DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to communications: Amendment, filed on 05/01/2026.
This action is made FINAL.
2. Claims 1-17 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 9 and 17 are independent claims. Claims 1, 3, 9 and 17 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)
Examiner maintains the claims are not limited by the specification in accordance with 35 USC 112(f). Accordingly, the claim interpretation is maintained below.
Claim Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. § 102
Applicant argues (claims 1, 9 and 17) Park fails to disclose separated dual-source reception architecture.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., structural connectivity of recited components (e.g. first data reception module and second data reception module) that define the components as separate and different) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues the metadata of Park differs from the claimed metadata that instructs how or where to place data within a UX environment.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., metadata that instructs how or where to place data within a UX environment) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues (claim 17) Park fails to disclose independent provision devices that supply data to the vehicle information provision system.
In response, Park (Para 41) discloses a sensor providing vehicle data and (Fig. 2) a processor (Para 75; Fig. 3) implementing a web application programming interface providing vehicle interface data and metadata related to the vehicle data. Thus, Park discloses independent provision devices that supply data to the vehicle information provision system.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first data reception module”, “second data reception module” in claims 1, 4 and 17; “first data processing module”, “second data processing module” and “synthesis module” in claims 3-8. Applicant’s Specification (Para 128) discloses “modules” as implemented by hardware, software, or a combination thereof, without identifying a specific hardware example.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “vehicle data provision device” and “vehicle interface provision device” in claim 17. Applicant’s Specification (Para 46) discloses the vehicle data provision device incudes a sensor; and the Specification (Para 64) discloses vehicle interface provision device is an infotainment system.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites: “a vehicle interface provision device configured to provide… metadata…;
Synthesize the vehicle data based on first metadata”
It is unclear whether metadata provided by the vehicle interface provision device corresponds to “first metadata” used to synthesize the vehicle data. Additionally, it is unclear as to what “first metadata” refers, as a vehicle interface provision device provides metadata corresponding to singular data. Correction is required.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: the connectivity of the claimed devices, system and processor as disclosed by Applicant’s Specification (Fig. 1 & 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jongseon Park et al., US 2013/0345899 A1.
Independent claim 1, discloses a vehicle information provision system, the system comprising:
a first data reception module configured to receive vehicle data (i.e. a second processor 210 (a.k.a. vehicle processor 210) for outputting vehicle data to the first processor 200 – Para 60);
a second data reception module configured to receive vehicle interface data and first metadata related to the vehicle data (i.e. a first processor 200 (a.k.a. information processor 200) for executing a web application 202 – Para 60; an in-vehicle information device includes a first processor for executing a web application; The first processor includes a first-processor-side inter-node communication (INC) interface module for transmitting and receiving information to and from the second processor – Para 10); and
a processor operably connected to the first data reception module and the second data reception module and configured to process the vehicle data based on a first system language, to process the vehicle interface data based on a second system language different from the first system language (i.e. a communication module, e.g. INC, changes information from the second processor (e.g. vehicle processor) in CAN communication language to the web interface definition language (e.g. Java Script or HTML) of the web application – Para 76, 80, 81, 83; information from the second processor (e.g. vehicle processor) is provided in CAN communication language – Para 73, 80); a web interface definition language (e.g. Java Script or HTML) is used by the web application – Para 69, 76), and to synthesize the vehicle data based on the first metadata into a user experience (UX) environment generated by processing the vehicle interface data (i.e. the web application 202 may be displayed on a display unit 101 mounted in the vehicle – Para 70; vehicle data is output to provide a vehicle status message associated with a vehicle data value – Fig. 6; Para 100-106).
Claim 2, Park discloses the vehicle information provision system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to output synthesized data, through a display device (i.e. the web application 202 may be displayed on a display unit 101 mounted in the vehicle – Para 70).
Claim 3, Park discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first system language is a vehicle programming language (i.e. CAN communication language – Para 73, 80), and wherein the second system language is a markup language (i.e. a web interface definition language (e.g. Java Script or HTML) – Para 69, 76), and wherein the processor includes: a first data processing module configured to process the vehicle data based on the vehicle programming language (i.e. information from the second processor (e.g. vehicle processor) is provided in CAN communication language – Para 73, 80); a second data processing module configured to process the vehicle interface data based on the markup language, to generate the UX environment (i.e. a web interface definition language (e.g. Java Script or HTML) is used by the web application – Para 69, 76); and a synthesis module configured to synthesize the vehicle data into the UX environment based on the first metadata (i.e. vehicle data is output to provide a vehicle status message associated with a vehicle data value – Fig. 6; Para 100-106 – via a web application platform – Para 75).
Claim 4, Park discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the first data reception module is further configured to receive identification data related to the vehicle data (i.e. a navigation session of the in vehicle system receives map/guidance and traffic data – Para 35, 45 – via a sensor – Para 43), and wherein the first data processing module is further configured to process the vehicle data and the identification data (i.e. the second processor, e.g. vehicle processor, provides vehicle data – Para 77; vehicle data, e.g. position, and identification data, e.g. map and traffic, are sensed by the second processor – Para 43) and generate the identification data-matched vehicle data to be stored in a memory (i.e. vehicle position relative to a destination and traffic information are associated and displayed based on travel data obtained from memory – Para 35, 36).
Claim 5, Park discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the second data reception module is further configured to receive second metadata related to the vehicle interface data (i.e. the web application receives vehicle information about transmission gear type or tire pressure – Para 101, 106), and wherein the second data processing module is further configured to process the vehicle interface data based on the second metadata and to generate the UX environment (i.e. the received vehicle information is processed to determine a phase of the transmission – Para 101 – or a maintenance status of the tire pressure – Para 105; the web application outputs a message corresponding to the vehicle data received – Para 106).
Claim 6, Park discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the second data processing module is further configured to allocate a vehicle data display area on the UX environment based on the first metadata (i.e. the web application outputs a message corresponding to the vehicle data received – Para 106), and wherein the synthesis module is further configured to synthesize the vehicle data into the vehicle data display area (i.e. vehicle data communicated to the web application is output as a corresponding message or value on the vehicle display – Para 119).
Claim 7, Park discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the synthesis module is further configured to output the synthesized vehicle data on a display device (i.e. the web application 202 may be displayed on a display unit 101 mounted in the vehicle – Para 70).
Claim 8, Park discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the synthesis module is further configured to search the memory for the vehicle data corresponding to the identification data comprised in the first metadata and synthesize the searched vehicle data into the UX environment (i.e. identify the map/guidance data corresponding to the vehicle position to provide output for the navigation session – Para 36).
Independent claim 9, the corresponding rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 1 applies herein.
Claims 10-16, the corresponding rationale as applied in the rejection of claims 2-8 apply herein.
Independent claim 17, the corresponding rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 1 applies herein. Additionally, Park discloses a vehicle data provision device configured to provide vehicle data (i.e. sensor – Para 41); a vehicle interface provision device configured to provide vehicle interface data and metadata related to the vehicle data (i.e. web application programming interface – Para 75; Fig. 3).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHANTE E HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615