DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 6 & 10 objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite a determination unit. The Specification recites a selection determination unit in ¶37 and following paragraphs. There is no recitation of a determination unit alone. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a display control unit, a receiving unit, a determination unit in claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 9, 10, 14, 15 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1-17, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for not disclosing sufficient structure to support the claims regarding the modules claimed. See Aristocrat Techs. Australia Pty, Ltd. v. Int'l Game Tech., 521 F.3d 1328 (Fed. Cir. 2008). NetMoneyIn, Inc. v. VeriSign, Inc., 545 F.3d 1359, 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2008). Blackboard v. Desire2Learn, Inc., 574 F.3d 1371, 1385 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Claim element display control unit, receiving unit, determination unit is a limitation that invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed function.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; or
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 11 & 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SAIKI (U.S. Pub 2021/0195046) hereinafter Saiki.
As per Claim 1, Saiki teaches An image processing apparatus comprising: a display control unit configured to display a setting screen for receiving setting of a setting value for a predetermined process; and (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, ¶25, ¶38 wherien the operation-unit controller 108 outputs a VGA signal to the operation unit 109 to display an image corresponding to the VGA signal on the operation unit 109. Moreover, the operation-unit controller 108 outputs information that the user inputs through the operation unit 109 to the CPU 102 wherien the CPU 102 obtains scan settings, such as a setting about color/monochrome, the number of copies, a setting about single side/double side)
a receiving unit configured to receive a user operation on a predetermined region indicating closing of the setting screen on the setting screen, (Fig. 6B, ¶51, ¶52 wherien the CPU 102 determines whether the suspension button 604 is selected in the stop/suspension screen 602 wherien when the suspension button 604 is selected in the stop/suspension screen 602, the CPU 102 stores the scan setting of the preceding job to suspend in the storage memory 105 (a step S410). Next, the CPU 102 instructs the scanner 114 to stop the scan)
wherein the display control unit displays a notification screen regarding whether to set the setting value received in the setting screen for the predetermined process in a case where a user operation on the predetermined region is received, (Fig. 4, Fig. 7, ¶53 wherein the CPU 102 executes the interrupt job (a step S413, the interrupt scan controller) and displays a termination confirmation screen 700 shown in FIG. 7 on the operation unit 109)
executes first control to set the setting value for the predetermined process in a case where an operation indicating that the setting value is to be set for the predetermined process is received in the notification screen, and (Fig. 7, ¶54, ¶55 wherien the termination confirmation screen 700 prompts a user to select termination or continuation of an interrupt job wherien The “No” button 702 is used to instruct the continuation of the interrupt job wherien when the termination of the interrupt job is not instructed, the CPU 102 returns the process to the step S413. As a result of the determination in the step S415)
executes second control to not set the setting value for the predetermined process in a case where an operation indicating that the setting value is not to be set for the predetermined process is received in the notification screen. (Fig. 7, Fig. 8, ¶55, ¶56 The “Yes” button 701 is used to instruct the termination of the interrupt job wherein when the termination of the interrupt job is instructed, the CPU 102 displays a restart confirmation screen 800 shown in FIG. 8 on the operation unit 109 wherien when the termination of the interrupt job is instructed, the CPU 102 displays a restart confirmation screen 800 shown in FIG. 8 on the operation unit 109)
As per Claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Saiki further teaches wherein the display control unit executes the first control and closes the setting screen in a case where the operation indicating that the setting value is to be set for the predetermined process is received in the notification screen, and (Fig. 7, Fig. 8, ¶52, ¶54, ¶55 wherien the termination confirmation screen 700 prompts a user to select termination or continuation of an interrupt job wherien The “No” button 702 is used to instruct the continuation of the interrupt job wherien when the termination of the interrupt job is not instructed, the CPU 102 returns the process to the step S413. As a result of the determination in the step S415 wherien when the suspension button 604 is selected in the stop/suspension screen 602, the CPU 102 stores the scan setting of the preceding job to suspend in the storage memory 105)
