DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 11 recite the limitation "one end of the heat exchange tube assembly" in line 2. It is unclear if the one end is referring to one of the first and second ends recited in claim 1. Or if the one end is referring to a different end of the heat exchange tube assembly. For the purposes of examination, the examiner is going to treat the claim as if it read, “at one of the first or second ends of the heat exchange tube assembly”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2010/0083694 to Takagi et al., hereinafter referred to as Takagi.
In reference to claim 1, Takagi discloses the claimed invention including:
An evaporator (1), wherein a long edge of a windward side of the evaporator is arranged along a first direction (up/down direction as viewed in figure 1, see annotated reference below); and the evaporator comprises:
a manifold assembly comprising a first manifold (7) and a second manifold (8), wherein the first manifold (7) has a liquid inlet hole (11), and the second manifold (8) has a liquid outlet hole (12);
the second manifold (8) and the first manifold (7) are arranged at intervals along a second direction (direction of X, see below), and the second direction intersects with the first direction (perpendicular see figure 1); and
a heat exchange tube (4) assembly having a first end and a second end (53/7 and 53/8 as seen in figure 2 where the ends of tubes (4) are inserted into manifolds (7 and 8) at insertion openings (53)) arranged opposite to each other (as seen in figure 2), wherein the first end (53/7)is communicated with the liquid inlet hole (11) through an inner cavity of the first manifold (7), and the second end (53/8) is communicated with the liquid outlet hole (12) through an inner cavity of the second manifold (8).
In reference to claim 2, Takagi discloses the claimed invention including:
the second direction (X) is perpendicular to the first direction (up/down).
In reference to claim 3, Takagi discloses the claimed invention including:
the manifold assembly is communicated at one of the first or second ends of the heat exchange tube assembly along the first direction; and
the heat exchange tube assembly forms a semiannular inner channel (from 7 to 13 to 14 and back to 8), and two ends of the semiannular inner channel are communicated with the inner cavity of the first manifold (7) and the inner cavity of the second manifold (8), respectively (as seen if figure 2).
In reference to claim 4, Takagi discloses the claimed invention including:
the heat exchange tube assembly comprises a plurality of flat tubes (4, see figure 4) and a steering tube (3), the steering tube and the manifold assembly are arranged at intervals along the first direction (up/down direction), the plurality of flat tubes (4) are communicated between the steering tube and the manifold assembly (see figure 2), the plurality of flat tubes comprise a first flat tube (from 7 to 13) and a second flat tube (from 14 to 8), the first flat tube is communicated between the steering tube (2) and the first manifold (7), the second flat tube is communicated between the steering tube (2) and the second manifold (8), and the first flat tube (4), the steering tube (3), and the second flat tube (4) form the semiannular inner channel.
In reference to claim 5, Takagi discloses the claimed invention including:
the heat exchange tube assembly comprises a plurality of semiannular flat tubes (4) arranged at intervals the plurality of semiannular flat tubes are nested layer by layer (see figure 1 to see the nested layered configuration of the tubes (4)), and each of the plurality of semiannular flat tubes has the semiannular inner channel.
In reference to claim 7, Takagi discloses the claimed invention including:
the second direction (X) is arranged along a direction where air passes through the evaporator, and the first manifold (7) is positioned on an air outlet side of the evaporator, as seen in figure 1.
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 10, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0041178 to Onaka et al., hereinafter referred to as Onaka.
In reference to claims 1 and 9, Onaka discloses the claimed invention including:
A wind wall apparatus, comprising a fan (30) and a evaporator (1), wherein the fan is arranged on a side of the evaporator and is configured to guide air to pass through the evaporator (see figure 1);
the evaporator, wherein a long edge of a windward side of the evaporator is arranged along a first direction (z); and the evaporator comprises:
a manifold assembly comprising a first manifold (11) and a second manifold (41), wherein the first manifold (11) has a liquid inlet hole (at 52), and the second manifold (41) has a liquid outlet hole (at 51);
the second manifold (41) and the first manifold (11) are arranged at intervals along a second direction (x), and the second direction intersects with the first direction; and
a heat exchange tube (12/22) assembly having a first end (left end as seen in figure 1) and a second end (right end as seen in figure 1) arranged opposite to each other, wherein the first end (left) is communicated with the liquid inlet hole (at 52) through an inner cavity of the first manifold (11), and the second end (right) is communicated with the liquid outlet hole (at 51) through an inner cavity of the second manifold (41).
