DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 2 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,068,192. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,068,192 cover and encompass the limitations of the respective claims 2 and 21 of the instant application. Moreover, because omission element(s) in the claims would make the claims in the instant application broader, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the claim(s) in the U.S. Patent No. 12,068,192 to as now recited in the instant application since it is just merely an obvious variation of the claims. Furthermore, it is well settled that omission of an element and it function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 163 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963). In light of the foregoing discussion, the claims 2 and 21 of the instant application are rejected as obvious double patenting over the claims 1 and 10, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,068,192.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-11 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nardi et al. (US 2019/0115391, cited by applicant) in view of Jeong et al. (US 2017/0244031).
Regarding claim 2, Nardi teaches an apparatus (figs. 7A-7D), comprising: a plurality of contacts (VTFT 731) associated with a plurality of digit lines (GBL 733) extending through a substrate (D714) and arranged in a geometric pattern ([0076]); a dielectric material (white space between the WL, figs. 11K and 11L) separating a first set of a plurality of word line plates (WL 1 and WL 3) from a second set of the plurality of word line plates (WL 2 and WL 4); a plurality of pillars (VBL 721) formed over the plurality of contacts and arranged in a geometric pattern, each pillar of the plurality of pillars coupled with a contact of the plurality of contacts (VBL 721 surrounded by an OTS 723 and C 725); and a plurality of storage elements (PCM 701), each comprising a chalcogenide material (Ge2Sb2Te5, GST, [0050] and [0058]) positioned between at least one of the plurality of word line plates, at least one pillar, and at least one dielectric layer ([0070]-[0079] and [0104]-[0119]).
Nardi fails to teach the plurality of pillars (VBL 721, [0071] and [0072]) comprises circular pillars.
However, Jeong teaches memory cells have various pillar shapes, i.e. circular pillars, elliptical pillar, etc. ([0047] and [0136]).
In view of Jeong’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nardi by incorporating the teaching as taught by Jeong since it is just a matter of design option for selecting various shape for the pillars (see Jeong: [0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Nardi as modified by Jeong teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Nardi further teaches wherein the plurality of circular pillars (VBL 721) is coupled with a plurality of selectors (VTFT 731) positioned below the substrate or above the plurality of word line plates (figs. 7B-7D and [0072]).
Regarding claim 4, Nardi as modified by Jeong teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Nardi further teaches a conformal material extending between a first chalcogenide material and a second chalcogenide material in recesses between word line plates of the first set and contacting the dielectric material ([0108]).
Regarding claim 5, Nardi as modified by Jeong teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Nardi and Jeong further teach wherein a circular pillar of the plurality of circular pillars further comprises a barrier layer contacting at least portions of the chalcogenide material and a conductive material contacting the barrier layer and configured as a digit line (Nardi: [0073] and [0108]. Jeong: [0040] and [0069]).
Regarding claim 6, Nardi as modified by Jeong teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Nardi further teaches wherein at least one word line plate of the plurality of word line plates comprises a conductive material (figs. 7A, 7B and [0075]).
Regarding claim 7, Nardi as modified by Jeong teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Nardi and Jeong further teach wherein the plurality of contacts is arranged in a staggered pattern or a grid pattern (Nardi: fig. 7A. Jeong: figs. 18-19).
Regarding claim 8, Nardi as modified by Jeong teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Nardi and Jeong further wherein the plurality of contacts is arranged such that a respective contact of the plurality of contacts is surrounded by six contacts of the plurality of contacts in a staggered pattern (Nardi: figs. 7A-7D and 11I-11L. Jeong: figs. 18-19).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Nardi as modified by Jeong teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Nardi and Jeong further wherein the plurality of contacts are arranged in a staggered pattern such that the plurality of contacts are adjacent to one another in a first direction and are not adjacent to one another in a second direction and further limitations as claimed (Nardi: figs. 7A-7D and 11I-11L. Jeong: figs. 18-19).
Regarding claim 11, Nardi as modified by Jeong teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Nardi and Jeong further wherein a first spacing between a first pair of contacts of the plurality of contacts in a first direction is different than a spacing between a second pair of contacts of the plurality of contacts in the first direction (figs. 7A-7D and 11I-11L. Jeong: figs. 18-19).
Regarding claim 21, Nardi teaches an apparatus (figs. 7A-7D), comprising: a plurality of contacts (VTFT 731) associated with a plurality of digit lines (GBL 733) extending through a substrate (D714) and arranged in a geometric pattern ([0076]); a plurality of first word lines (WL 1 and WL 3) stacked in a first direction above the substrate; a plurality of second word lines (WL 2 and WL 4) stacked in the first direction above the substrate; a dielectric material (white space between the WL, figs. 11K and 11L) separating the plurality of first word lines from the plurality of second word lines; a plurality of pillars (VBL 721) formed over the plurality of contacts and arranged in a geometric pattern, each pillar of the plurality of pillars coupled with a contact of the plurality of contacts (VBL 721 surrounded by an OTS 723 and C 725); and a plurality of first storage elements (PCM 701) each comprising a chalcogenide material (Ge2Sb2Te5, GST, [0050] and [0058]) positioned between at least one first word line of the plurality of first word lines, at least one pillar, and at least a portion of the dielectric material; and a plurality of second storage elements (another PCM 701) each comprising a chalcogenide material (Ge2Sb2Te5, GST, [0050] and [0058]) positioned between at least one second word line of the plurality of second word lines, at least one pillar, and at least a portion of the dielectric material ([0070]-[0079] and [0104]-[0119]).