executes the second control and closes the setting screen in a case where the operation indicating that the setting value is not to be set for the predetermined item is received in the notification screen. (Fig. 7, Fig. 8, ¶55, ¶56 The “Yes” button 701 is used to instruct the termination of the interrupt job wherein when the termination of the interrupt job is instructed, the CPU 102 displays a restart confirmation screen 800 shown in FIG. 8 on the operation unit 109 wherien when the termination of the interrupt job is instructed, the CPU 102 displays a restart confirmation screen 800 shown in FIG. 8 on the operation unit 109 wherien The restart confirmation screen 800 prompts a user to select restart or stop of a suspended preceding job. The restart confirmation screen 800 is provided with a “Yes” button 801 and a “No” button 802. The “Yes” button 801 is used to instruct the restart of the suspended preceding job. The “No” button 802 is used to instruct the stop of the suspended preceding job. Next, the CPU 102 determines whether the restart of the suspended preceding job is instructed on the basis of the selection of the “Yes” button 801 or the “No” button 802 in the restart confirmation screen 800)
As per Claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Saiki further teaches wherein the predetermined region is a predetermined software key for closing the setting screen. (Fig. 6B, ¶51, ¶52 wherien when the suspension button 604 is selected in the stop/suspension screen 602, the CPU 102 stores the scan setting of the preceding job to suspend in the storage memory 105 (a step S410). Next, the CPU 102 instructs the scanner 114 to stop the scan)
As per Claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Saiki further teaches wherein the setting screen is a screen in which a plurality of setting items related to the predetermined process is included. (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, ¶25, ¶38 wherien the operation-unit controller 108 outputs a VGA signal to the operation unit 109 to display an image corresponding to the VGA signal on the operation unit 109. Moreover, the operation-unit controller 108 outputs information that the user inputs through the operation unit 109 to the CPU 102 wherien the CPU 102 obtains scan settings, such as a setting about color/monochrome, the number of copies, a setting about single side/double side)
As per Claim 15, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Saiki further teaches wherein, in a case where the operation indicating that the setting value is not to be set for the predetermined process is received in the notification screen, the display control unit sets an initial setting value for the predetermined process and closes the setting screen. (Fig. 7, Fig. 8, ¶55, ¶56 The “Yes” button 701 is used to instruct the termination of the interrupt job wherein when the termination of the interrupt job is instructed, the CPU 102 displays a restart confirmation screen 800/close termination screen shown in FIG. 8 on the operation unit 109 wherien when the termination of the interrupt job is instructed, the CPU 102 displays a restart confirmation screen 800 shown in FIG. 8 on the operation unit 109. Restart includes an initial setting value)
As per Claim 16, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Saiki further teaches wherein the display control unit further displays, on the notification screen, information indicating that, in a case where the operation indicating that the setting value is not set for the predetermined process is received, an initial setting value is set for the predetermined process and the setting screen is closed. (Fig. 7, Fig. 8, ¶55, ¶56 The “Yes” button 701 is used to instruct the termination of the interrupt job wherein when the termination of the interrupt job is instructed, the CPU 102 displays a restart confirmation screen 800/close termination screen shown in FIG. 8 on the operation unit 109 wherien when the termination of the interrupt job is instructed, the CPU 102 displays a restart confirmation screen 800 shown in FIG. 8 on the operation unit 109. Restart includes an initial setting value)
As per Claim 17, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Saiki further teaches wherein, when the image processing apparatus is in a mode in which the notification screen is not displayed, the display control unit does not execute the first control and the second control even in a case where a user operation on the predetermined region is received. (Fig. 4, Fig. 6B, ¶53, ¶73 wherien As a result of the determination in the step S408, when the stop button 603 is selected in the stop/suspension screen 602, the CPU 102 executes the process in the step S406 and finishes this process)
Claim 18 is similar in scope to Claim 1; therefore, Claim 18 is rejected under the same
rationale as Claim 1.
Claim 19 is similar in scope to Claim 1; therefore, Claim 19 is rejected under the same
rationale as Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9 , 10 & 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saiki in view of TACHIBANA (U.S. Pub 2024/0333848) hereinafter Tachi.
As per Claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Saiki previously taught the setting screen, the setting value. However, Saiki does not explicitly teach wherein the setting screen is a setting screen in which a specific region for setting the setting value for the predetermined process is displayed, the specific region being different from a region indicating the setting value.
