DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The specification at par. [0040] states the following:
When the current electricity price is higher than the preset electricity price and the DC energy accumulator 200 is in the inoperative state, oil cost for per unit of electricity generated by the electric generator 500 (i.e. unit oil cost for the electric generator 500) may be compared with cost required for the current power grid 2000 to generate per unit of electricity (i.e. the current electricity price). When the unit oil cost of the electric generator 500 exceeds the current electricity price, the controller 300 may control to enable the power grid 2000 and the first converter 110, and control to disable the electric generator 500 and the first converter 110 and disable the DC energy accumulator 200 and the second converter 120, such that the power grid 2000 supplies power to the load 3000 by means of the first converter 110 and the second converter 120, but neither the electric generator 500 nor the DC energy accumulator 200 will supply power to the load 3000.
The bolded sections above appear to be contradictory. Appropriate correction and/or explanation is required. In addition, the examiner requests that the Applicant review the specification and correct any other contradictory and/or inconsistent disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention for the reasons given below:
Claim 1 recites “the controller is configured to control to enable the power grid and the first converter and disable the DC energy accumulator and the second converter, such that the power grid supplies power to the load.” It is unclear and thus indefinite as to how the power grid supplies power to the load with the second converter disabled. Appropriate correction and/or explanation is required. Similar issues with claim 10.
Claim 4 recites “the controller is further configured to control to enable the electric generator and the first converter, disable the power grid and the first converter, and disable the DC energy accumulator and the second converter when the power grid is in a fault state and the DC energy accumulator is in the inoperative state, such that the electric generator supplies power to the load.” The bolded claim limitations appear to be contradictory and thus indefinite. Appropriate correction and/or explanation is required. Similar issue with claim 13.
claim 6 recites “wherein the controller is further configured to control to enable the first converter and the second converter, enable the first converter and the DC energy accumulator, and disable the DC energy accumulator and the second converter when the current electricity price is not higher than the preset electricity price, such that the power grid supplies power to the load and the DC energy accumulator.” It is unclear and thus indefinite as to how the power grid supplies power to the load with the second converter disabled. In addition, the bolded claim limitations appear to be contradictory and thus indefinite. Appropriate correction and/or explanation is required. Similar issue with claim 13.
Claim 8 recites “the controller is configured to control to enable the power grid and the fourth converter, enable the fourth converter and the load, disable the power grid and the first converter, and disable the second converter and the load when the first converter and/or the second converter are in the fault state.” The bolded claim limitations appear to be contradictory and thus indefinite. Appropriate correction and/or explanation is required. Similar issue with claim 17.
The dependent claims are rejected based on their respective dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0344217 to Shaikh et al. (“Shaikh”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0369862 to Richmond et al. (“Richmond”).
Regarding claim 1:
A power distribution device (Shaikh at pars. [0063]-[0064] and Fig. 10, Uninterruptable power supply (UPS) 1030, 1034.), comprising
a first converter (Shaikh at pars. [0063]-[0064] and Fig. 10, AC-DC converter 1051, 1061.),
a second converter (Shaikh at pars. [0063]-[0064] and Fig. 10, DC-AC converter 1055, 1065.),
a DC energy accumulator (Shaikh at pars. [0063]-[0064] and Fig. 10, power cache 1053, 1063.), and
a controller (Shaikh at pars. [0032]-[0036] and Fig. 1, controller 160.),
wherein
the first converter is configured to convert alternating current into direct current (Shaikh at pars. [0063]-[0064] and Fig. 10, AC-DC converter 1051, 1061.), and
the second converter is configured to convert the direct current into the alternating current (Shaikh at pars. [0063]-[0064] and Fig. 10, DC-AC converter 1055, 1065.);
the first converter and the second converter are connected in series in a power supply circuit (Shaikh at pars. [0063]-[0064] and Fig. 10, converter 1051 and 1055 are connected in series in UPS 1030, converters 1061 and 1065 are connected in series in UPS 1034.),