Nardi fails to teach the plurality of pillars (VBL 721, [0071] and [0072]) comprises circular pillars.
However, Jeong teaches memory cells have various pillar shapes, i.e. circular pillars, elliptical pillar, etc. ([0047] and [0136]).
In view of Jeong’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nardi by incorporating the teaching as taught by Jeong since it is just a matter of design option for selecting various shape for the pillars (see Jeong: [0047]).
Claim(s) 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nardi in view of Jeong and Rupp (US 6,091,094).
Regarding claim 12, Nardi teaches an apparatus (figs. 7A-7D), comprising: a plurality of contacts (VTFT 731) associated with a plurality of digit lines (GBL 733) extending through a substrate (D714) and arranged in a geometric pattern ([0076]); a dielectric material (white space between the WL, figs. 11K and 11L) separating a first set of planes (WL 1 and WL 3) of a conductive material from a second set of planes (WL 2 and WL 4) of the conductive material; a plurality of pillars (VBL 721) formed over the plurality of contacts and arranged in a geometric pattern, each pillar of the plurality of pillars coupled with a contact of the plurality of contacts (VBL 721 surrounded by an OTS 723 and C 725); and a plurality of storage elements (PCM 701) each comprising a chalcogenide material (Ge2Sb2Te5, GST, [0050] and [0058]) positioned between at least one plane of the first set of planes or the second set of planes of the conductive material, at least one pillar, and at least one dielectric layer ([0070]-[0079] and [0104]-[0119]).
Nardi fails to teach hexagonal pattern and the plurality of pillars comprises circular pillars.
However, Rupp further teaches memory device comprises a plurality of contacts associated with plurality of digit lines extending through a substrate and arranged in a hexagonal pattern (col. 5, lines 48-60, col. 7, lines 38-50 and col. 10, lines 33-48). Moreover, Jeong teaches memory cells have various pillar shapes, i.e. circular pillars, elliptical pillar, etc. ([0047] and [0136]).
In view of Rupp’s and Jeong’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nardi by incorporating the teachings as taught by Rupp and Jeong since it is just a matter of design option for selecting various shape for memory device.
Regarding claim 13, Nardi as modified by Rupp and Jeong teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Nardi further teaches wherein the plurality of circular pillars (VBL 721) is coupled with a plurality of selectors (VTFT 731) positioned below the substrate or above the first set of planes and the second set of planes of the conductive material (figs. 7B-7D and [0072]).
Regarding claim 14, Nardi as modified by Rupp and Jeong teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Nardi further teaches a conformal material extending between a first chalcogenide material and a second chalcogenide material in recesses between one or more planes of the first set of planes of the conductive material and contacting the dielectric material ([0108]).
Regarding claim 15, Nardi as modified by Rupp and Jeong teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Nardi and Jeong further teach wherein a circular pillar of the plurality of circular pillars further comprises a barrier layer contacting at least portions of the chalcogenide material and a conductive material contacting the barrier layer and configured as a digit line (Nardi: [0073] and [0108]. Jeong: [0040] and [0069]).
Regarding claim 16, Nardi as modified by Rupp and Jeong teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Nardi further teaches wherein the first set of planes and the second set of planes of the conductive material comprise a plurality of word line plates (figs. 7A, 7B and [0075]).
Regarding claim 17, Nardi as modified by Rupp and Jeong teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Nardi and Jeong further wherein the plurality of contacts is arranged such that a respective contact of the plurality of contacts is at least partially surrounded by six contacts of the plurality of contacts in the hexagonal pattern (Nardi: figs. 7A-7D and 11I-11L. Jeong: figs. 18-19).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Nardi as modified by Rupp and Jeong teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Nardi and Jeong further wherein the plurality of contacts are adjacent to one another in a first direction and are not adjacent to one another in a second direction and further limitations as claimed (Nardi: figs. 7A-7D and 11I-11L. Jeong: figs. 18-19).
Regarding claim 20, Nardi as modified by Rupp and Jeong teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Nardi and Jeong further wherein a first spacing between a first pair of contacts of the plurality of contacts in a first direction is different than a spacing between a second pair of contacts of the plurality of contacts in the first direction (figs. 7A-7D and 11I-11L. Jeong: figs. 18-19).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
References: Fantini et al. (US 2020/0203429); Jeong et al. (US 2019/0172502); Ko (US 2019/0131348); Lee et al. (US 10,008,539); Nowak et al. (US 2015/0115345) Katine et al. (US 9,941,331) and Doda et al. (US 2016/0276360) are cited because they are related to memory apparatus.
/TUYEN K VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876