Tachi teaches wherein the setting screen is a setting screen in which a specific region for setting the setting value for the predetermined process is displayed, the specific region being different from a region indicating the setting value. (Fig. 8A, Fig. 8B, ¶98 wherien . When the CPU 201 detects the setting key 803 being pressed on the transmission standard screen 801, the CPU 201 displays a setting selection screen 804 shown in FIG. 8B. The setting selection screen 804 displays an “auto platen glass scan” key 805 and a “platen glass scan” key 806 to accept a function selected by the user wherien when the CPU 201 detects an “OK” key 807 being pressed on the setting selection screen 804 in FIG. 8B, the CPU 201 sets a function corresponding to one of the enabled keys and displays the transmission standard screen 801 in which the details of the set function is displayed in the area of the setting key 803. The Ok button is in a different region from the setting value region)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was filed to utilize the teaching of Image processing apparatus of Tachi with the teaching of Image scanning apparatus of Saiki because Tachi teaches an improved image processing apparatus having a scanning function to scan image data of a document. The image processing apparatus includes a display control unit configured to display a first setting in a predetermined setting area, the first setting being a setting for executing a first function to execute a function related to the scanning function, the function including at least a function to automatically scan both sides of the document, a function to delete blank data contained in the document, and a function to adjust orientation of the image data contained in the document, wherein, in response to the predetermined setting area being selected, the display control unit displays a setting screen including a setting different from the first setting, the setting being for executing a function related to the scanning function. (¶3)
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Saiki previously taught the display control unit, the notification screen, the first control, the second control and the setting value. However, Saiki does not explicitly teach wherein, in a case where a user operation on the predetermined region is received, the display control unit displays the notification screen and executes the first control and the second control based on a change of at least one of setting values selected as a setting value for the predetermined process from the setting value set for the predetermined process.
Tachi teaches wherein, in a case where a user operation on the predetermined region is received, the display control unit displays the notification screen and executes the first control and the second control based on a change of at least one of setting values selected as a setting value for the predetermined process from the setting value set for the predetermined process. (Fig. 3C, Fig. 3D, Fig. 8A, Fig. 8B, ¶43, ¶98 wherein when the CPU 201 detects the “document orientation detection” key 304 being pressed on the menu selection screen 303, the CPU 201 displays a document-orientation-detection setting screen 306 shown in FIG. 3C. The document-orientation-detection setting screen 306 displays an “ON” key 307 and an “OFF” key 308 so that the user can switch between on and off of the operation of the document-orientation detecting function wherien when the CPU 201 detects the setting key 803 being pressed on the transmission standard screen 801, the CPU 201 displays a setting selection screen 804 shown in FIG. 8B. The setting selection screen 804 displays an “auto platen glass scan” key 805 and a “platen glass scan” key 806 to accept a function selected by the user wherien Information 808 is information (a message) for notifying the user that the document set on the platen glass can be scanned and that the scanned data subjected to the blank-page removing function and the document-orientation detecting function can be transmitted in a file format by setting the “auto platen glass scan” key 805 and giving a send instruction. The setting selection screen 804 display the “auto platen glass scan” key 805 highlighted relative to the other function so that the user can recognize that the “auto platen glass scan” key 805 is enabled. The “platen glass scan” key 806 is a function to scan the document set on the platen glass, convert the scanned data into a file without executing the blank-page removing function and the document-orientation detecting function, and transmit the file. In other words, a user who wants to convert the scanned data into a file and transmit the file while executing (enabling) the blank-page removing function and the document-orientation detecting function can save the time and effort to enable the document-orientation detecting function and the blank-page removing function shown in FIGS. 3A to 3D by selecting the “auto platen glass scan” function wherien when the CPU 201 detects an “OK” key 807 being pressed on the setting selection screen 804 in FIG. 8B, the CPU 201 sets a function corresponding to one of the enabled keys and displays the transmission standard screen 801 in which the details of the set function is displayed in the area of the setting key 803.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was filed to utilize the teaching of Image processing apparatus of Tachi with the teaching of Image scanning apparatus of Saiki because Tachi teaches an improved image processing apparatus having a scanning function to scan image data of a document. The image processing apparatus includes a display control unit configured to display a first setting in a predetermined setting area, the first setting being a setting for executing a first function to execute a function related to the scanning function, the function including at least a function to automatically scan both sides of the document, a function to delete blank data contained in the document, and a function to adjust orientation of the image data contained in the document, wherein, in response to the predetermined setting area being selected, the display control unit displays a setting screen including a setting different from the first setting, the setting being for executing a function related to the scanning function. (¶3)
As per Claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Saiki previously taught the determination unit, the display control unit, the notification screen, the first control, the second control and the setting value. However, Saiki does not explicitly teach further comprising a determination unit configured to determine whether at least one of setting values selected as a setting value for the predetermined process is changed from the setting value set for the predetermined process, wherein, in a case where a user operation on the predetermined region is received and the determination unit determines that at least one of the setting values selected as the setting value for the predetermined process is changed from the setting value set for the predetermined process, the display control unit displays the notification screen and executes the first control and the second control.
