DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
This action is in response to applicant’s Preliminary Amendment filed on 01/23/2025. Claim 2 has been cancelled. Claims 2-59 have been added.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 31-37 and 54 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/03/2026. Claims 2-30, 38-53 and 55-59 are pending for consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 01/27/2025 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 7-10, 15-17, 20, 21, 26-30, 39-46, 48, 49, 52, 56 and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dankberg et al. (US 20090081946 A1) in view of Schaubert et al. (US 4367474).
Consider claim 2, Dankberg discloses a satellite communication system (read as satellite 105 communicating with gateways 115 and subscriber terminals 130 through feeder and service spot beams 225 and 205, which together correspond to satellite communication system, figure 5, par [0091]-[0092]) comprising:
at least one satellite to communicate within a plurality of regions via a plurality of spot beams using a plurality of colors (read as satellite 105 relaying information to subscriber terminals 130 occupying sixty spot beam areas (i.e. plurality of regions) through sixty service spot beams 205; the four downlink service beams 4004 are sent from satellite 105 to subscriber terminals 130 using four colors, figures 5 and 16, par [0092] and [0118]),
wherein each color of the plurality of colors is a different combination of polarization and frequency range (read as each color as a unique combination of a frequency band and polarization; the four downlink colors combine one of two 500 MHz frequency ranges with right-hand circular polarization (RHCP) or left-hand circular polarization (LHCP), thus, each color has a different polarization and frequency range combination, figures 6B and 14, par [0109] and [0118]), and
wherein the at least one satellite within a first region of the plurality of regions is reconfigurable to change to a given color from among two or more colors of the plurality of colors (read the frequency and polarization for each service spot beam 205 would be programmable and the downstream translator 508 would change both for the particular downstream channel routed to a particular service spot beam; linking fig. 6B system to fig. 14 color plan; taken together, the two or four available colors provide satellite 105 the ability, for the corresponding spot beam area, to change the beam to a selected color from among two or more colors, figures 5, 6B and 14, par [0092], [0095], [0109] and [0115]-[0118]); and
a user terminal antenna system configured to communicate with the at least one satellite within the first region of the plurality of regions (read as subscriber equipment 700, including antenna 125 and associated subscriber terminal 130, with together form a user terminal antenna system; antenna 125 receives signals from satellite 105, while subscriber terminal 130 occupies the area of the particular service spot beam; the communication therefore occurs within that spot beam area, figures 6B and 7, par [0095]-[0097]), wherein the user terminal antenna system is reconfigurable to change to among certain frequency ranges (read as subscriber equipment 700 having antenna 125, which would be a microstrip antenna, receiving signals from satellite 105 and dynamically modifying its configuration to better receive signals at certain frequency ranges, figure 7, par [0097]).
However, Dankberg discloses the claimed invention above and programmable frequencies and polarizations (colors) for each service spot beam 205 and microstrip antenna 125 dynamically modifying its configuration for certain frequency ranges (figures 5 and 7, par [0092] and [0097]) but does not specifically disclose electronically change to the given color from among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors.
Nonetheless, Schaubert discloses electronically selecting frequency and polarization, comprising a frequency agile polarization diverse microstrip antenna with multiple selectable frequency and polarization combinations in Table 2, including f1 and f2 with RHCP or LHCP, each combination corresponds to one color; control means 32, controlled by digital computer means, operates switching diodes 20 in response to frequency and polarization inputs to provide the selected frequency characteristics and polarization, thus, the antenna electronically changes among the combinations (colors), figures 5 and 6, abstract and col. 5 with lines 18-59.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Schaubert into the teachings of Dankberg, to configure Dankberg’s configuration of microstrip antenna 125 using Schaubert’s computer/electronically controlled antenna having selectable frequency and polarization combinations (colors), in order to maintain communication through rapid and simple electronic reconfiguration of antenna 125 when the service spot beam changes color (see col. 2 with lines 27-41 of Schaubert).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the two or more colors of the plurality of colors includes a first color with a first polarization and a first frequency range, and a second color with the first polarization and a second frequency range different than the first frequency range (read as four uplink service beam colors formed from two frequency ranges and two polarizations, the color set includes Freq 1U with left-hand polarization and Freq 2U with left-hand polarization, which are first and second colors haring the first polarization while using different frequency ranges, figures 12A and 14, par [0071] and [0119]).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 3 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the first polarization is a circular polarization (read as the left-hand polarization shared by the two uplink colors identified for claim 3 is left hand circular polarization (LHCP), which is a circular polarization, figure 14, par [0117] and [0119]).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the two or more colors of the plurality of colors includes a first color with a first polarization and a first frequency range, and a second color with the first frequency range and a second polarization different than the first polarization (read as four color uplink service beam set containing Freq 1U with left-hand polarization and Freq 2U with right-hand polarization; these first and second color share the 27.5-28.0 GHz frequency range and use different polarization, figure 12A and 14, par [0071] and [0119]).
