DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on May 15, 2025 have/has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-13, 16-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,076,085 (herein 085). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As to claim 1, US 085 claim 1 includes all the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application.
As to claims 2-5, 7-10, US 085 claims 1-7 recite substantially similar subject matter.
As to claim 11, US 085 claim 8 includes all the limitations of claim 11 of the instant application.
As to claims 12-13, 16-18 US 085 claims 8-12 recite substantially similar subject matter.
As to claims 19, 21-24, US 085 claims 1-7 recite substantially similar subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stringham et al. (Evaluation of Variables Affecting Intraoperative Aberrometry)1 in view of Copland et al. (US 2016/0000318 - Copland).
As to claim 19, Stringham teaches a system for ophthalmic measurement (Stringham page 471; right side - Humphrey Atlas System mode 991) comprising an ophthalmic measurement device (Stringham page 471 - Humphrey Atlas System mode 991) a processor coupled to the ophthalmic measurement device (Stringham page 471 - Humphrey Atlas System mode 991; Figs. 1, 2), the processor configured to:
receive, from an ophthalmic measurement device, a first measurement of at least one ophthalmic parameter (Stringham page 471 - corneal topographer evaluating cylinder power and axis; Figs. 1, 2), over a first measurement area (Stringham page 471; Figs. 1, 2 - corneal topography), the first measurement area corresponding to an unassisted measurable area of the patient’s eye (Stringham page 471; Figs. 1, 2 - pre-speculum corneal topography cylinder and axis measurement);
receive, from the ophthalmic measurement device, a second measurement of the at least one ophthalmic parameter over a second measurement area (Stringham page 471; Figs. 1, 2 - corneal topography), the second measurement areas corresponding to an assisted measurable areas of the patient’s eye (Stringham page 471; Figs. 1, 2 - open-wire or closed-wire speculum based corneal topography cylinder and axis measurement);
receive, from the ophthalmic measurement device, first reflections associated with the first measurement and second reflection associated with the second measurement (Stringham page 471 - Humphrey Atlas System mode 991 performs measurement via reflections from the eye).
Stringham doesn’t specify responsive to discrepancies present between the second and first reflections, generate an alert that a tear film of the patient has dried.
In the same field of endeavor Copland teaches an ophthalmic system with ophthalmic measurement measuring first/second light reflections from an eye and to generate an alert a tear film of the patient has dried (Copland Fig. 2 - 10, 1200, 1520; para. [0004], [0030], [0036]; Fig. 8 - 810, 820, 830; para. [0046], [0084]-[0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide an alert for such tear film drying since, as taught by Copland, such alerts allow for determining if the measurement data is accurate and if not, providing corrective action (Copland para. [0004], [0046]).
As to claim 21, Stringham in view of Copland teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 19, and Stringham/Copland further teaches the processor is further configured to compare the first measurement to a sampled portion of the second measurement that corresponds to a sub-region of the second measurement area that coincides with the first measurement area (Stringham page 471; Figs. 1, 2 - corneal topography necessarily includes a sub-region of the corneal measures pre-speculum and with specula; Copland Fig. 8 - 810, 420, 430, 840 850; para. [0004], [0046], [0087]); and
generate an alert that the second measurement is inaccurate based on a difference between at least one ophthalmic parameter as indicated by the comparing of the first measurement to the sampled portion of the second measurement (Stringham Figs. 1, 2; Copland Fig. 8 - 810, 420, 430, 840 850; para. [0004], [0046], [0087]).
As to claim 22, Stringham in view of Copland teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Copland further teaches the processor is further configured to reject the second measurement based on the difference between the at least one ophthalmic parameter as indicated by the comparing of the first measurement to the sampled portion of the second measurement (Copland Fig. 8 - 830, 850; para. [0046], [0085], [0087]);
and repeat the second measurement in response to rejecting the second measurement (Copland Fig. 8 - 830, 850, 820).
As to claim 23, Stringham in view of Copland teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Stringham further teaches the ophthalmic parameter includes at least one of corneal curvature, axial length, aberrometry, or corneal topography (Stringham page 471);
the ophthalmic measurement device includes at least one of a keratometer, ultrasound biometer, wavefront device, a topographer, or an aberrometry device (Stringham page 471).
As to claim 24, Stringham in view of Copland teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Stringham further teaches comparing comprises scaling the first measurement area to the second measurement area (Stringham Figs. 1, 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ono (US 10,842,375; 2019/0059721); Korb et al. (US 10,716,465; 2018/0177391); Copland et al. (US 9,706,912); Nozato (US 10,492,681; 2015/0150450); Shea et al. (US 9,332,899; 2014/0125949); Bishop (US 9,398,845; 2016/0324418); Beyerlein et al. (WO 2012/116807) are cited as additional examples of ophthalmic measurement verification systems and methods.
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 July 21, 2026
1 Stringham J, Pettey J, Olson RJ. Evaluation of variables affecting intraoperative aberrometry. J Cataract Refract Surg. 2012 Mar;38(3):470-4. doi: 10.1016/j.jcrs.2011.09.039. Epub 2011 Dec 24. PMID: 22200510.