Tachi teaches further comprising a determination unit configured to determine whether at least one of setting values selected as a setting value for the predetermined process is changed from the setting value set for the predetermined process, (Fig. 3C, Fig. 3D, ¶43 wherein When the CPU 201 detects the “document orientation detection” key 304 being pressed on the menu selection screen 303, the CPU 201 displays a document-orientation-detection setting screen 306 shown in FIG. 3C. The document-orientation-detection setting screen 306 displays an “ON” key 307 and an “OFF” key 308 so that the user can switch between on and off of the operation of the document-orientation detecting function. )
wherein, in a case where a user operation on the predetermined region is received and the determination unit determines that at least one of the setting values selected as the setting value for the predetermined process is changed from the setting value set for the predetermined process, the display control unit displays the notification screen and executes the first control and the second control. (Fig. 8A, Fig. 8B, ¶98 wherien when the CPU 201 detects the setting key 803 being pressed on the transmission standard screen 801, the CPU 201 displays a setting selection screen 804 shown in FIG. 8B. The setting selection screen 804 displays an “auto platen glass scan” key 805 and a “platen glass scan” key 806 to accept a function selected by the user wherien Information 808 is information (a message) for notifying the user that the document set on the platen glass can be scanned and that the scanned data subjected to the blank-page removing function and the document-orientation detecting function can be transmitted in a file format by setting the “auto platen glass scan” key 805 and giving a send instruction. The setting selection screen 804 display the “auto platen glass scan” key 805 highlighted relative to the other function so that the user can recognize that the “auto platen glass scan” key 805 is enabled. The “platen glass scan” key 806 is a function to scan the document set on the platen glass, convert the scanned data into a file without executing the blank-page removing function and the document-orientation detecting function, and transmit the file. In other words, a user who wants to convert the scanned data into a file and transmit the file while executing (enabling) the blank-page removing function and the document-orientation detecting function can save the time and effort to enable the document-orientation detecting function and the blank-page removing function shown in FIGS. 3A to 3D by selecting the “auto platen glass scan” function wherien when the CPU 201 detects an “OK” key 807 being pressed on the setting selection screen 804 in FIG. 8B, the CPU 201 sets a function corresponding to one of the enabled keys and displays the transmission standard screen 801 in which the details of the set function is displayed in the area of the setting key 803.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was filed to utilize the teaching of Image processing apparatus of Tachi with the teaching of Image scanning apparatus of Saiki because Tachi teaches an improved image processing apparatus having a scanning function to scan image data of a document. The image processing apparatus includes a display control unit configured to display a first setting in a predetermined setting area, the first setting being a setting for executing a first function to execute a function related to the scanning function, the function including at least a function to automatically scan both sides of the document, a function to delete blank data contained in the document, and a function to adjust orientation of the image data contained in the document, wherein, in response to the predetermined setting area being selected, the display control unit displays a setting screen including a setting different from the first setting, the setting being for executing a function related to the scanning function. (¶3)
As per Claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is hereby incorporated by reference, Saiki previously taught the predetermined process, the notification screen, and setting values. However, Saiki does not explicitly teach wherein, in a case where the operation indicating that the setting value is to be set for the predetermined process is received in the notification screen, a setting value corresponding to one region selected from a plurality of regions indicating setting values for the plurality of setting items is set as the setting value for the predetermined process.