In reference to claims 2 and 10, Onaka discloses the claimed invention including:
the second direction (x) is perpendicular to the first direction (z), see figure 1.
In reference to claims 8 and 16, Onaka discloses the claimed invention including:
both the first manifold (11) and the second manifold (41) are arranged along the first direction (z), and the second direction (x) is perpendicular to a plane formed by the first direction (z) and a direction (y) where air passes through the evaporator (see figure 2); and
the heat exchange tube assembly comprises a plurality of heat exchange flat tubes (12/22, see figure 2), and each of the plurality of heat exchange flat tubes is communicated between the first manifold (11) and the second manifold (41).
In reference to claim 17, Onaka discloses the claimed invention including:
An air conditioning device, comprising a compressor (61), a condenser (25), and the wind wall apparatus as claimed in claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 supra), wherein a liquid inlet hole ( from 52) of the evaporator of the wind wall apparatus is communicated with an outflow end of the condenser (26), a liquid outlet hole (at 51) of the evaporator of the wind wall apparatus is communicated with an inflow end of the compressor (61), and an outflow end of the compressor (61) is communicated with an inflow end of the condenser (26).
Claims 1-6 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2018119743 to Takato, hereinafter referred to as Takato, (see English language translation provided herewith).
In reference to claims 1 and 9, Takato discloses the claimed invention including:
A wind wall apparatus, comprising a fan (as seen in figure 1 illustrated near 6) and an evaporator (6), wherein the fan is arranged on a side of the evaporator and is configured to guide air to pass through the evaporator (see figure 1);
wherein a long edge of a windward side of the evaporator is arranged along a first direction (left/right as seen in figure 2); and the evaporator comprises:
a manifold assembly comprising a first manifold (33) and a second manifold (34), wherein the first manifold (33) has a liquid inlet hole (at 18), and the second manifold (34) has a liquid outlet hole (at 19);
the second manifold (34) and the first manifold (33) are arranged at intervals along a second direction (up/down as seen in figure 2), and the second direction intersects with the first direction; and
a heat exchange tube (14) assembly having a first end (at 33) and a second end (at 34) arranged opposite to each other, wherein the first end (at 33) is communicated with the liquid inlet hole (at 18) through an inner cavity of the first manifold (33), and the second end (at 34) is communicated with the liquid outlet hole (at 19) through an inner cavity of the second manifold (34).
In reference to claims 2 and 10, Takato discloses the claimed invention including:
the second direction (left/right) is perpendicular to the first direction (up/down).
In reference to claims 3 and 11, Takato discloses the claimed invention including:
the manifold assembly is communicated at one of the first or second ends of the heat exchange tube assembly along the first direction (left/right); and
the heat exchange tube assembly forms a semiannular inner channel (from 33 to 17 and then to 34), and two ends of the semiannular inner channel are communicated with the inner cavity of the first manifold (33) and the inner cavity of the second manifold (34), respectively.
In reference to claims 4 and 12, Takato discloses the claimed invention including:
the heat exchange tube assembly comprises a plurality of flat tubes (14) and a steering tube (17), the steering tube and the manifold assembly are arranged at intervals along the first direction (left/right), the plurality of flat tubes are communicated between the steering tube (17) and the manifold assembly (33/34), the plurality of flat tubes comprise a first flat tube (top flat tube) and a second flat tube (bottom flat tube see figure 2), the first flat tube (top tube) is communicated between the steering tube (17) and the first manifold (33), the second flat tube (bottom tube) is communicated between the steering tube (17) and the second manifold (34) , and the first flat tube (top), the steering tube (17), and the second flat tube (bottom) form the semiannular inner channel.
