DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species C in the reply filed on 2/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious burden. This is not found persuasive because each of the species requires a different field of search e.g., employing different search strategies or search queries because the species include different steps to achieve different results. For example, the species of Figure 8 includes the step of determining to register the UE with a second mobile communication network via a first mobile communication network, which neither of the other species includes. Additionally, the species of Figure 8 requires that the “complete the registration with the second mobile communication network via the data connection” be “in response to successfully establishing the data connection”, which neither of the other species includes. While the species of Figure 9 includes the step of receiving a NAI from a UE attempting to connect to the gateway device, wherein the NAI includes an identity of a second mobile communication network and the step of receiving an accept message indicating that the data connection with the first mobile communication network is successfully established in response to successful authentication of the UE with the second mobile communication network, which neither of the other species includes. Finally, the species of Figure 10 includes the step of receiving a first request message for establishing a data connection with the first mobile communication network, the first request message including an indication that the data connection is to facilitate a user equipment (UE) to register with a second mobile communication network, the step of selecting a gateway function in the second mobile communication network, the step of initiating an access procedure with the gateway function, and the step of relaying a plurality of authentication messages between the gateway function and the UE, wherein the plurality of authentication messages comprises signaling messages for a registration of the UE with the second mobile communication network, which neither of the other species includes.
It is noted that none of the claims, as currently worded, appear to be directed to species A or B and the claims have all been examined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 8/6/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0146783 A1 (hereinafter Kim) in view of Zhou et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0256291 A1) (hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a network entity in a first mobile communication network (Figure 14 and paragraph 0298 disclose the PDN connection request message is applied to MME 30 through H(e)NB2 20 connected to the UE 10), the network entity comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Paragraph 0336 discloses in a firmware or software configuration, the embodiments of the present invention may be implemented in the form of a module, a procedure, a function, etc. For example, software code may be stored in a memory unit and executed by a processor. The memory unit is located at the interior or exterior of the processor and may transmit and receive data to and from the processor via various known means) and configured to cause the network entity to:
receive a first request message for establishing a data connection with the first mobile communication network, the first request message including an indication that the data connection is to facilitate a user equipment (UE) to register with a second mobile communication network (Figure 14 and paragraphs 0298, 0299, 0316, and 0317 disclose in step S1401, UE 10 transmits the PDN connection request message, so that the PDN connection process requested by the UE 10 may start operation. In this case, the PDN connection request message may include APN (i.e., APN#1) of the home based network desired to be connected by the UE. The PDN connection request message is applied to MME 30 through H(e)NB2 20 connected to the UE 10. In step S1401a, MME 30 having received the PDN connection request message may perform P-GW selection);
select a gateway function in the second mobile communication network (Figure 14 and paragraphs 0299, 0302, 0317, and 0319 disclose in step S1401a, MME 30 having received the PDN connection request message may perform P-GW selection. If CSG ID (i.e., CSG#1) through which APN (i.e., APN#1) requested by the UE 10 is permitted (or included) is different from CSG ID (i.e., CSG ID#2) received from HeNB 20 connected to the UE 10, MME 30 may select P-GW for providing appropriate PDN connection for APN#1 but not L-GW (i.e., L-GW#2) that is co-located with HeNB2 20 connected to the UE 10. That is, on the basis of `P-GW needed when MME creates MRA PDN connection`, MME 30 may select L-GW (i.e., L-GW#1) for enabling the UE 10 to access the home based network connected to HeNB1, and may use the selected L-GW as P-GW 50).
Kim does not explicitly disclose initiate an access procedure with the gateway function; relay a plurality of authentication messages between the gateway function and the UE, wherein the plurality of authentication messages comprises signaling messages for a registration of the UE with the second mobile communication network; and transmit an accept message indicating that the data connection with the first mobile communication network is successfully established in response to a successful completion of the access procedure, wherein the registration of the UE with the second mobile communication network is completed via the established data connection.
