DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11, 13-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 20250081760 A1; hereinafter “Xu”) as applied to claim above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0416189 A1; hereinafter “Liu”).
In regard to claim 1, Xu teaches a display device (an active light emitting display device) (paragraph 3), comprising:
a first active area (a first display area 100) in which a plurality of first pixels (pixel unit P1) is disposed (the first display area may include a plurality of normal pixel units P1) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 69), the first active area having a first resolution (a resolution of a second display area 200 may be about 50% to 70% of a resolution of the first display area 100) (Fig. 5 and paragraphs 65);
a second active area (the second display area 200) in which a plurality of second pixels is disposed (the second display area may include a plurality of functional pixel units P2) (Fig. 4 and paragraph 70), the second active area having a second resolution less than the first resolution (a resolution of a second display area 200 may be about 50% to 70% of a resolution of the first display area 100) (Fig. 5 and paragraphs 65); and
a plurality of light emitting elements disposed in each of the plurality of first pixels and the plurality of second pixels (the first and second display areas 100 and 200 may include a plurality of functional sub-pixels) (Fig. 3, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 67-68),
wherein each of the plurality of light emitting elements comprises a first electrode layer, a second electrode layer, and an emission layer that is located between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer and is any one of a red emission layer, a green emission layer, and a blue emission layer (functional sub-pixels of the first and second display areas 100 and 200 contain an anode, an organic light emitting layer, and a cathode in the listed order) (Fig. 6, Fig. 7 and paragraphs 80-82).
However, Xu doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the emission layer comprises at least one of a p-type host and an n-type host, and at least one of the red emission layer, the green emission layer, and the blue emission layer is configured to satisfy the following equation:
Equation 1
p1/(n1+p1) < p2/(n2+p2) where:
p1 is a number of moles of the p-type host of the emission layer located in the first active area;
p2 is a number of moles of the p-type host of the emission layer located in the second active area;
n1 is a number of moles of the n-type host of the emission layer located in the first active area; and n2 is a number of moles of the n-type host of the emission layer located in the second active area.
Liu teaches a display device (an organic light emitting device 100) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 43), wherein an emission layer (a luminescent layer 22) comprises at least one of a p-type host and an n-type host (the host material of the luminescent layer 22 is a pre-mixed material, including a hole-type material and an electron-type material) (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 34 and 36),
wherein at least one of the red emission layer, the green emission layer, and the blue emission layer is configured to satisfy the following equation (the device contains a plurality of sub-pixels of different colors on a base substrate and a green sub-pixel 2 is a green light-emitting element, where P-type molecules are used to transport holes and N-type molecules are used to transport electrons in the luminescent layer 22 which includes a first sub-layer 220, a second sub-layer 221, and a third sub-layer 222, wherein the molar ratio of P-type molecules (P2) to N-type molecules (N2) in the host material of the first sub-layer 220 is 7:3 and the molar ratio of P-type molecules (P1) to N-type molecules (N1) in the host material of the third sub-layer 222 is 3:7. Therefore the ratio equation is met by the aforementioned ratios) (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 36-37 and 59):
Equation 1 p1/(n1+p1) < p2/(n2+p2) , where:
p1 is a number of moles of the p-type host of the emission layer located in a first active area (the P-type molecules in the third sub-layer 222 of one of the plurality of pixels function as P1) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 52);
p2 is a number of moles of the p-type host of the emission layer located in the second active area (the P-type molecules in the first sub-layer 220 of another one of the plurality of pixels functions as P2) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 52);
n1 is a number of moles of the n-type host of the emission layer located in the first active area (the N-type molecules in the third sub-layer 222 of one of the plurality of pixels function as N1) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 52); and
n2 is a number of moles of the n-type host of the emission layer located in the second active area (the N-type molecules in the first sub-layer 220 of another one of the plurality of pixels function as N2) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 52).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings Xu with the teachings of Liu to have the emission layer comprises at least one of a p-type host and an n-type host, and at least one of the red emission layer, the green emission layer, and the blue emission layer is configured to satisfy the following equation:
Equation 1
p1/(n1+p1) < p2/(n2+p2) where:
p1 is a number of moles of the p-type host of the emission layer located in the first active area;
p2 is a number of moles of the p-type host of the emission layer located in the second active area;
n1 is a number of moles of the n-type host of the emission layer located in the first active area; and n2 is a number of moles of the n-type host of the emission layer located in the second active area since this allows for the manufacture of device with increased efficiency of the green light-emitting element as taught by Liu (paragraph 54).