an input terminal of the first converter is electrically connected to a power grid (Shaikh at pars. [0063]-[0064] and Fig. 10, inputs of converters 1051 and 1061 are electrically connected to grid 1071 and 1075, respectively.),
an output terminal of the second converter is electrically connected to a load (Shaikh at pars. [0063]-[0064] and Fig. 10, outputs of converters 1055 and 1065 are electrically connected to power loads 1060 and 1062, respectively.), and
the DC energy accumulator is electrically connected between an output terminal of the first converter and an input terminal of the second converter (Shaikh at pars. [0063]-[0064] and Fig. 10.); and
the controller is configured to control, based on a current electricity price and a state of the DC energy accumulator, to enable the DC energy accumulator and the second converter and disable the power grid and the first converter, such that the DC energy accumulator supplies power to the load (Shaikh discloses controlling the power control modules, including converters and inverters. Shaikh at pars. [0032]-[0038] and Figs. 1 and 2. Shaikh also that the datacenter power policy can be based on power costs. Shaikh at par. [0081]. Shaikh does not explicitly disclose that its controller is configured as claimed. However, in a same field of endeavor, controlling power to data centers (and thus analogous art), Richmond discloses that its system can “determine when the costs of the incoming transmission of power are expected to exceed the cost of utilizing the power of the energy storage system, namely, the at least one high discharge battery stack and the secondary power supply” and “switch to the energy storage system.” Richmond also discloses that the system includes a battery management system (BMS) that monitors the battery (“state of the DC energy accumulator”) to prevent overcharging and over-discharging. Richmond at pars. [0012], [0042], [0068] and [0089]. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to configure the controller of Shaikh such that the power cache 1053, 1063 supplies the power to the load in order “to prevent excess costs for the customer in supplying power to the customer load.” Richmond at par. [0068]. Because both Shaikh and Richmond relate to supplying power from a battery to a load, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.G.); or
the controller is configured to control to enable the power grid and the first converter and disable the DC energy accumulator and the second converter, such that the power grid supplies power to the load (Shaikh at pars. [0032]-[0040] and [0063]-[0064] and Figs. 1-3 and 10, disclosing the power grid supplying power to the load and management of battery charging. In addition, Richmond discloses that the BMS works with the power conversion system to allow charging or discharging of the battery only when needed. Richmond at par. [0089]. Thus, in the system of Shaikh in view of Richmond, when the battery is not charged or discharged when it is not needed (“disable the DC energy accumulator”).)
Regarding claim 10:
A data center comprising at least one server and a power distribution device, wherein an output terminal of the power distribution device is communicatively connected to the at least one server (Shaikh discloses a datacenter 1120, which will include servers. The uninterruptable power supplies (UPS) 1030, 1034 (“power distribution device”) supplies power to the equipment within the datacenter and thus the UPS will be connected to the servers. Shaikh at pars. [0030], [0063]-[0066] and Figs. 10 and 11.);
the power distribution device, comprising a first converter, a second converter, a DC energy accumulator, and a controller, wherein the first converter is configured to convert alternating current into direct current, and the second converter is configured to convert the direct current into the alternating current; the first converter and the second converter are connected in series in a power supply circuit, an input terminal of the first converter is electrically connected to a power grid, an output terminal of the second converter is electrically connected to a load, and the DC energy accumulator is electrically connected between an output terminal of the first converter and an input terminal of the second converter; and the controller is configured to control, based on a current electricity price and a state of the DC energy accumulator, to enable the DC energy accumulator and the second converter and disable the power grid and the first converter, such that the DC energy accumulator supplies power to the load; or the controller is configured to control to enable the power grid and the first converter and disable the DC energy accumulator and the second converter, such that the power grid supplies power to the load (See analysis in claim 1.).
Claims 2-7, 9, 11-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaikh in view of Richmond, and further in view of European Patent Application Publication No. EP4195440 to ABB Schweiz AG (“ABB”).