In reference to claims 5 and 13, Takato discloses the claimed invention including:
the heat exchange tube assembly comprises a plurality of semiannular flat tubes (33) arranged at intervals, the plurality of semiannular flat tubes are nested layer by layer, and each of the plurality of semiannular flat tubes has the semiannular inner channel (see layers in figure 2).
In reference to claims 6 and 14, Takato discloses the claimed invention including:
the second direction (up/down) is perpendicular to a plane formed by the first direction (left/right) and a direction where air passes through the evaporator, see annotated reference below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi in view of Onaka
In reference to claim 9, Takagi and Onaka disclose the claimed invention.
Takagi discloses an evaporator (1), wherein a long edge of a windward side of the evaporator is arranged along a first direction (up/down direction as viewed in figure 1); and the evaporator comprises:
a manifold assembly comprising a first manifold (7) and a second manifold (8), wherein the first manifold (7) has a liquid inlet hole (11), and the second manifold (8) has a liquid outlet hole (12);
the second manifold (8) and the first manifold (7) are arranged at intervals along a second direction (direction of X), and the second direction intersects with the first direction (perpendicular see figure 1); and
a heat exchange tube (4) assembly having a first end and a second end (53/7 and 53/8 as seen in figure 2 where the ends of tubes (4) are inserted into manifolds (7 and 8) at insertion openings (53)) arranged opposite to each other (as seen in figure 2), wherein the first end (53/7) is communicated with the liquid inlet hole (11) through an inner cavity of the first manifold (7), and the second end (53/8) is communicated with the liquid outlet hole (12) through an inner cavity of the second manifold (8).
Takagi fails to disclose a fan arranged on a side of the evaporator configured to guide air to pass through the evaporator.
Onaka teaches that in the art of heat exchange, that using a fan (30) arranged on a side of the evaporator (1) configured to guide air to pass through the evaporator is a known method. This is strong evidence that modifying Takagi as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e., introduce air into the heat exchanger for heat exchange thereof). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, to modify Takagi by Onaka such that a fan was arranged on a side of the evaporator configured to guide air to pass through the evaporator, since all claimed elements were known in the art, and one having ordinary skill in the art could have modified the prior art as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded a predictable result of introducing air into the heat exchanger for air conditioning.
In reference to claim 10, Takagi and Onaka disclose the claimed invention.
Takagi discloses the second direction (up/down as seen in figure 1) is perpendicular to the first direction (X).
In reference to claim 11, Takagi and Onaka disclose the claimed invention.
Takagi discloses the manifold assembly is communicated at one of the first or second ends of the heat exchange tube assembly along the first direction; and
the heat exchange tube assembly forms a semiannular inner channel (from 7 to 13 to 14 and back to 8), and two ends of the semiannular inner channel are communicated with the inner cavity of the first manifold (7) and the inner cavity of the second manifold (8), respectively (as seen if figure 2).
In reference to claim 12, Takagi and Onaka disclose the claimed invention.
Takagi discloses the heat exchange tube assembly comprises a plurality of flat tubes (4, see figure 4) and a steering tube (3), the steering tube and the manifold assembly are arranged at intervals along the first direction (up/down direction), the plurality of flat tubes (4) are communicated between the steering tube and the manifold assembly (see figure 2), the plurality of flat tubes comprise a first flat tube (from 7 to 13) and a second flat tube (from 14 to 8), the first flat tube is communicated between the steering tube (2) and the first manifold (7), the second flat tube is communicated between the steering tube (2) and the second manifold (8), and the first flat tube (4), the steering tube (3), and the second flat tube (4) form the semiannular inner channel.
In reference to claim 13, Takagi and Onaka disclose the claimed invention.
Takagi discloses the heat exchange tube assembly comprises a plurality of semiannular flat tubes (4) arranged at intervals the plurality of semiannular flat tubes are nested layer by layer (see figure 1 to see the nested layered configuration of the tubes (4), and each of the plurality of semiannular flat tubes has the semiannular inner channel.
In reference to claim 15, Takagi and Onaka disclose the claimed invention.
Takagi discloses the second direction (X) is arranged along a direction where air passes through the evaporator, and the first manifold (7) is positioned on an air outlet side of the evaporator, as seen in figure 1.
Conclusion
/CASSEY D BAUER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763