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the at least one satellite and the user terminal antenna system are configured to communicate within the first region via an uplink and a downlink (read as two direction communication within each service spot beam area; uplink service beams 4006 carry signals from subscriber terminals 130 to satellite 105, while downlink service beams 4004 carry signals from satellite 105 to the subscriber terminals occupying the service spot beam region, figures 5, 6A, 6B and 14, par [0092] and [0118]-[0119]).
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 8 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein: the given color is a first given color and is associated with the uplink (read as four colors used for uplink service beams 4006 from subscriber terminals 130 to satellite 105; a selected color is corresponding to the first given color associated with the uplink, figure 14, par [0119]);
the two or more colors of the plurality of colors includes a plurality of uplink colors associated with the uplink, and a plurality of downlink colors associated with the downlink (read as plurality of four uplink service beam colors associated with uplink service beams 4006 and a separate plurality of four downlink service beam colors associated with downlink service beams 4004, figure 14, par [0118]-[0119]); and
the at least one satellite within the first region and the user terminal antenna system are each reconfigurable to change the first given color associated with the uplink from among the plurality of uplink colors, and to change a second given color associated with the downlink from among the plurality of downlink colors (read as satellite 105 with programmable frequency and polarization for each service spot beam 205; upstream translator 504 changes the frequency or polarization of an uplink service chance and downstream translator 505 changes the carrier frequency and polarization of a downlink service channel; selecting another frequency and polarization combination changes the satellite path serving a service spot beam area to another uplink or downlink color, (figures 5, 6A and 6B, par [0092]-[0095]).
Consider claim 10, as applied to claim 9 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein: the plurality of uplink colors includes a first uplink color with a first polarization and a first frequency range, and a second uplink color with the first polarization and a second frequency range different than the first frequency range (read as first uplink color using 27.5-28.0 GHz with left-hand polarization and a second uplink color using 29.5-30 GHz with left-hand polarization; the two colors share the first polarization and use different first and second frequency ranges, figures 12A and 14, par [0071] and [0119]); and
the plurality of downlink colors includes a first downlink color with a third frequency range different than the first and second frequency ranges and a second polarization different than the first polarization, and a second downlink color with a fourth frequency range different than the first, second and third frequency ranges and the second polarization (read as first downlink color using 17.7-18.2 GHz with RHCP and a second downlink color using 19.7-20.2 GHz with RHCP; RHCP differs from the left hand polarization selected for the uplink colors; each downlink frequency range differs from the 27.5-28.0 GHz and 29.5-30 GHz uplink ranges, and the two downlink ranges differ from one another, figure 14, par [0118]-[0119]).
Consider claim 15, as applied to claim 9 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein: the plurality of uplink colors includes multiple uplink colors with a first polarization (rad as multiple uplink colors using the first polarization, including Freq 1U with left-hand polarization and Freq 2U with left-hand polarization, figures 12A and 14, par [0071] and [0119]); and the plurality of downlink colors includes multiple downlink colors with a second polarization different than the first polarization (read as multiple downlink colors using RHCP, including the 17.7-18.2 GHz and 19.7-20.2 GHz downlink frequency ranges with RHCP; the second polarization differs from the left-hand polarization selected for uplink colors, figure 14, par [0118]).