In analogous art, Zhou discloses initiate an access procedure with the gateway function (Figure 2 and paragraph 0074 and 0078 disclose in step 201, the UE transmits EAP authentication information required for external authentication using the EAP to a mobile management unit through an attachment request message. In steps 203-204, the mobile management unit carries the PCO or newly defined IE including the EAP authentication information in a session establishment request message to transmit to a packet data network gateway via a serving gateway);
relay a plurality of authentication messages between the gateway function and the UE, wherein the plurality of authentication messages comprises signaling messages for a registration of the UE with the second mobile communication network (Figure 2 and paragraphs 0074 and 0078-0080 disclose in step 201, the UE transmits EAP authentication information required for external authentication using the EAP to a mobile management unit through an attachment request message. In steps 203-204, the mobile management unit carries the PCO or newly defined IE including the EAP authentication information in a session establishment request message to transmit to a packet data network gateway via a serving gateway. In steps 205-206, after receiving the session establishment request message, the packet data network gateway extracts EAP authentication information from the PCO or newly defined IE of the message, and includes the extracted authentication information in an access request message to transmit to an external AAA server, and after receiving the access request message, the AAA server returns an access challenge message including EAP request to the packet data network gateway. In steps 207-208, the packet data network gateway includes the EAP request in the access challenge message in the PCO or newly defined IE to transmit to the mobile management unit through a session establishment response message via the serving gateway); and
transmit an accept message indicating that the data connection with the first mobile communication network is successfully established in response to a successful completion of the access procedure, wherein the registration of the UE with the second mobile communication network is completed via the established data connection (Figure 2 and paragraph 0081 disclose in step 209, the mobile management unit includes the PCO or newly defined IE in an attachment acceptance message to transmit to the UE, thus, the UE implements the initial attachment of the connection to the EPS and establishes a default bearer).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a mobility management unit communicating with a gateway and a UE to authorize the UE and send an acceptance message to the UE, as described in Zhou, with an MME selecting a gateway for a UE, as described in Kim, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a mobility management unit communicating with a gateway and a UE to authorize the UE and send an acceptance message to the UE of Zhou with an MME selecting a gateway for a UE of Kim was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Zhou.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Kim and Zhou to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 1 above, Kim discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing receive, from the UE, at least one extensible authentication protocol (EAP) message in an uplink direction; encapsulate the at least one EAP message into an authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA) message; and transmit the AAA message to the gateway function.
Zhou further discloses receive, from the UE, at least one extensible authentication protocol (EAP) message in an uplink direction (Figure 2 and paragraph 0074 disclose in step 201, the UE transmits EAP authentication information required for external authentication using the EAP to a mobile management unit through an attachment request message);
encapsulate the at least one EAP message into an authentication, authorization and accounting (AAA) message (Figure 2 and paragraph 0079 disclose in steps 205-206, after receiving the session establishment request message, the packet data network gateway extracts EAP authentication information from the PCO or newly defined IE of the message, and includes the extracted authentication information in an access request message to transmit to an external AAA server, and after receiving the access request message, the AAA server returns an access challenge message including EAP request to the packet data network gateway); and
transmit the AAA message to the gateway function (Figure 2 and paragraph 0079 disclose in steps 205-206, after receiving the session establishment request message, the packet data network gateway extracts EAP authentication information from the PCO or newly defined IE of the message, and includes the extracted authentication information in an access request message to transmit to an external AAA server, and after receiving the access request message, the AAA server returns an access challenge message including EAP request to the packet data network gateway).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a mobility management unit receiving EAP authentication information from a UE and including the information in a message to an gateway for an AAA server, as described in Zhou, with an MME selecting a gateway for a UE, as described in Kim, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a mobility management unit receiving EAP authentication information from a UE and including the information in a message to an gateway for an AAA server of Zhou with an MME selecting a gateway for a UE of Kim was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Zhou.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Kim and Zhou to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a method performed by a network entity in a first mobile communication network (Figure 14 and paragraphs 0298 and 0299 disclose the PDN connection request message is applied to MME 30 through H(e)NB2 20 connected to the UE 10. In step S1401a, MME 30 having received the PDN connection request message may perform P-GW selection), the method comprising:
receiving a first request message for establishing a data connection with the first mobile communication network, the first request message including an indication that the data connection is to facilitate a user equipment (UE) to register with a second mobile communication network (Figure 14 and paragraphs 0298, 0299, 0316, and 0317 disclose in step S1401, UE 10 transmits the PDN connection request message, so that the PDN connection process requested by the UE 10 may start operation. In this case, the PDN connection request message may include APN (i.e., APN#1) of the home based network desired to be connected by the UE. The PDN connection request message is applied to MME 30 through H(e)NB2 20 connected to the UE 10. In step S1401a, MME 30 having received the PDN connection request message may perform P-GW selection);
selecting a gateway function in the second mobile communication network (Figure 14 and paragraphs 0299, 0302, 0317, and 0319 disclose in step S1401a, MME 30 having received the PDN connection request message may perform P-GW selection. If CSG ID (i.e., CSG#1) through which APN (i.e., APN#1) requested by the UE 10 is permitted (or included) is different from CSG ID (i.e., CSG ID#2) received from HeNB 20 connected to the UE 10, MME 30 may select P-GW for providing appropriate PDN connection for APN#1 but not L-GW (i.e., L-GW#2) that is co-located with HeNB2 20 connected to the UE 10. That is, on the basis of `P-GW needed when MME creates MRA PDN connection`, MME 30 may select L-GW (i.e., L-GW#1) for enabling the UE 10 to access the home based network connected to HeNB1, and may use the selected L-GW as P-GW 50).
Kim does not explicitly disclose initiating an access procedure with the gateway function; relaying a plurality of authentication messages between the gateway function and the UE, wherein the plurality of authentication messages comprises signaling messages for a registration of the UE with the second mobile communication network; and transmitting an accept message indicating that the data connection with the first mobile communication network is successfully established in response to a successful completion of the access procedure, wherein the registration of the UE with the second mobile communication network is completed via the established data connection.
In analogous art, Zhou discloses initiating an access procedure with the gateway function (Figure 2 and paragraph 0074 and 0078 disclose in step 201, the UE transmits EAP authentication information required for external authentication using the EAP to a mobile management unit through an attachment request message. In steps 203-204, the mobile management unit carries the PCO or newly defined IE including the EAP authentication information in a session establishment request message to transmit to a packet data network gateway via a serving gateway);
relaying a plurality of authentication messages between the gateway function and the UE, wherein the plurality of authentication messages comprises signaling messages for a registration of the UE with the second mobile communication network (Figure 2 and paragraphs 0074 and 0078-0080 disclose in step 201, the UE transmits EAP authentication information required for external authentication using the EAP to a mobile management unit through an attachment request message. In steps 203-204, the mobile management unit carries the PCO or newly defined IE including the EAP authentication information in a session establishment request message to transmit to a packet data network gateway via a serving gateway. In steps 205-206, after receiving the session establishment request message, the packet data network gateway extracts EAP authentication information from the PCO or newly defined IE of the message, and includes the extracted authentication information in an access request message to transmit to an external AAA server, and after receiving the access request message, the AAA server returns an access challenge message including EAP request to the packet data network gateway. In steps 207-208, the packet data network gateway includes the EAP request in the access challenge message in the PCO or newly defined IE to transmit to the mobile management unit through a session establishment response message via the serving gateway); and
transmitting an accept message indicating that the data connection with the first mobile communication network is successfully established in response to a successful completion of the access procedure, wherein the registration of the UE with the second mobile communication network is completed via the established data connection (Figure 2 and paragraph 0081 disclose in step 209, the mobile management unit includes the PCO or newly defined IE in an attachment acceptance message to transmit to the UE, thus, the UE implements the initial attachment of the connection to the EPS and establishes a default bearer).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a mobility management unit communicating with a gateway and a UE to authorize the UE and send an acceptance message to the UE, as described in Zhou, with an MME selecting a gateway for a UE, as described in Kim, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a mobility management unit communicating with a gateway and a UE to authorize the UE and send an acceptance message to the UE of Zhou with an MME selecting a gateway for a UE of Kim was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Zhou.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Kim and Zhou to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 11 above, Kim discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein relaying the plurality of authentication messages comprises:
receiving, from the UE, at least one extensible authentication protocol (EAP) message in an uplink direction; encapsulating the at least one EAP message into an authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA) message; and transmitting the AAA message to the gateway function.