Regarding claim 2: The power distribution device according to claim 1, further comprising
a first monitor (Richmond at par. [0059], monitoring “cost for power.”) and
a second monitor (Shaikh discloses monitoring battery charging, e.g., Shaikh teaches to “monitor charge or discharge rate, storage component temperature, storage component health, and so on.” Shaikh at pars. [0038]-[0040]. In addition, Richmond discloses that the system includes a battery management system (BMS) that monitors the battery to prevent overcharging and over-discharging. Richmond at par. [0089]. Thus, the system if Shaikh discloses the claimed “second monitor.”),
wherein the first monitor is configured to obtain the current electricity price (Richmond at par. [0059], monitoring “cost for power.”), and
the second monitor is communicatively connected to the DC energy accumulator and is configured to obtain the state of the DC energy accumulator (Shaikh teaches to “monitor charge or discharge rate, storage component temperature, storage component health, and so on.” Shaikh at pars. [0038]-[0040]. In addition, Richmond discloses that the system includes a battery management system (BMS) that monitors the battery to prevent overcharging and over-discharging. Richmond at pars. [0089]-[0090].); and
the controller is communicatively connected to the first monitor and the second monitor, respectively, and the controller is configured to determine whether the current electricity price is higher than a preset electricity price based on the current electricity price obtained by the first monitor (Shaikh discloses management of battery charging. Shaikh at pars. [0038]-[0040]. Richmond discloses that its system can “determine when the costs of the incoming transmission of power are expected to exceed the cost of utilizing the power of the energy storage system, namely, the at least one high discharge battery stack and the secondary power supply” and “switch to the energy storage system.”), and
to determine whether the DC energy accumulator is in an operative state based on the state of the DC energy accumulator monitored by the second monitor (Richmond discloses that the system includes a battery management system (BMS) that monitors the battery to prevent overcharging and over-discharging. Richmond at pars. [0012], [0068] and [0089]-[0090]. However, Shaikh in view of Richmond does not explicitly disclose determining whether the battery is in an operative state. In a same field of endeavor, distribution of power in data centers (ABB at par. [0036]) (and thus analogous art), ABB discloses determining if a battery energy storage system (BESS) is in operation or not based on the state-of-charge (SOC) (“determine whether the DC energy accumulator is in an operative state”). ABB at par. [0033]. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the BESS monitoring and control configuration of ABB’s controller into the system of Shaikh in view of Richmond in order to “increase reliability of data centers where BESS acts as UPS.” ABB at par. [0036]. Because Shaikh in view of Richmond and ABB both relate to distribution of power in data centers, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.G.); and
the controller is further configured to control to enable the DC energy accumulator and the second converter and disable the power grid and the first converter when the current electricity price is higher than the preset electricity price and the DC energy accumulator is in the operative state, such that the DC energy accumulator supplies power to the load (Richmond discloses that its system can “determine when the costs of the incoming transmission of power are expected to exceed the cost of utilizing the power of the energy storage system, namely, the at least one high discharge battery stack and the secondary power supply” and “switch to the energy storage system.” Richmond at par. [0068]. ABB discloses that the BESS can be used if the BESS unit is operational. ABB at par. [0033].).
Regarding claim 3: The power distribution device according to claim 2,
wherein the second monitor is configured to monitor power of the DC energy accumulator and electric quantity of the DC energy accumulator (Shaikh discloses monitoring the “charge state” of the batteries. Shaikh at par. [0040]. In addition, Richmond discloses that the system includes state-of-charge monitoring. Richmond at par. [0111]. Further, ABB discloses monitoring the SOC. ABB at par. [0033].); and
the controller is communicatively connected to the second monitor, and the controller is configured to determine, based on the power and the electric quantity of the DC energy accumulator monitored by the second monitor, whether the power of the DC energy accumulator is greater than power of the load and whether the electric quantity of the DC energy accumulator is greater than preset low electric quantity (ABB discloses that the main controller monitors the state of charge in a battery energy storage system (BESS) and provides an indication when the state-of-charge (SOC) is enough to provide active power to the load. ABB at par. [0033]. Because there is a lower limit (“preset low electric quantity”) with respect to discharging the battery (see ABB at par. [0032]), the amount of power in the BESS (“power of the DC energy accumulator”) will be greater than the power required by the load when supplying the load.); and
the controller is further configured to determine that the DC energy accumulator is in the operative state when the power of the DC energy accumulator is greater than the power of the load and the electric quantity of the DC energy accumulator is greater than the preset low electric quantity (ABB at par. [0033].) .