In regard to claim 2, Xu in view of Liu teaches wherein the green emission layer is configured to satisfy Equation 1, and the red emission layer and the blue emission layer are configured to satisfy the following (as the structures and methods disclosed in the green light emitting element are also applicable to light-emitting elements of other colors, such as blue light-emitting elements and red light-emitting elements, the N-type molecules and P-type molecules including molar ratios of the luminescent layer 22 would also be present in the luminescent layers of the red and blue sub-pixels) (paragraph 58), equation:
Equation 2
p1/(n1+p1) = p2/(n2+p2)
where:
p1 is the number of moles of the p-type host of the emission layer located in the first active area (as the structures and methods disclosed in the green light emitting element are also applicable to light-emitting elements of other colors, such as blue light-emitting elements and red light-emitting elements P-type molecules in a second sub-layer 221 of one of the plurality of blue pixels function as P1) (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 15, 52 and 58);
p2 is the number of moles of the p-type host of the emission layer located in the second active area (as the structures and methods disclosed in the green light emitting element are also applicable to light-emitting elements of other colors, such as blue light-emitting elements and red light-emitting elements, the P-type molecules in a second sub-layer 221 of one of the plurality of red pixels function as P2) (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 15, 52 and 58);
n1 is the number of moles of the n-type host of the emission layer located in the first active area (as the structures and methods disclosed in the green light emitting element are also applicable to light-emitting elements of other colors, such as blue light-emitting elements and red light-emitting elements, the N-type molecules in a second sub-layer 221of one of the plurality of blue pixels function as N1) (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 15, 52 and 58); and
n2 is the number of moles of the n-type host of the emission layer located in the second active area (as the structures and methods disclosed in the green light emitting element are also applicable to light-emitting elements of other colors, such as blue light-emitting elements and red light-emitting elements, the N-type molecules in a second sub-layer 221 of one of the plurality of red pixels function as N2) (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 15, 52 and 58).
In regard to claim 7, Xu teaches a display device (an active light emitting display device) (paragraph 3):
a first active area (a first display area 100) in which a plurality of first pixels (pixel unit P1) is disposed (the first display area may include a plurality of normal pixel units P1) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 69), the first active area having a first resolution (a resolution of a second display area 200 may be about 50% to 70% of a resolution of the first display area 100) (Fig. 5 and paragraphs 65);
a second active area (the second display area 200) in which a plurality of second pixels is disposed (the second display area may include a plurality of functional pixel units P2) (Fig. 4 and paragraph 70), the second active area having a second resolution less than the first resolution (a resolution of a second display area 200 may be about 50% to 70% of a resolution of the first display area 100) (Fig. 5 and paragraphs 65); and
a plurality of light emitting elements disposed in each of the plurality of first pixels and the plurality of second pixels (the first and second display areas 100 and 200 may include a plurality of functional sub-pixels) (Fig. 3, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 67-68),
wherein each of the plurality of light emitting elements comprises a first electrode layer, a second electrode layer, and an emission layer that is located between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer and is any one of a red emission layer, a green emission layer, and a blue emission layer (functional sub-pixels of the first and second display areas 100 and 200 contain an anode, an organic light emitting layer, and a cathode in the listed order) (Fig. 6, Fig. 7 and paragraphs 80-82).
However, Xu doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the emission layer comprises at least one of a p-type host and an n-type host,
Liu teaches a display device (an organic light emitting device 100) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 43),
wherein at least one of the red emission layer, the green emission layer, and the blue emission layer, which are located in a second active area (as the device contains a plurality of sub-pixels of different colors disposed on the base substrate 1, a plurality of luminescent layer 22 are able to be disposed in an area that function as a second active area) (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 36 and 58), comprises a first layer (a first sub-layer 220) comprising the p-type host and the n-type host (Fig. 2 and paragraph 36), and a second layer (a second sub-layer 221) located on the first layer and including the p-type host (the structures and methods of luminescent layer 22 that are applicable to green light-emitting elements are also applicable to light-emitting elements of other colors, such as blue light-emitting elements and red light-emitting elements, the luminescent layer 22 of a green, blue or red pixel would also have the first sub-layer 220, the second sub-layer 221) (Fig. 2, and paragraphs 36 and 58), and
wherein at least one of the red emission layer, the green emission layer, and the blue emission layer, which are located in a first active area (as the device contains a plurality of sub-pixels of different colors disposed on the base substrate 1, a plurality of luminescent layer 22 are able to be disposed in an area that function as a first active area different from the second) (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 36 and 58), comprises a first layer including the p-type host and the n-type host (the structures and methods of luminescent layer 22 that are applicable to green light-emitting elements are also applicable to light-emitting elements of other colors, such as blue light-emitting elements and red light-emitting elements, the luminescent layer 22 of a green, blue or red pixel would also have the first sub-layer 220, the second sub-layer 221) (Fig. 2, and paragraphs 36 and 58).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Xu with the teachings of Liu to have the emission layer comprise at least one of a p-type host and an n-type host, wherein at least one of the red emission layer, the green emission layer, and the blue emission layer, which are located in the second active area, comprises a first layer comprising the p-type host and the n-type host, and a second layer located on the first layer and including the p-type host, and wherein at least one of the red emission layer, the green emission layer, and the blue emission layer, which are located in the first active area, comprises a first layer including the p-type host and the n-type host since this allows for the manufacture of device with increased efficiency of the green light-emitting element as taught by Liu (paragraph 54).
