DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 16/114,476, filed on 08/28/2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statements (PTO-1449) filed 08/06/2024 and 02/24/2025. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Independent claim 1, and similarly in independent claim 8, the limitation “wherein a distance from an image-side surface of the first lens to an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than a distance from an image-side surface of the second lens to an object-side surface of the third lens” contains subject matter that is not presented within the specification. Each of the examples in the specification, along with the corresponding tables, convey the opposite to be true. The distance from the image-side surface of the first lens to the object-side surface of the second lens is actually less than the distance from the image-side surface of the second lens to the object-side surface of the third lens. For this reason, the claims fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (USPG Pub No. 2015/0346460), hereinafter “Chen”.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an optical imaging system (10) (see Fig. 2, Paragraph 62, Line 2), comprising: a first lens (3) having a refractive power (see Fig. 3); a second lens (4) having a refractive power (see Fig. 3); a third lens (5) having a refractive power (see Fig. 3); a fourth lens (6) having a concave image-side surface (62) (see Figs. 2, 3); a fifth lens (7) having a refractive power (see Fig. 3); and a sixth lens (8) having a refractive power (see Fig. 3), wherein the optical imaging system (10) has a total of six lenses with refractive power (see Fig. 3), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side to an imaging plane (see Figs. 2, 3), wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface (51) of the third lens (5) is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface (41) of the second lens (4) (see Fig. 3), wherein a distance from an image-side surface (32) of the first lens (3) to an object-side surface (41) of the second lens (4) is greater than a distance from an image-side surface (42) of the second lens (4) to an object-side surface (51) of the third lens (5) (see Fig. 3), and wherein an entire field of view (FOV) of the optical imaging system is 75° or more (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses wherein the first lens (3) has a convex object-side surface (31) (see Figs. 2, 3).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses wherein the first lens (3) has a concave image-side surface (32) (see Figs. 2, 3).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses wherein the third lens (5) has a convex object-side surface (51) (see Figs. 2, 3).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses wherein the sixth lens (8) has a convex object-side surface (81) (see Figs. 2, 3).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses an optical imaging system (10) (see Fig. 30, Paragraph 159, Line 2), comprising: a first lens (3) having a refractive power (see Fig. 31); a second lens (4) having a refractive power (see Fig. 31); a third lens (5) having a positive refractive power (see Fig. 3); a fourth lens (6) having a concave image-side surface (62) (see Figs. 30, 31); a fifth lens (7) having a refractive power (see Fig. 3); and a sixth lens (8) having a concave image-side surface (82) in a paraxial region (see Figs. 30, 31), wherein the optical imaging system (10) has a total of six lenses with refractive power (see Fig. 31), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side to an imaging plane (see Figs. 30, 31), wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface (51) of the third lens (5) is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface (41) of the second lens (4) (see Fig. 31), and wherein a distance from an image-side surface (32) of the first lens (3) to an object-side surface (41) of the second lens (4) is greater than a distance from an image-side surface (42) of the second lens (4) to an object-side surface (51) of the third lens (5) (see Fig. 31)
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses wherein the first lens (3) has a convex object-side surface (31) (see Figs. 30, 31).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses wherein the first lens (3) has a concave image-side surface (32) (see Figs. 30, 31).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses wherein the third lens (5) has a convex object-side surface (51) (see Figs. 30, 31).
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses wherein the sixth lens (8) has a convex object-side surface (81) (see Figs. 30, 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (USPG Pub No. 2015/0346460) in view of You (USP No. 10,215,959).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Chen discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface. In the same field of endeavor, You discloses wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface (S3) (see Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the optical imaging system of Chen with wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface of You for the purpose of providing high resolution while minimizing the total length of the optical imaging system (Col. 1, Lines 20-30).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Chen discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein the second lens has a concave image-side surface. In the same field of endeavor, You discloses wherein the second lens has a concave image-side surface (S4) (see Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the optical imaging system of Chen with wherein the second lens has a concave image-side surface of You for the purpose of providing high resolution while minimizing the total length of the optical imaging system (Col. 1, Lines 20-30).
Prior Art Citations
Chen et al. (USPG Pub No. 2018/0329177 – Table 1), Shih et al. (USPG Pub No. 2016/0282585 – Table 1), Jung et al. (USPG Pub No. 2017/0276909 – Table 1) are each being cited herein to show and optical imaging system relevant to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 8/18/2026