Tachi teaches wherein, in a case where the operation indicating that the setting value is to be set for the predetermined process is received in the notification screen, a setting value corresponding to one region selected from a plurality of regions indicating setting values for the plurality of setting items is set as the setting value for the predetermined process. (Fig. 4A, Fig. 4B, ¶48 , ¶52 wherein The transmission standard screen 401 includes a setting key (button) 402 wherien When the CPU 201 detects the setting key 402 being pressed on the transmission standard screen 401, the CPU 201 displays a setting selection screen 403 shown in FIG. 4B. The setting selection screen 403 displays an “auto single-sided/double-sided” key 404, a “single-sided scan” key 405, a “double-sided scan, left-right opening” key 406, and a “double-sided scan, top-bottom opening” key 407, which accept selection of the functions by the user. Information 409 is information (a message) for notifying the user that the both sides of the document set in the ADF 225 can be scanned and that the image data subjected to removal of blank pages and detection of the document orientation can be converted to a file and transmitted by setting the “auto single-sided/double-sided” key 404 and giving a send instruction. The setting screen 403 displays the “auto single-sided/double-sided” key 404 highlighted relative to the other functions so as to allow recognizing that “auto single-sided/double-sided” key 404 is enabled wherein When the CPU 201 detects an “OK” key 408 being pressed on the setting screen 403 in FIG. 4B, the CPU 201 sets a function corresponding to one of the enabled keys and displays the transmission standard screen 401 in which the details of the set function is displayed in the area of the setting key 402)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was filed to utilize the teaching of Image processing apparatus of Tachi with the teaching of Image scanning apparatus of Saiki because Tachi teaches an improved image processing apparatus having a scanning function to scan image data of a document. The image processing apparatus includes a display control unit configured to display a first setting in a predetermined setting area, the first setting being a setting for executing a first function to execute a function related to the scanning function, the function including at least a function to automatically scan both sides of the document, a function to delete blank data contained in the document, and a function to adjust orientation of the image data contained in the document, wherein, in response to the predetermined setting area being selected, the display control unit displays a setting screen including a setting different from the first setting, the setting being for executing a function related to the scanning function. (¶3)
As per Claim 13, the rejection of claim 12 is hereby incorporated by reference, Saiki as modified further teaches wherein the one region selected from the plurality of regions indicating the setting values for the plurality of setting items on the setting screen is displayed in a state indicating that the one region is selected. (Fig. 4A, Fig, 4B, ¶48 wherein the setting screen 403 displays the “auto single-sided/double-sided” key 404 highlighted relative to the other functions so as to allow recognizing that “auto single-sided/double-sided” key 404 is enabled; as taught by Tachi)
As per Claim 14, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Saiki previously taught the display control unit, the notification screen and the predetermined process. However, Saiki does not explicitly teach wherein the display control unit further displays, on the notification screen, a setting value set for the predetermined process and the setting value selected for the predetermined process on the setting screen. (Fig. 4B, ¶48 wherein The setting selection screen 403 displays an “auto single-sided/double-sided” key 404, a “single-sided scan” key 405, a “double-sided scan, left-right opening” key 406, and a “double-sided scan, top-bottom opening” key 407, which accept selection of the functions by the user wherien the setting screen 403 displays the “auto single-sided/double-sided” key 404 highlighted relative to the other functions so as to allow recognizing that “auto single-sided/double-sided” key 404 is enabled; as taught by Tachi)
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saiki in view of Tachi, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of KUMAGAI (U.S. Pub 2017/0253030) hereinafter Kum.
As per Claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is hereby incorporated by reference, Saiki as modified previously taught the setting screen, the display control unit, the notification screen, the first control and the second control. However, Saiki as modified does not explicitly teach further comprising a determination unit configured to determine whether the setting screen includes the specific region, wherein the display control unit displays the notification screen and executes the first control and the second control in a case where the determination unit determines that the setting screen includes the specific region and a user operation on the predetermined region is received.