Consider claim 16, as applied to claim 15 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the first polarization is a first circular polarization, and the second polarization is a second circular polarization (read as left hand circular polarization (LHCP) and right hand circular polarization (RHCP) as two different circular polarization; accordingly, the LHCP selected for the uplink colors is a first circular polarization and the RHCP selected for the downlink colors is a different second circular polarization, figure 14, par [0117]-[0118]).
Consider claim 17, as applied to claim 9 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the at least one satellite and the user terminal antenna system are each reconfigurable such that the first given color associated with the uplink has a different polarization than that of the second given color associated with the downlink (read as satellite 105 with programmable frequencies and polarization for each spot beam 225 and 205 and separate directional color sets containing RHCP and LHCP; thus, the color choices include LHCP uplink service color and an RHCP downlink service color, which have different polarization, figures 5 and 14, par [0092] and [0118]-[0119]).
Consider claim 20, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the at least one satellite within each region of the plurality of regions is reconfigurable among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors (read as the programmable satellite option in which each service spot beam 205 has a corresponding signal path whose frequency and polarization can be changed, while the service beam plan provides two or four available colors; the satellite path for each region is therefore reconfigurable among two or more frequency and polarization combinations, figures 5, 6A, 6B and 14, par [0092]-[0095] and [0119]).
Consider claim 21, as applied to claim 20 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the at least one satellite within each region of the plurality of regions is reconfigurable among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors via a frequency-reuse pattern (read as linking the service beam system of figures 6A and 6B to frequency re-use plan 400, applies the plan across sixty service beam coverage areas and make frequency and polarization for each spot beam programmable; programming each regional spot beam according to the plan 400 therefore reconfigures the satellite among the available colors via the frequency reuse pattern, figures 5. 6A, 6B and 14, par [0092], [0115]-[0116] and [0121]).
Consider claim 26, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the at least one satellite is configured to communicate within the plurality of regions via a color pattern (read as satellite 215 communicating through a multi-beam system directed to multiple service spot beam regions 205, with the regional service beams using a four color pattern, figures 2A-2B, par [0075]).
Consider claim 27, as applied to claim 26 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the color pattern is such that adjacent regions of the plurality of regions are configured to different colors of the plurality of colors (read as physically adjacent downlink service beams using the same frequency range while alternating between LHCP and RHCP; thse frequency and polarization combinations are two different colors, thus the service spot beam regions corresponding to physically adjacent beams are configured to different colors, figures 2A-2B and 14, par [0075] and [0118]).
Consider claim 28, as applied to claim 26 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the color pattern is such that at least two geographically separate regions of the plurality of regions have a same color of the plurality of colors (read as four downlink service beams using only two colors, with the colors alternating across physically adjacent beams; at least one of those colors is therefore necessarily reused by at least two separate service beams; applies the same frequency re-use plan to spatially diverse service beam coverage areas, thus, the repeated color is used by at least two geographically separate regions, figure 14, par [0118] and [0121]).
Consider claim 29, as applied to claim 26 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the color pattern is dynamic (read as four color pattern for service spot beam regions, with the frequencies and polarization for each spot beam programmable; each unique frequency band and polarization combination is a color, and downstream translator 508 would change the carrier frequency and polarization of a particular downstream channel routed to a particular service spot beam 205; the per beam color assignment forming the four color pattern can therefore change during operation, providing a dynamic color pattern, figures 2A, 2B, 5 and 6B, par [0075], [0092], [0095] and [0109]).
Consider claim 30, as applied to claim 29 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the at least one satellite is further configured to communicate within the plurality of regions via time slots (read as subscriber terminals occupying the sixty spot beam areas communicating through satellite 105 using MF-TDMA, with each frequency channel divided into assignable timeslots and each terminal’s 2D map specifying a frequency sub-channel and time segment; the satellite therefore communicates with terminals in the plurality of regional spot beam areas through time slots, figures 1A, 5 and 9, par [0066], [0080] and [0092]).