Zhou further discloses wherein relaying the plurality of authentication messages comprises:
receiving, from the UE, at least one extensible authentication protocol (EAP) message in an uplink direction (Figure 2 and paragraph 0074 disclose in step 201, the UE transmits EAP authentication information required for external authentication using the EAP to a mobile management unit through an attachment request message);
encapsulating the at least one EAP message into an authentication, authorization and accounting (AAA) message (Figure 2 and paragraph 0079 disclose in steps 205-206, after receiving the session establishment request message, the packet data network gateway extracts EAP authentication information from the PCO or newly defined IE of the message, and includes the extracted authentication information in an access request message to transmit to an external AAA server, and after receiving the access request message, the AAA server returns an access challenge message including EAP request to the packet data network gateway); and
transmitting the AAA message to the gateway function (Figure 2 and paragraph 0079 disclose in steps 205-206, after receiving the session establishment request message, the packet data network gateway extracts EAP authentication information from the PCO or newly defined IE of the message, and includes the extracted authentication information in an access request message to transmit to an external AAA server, and after receiving the access request message, the AAA server returns an access challenge message including EAP request to the packet data network gateway).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a mobility management unit receiving EAP authentication information from a UE and including the information in a message to an gateway for an AAA server, as described in Zhou, with an MME selecting a gateway for a UE, as described in Kim, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a mobility management unit receiving EAP authentication information from a UE and including the information in a message to an gateway for an AAA server of Zhou with an MME selecting a gateway for a UE of Kim was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Zhou.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Kim and Zhou to obtain the invention as specified in claim 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 10, 12-18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Considering claims 2 and 12, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Kim and Zhou, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the network entity comprises a session management function in a standalone non-public network, and wherein the gateway function comprises a trusted non-3GPP gateway function in a public land mobile network in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claims 2 and 12.
Considering claims 3 and 13, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Kim and Zhou, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the first request message for establishing the data connection comprises a network access identifier (NAI) of the UE, and wherein the NAI comprises the identity of the second mobile communication network in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claims 3 and 13.
Considering claims 5 and 15, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Kim and Zhou, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the access procedure comprises a session authentication procedure and an inner authentication procedure in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claims 5 and 15.
Considering claims 10 and 20, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Kim and Zhou, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein relaying the plurality of authentication messages comprises: receiving, from the gateway function, at least one extensible authentication protocol (EAP) message in a downlink direction; encapsulating the at least one EAP message into a protocol data unit (PDU) session authentication message; and transmitting the PDU session authentication message to the UE in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claims 10 and 20.
Claims 4, 6-8, 14 and 16-18 are also allowed by virtue of their dependency on claims 3, 5, 13, and 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Lioy (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0157296 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for supporting different authentication credentials;
Ahmavaara et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0016300 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for fast inter-system handover;
Wu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0285183 A1) discloses a method and network device for creating and deleting resources;
Cherian et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0303966 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for inter-network handoff;
Ulupinar et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0260096 A1) discloses split-cell relay application protocol;
Bachmann et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0323700 A1) discloses non-3GPP to 3GPP network handover optimizations;
Velev et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0044949 A1) discloses route optimization of a data path between communicating nodes using a route optimization agent;
Leung et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0250509 A1) discloses soft retention for call admission control in communication networks;
Yuan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0307797 A1) discloses a gateway selection method, apparatus, and system during heterogeneous network handover;
Jain et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0083726 A1) discloses small data transmission techniques in a wireless communication network;
Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0192780 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for accessing via local network in wireless communication system;
Griot et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0281966 A1) discloses provisioning credentials in wireless communications;
Lubenski (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0360458 A1) discloses inter-PGW handover architecture;
Watfa et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0188280 A1) discloses methods and apparatus for selection of dedicated core network;
Baek et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0014178 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for accessing cellular network for sim profile;
Aravamudhan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0021121 A1) discloses methods, systems, and computer readable media for dynamically provisioning session timeout information in a communications network; and
Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0150219 A1) discloses methods for supporting session continuity on per-session basis.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/Mark G. Pannell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642