Kum teaches further comprising a determination unit configured to determine whether the setting screen includes the specific region, wherein the display control unit displays the notification screen and executes the first control and the second control in a case where the determination unit determines that the setting screen includes the specific region and a user operation on the predetermined region is received. (Fig. 19, ¶168 wherien When it is determined that the button indicating the message saying “continue setting for another column” is selected and the OK button 440 is pressed (Y in S115), the control unit 90 switches the display on the presentation unit 91 to the ink selection screen (S105). When it is determined that the button indicating the message saying “store the setting and finish” is selected and the OK button 440 is pressed (N in S115), the control unit 90 switches the display on the presentation unit 91 to the restore point creation screen (S302). In addition, the control unit 90 instructs the ink jet printer 1 to perform the point creation processing (S302). The restore point creation screen is similar to the restore point creation screen illustrated in FIG. 20.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was filed to utilize the teaching of liquid discharge apparatus of Kum with the teaching of Image scanning apparatus of Saiki as modified because Kum teaches an improved liquid discharge apparatus and a liquid discharge system in which the instability of the image at the time of the continuous printing and the missing of the images at the time of the intermittent printing or the like can be prevented from occurring even in a case where an ink other than the standard type ink is used which includes a piezoelectric element that is deformed when a drive signal is applied; a nozzle that discharges a liquid by the deformation of the piezoelectric element; a drive signal generation unit that generates a drive signal including a micro-vibration waveform which causes the piezoelectric element to micro-vibrate such that the liquid is not discharged from the nozzle in a case of being applied to the piezoelectric element as the drive signal and a drive waveform which deforms piezoelectric element such that the liquid is discharged from the nozzle in a case of being applied to the piezoelectric element as the drive signal; a presentation unit that selectably presents indirect information from which a liquid discharge status can be estimated; and a control unit that changes a strength of the micro-vibration caused by the micro-vibration waveform based on the indirect information selected on the presentation unit. (¶10, ¶11)
As per Claim 6, the rejection of claim 4 is hereby incorporated by reference, Saiki as modified further teaches wherein, in a case where the determination unit determines that the setting screen does not include the specific region and the region indicating the setting value is operated, the display control unit sets a setting value corresponding to the operated region indicating the setting value for the predetermined process and performs control to close the setting screen. (Fig. 20, Fig. 21, ¶152 wherien When the restore point creation processing is ended, the control unit 6 switches the display on the presentation unit 41 to the restore point display screen illustrated in FIG. 21 (S117). FIG. 21 is an example of the restore point display screen. As illustrated in FIG. 21, the restore point is displayed on the message portion 420 on the restore point display screen together with a message saying “setting is finished”. The user can keep the displayed restore point and can input the restore point in the mode of executing restoring. The control unit 6 reads the selection pattern before the execution of the adjustment processing based on the input restore point and performs update processing such that the selection pattern becomes the current selection pattern. When it is determined that the OK button 440 is pressed (Y in S118), the control unit 6 ends the adjustment mode.; as taught by Kum)
As per Claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is hereby incorporated by reference, Saiki as modified further teaches wherein the specific region is a specific software key for setting the setting value for the predetermined process. (Fig. 19, ¶168 wherien When it is determined that the button indicating the message saying “continue setting for another column” is selected and the OK button 440 is pressed (Y in S115), the control unit 90 switches the display on the presentation unit 91 to the ink selection screen (S105). ; as taught by Kum)
As per Claim 8, the rejection of claim 4 is hereby incorporated by reference, Saiki as modified further teaches wherein the setting screen that does not include the specific region is a screen in which a number of setting items related to the predetermined process is one. (Fig. 20, Fig. 21, ¶152 wherien As illustrated in FIG. 21, the restore point is displayed on the message portion 420 on the restore point display screen together with a message saying “setting is finished”. The user can keep the displayed restore point and can input the restore point in the mode of executing restoring. The control unit 6 reads the selection pattern before the execution of the adjustment processing based on the input restore point and performs update processing such that the selection pattern becomes the current selection pattern. When it is determined that the OK button 440 is pressed (Y in S118), the control unit 6 ends the adjustment mode.; as taught by Kum)
Related Art
Related Art not relied upon Modestine et al. (U.S. Pat 11,393,108) for teaching after a user selects a share button then a close button that triggers the display of a confirmation screen to preserve the operation from disappearing.
Inquiry
/ANGIE BADAWI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179