Regarding claim 4: The power distribution device according to claim 3, further comprising
an electric generator, wherein the electric generator is connected in parallel with the power grid at the input terminal of the first converter (Shaikh at pars. [0063]-[0064] and Fig. 10, diesel generator 1073, 1077.);
the controller is further configured to determine that the DC energy accumulator is in an inoperative state when the power of the DC energy accumulator is not greater than the power of the load and/or when the electric quantity of the DC energy accumulator is not greater than the preset low electric quantity (ABB at par. [0033].); and
the controller is further configured to control to enable the electric generator and the first converter, disable the power grid and the first converter, and disable the DC energy accumulator and the second converter when the power grid is in a fault state and the DC energy accumulator is in the inoperative state, such that the electric generator supplies power to the load (Shaikh discloses that the diesel generator can provide backup power and its system is controlled by datacenter power policy. Shaikh at par. [0081]. Richmond teaches to switch from the primary power supply (e.g., grid) to the secondary power supply (e.g., backup generator) in the event of a primary power supply threshold being exceeded (“fault”). The secondary power supply can supply power to the customer load. Richmond at pars. [0046], [0070], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0118]. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Shaikh’s datacenter power policy to include the switch to the secondary power supply (e.g., diesel generator) in case of a primary power supply threshold being exceeded as taught by Richmond “to ensure stable and reliable operation of the customer load.” Richmond at par. [0070]. As discussed above with respect to claim 2, ABB teaches determining when the battery is not operational because the SOC is too low. ABB at pars. [0033]-[0034]. Accordingly, the modified system of Shaikh in view of Richmond and ABB renders obvious the claimed configuration “to control to enable the electric generator….”).
Regarding claim 5: The power distribution device according to claim 4, further comprising
a third monitor, wherein the third monitor is electrically connected to the power grid, and the third monitor is configured to monitor an electric current and a voltage of the power grid; and the controller is communicatively connected to the third monitor, and the controller is configured to determine whether the power grid is in the fault state based on the electric current and the voltage of the power grid monitored by the third monitor (Richmond at pars. [0049] and [0072]; see also, Shaikh at par. [0033] and Fig. 1.).
Regarding claim 6: The power distribution device according to claim 5,
wherein the controller is further configured to control to enable the first converter and the second converter, enable the first converter and the DC energy accumulator, and disable the DC energy accumulator and the second converter when the current electricity price is not higher than the preset electricity price, such that the power grid supplies power to the load and the DC energy accumulator (As discussed above with respect to claim 1, Richmond teaches to supply power from the energy storage system if the costs of the transmission power are higher. Implicit in this disclosure is that, if the costs are not higher, then the primary power supply (e.g., grid) supplies power to the customer load. Richmond at par. [0068].).
Regarding claim 7: The power distribution device according to claim 5, further comprising
a third converter, wherein the third converter is configured to convert a type of alternating current into another type of alternating current, and the third converter is connected in series between the second converter and the load (Shaikh at pars. [0063]-[0064] and Fig. 10, power regulator 1032, 1036.).
Regarding claim 9: The power distribution device according to claim 5,
wherein the first converter is a rectifier, and the second converter is an inverter (Shaikh discloses that converters 1051, 1061 are AC-DC converters and provides an example of an DC-AC converter in the form of a rectifier circuit in Fig. 3. Shaikh also discloses that converters 1055, 1065 are DC-AC converters and provides an example of an DC-AC converter in the form of an inverter in Fig. 4. Shaikh at pars. [0040]-[0041] and [0063]-[0064] and Figs. 3-4 and 10.).
Regarding claim 11: The data center according to claim 10, further comprising
a first monitor and a second monitor, wherein the first monitor is configured to obtain the current electricity price, and the second monitor is communicatively connected to the DC energy accumulator and is configured to obtain the state of the DC energy accumulator; and the controller is communicatively connected to the first monitor and the second monitor, respectively, and the controller is configured to determine whether the current electricity price is higher than a preset electricity price based on the current electricity price obtained by the first monitor, and to determine whether the DC energy accumulator is in an operative state based on the state of the DC energy accumulator monitored by the second monitor; and the controller is further configured to control to enable the DC energy accumulator and the second converter and disable the power grid and the first converter when the current electricity price is higher than the preset electricity price and the DC energy accumulator is in the operative state, such that the DC energy accumulator supplies power to the load (See analysis in claim 2.).
Regarding claim 12: The data center according to claim 11,
wherein the second monitor is configured to monitor power of the DC energy accumulator and electric quantity of the DC energy accumulator; and the controller is communicatively connected to the second monitor, and the controller is configured to determine, based on the power and the electric quantity of the DC energy accumulator monitored by the second monitor, whether the power of the DC energy accumulator is greater than power of the load and whether the electric quantity of the DC energy accumulator is greater than preset low electric quantity; and the controller is further configured to determine that the DC energy accumulator is in the operative state when the power of the DC energy accumulator is greater than the power of the load and the electric quantity of the DC energy accumulator is greater than the preset low electric quantity (See analysis in claim 3.).