Consider claim 39, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the user terminal antenna system is a consumer terrestrial terminal (read as subscriber equipment 700 at subscriber location, with antenna 125 and subscriber terminal 130 forming a VSAT connected to consumer premises equipment 160, figures 1A and 7, par [0010], [0064]-[0065] and [0096]).
Consider claim 40, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the user terminal antenna system is reconfigurable to change among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors to match the given color of the at least one satellite within the first region (read as satellite 105 with programmable frequency and polarization for each service spot beam and central unit 121 assigning and reassigning each subscriber terminal’s transmit frequency; figure 12B labels each terminal set with spot frequency and polarization transmitted to satellite 105; when polarization remains the same, assigning the terminal the frequency programmed for its regional spot beam configures the satellite’s give color, par [0074], [0091]-[0093], [0119], [0135]-[0136] and [0142]).
Consider claim 41, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the user terminal antenna system is dynamically reconfigurable to change among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors (read as dynamically adjusted two-dimensional map for each subscriber terminal 130 and central unit reassignment of terminal to another transmit frequency channel; when polarization remains the same, this dynamic frequency reassignment changes the terminal between colors that differ in frequency range, figures 9, 14 and 15, par [0080], [0119], [0135] and [0142]) but does not specifically disclose automatically reconfiguring.
Nonetheless, Schaubert discloses electronically and automatically selecting frequency and polarization, comprising a frequency agile polarization diverse microstrip antenna with multiple selectable frequency and polarization combinations in Table 2, including f1 and f2 with RHCP or LHCP, each combination corresponds to one color; control means 32, controlled by digital computer means, operates switching diodes 20 in response to frequency and polarization inputs to provide the selected frequency characteristics and polarization, thus, the antenna electronically and automatically changes among the combinations (colors) without any user/human intervention, figures 5 and 6, col. 5 with lines 18-59.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Schaubert into the teachings of Dankberg, which modified by Schaubert, to configure Dankberg’s configuration of microstrip antenna 125 using Schaubert’s electronically and automatically controlled antenna having selectable frequency and polarization combinations (colors), in order to maintain communication through rapid and simple electronic reconfiguration of antenna 125 when the service spot beam changes color (see col. 2 with lines 27-41 of Schaubert).
Consider claim 42, as applied to claim 41 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the user terminal antenna system is dynamically reconfigurable to change among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors (read as dynamically adjusted two-dimensional map for each subscriber terminal 130 and central unit reassignment of terminal to another transmit frequency channel; when polarization remains the same, this dynamic frequency reassignment changes the terminal between colors that differ in frequency range, figures 9, 14 and 15, par [0080], [0119], [0135] and [0142]) but does not specifically disclose automatically reconfiguring and without a human touching the user terminal antenna system
Nonetheless, Schaubert discloses electronically and automatically selecting frequency and polarization, comprising a frequency agile polarization diverse microstrip antenna with multiple selectable frequency and polarization combinations in Table 2, including f1 and f2 with RHCP or LHCP, each combination corresponds to one color; control means 32, controlled by digital computer means, operates switching diodes 20 in response to frequency and polarization inputs to provide the selected frequency characteristics and polarization, thus, the antenna electronically and automatically changes among the combinations (colors) without any user/human intervention, figures 5 and 6, col. 5 with lines 18-59.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Schaubert into the teachings of Dankberg, which modified by Schaubert, to configure Dankberg’s configuration of microstrip antenna 125 using Schaubert’s electronically and automatically controlled antenna having selectable frequency and polarization combinations (colors), in order to maintain communication through rapid and simple electronic reconfiguration of antenna 125 when the service spot beam changes color (see col. 2 with lines 27-41 of Schaubert).
Consider claim 43, as applied to claim 41 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the user terminal antenna system is automatically (see claim 41 above, col. 5 with lines 18-59 of Schaubert) reconfigurable to change among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors but does not specifically in a remote manner (read as SMTS providing configuration information, a central unit coupled through network 120 and gateway 115 controlling subscriber terminal frequency assignments, and a dynamically and automatically adjusted map for each terminal; this remote network control and frequency reassignment provide dynamic terminal reconfiguration in a remote manner, figures 3, 9 and 15, par [0080], [0083], [0135] and [0142]).
