DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to Applicant's Amendment/Request for Reconsideration filed on 24 February 2026.
Claims 1 – 8, 11 – 12, 14, 17 – 18 and 21 – 27 are pending. Claims 11 – 12 and 26 – 27 are withdrawn due to a restriction requirement. Claims 9 – 10, 13, 15 – 16, 19 – 20 are cancelled by applicant.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 17, 21, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yew (US 2013/0199814 A1) in view of Arnold (US 5 233 891 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yew discloses a rotary impact tool comprising:
a housing (110, fig. 1);
an electric motor (114, fig. 1) supported in the housing;
an anvil (400, fig. 1) extending from the housing along an axis and configured to rotate about the axis;
an impact mechanism (200, fig. 1) for converting a continuous torque input from the motor to consecutive discrete applications of torque upon the anvil; and
a means (322, fig. 2) for biasing the anvil in a rotational direction about the axis,
wherein the means for biasing the anvil includes a biased ball (As shown in fig. 3).
Yew does not explicitly disclose the means for biasing the anvil includes a biased pin.
However, Arnold, which is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, teaches a biased pin which can be biased into engagement with another element (Figures 14A-E shows a spring-biased ball biased into engagement with an element P. Figures 15A-C shows a spring-biased pin as being functionally equivalent to the spring-biased ball and can be used in place of the spring-biased ball).
Because both the biased ball of Yew and the biased pin of Arnold function to be biased into engagement with another element, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the biased ball of Yew for the biased pin of Arnold to achieve the predictable result of being biased into engagement with another element (such as an anvil). Moreover, the one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to have substituted the biased ball of Yew for the biased pin of Arnold because installation of the spring-biased pin in a tool requires no special tools, unlike the spring-biased ball, and is simply inserted in the bore. Moreover, no ball exists which can be lost or propelled at the operator to cause injury during installation (Col. 1, l. 58 – col. 2, l. 17).
Regarding claim 2, Yew, as modified by Arnold, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
The modified Yew discloses the means for biasing the anvil includes a pin (Arnold – 12, fig. 1) is biased into engagement with the anvil.
Regarding claim 17, Yew discloses a rotary impact tool comprising:
a housing (110, fig. 1);
an electric motor (114, fig. 1) supported in the housing;
an anvil (400, fig. 1) extending from the housing along an axis and configured to rotate about the axis;
an impact mechanism (200, fig. 1) for converting a continuous torque input from the motor to consecutive discrete applications of torque upon the anvil;
wherein the anvil is biased in a rotational direction about the axis by a spring-biased ball (322, fig. 2) such that the anvil is configured to return an angular distance in the rotational direction after recoiling by the angular distance in an opposite rotational direction following a discrete application of torque by the impact mechanism (As shown in fig. 5).
Yew does not explicitly disclose a spring-biased pin.
However, Arnold, which is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, teaches a biased pin which can be biased into engagement with another element (Figures 14A-E shows a spring-biased ball biased into engagement with an element P. Figures 15A-C shows a spring-biased pin as being functionally equivalent to the spring-biased ball and can be used in place of the spring-biased ball).
Because both the biased ball of Yew and the biased pin of Arnold function to be biased into engagement with another element, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the biased ball of Yew for the biased pin of Arnold to achieve the predictable result of being biased into engagement with another element (such as an anvil). Moreover, the one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to have substituted the biased ball of Yew for the biased pin of Arnold because installation of the spring-biased pin in a tool requires no special tools, unlike the spring-biased ball, and is simply inserted in the bore. Moreover, no ball exists which can be lost or propelled at the operator to cause injury during installation (Col. 1, l. 58 – col. 2, l. 17).
Regarding claim 21, Yew, as modified by Arnold, discloses the invention as recited in claim 17.
The modified Yew discloses the pin (Arnold – 12, fig. 1) is biased into engagement with the anvil.
Regarding claim 25, Yew, as modified by Arnold, discloses the invention as recited in claim 17.
The modified Yew discloses the anvil (Yew – 400, fig. 1) includes an inclined surface (Yew – 410, fig. 2) oriented at an angle relative to a rear face of the anvil (Yew – Figure 2 shows surface 410 oriented 90 degrees relative to a rear face of the anvil 400), wherein the pin (Arnold – 12, fig. 1) is engageable with the inclined surface, and wherein engagement between the pin and the inclined surface imparts a moment on the anvil in the rotational direction about the axis (Yew – As shown in fig. 5).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yew (US 2013/0199814 A1) in view of Arnold (US 5 233 891 A) in further view of Seith (US 11 097 405 B2).
Regarding claim 14, Sasaki discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
Yew discloses the anvil (400, fig. 1) includes a rearward extension (the portion of the anvil 400 within a housing 110, fig. 1).
Yew does not disclose the rotary impact tool further comprises a sensor configured to detect rotation of the rearward extension.
However, Seith, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an anvil (26, 28, fig. 1) with a rearward extension (the portion of the anvil 16 within a housing 4, fig. 1) and a sensor (36, fig. 1) configured to detect rotation of the rearward extension (Col. 5, II. 29 - 32).
Seith is evidence that having the anvil with the rearward extension and the sensor configured to detect rotation of the rearward extension was known and within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success modifying the rotary impact tool of the modified Yew with the sensor configured to detect rotation of the rearward extension, as taught by Seith. Additionally, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the rotary impact tool of the modified Yew with the sensor configured to detect rotation of the rearward extension as well as the other components for the control method, as taught by Seith, in order to calculate the status of bolt torque during the fastening process wherein a controller can make a decision to stop a motor when a targeted torque has been reached.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yew (US 2013/0199814 A1) in view of Arnold (US 5 233 891 A) in further view of Gaul (US 2017 0232589).
Regarding claim 18, Yew, as modified by Arnold, discloses the invention as recited in claim 17.
The modified Yew does not disclose a sensor configured to detect rotation of the anvil, wherein the sensor includes a Hall-effect sensor.
However, Gaul, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a sensor (39, fig. 2) configured to detect rotation of the anvil (27, fig. 2) ([0028], II. 1 - 5), wherein the sensor includes a Hall-effect sensor ([0028], II. 8 - 10).
Gaul is evidence that having the sensor configured to detect rotation of the anvil, wherein the sensor includes the Hall-effect sensor was known and within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success modifying the rotary impact tool of the modified Yew with the Hall-effect sensor configured to detect rotation of the anvil, as taught by Gaul. Additionally, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the rotary impact tool of the modified Yew with the Hall-effect sensor configured to detect rotation of the anvil, as taught by Gaul, in order to optimize a setting process of a fastener such that the fastener in a workpiece can be subjected to a highest possible tensile force load.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 – 8 are allowed.
Claims 3 – 6 and 22 – 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 24 February 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US 12 053 862 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
The drawings received on 6 August 2024 are acceptable.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 24 February 2026, with respect to the objections to the Specifications have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections to the Specifications have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 24 February 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 15 – 16 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 15 – 16 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 24 February 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 17 under 35 USC 103(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yew and Arnold.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID G SHUTTY/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
31 May 2026
/SHELLEY M SELF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3731