder generates the speaker embedding cosine similarity to other embedding space which has been interpreted as the learned distribution). Claim 18 additionally recites wherein the speaker embedding is representative of a desired speaker (where the citation provided from claim 10 addresses this aspect as well).
As to claim 12, Jia in view of Maiti teaches all of the limitations as in claim 11 above.
Furthermore, Jia teaches further comprising:
evaluating, by the computing system, a loss function that evaluates a difference between training audio data of a training dataset and the predicted speech data (see [0045], reconstruction loss is the loss between the reconstructed speech and the input/ground truth) ; and
adjusting, by the computing system, one or more parameters of at least one of the embedding model or the generation model based at least in part on the loss function (see [0045], reconstruction loss can be used to drive other parts of system 200 and see Figure 2 feedback from decoder 226 into attention 224).
As to claim 14, Jia in view of Maiti teaches all of the limitations as in claim 11 above.
Furthermore, Jia teaches wherein the predicted speech data comprises audio data descriptive of a phoneme sequence of the input text data spoken by a synthetic speaker (see [0057], where spectrogram generation neural network is trained to predict mel spectrograms from a sequency of phoneme based on Tacotron 2).
As to claim 15, Jia in view of Maiti teaches all of the limitations as in claim 11 above.
Furthermore, Jia teaches wherein the embedding model and the generation model are part of a neural-network-based text-to-speech model (see [0040], where synthesizer cam be an end-to-end synthesis network and see Figure 2, where speaker encoder 210 (claim 1 mapping) and synthesizer 220 are implemented using a NN).
As to claim 19, Jia in view of Maiti teaches all of the limitations as in claim 18 above.
Furthermore, Jia teaches wherein the predicted speech data comprises audio data descriptive of a phoneme sequence spoken by the desired speaker (see [0057], where spectrogram generation neural network is trained to predict mel spectrograms from a sequency of phoneme based on Tacotron 2).
As to claim 20, Jia in view of Maiti teaches all of the limitations as in claim 17 above.
Furthermore, Jia teaches wherein the speaker embedding differs from each of a plurality of training embeddings, wherein the plurality of training embeddings are associated with a plurality of training datasets used for training a text-to-speech model comprising the first machine-learned model and the second machine-learned model (see [0056], where the speaker embedding vector is different from any speaker embedding vectors used during training of the speaker verification neural network or the spectrogram generation neural network).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia in view of Maiti, as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2021/0280197).
As to claim 2, Jia in view of Maiti teaches all of the limitations as in claim 1.
Furthermore, Jia teaches processing one or more training examples with the first machine-learned model to generate one or more particular speaker embedding (see [0028]-[0029], where embedding vector is created based on speaker encoder and see training described in [0030])
However, Jia in view of Maiti do not specifically teach wherein the speaker embedding is determined based on one or more learned distributions, wherein the one or more learned distributions were determined based on: determining the one or more learned distributions based on annotating the one or more particular speaker embeddings with one or more speaker labels associated with the one or more training examples.
Wang does teach wherein the speaker embedding is determined based on one or more learned distributions, wherein the one or more learned distributions were determined based on: determining the one or more learned distributions based on annotating the one or more particular speaker embeddings with one or more speaker labels associated with the one or more training examples (see [0057], where probability distribution is predicted based on corresponding speaker label).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the TTS model as taught by Jia in view of Maiti with the distribution as taught by Wang in order to be able to produce speaker boundaries (see Wang [0003]) which would benefit Jia’s speaker encoder model which is also used to verify a speaker’s presence and Wang would further provide the benefit of allowing a speaker’s presence to be determined and verified.
As to claim 13, Jia in view of Maiti teaches all of the limitations as in claim 12.
However, Jia in view of Maiti do not specifically teach wherein determining, by the computing system, a prior distribution based at least in part on the speaker embedding in the embedding space and a speaker label of the training dataset, wherein the speaker label comprises one or more specific speaker characteristics associated with a speaker.
Wang does teach in determining, by the computing system, a prior distribution based at least in part on the speaker embedding in the embedding space and a speaker label of the training dataset, wherein the speaker label comprises one or more specific speaker characteristics associated with a speaker ([0049], where probability distribution is predicted using an RNN based on previous speaker label sequence and prior sequence of embeddings).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the TTS model as taught by Jia in view of Maiti with the distribution as taught by Wang in order to be able to produce speaker boundaries (see Wang [0003]) which would benefit Jia’s speaker encoder model which is also used to verify a speaker’s presence and Wang would further provide the benefit of allowing a speaker’s presence to be determined and verified.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia in view of Maiti, as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Cho et al. (“Learning Speaker Embedding from Text-to-Speech”, 2020).
As To claim 8, Jia in view of Maiti teach all of the limitations as in claim 1.
However, Jia in view of Maiti do not specifically teach wherein the first machine-learned model and the second machine-learned model were jointly trained.
Cho does teach wherein the first machine-learned model and the second machine-learned model were jointly trained (see page 2, left column, paragraph after eqn 4, where vocoder and speaker encoder are jointly trained).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the training of the TTS model as taught by Jia in view of Maiti with the joint training as taught by Cho in order to build controllable robust TTS system (See Cho, page 1, right column, lines 4-5).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia in view of Maiti in view of Cho, as applied in claim 8, above, and further in view of Hsu et al. (“Text-Free Image-to-Speech Synthesis Using Learned Segmental Units”).
As to claim 9, Jia in view of Maiti in view of Cho teach all of the limitations as in claim 8.
However, Jia in view of Maiti do not specifically teach wherein the first machine-learned model and the second machine-learned model are part of a two-level maximum likelihood estimation model trained in order to learn a distribution over speaker embeddings.
Hsu does teach wherein the first machine-learned model and the second machine-learned model are part of a two-level maximum likelihood estimation model trained in order to learn a distribution over speaker embeddings (see page 5288, sect. 3.5, last paragraph, where two MLE estimations based on the two models.) (e.g. The examiner notes that although the reference inputs image instead of text, that one skilled in the art would readily be able to substitute the image aspects with text aspects per the primary reference of Jia in order to perform similar training as both architectures are based on a two model approach).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the TTS model as taught by Jia in view of Maiti in view of Cho with the two level MLE as taught by Hsu in order to optimize models for better accuracy as is evident from the usage of objective functions (see Hsu page 5288, sect. 3.5, last paragraph).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia in view of Maiti, as applied in claim 11 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0082807).
As to claim 16, Jia in view of Maiti teach all of the limitations as in claim 11.
However, Jia in view of Maiti do not specifically teach wherein the embedding model and the generation model are part of a recurrent attention-based text-to-speech model.
Kim does teach wherein the embedding model and the generation model are part of a recurrent attention-based text-to-speech model (see [0085], where attention RNN as part of the TTS model).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the TTS model as taught by Jia in view of Maiti with the attention RNN as taught by Kim in order to determine synthesized speech reflecting articulatory feature of the first speaker, emotion, prosody, voice tone and pitch (see Kim [0085]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Paras D Shah/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2653
08/31/2026