DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 2 and Sub-Species A (claims 1, 5-10, 12, and 15-19) in the reply filed on 09/02/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that “the Restriction Requirement fails to establish that a serious burden would be required to search and examine all claims, nor that a separate search would be required for all claims”. This is not found persuasive because contrary to Applicant’s traversal, the Restriction/Election requirement of 07/06/2026 does in fact establish why there would be both a serious search burden and a separate search. As outlined in the Restriction/Election requirement, each of the outlined species would require a different search in order to arrive at each of the different claimed species and thus as outlined in the Restriction/Election requirement “the prior art applicable to reject claims drawn to one specie would not likely be applicable to reject claims drawn to another specie”.
Furthermore, the Restriction/Election requirement also explicitly states that there is a serious search burden because “the species would require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses/groups/subgroups or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries)”, and thus clearly outlining why and how searching each of the outlined species would invoke a serious search burden. For all of the reasons outlined above, Applicant’s traversal is not believed to be persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 15, 17, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 Ln.3: it is believed that the clause “adjust a position” should be amended to recite “adjust the position” for antecedent reasons (i.e., claim 12 provides the antecedent basis for the position).
Claim 17 Ln.2: the clause “enclosing a computing device” should be amended to recite “enclosing the computing device” for antecedent reasons (i.e., the preamble provides the antecedent basis for the limitation).
Claim 19 Ln.2: it is believed that the clause “adjust a position” should be amended to recite “adjust the position” for antecedent reasons (i.e., claim 17 provides the antecedent basis for the position).
The Office notes that the above objections are a non-exhaustive list and thus requests Applicant’s cooperation with reviewing the claims and correcting ALL remaining informalities present in the claims but not made of record above. Appropriate correction is required.
See next page→
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, 12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu (US 20240381587)1.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses (Figs.1-2):
A two-phase cooling system, comprising: an enclosure (10) comprising a first volume (See Figure Below) and a second volume (See Figure Below); a heat source (200) located in the first volume, wherein the first volume is configured to contain a liquid coolant (11) such that the liquid coolant (11) is in contact (See Fig.1) with the heat source (200), and the second volume is configured to contain a vapor ([0012]: "vaporized coolant") of the liquid coolant (11); a condenser (30) located in the second volume that is configured to remove heat from the vapor ([0012]) so that the vapor condenses into a liquid (Condenser to remove heat from Vapor and Condense Vapor into a Liquid: [0012]- "Heat generated by the heat-generating components 200 is transferred to the coolant 11, the coolant 11 is heated and evaporated, vaporized coolant condenses on the condenser 30, and the coolant condensed on the condenser falls back into the coolant, thereby achieving heat dissipation"); and a positioning device (20), located in the second volume, which is attached to the condenser (30) and that controls a position or orientation of the condenser (30) within the second volume (See Figs.1-2, See Figure Below, and [0013]: 20 is what allows for the position of 30 to change within the second volume).
See next page→
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses (Figs.1-2):
A method of cooling a heat source (200), comprising: enclosing the heat source (200) within a first volume (See Figure of Claim 1) of an enclosure (10) that comprises the first volume (See Figure of Claim 1) and a second volume (See Figure of Claim 1), wherein the first volume includes a liquid coolant (11), such that the liquid coolant (11) is in contact (See Fig.1) with the heat source (200); heating the liquid coolant (11) with heat from the heat source (200), thereby generating a vapor ([0012]: "vaporized coolant") of the liquid coolant (11) (Heat Source heating Liquid Coolant to Generate Vapor: [0012]); cooling the vapor with a condenser (30) (Cooling Vapor with Condenser: [0012]- “vaporized coolant condenses on the condenser 30”), which is located within the second volume (See Figure of Claim 1), to thereby generate condensed liquid coolant that returns to the first volume (Generating Condensed Liquid that Returns to the First Volume: See Figure of Claim 1 and [0012]- 30 will condense the vaporized coolant which will fall back to 11 which is located in the first volume); and controlling, with a positioning device (20), a position (See Figs.1-2) or orientation of the condenser (30) within the second volume (See Figure of Claim 1) (Figs.1-2 and [0013]: 20 controls the position of 30 within the second volume).