Consider claim 44, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the user terminal antenna system is a first user terminal antenna system, and further comprising a plurality of user terminal antenna systems including the first user terminal antenna system, wherein each of the plurality of user terminal antenna systems is reconfigurable to electronically (see claim 2 above, col. 5 with lines 18-59 of Schaubert) change among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors (read as multiple subscriber terminal antenna system, including four sets of subscriber terminals communicating through respective antennas 125; each subscriber terminal receives its own dynamically and electronically adjusted frequency map and assigning transmit channel, which provides per terminal dynamic change among same polarization colors having different frequency ranges, figures 1A, 9, 12B and 15, par [0065], [0074], [0080] and [0136]).
Consider claim 45, as applied to claim 44 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein: the given color is a first given color (read as four colors used for uplink service beams 4006; the color selected for the first service spot beam region in claim 2 above is the first given color, figure 14, par [0119]);
the plurality of user terminal antenna systems includes a first plurality of user terminal antenna systems within the first region, and a second plurality of user terminal antenna systems within a second region of the plurality of regions (as four sets of subscriber terminal antennas shown in figure 12B with respective spot beams and subscriber terminals occupying multiple spot beam coverage areas; selecting the set within Spot 1 as the first plurality in first region and the set within Spot 3 as the second plurality in the second region provides the regional pluralities, figures 5 and 12B, par [0074], [0092] and [0112]); and
the at least one satellite within the second region is reconfigurable to change a second given color from among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors (read as programmable satellite signal path for each service spot beam area 205; the frequency or polarization of the path serving the second region can therefore be changed to a second frequency and polarization color from the two-color or four-color set, figures 5, 6A and 14, par [0092]-[0093] and [0119]).
Consider claim 46, as applied to claim 45 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein each of the first plurality of user terminal antenna systems is reconfigurable to change among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors to match the first given color of the at least one satellite within the first region (read as programmable frequency and polarization for each regional spot beam and a newly assigned transmit frequency for each subscriber terminal; figure 12 shows the first regional terminal set in Spot 1 using Freq 1U, so assigning that frequency while retaining left-hand polarization configures every first region terminal to match the first regional color, figures 5, 12B and 15, par [0074], [0092] and [0143]), and each of the second plurality of user terminal antenna systems is reconfigurable to change among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors to match the second given color of the at least one satellite within the second region, the second given color being different than the first given color (read as Freq 1U with left-hand polarization and Freq 2U with left-hand polarization as different colors; figure 12B shows the second regional terminal set in Spot 3 using Freq 2U, while Spot 1 uses Freq 1U; a newly assigned transmit frequency for each terminal therefore configures every second region terminal to match a second regional color different from the first regional color, figures 12A-12B and 15, par [0071], [0074] and [0143]).
Consider claim 48, as applied to claim 44 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the plurality of user terminal antenna systems are a single type of terminal (read as the subscriber (single type) terminals, par [0059]).
Consider claim 49, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the at least one satellite and the user terminal antenna system are each dynamically (see claim 2, col. 5 with lines 18-59 of Schaubert) reconfigurable among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors (read as satellite 105 receiving software updates and switching the frequency or polarization programmed for a spot beam, while each subscriber terminal receives a dynamically and automatically adjusted frequency and/or polarization and antenna 125 dynamically and automatically modifies its receive configurations; the active satellite and terminal changes provide dynamic and automatic reconfiguration among available frequency and polarization colors, figures 5-7 and 9, par [0080], [0091]-[0093] and [0097]).
Consider claim 52, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the user terminal antenna system is reconfigurable to change among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors in response to a remote command to change colors (read as network connected central unit 121 reassigning a subscriber terminal to a second transmit frequency channel and causing a message conveying that reassignment to the sent to the terminal; when the polarization remains the same in the four color uplink set, the remotely conveyed frequency reassignment commands the terminal to change from one color to another, figures 14 and 15, par [0012], [0119], [0135] and [0142]).