In regard to claim 8, Xu in view of Liu teaches wherein the green emission layer located in the second active area comprises a first layer comprising the p-type host and the n-type host, and a second layer located on the first layer and comprising the p-type host, and wherein the green emission layer located in the first active area comprises the first layer comprising the p-type host and the n-type host (as the device contains a plurality of green pixels 2 containing the same structures as described in Fig. 2, there would be a plurality of luminescent layer 22 that include a first sub-layer 220, a second sub-layer 221 containing the P-type and N-type host materials in the a first and second active area within the device) (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 5 and 36).
In regard to claim 9, Xu in view of Liu teaches wherein the p-type host of the first layer and the p-type host of the second layer are the same as each other (as the device contains a plurality of green pixels 2 containing the same structures as described in Fig. 2, there would be a plurality of luminescent layers 22 that include a first sub-layer 220, a second sub-layer 221 containing the same P-type and N-type host materials in the a first and second active area within the device) (Fig. 2, paragraphs 5 and 36).
In regard to claim 11, Xu in view of Liu teaches wherein the first electrode layer is an anode electrode, and the second electrode layer is a cathode electrode, and wherein the second layer is located between the first layer and the first electrode layer (functional sub-pixels of the first and second display areas 100 and 200 contain an anode, an organic light emitting layer, and a cathode in the listed order) (Fig. 6, Fig. 7 and paragraphs 80-82).
In regard to claim 13, Xu teaches a display device (an active light emitting display device) (paragraph 3), comprising:
a first active area (a first display area 100) in which a plurality of first pixels (pixel unit P1) is disposed (the first display area may include a plurality of normal pixel units P1) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 69),
a second active area (the second display area 200) in which a plurality of second pixels is disposed (the second display area may include a plurality of functional pixel units P2) (Fig. 4 and paragraph 70); and
a plurality of light emitting elements disposed in each of the plurality of first pixels and the plurality of second pixels (the first and second display areas 100 and 200 may include a plurality of functional sub-pixels) (Fig. 3, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 67-68),
each light emitting element of the plurality of light emitting elements including:
a first electrode layer (a first anode 301 and second anode 302) (Fig. 6-7 and paragraphs 80 and 82);
a second electrode layer (a cathode) (Fig. 6-7 and paragraphs 80 and 82); and
an emission layer between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer (functional sub-pixels of the first and second display areas 100 and 200 contain an anode, an organic light emitting layer, and a cathode in the listed order) (Fig. 6, Fig. 7 and paragraphs 80-82), wherein the emission layer is any one of a red emission layer, a green emission layer (normal sub-pixel P11 may be a red sub-pixel (R) emitting red light) (paragraph 69), and a blue emission layer, and wherein a density of the plurality of first pixels in the first active area is greater than a density of the plurality of second pixels in the second active area (the resolutions of the first display area 100 and the second display area 200) (paragraph 65).
However, Xu fails to teach the emission layer having a first layer including at least one of a p-type host and an n-type host.
Liu teaches a display device (an organic light emitting device 100) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 43) comprising:
an emission layer (a luminescent layer 22) having a first layer including at least one of a p-type host and an n-type host (the host material of the luminescent layer 22 is a pre-mixed material, including a hole-type material and an electron-type material) (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 34 and 36).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings Xu with the teachings of Liu to have the emission layer have a first layer including at least one of a p-type host and an n-type host since this allows for the manufacture of device with increased efficiency of the green light-emitting element as taught by Liu (paragraph 54).
In regard to claim 14, Xu in view of Liu teaches wherein the emission layer includes a second layer adjacent to the first layer, wherein the second layer includes the p-type host (P-type molecules and N-type molecules are in host materials of the first sub-layer 220 and the second sub-layer 221 which are adjacent as shown in Liu Fig. 2) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 36).
In regard to claim 16, Xu in view of Liu teaches wherein the emission layer is a green emission layer (the device contains a plurality of green pixels 2 containing the same structures as described in Fig. 2, there would be a plurality of luminescent layers 22 that include a first sub-layer 220, a second sub-layer 221 containing the same P-type and N-type host materials in the a first and second active area within the device) (Fig. 2, paragraphs 5 and 36),
wherein p1 is a number of moles of the p-type host of the emission layer located in the first active area (the P-type molecules in the third sub-layer 222 of one of the plurality of pixels function as P1) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 52);
wherein n1 is a number of moles of the n-type host of the emission layer located in the first active area (the N-type molecules in the third sub-layer 222 of one of the plurality of pixels function as N1) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 52);
wherein p2 is a number of moles of the p-type host of the emission layer located in the second active area (the P-type molecules in the first sub-layer 220 of another one of the plurality of pixels function as P2) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 52);
wherein n2 is a number of moles of the n-type host of the emission layer located in the second active area (the N-type molecules in the first sub-layer 220 of another one of the plurality of pixels function as N2) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 52),
wherein a relationship of p1, n1, p2, and n2 is represented as p1/(n1+p1) < p2/(n2+p2) (as the molar ratios for P1:N1 are 3:7 and P2:N2 are 7:3, the equation is met).