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses (Figs.1-2):
A method of cooling a computing device (200) ([0012]: 200 can be a server, which is a computing device), comprising: enclosing a computing device (200), which generates heat ([0012]), within a first volume (See Figure of Claim 1) of an enclosure (10) that comprises the first volume (See Figure of Claim 1) and a second volume (See Figure of Claim 1), wherein the first volume (See Figure of Claim 1) includes a liquid coolant (11), such that the liquid coolant (11) is in contact (See Fig.1) with the computing device (200); generating a vapor ([0012]: “vaporized coolant”) of the liquid coolant (11) with the heat generated by the computing device (200) (Heat of Computing Device Generating a Vapor of the Liquid Coolant: [0012]- “Heat generated by the heat-generating components 200 is transferred to the coolant 11, the coolant 11 is heated and evaporated, vaporized coolant”); condensing the vapor ([0012]: “vaporized coolant”) into condensed liquid coolant ([0012]: “the coolant condensed on the condenser falls back into the coolant”) with a condenser (30) located within the second volume (See Figure of Claim 1); returning the condensed liquid coolant ([0012]) (Returning the Condensed Liquid Coolant: [0012]- “vaporized coolant condenses on the condenser 30, and the coolant condensed on the condenser falls back into the coolant, thereby achieving heat dissipation”); and controlling, with a positioning device (20), a position (See Figs.1-2) or orientation of the condenser (30) within the second volume (See Figure of Claim 1) (Figs.1-2 and [0013]: 20 controls the position of 30 within the second volume).
Regarding claim 5, Liu further discloses:
Wherein the positioning device (20) is configured to move the condenser (30) along a single direction within the second volume (See Figure of Claim 1) (Figs.1-2: 20 only allows 30 to move in the lateral direction and thus only a single direction within the second volume).
Regarding claims 6, 16, and 18 Liu further discloses:
(Claim 6): Wherein the condenser (30) is connected to a flexible inlet conduit (50) and a flexible outlet conduit ([0013]: "The inlet pipe 50 and the outlet pipe are connected to the condenser 30") (Flexible Inlet Conduit and Outlet Conduit: [0013] and [0015]- "The inlet pipe 50 and the outlet pipe are the same", since 50 and the outlet pipe are the same, they will also both be respectively a flexible inlet conduit and a flexible outlet conduit since they each have a flexible pipe that will allow for the position of 30 to change within the second volume).
(Claim 16): Wherein the condenser (30) is connected to a flexible inlet conduit (50) and a flexible outlet conduit ([0013]: "The inlet pipe 50 and the outlet pipe are connected to the condenser 30") (Flexible Inlet Conduit and Outlet Conduit: [0013] and [0015]- "The inlet pipe 50 and the outlet pipe are the same", since 50 and the outlet pipe are the same, they will also both be respectively a flexible inlet conduit and a flexible outlet conduit since they each have a flexible pipe that will allow for the position of 30 to change within the second volume) and the condenser (30) is configured to allow condenser coolant (Figs.1-2, [0012]-[0013], and [0015]: there will be a coolant that defines the condenser coolant that runs through 50 and the outlet pipe/flexible outlet conduit in order to allow 30 to condensed the vaporized 11) to flow through the condenser (30) in various positions (See Figs.1-2) or orientations of the condenser (30) as determined by the positioning device (20) (Figs.1-2, [0012]-[0013], and [0015]: the condenser coolant can allow 30 to condense the vaporized 11 along any position along the lateral direction that 20 permits 30 to move).
(Claim 18): Wherein the condenser (30) is connected to a flexible inlet conduit (50) and a flexible outlet conduit ([0013]: "The inlet pipe 50 and the outlet pipe are connected to the condenser 30") (Flexible Inlet Conduit and Outlet Conduit: [0013] and [0015]- "The inlet pipe 50 and the outlet pipe are the same", since 50 and the outlet pipe are the same, they will also both be respectively a flexible inlet conduit and a flexible outlet conduit since they each have a flexible pipe that will allow for the position of 30 to change within the second volume) such that the condenser (30) is configured to allow condenser coolant (Figs.1-2, [0012]-[0013], and [0015]: there will be a coolant that defines the condenser coolant that runs through 50 and the outlet pipe/flexible outlet conduit in order to allow 30 to condensed the vaporized 11) to flow through the condenser (30) in various positions (See Figs.1-2) or orientations of the condenser (30) as determined by the positioning device (20) (Figs.1-2, [0012]-[0013], and [0015]: the condenser coolant can allow 30 to condense the vaporized 11 along any position along the lateral direction that 20 permits 30 to move).
Regarding claims 7, 15, and 19, Liu further discloses:
(Claim 7): Wherein the condenser (30) comprises a planar geometry (Fig.1: the top surface of 30 will have a top surface that will define a planar geometry that goes into and out of the page) and the positioning device (20) is configured to move (See Figs.1-2) the condenser (30) along a direction (Figs.1-2: the left-right/lateral direction) perpendicular to a plane of the condenser (30) within the second volume (See Figure of Claim 1) (Figs.1-2: 20 moves in a lateral direction and the condenser will have a plane that goes into and out of the page which is perpendicular to the lateral direction, and thus 30 moves along a direction perpendicular to the plane of 30 that goes into and out of the page).
