DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gutierrez (US Patent Number 7512993).
Regarding claim 1, Gutierrez discloses a blanket apparatus (it would function as such) comprising: a cover element (12); a first coupling element (20) comprising: a first movable piece (26 of 20); and a first stationary bottom piece (24 of 20 and/or base of 20) affixed to the cover element and configured to receive a first strap (28); and wherein the first movable piece is affixed to the first stationary bottom piece (this is the general arrangement; see figures); and a second coupling element (22) comprising: a second movable piece (26 of 22); and a second stationary bottom piece (24 of 22 and/or base of 22) affixed to the cover element and configured to receive a second strap (30); and wherein the second movable piece is affixed to the second stationary bottom piece (much as the first; see figures).
Regarding claim 2, Gutierrez further discloses the cover element comprises a first surface and an opposing second surface, wherein the first surface and the opposing second surface form a single cover element (cover element 12 has a front and a back surface for instance).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Gutierrez further discloses the first stationary bottom piece of the first coupling element comprises a zipper, and wherein the second stationary bottom piece of the second coupling element comprises a zipper and/or the first coupling element and second coupling element each comprise at least one button element and at least one receiving slot element that is complementary to a corresponding button element of the at least one button element (while not shown, zipper and button arrangements are disclosed in the second paragraph of the “Detailed Description of the Preferred Embodiments;” note that a typical button arrangement as disclosed would at least inherently include a button and corresponding slot).
Regarding claim 6, Gutierrez further discloses the first coupling element and the second coupling element are removable from the cover element (20 and 22 are mounted to 12 at 16 and 18 via 40 and 42, which are releasable).
Regarding claim 7, Gutierrez further discloses the wherein the first stationary bottom piece is releasably affixed to the first movable piece, and wherein the second stationary bottom piece is releasably affixed to the second movable piece (24 and 26 are releasably fixable).
Regarding claim 8, Gutierrez further discloses the first stationary bottom piece is releasably affixed to the cover element, and wherein the second stationary bottom piece is releasably affixed to the cover element (at 16/18, 40/42 much as explained above).
Regarding claim 9, Gutierrez discloses a system comprising: a car seat (34) comprising a back member and a seat member, wherein the car seat further comprises a first strap (28) and a second strap (30), wherein the first strap comprises a first end and a second end and wherein the first strap is joined via the first end to the back member of the car seat and is configured to be joined via a second end to a seat member of the car seat and wherein the second strap is joined via a first end to the back member of the car seat and wherein the second strap is configured to be joined via a second end to a buckle (see Figure 3 showing this arrangement with straps 28 and 30 connected as claimed; note that a buckle at reference number 32 would be inherent in any convention seat arrangement and provide a connection to the seat member); a cover element (12); a first coupling element (20) comprising a first stationary bottom piece (24 of 20 and/or base of 20) affixed to the cover element and a first movable piece (26 of 20) configured to engage the first stationary bottom piece, and wherein the first coupling element is configured to receive the first strap (as in Figures 3-4); and a second coupling element (22) comprising a second stationary bottom piece (24 of 22 and/or base of 22) affixed to the cover element and a second movable piece (26 of 22) configured to engage the second stationary bottom piece, and wherein the second coupling element is configured to receive the second strap (much as above).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Gutierrez further discloses the first stationary bottom piece of the first coupling element comprises a zipper, and wherein the second stationary bottom piece of the second coupling element comprises a zipper and/or the first coupling element and second coupling element each comprise at least one button element and at least one receiving slot/buttonhole element that is complementary to a corresponding button element of the at least one button element (while not shown, zipper and button arrangements are disclosed in the second paragraph of the “Detailed Description of the Preferred Embodiments;” note that a typical button arrangement as disclosed would at least inherently include a button and corresponding slot/buttonhole).
Regarding claim 13, Gutierrez further discloses the first stationary bottom piece is releasably affixed to the cover element, and wherein the second stationary bottom piece is releasably affixed to the cover element (at 16/18, 40/42 much as explained above).
Regarding claim 14, Gutierrez further discloses the wherein the first stationary bottom piece is releasably affixed to the first movable piece, and wherein the second stationary bottom piece is releasably affixed to the second movable piece (24 and 26 are releasably fixable).
Regarding claim 15, Gutierrez further discloses a blanket apparatus (it would function as such) comprising: a cover element (12) comprising: a first surface; and an opposing second surface, wherein the first surface and the opposing second surface form a single cover element (cover element 12 has a front and a back surface for instance); a coupling element (20) comprising: a movable piece (26 of 20); and a stationary bottom piece (24 of 20 and/or base of 20) affixed to the cover element and configured to receive a strap (28); and wherein the movable piece is affixed to the stationary bottom piece (24 and 26 are affixed).
Regarding claim 16, Gutierrez further discloses the cover element comprises a fabric (see at least the second full paragraph of column 4).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Gutierrez further discloses the stationary bottom piece of the coupling element comprises a zipper, and/or the coupling element comprises at least one button element and at least one receiving slot element that is complementary to a corresponding button element of the at least one button element (while not shown, zipper and button arrangements are disclosed in the second paragraph of the “Detailed Description of the Preferred Embodiments;” note that a typical button arrangement as disclosed would at least inherently include a button and corresponding slot).
Regarding claim 19, Gutierrez further discloses the wherein the stationary bottom piece is releasably affixed to the movable piece (24 and 26 are releasably fixable).
Regarding claim 20, Gutierrez further discloses the stationary bottom piece is releasably affixed to the cover element (at 16 and 40 much as explained above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutierrez in view of Knox (US Patent Number 5580133). Gutierrez discloses an arrangement as explained above but does not disclose snaps associated with the coupling elements. Such fasteners are well-known as shown by Knox who discloses a related device including coupling elements with snap and complimentary snap receiving elements (at 50, 52). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide snap elements as taught by Knox in Gutierrez’s device because this could provide a heavy duty and secure means of fixing the elements to improve user safety and comfort.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11858389 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12077075. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the components arranged as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PHILIP F GABLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636