In regard to claim 17, Xu in view of Liu teaches wherein the emission layer is either a blue emission layer or a red emission layer (the device contains a plurality of red and blue pixels formed in the same manner as the green pixels 2 as described in Fig. 2, therefore there would be a plurality of luminescent layers 22 for red and blue light emitting elements that include a first sub-layer 220, a second sub-layer 221 containing the same P-type and N-type host materials in the a first and second active area within the device) (Fig. 2, paragraphs 5, 36 and 58),
wherein p1 is a number of moles of the p-type host of the emission layer located in the first active area (the P-type molecules in the third sub-layer 222 of one of the plurality of pixels function as P1) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 52);
wherein n1 is a number of moles of the n-type host of the emission layer located in the first active area (the N-type molecules in the third sub-layer 222 of one of the plurality of pixels function as N1) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 52);
wherein p2 is a number of moles of the p-type host of the emission layer located in the second active area (the P-type molecules in the third sub-layer 222 of another one of the plurality of pixels function as P2) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 52);
wherein n2 is a number of moles of the n-type host of the emission layer located in the second active area (the N-type molecules in the third sub-layer 222 of another one of the plurality of pixels function as N2) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 52),
wherein a relationship of p1, n1, p2, and n2 is represented as p1/(n1+p1) = p2/(n2+p2) (as the molar ratio of the third sub-layer 222 in the plurality of pixels is 3:7, the limitation is met) (paragraph 52).
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Liu as applied to claim 1 or 7 above, and further in view of Adamovich et al. (US 20210036065 A1; hereinafter “Adamovich”).
In regard to claim 6, Xu in view of Liu don’t explicitly teach wherein the emission layer further comprises a phosphorescent dopant.
Adamovich teaches a display device (an organic light emitting device 100) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 43), wherein an emission layer further comprises a phosphorescent dopant (at least one emissive dopant in each emissive layer in the first emissive stack is a phosphorescent emissive dopant) (paragraph 19).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Xu in view of Liu with the teachings of Adamovich to have the emission layer further comprises a phosphorescent dopant since it well known amongst those skilled in the art to use phosphorescent dopants in phosphorescent OLED to emit specific colors of light as taught by Adamovich (paragraph 5).
In regard to claim 12, Xu in view of Liu don’t explicitly teach wherein the emission layer further comprises a phosphorescent dopant.
Adamovich teaches a display device (an organic light emitting device 100) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 43), wherein an emission layer further comprises a phosphorescent dopant (at least one emissive dopant in each emissive layer in the first emissive stack is a phosphorescent emissive dopant) (paragraph 19).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Xu in view of Liu with the teachings of Adamovich to have the emission layer further comprises a phosphorescent dopant since it well known amongst those skilled in the art to use phosphorescent dopants in phosphorescent OLED to emit specific colors of light as taught by Adamovich (paragraph 5).
Claim Objections
Claims 3-5, 10, 15 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to claim 3, Liu is considered to be a close prior art of reference. However Liu fails to teach Equation 3: p2 = k*p1+m*p0. Liu fails to teach a molar ration that is able to meet the equation.
Claim 4 and claim 5 are objected to due to depending on claim 3.
In regard to claim 10, Liu is considered to be a close prior art of record. However, Liu fails to teach wherein the p-type host of the first layer and the p-type host of the second layer are different from each other. Liu is silent regarding any material differences between the p-type host of the layers.
In regard to claim 15, Liu is considered a close prior art of record. However, Liu fails to teach wherein the second layer does not include the n-type host. Liu teaches both a P-type and N-Type host exist in all the emitting layers.
In regard to claim 18, Liu is considered to be a close prior art of reference. However Liu fails to teach Equation 3: p2 = k*p1+m*p0. Liu fails to teach a molar ration that is able to meet the equation.
Claim 19 is objected to due to depending on claim 18.
In regard to claim 20, Liu is considered to be a close prior art of reference. However, Liu fails to teach adjacent blue emission layer or red emission layer does not have a second layer including the p-type host. Liu teaches both a P-type and N-Type host exist in all the emitting layers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee US (11005059 B2).
/SEYON ALI-SIMAH PUNCHBEDDELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893