(Claim 15): Wherein the condenser (30) comprises a planar geometry (Fig.1: the top surface of 30 will have a top surface that will define a planar geometry that goes into and out of the page), and the method further comprises: controlling the positioning device (20) to adjust a position (See Figs.1-2) of the condenser (30) along a direction perpendicular to a plane of the condenser (30) within the second volume (See Figure of Claim 1) (Figs.1-2: 20 moves in a lateral direction and the condenser will have a plane that goes into and out of the page which is perpendicular to the lateral direction, and thus 30 moves along a direction perpendicular to the plane of 30 that goes into and out of the page).
(Claim 19): Wherein the condenser (30) has a planar geometry (Fig.1: the top surface of 30 will have a top surface that will define a planar geometry that goes into and out of the page); and the method further comprises controlling the positioning device (20) to adjust a position of the condenser (30) along a direction perpendicular to a plane of the condenser (30) within the second volume (See Figure of Claim 1) (Figs.1-2: 20 moves in a lateral direction and the condenser will have a plane that goes into and out of the page which is perpendicular to the lateral direction, and thus 30 moves along a direction perpendicular to the plane of 30 that goes into and out of the page).
See next page→
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon an allowable dependent claim that is dependent upon a rejected base claim.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the device as recited in the combined subject matter of claims 1, 5, and 8, and at least in part, because claim 8 recites the limitations: “wherein the positioning device comprises a pulley and a cable that is attached to the pulley on a first end of the cable and attached to the condenser on a second end of the cable, and wherein a height of the condenser along a vertical direction within the second volume is adjustable based on a configuration of the pulley, which is adjustable and configured to allow the cable to be shortened or lengthened”.
The aforementioned limitations, in combination with all remaining limitations of respective claim 8, are believed to render the combined subject matter of claims 1, 5, and 8, and all claims depending therefrom allowable over the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination.
The remaining prior art references teach other cooling assemblies that are known in the art. While there are prior art references that teach the use of a pulley to adjust a height of an object, the Office notes that none of the prior art references, taken alone or in combination, would reasonably teach a positioning device that moves a condenser along a single direction, as required in claim 5, as well as the positioning device comprising a pulley and cable as respectively claimed in claim 8. In other words, none of the prior art references, taken alone or in combination, teaches and/or suggests a positioning device that comprises a pulley and cable that allows for a condenser to only be moved in a single direction as claimed in claim 8. Furthermore, the Office notes that modifying Liu such that it incorporates the pulley and cable design as claimed in claim 8 would require undo experimentation since it would require Liu to be modified extensively (i.e., one would have to modify the slidable track disclosed by Liu for a pulley system , which would require a significant modification as to how the condenser is connected and modification to the enclosure in order to accommodate the pulley and cable system). Therefore, absent impermissible hindsight, there appears to be no reasonable combination that can be made to Liu in order to arrive at the claimed device as respectively claimed in claim 8. For all of the reasons outlined above, none of the prior art references, taken alone or in combination, are believed to render the claimed invention unpatentable as claimed in claim 8.
Finally, the Office has not identified any double patenting issues. For all of the reasons outlined above, claim 8 is believed to be in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
CN 118031456: teaches a pulley system to adjust a height of a condenser.
US 20230073646: teaches a condenser that has a condenser fluid that flows through the condenser in order to allow the condenser to condense vaporized fluid.
US 20230022650: teaches a condenser that has a condenser fluid that flows through the condenser in order to allow the condenser to condense vaporized fluid.
US 20210153386: teaches using a crane to attach a condenser to an enclosure and a pulley system to move a heat-generating component in and out of the enclosure.
US 20210153392: teaches a condenser that has a condenser fluid that flows through the condenser in order to allow the condenser to condense vaporized fluid and the orientation of the condenser varying.
/STEPHEN S SUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
1 Examiner's Note: Regarding claims 12 and 15-19, since there are no specific method steps being claimed, just a general process of using the device of claims 1 and 6-7 (i.e., the method of claims 12 and 15-19 repeat the structure recited in the apparatus of claims 1 and 6-7), the fact that the structure of the device of the present invention is anticipated by Liu means that the general method of using such a structure is also anticipated by the same reference. The method steps recited in the claims are inherently necessitated by the structure of Liu.