Regarding claim 13: The data center according to claim 12, further comprising
an electric generator, wherein the electric generator is connected in parallel with the power grid at the input terminal of the first converter; the controller is further configured to determine that the DC energy accumulator is in an inoperative state when the power of the DC energy accumulator is not greater than the power of the load and/or when the electric quantity of the DC energy accumulator is not greater than the preset low electric quantity; and the controller is further configured to control to enable the electric generator and the first converter, disable the power grid and the first converter, and disable the DC energy accumulator and the second converter when the power grid is in a fault state and the DC energy accumulator is in the inoperative state, such that the electric generator supplies power to the load (See analysis in claim 4).
Regarding claim 14: The data center according to claim 13, further comprising
a third monitor, wherein the third monitor is electrically connected to the power grid, and the third monitor is configured to monitor an electric current and a voltage of the power grid; and the controller is communicatively connected to the third monitor, and the controller is configured to determine whether the power grid is in the fault state based on the electric current and the voltage of the power grid monitored by the third monitor (See analysis in claim 5.).
Regarding claim 15: The data center according to claim 14,
wherein the controller is further configured to control to enable the first converter and the second converter, enable the first converter and the DC energy accumulator, and disable the DC energy accumulator and the second converter when the current electricity price is not higher than the preset electricity price, such that the power grid supplies power to the load and the DC energy accumulator (See analysis in claim 6.).
Regarding claim 16: The data center according to claim 14, further comprising
a third converter, wherein the third converter is configured to convert a type of alternating current into another type of alternating current, and the third converter is connected in series between the second converter and the load (See analysis in claim 7.).
Regarding claim 18: The data center according to claim 14,
wherein the first converter is a rectifier, and the second converter is an inverter (See analysis in claim 9.).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaikh in view of Richmond and ABB, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0389045 to Chen et al. (“Chen”).
Regarding claim 8: The power distribution device according to claim 5, further comprising
a fourth converter configured to convert a type of alternating current into another type of alternating current, wherein an input terminal of the fourth converter is connected in parallel with the input terminal of the first converter to the power grid, and an output terminal of the fourth converter is connected in parallel with the output terminal of the second converter to the load; and the controller is communicatively connected to the fourth converter, and the controller is configured to control to enable the power grid and the fourth converter, enable the fourth converter and the load, disable the power grid and the first converter, and disable the second converter and the load when the first converter and/or the second converter are in the fault state (Shaikh in view of Richmond and ABB do not explicitly disclose the claimed fourth converter. However, in a same field of endeavor (distribution of power in data centers), Chen discloses a UPS 1 with a static bypass switch 80, which can include thyristors, that is controlled by processor 205. Chen at pars. [0005], [0048] and [0076]-[0077] and Figs. 1 and 2A. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to include the bypass switch circuit configuration of Chen so that an alternate path through the UPS is automatically selected when the AC-DC converter or the DC-AC inverter is faulty or the storage battery has been depleted. Chen at par. [0048]. Because Chen is also directed to distributing power to a load using a UPS, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.G.).
Regarding claim 17: The data center according to claim 14, further comprising
a fourth converter configured to convert a type of alternating current into another type of alternating current, wherein an input terminal of the fourth converter is connected in parallel with the input terminal of the first converter to the power grid, and an output terminal of the fourth converter is connected in parallel with the output terminal of the second converter to the load; and the controller is communicatively connected to the fourth converter, and the controller is configured to control to enable the power grid and the fourth converter, enable the fourth converter and the load, disable the power grid and the first converter, and disable the second converter and the load when the first converter and/or the second converter are in the fault state (See analysis in claim 8.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent Publication No. 12,614,920 to Ricardo De Azevedo discloses use of the battery in a UPS system for peak-shaving.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0189432 to Leslie et al. discloses a UPS for a datacenter.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0101462 to Rose et al. discloses a UPS for a datacenter.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0074786 to Johnson, Jr. et al. discloses a UPS for a datacenter with a bypass circuit.
European Patent Publication No. EP3008792 to ABB Schweiz AG discloses a UPS for a datacenter with a bypass circuit.
/B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116