Consider claim 56, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the at least one satellite comprises a first satellite configured to communicate within the plurality of regions via a first plurality of spot beams using the plurality of colors (read as satellite 105 communicating with subscriber terminals occupying multiple spot-beam areas through a plurality of service spot beams 205; the service beams use four colors, each defined by a different frequency and polarization combination, par [0091]-[0092], [0109] and [0118]), and further comprises a second satellite configured to communicate within the plurality of regions via a second plurality of spot beams using the plurality of colors (read as a second satellite of the satellites, which operates the same as satellite 105 above, par [0010] and [0064]).
Consider claim 57, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein each of the plurality of colors have a respective frequency range within a frequency band selected from the group consisting of X, K, Ku, Ka, and Q bands, and combinations thereof (read as the Ka-band, the four uplink service beam colors each use one of the respective 27.5-28 GHz or 29.5-30 GHz Ka-band frequency ranges together with RHCP or LHCP; thus, each color in the uplink color set has a respective frequency range within the selected Ka-band, figure 14, par [0032] and [0119]).
Claims 5, 6 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dankberg et al. (US 20090081946 A1) in view of Schaubert et al. (US 4367474), and in further view of Thomas et al. (US 20080090516 A1).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 3 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses the claimed invention above and one of the four colors using frequency range 17.7-18.2 GHz with LHCP and another using frequency range 19.7-20.2 GHz with LHCP (see par [0109] and [0118]) but does not specifically disclose wherein the first frequency range and the second frequency range are each within 10.7 GHz to 12.75 GHz.
Nonetheless, Thomas discloses satellite system using different channel frequency ranges selected within 11.7-12.2 GHz Ku-band frequency range, par [0022], [0028] and [0061].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Thomas into the teachings of Dankberg, which modified by Schaubert, to configure Dankberg’s satellite system using Thomas’s different channel frequency ranges, in order to operate the service beams in a standard Ku frequency range while retaining flexible frequency planning.
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 3 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses the claimed invention above and one of the four colors using frequency range 17.7-18.2 GHz with LHCP and another using frequency range 19.7-20.2 GHz with LHCP (see par [0109] and [0118]) but does not specifically disclose wherein the first frequency range and the second frequency range are each within 13.75 GHz to 14.5 GHZ.
Nonetheless, Thomas discloses satellite system using different channel frequency ranges selected within 14-14.5 GHz Ku-band frequency range, par [0022], [0026] and [0061].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Thomas into the teachings of Dankberg, which modified by Schaubert, to configure Dankberg’s satellite system using Thomas’s different channel frequency ranges, in order to operate the service beams in a standard Ku frequency range while retaining flexible frequency planning.
Consider claim 11, as applied to claim 10 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses the claimed invention above and one of the four colors using frequency range 17.7-18.2 GHz with LHCP and another using frequency range 19.7-20.2 GHz with LHCP (see par [0109] and [0118]) but does not specifically disclose discloses wherein: each of the plurality of uplink colors have a respective frequency range within 13.75 GHz to 14.5 GHZ; and each of the plurality of downlink colors have a respective frequency range within 10.7 GHz to 12.75 GHz
Nonetheless, Thomas discloses satellite system using different channel frequency ranges selected within 14-14.5 GHz Ku-band frequency range for uplink, and 11.7-12.2 GHz Ku-band frequency range for downlink, par [0017], [0022], [0026] and [0061].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Thomas into the teachings of Dankberg, which modified by Schaubert, to configure Dankberg’s satellite system using Thomas’s different channel frequency ranges, in order to operate the service beams in a standard Ku frequency range while retaining flexible frequency planning (see par [0018] and [0026] of Thomas).
Consider claim 12, as applied to claim 11 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert and Thomas, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein: each of the plurality of uplink colors have a same first bandwidth; and each of the plurality of downlink colors have a same second bandwidth.
Nonetheless, Thomas discloses independently adjustable bandwidth for individual satellite channels and provides selectable channel widths including 120, 72 and 36 MHz; selecting one common available width for the uplink channels and one common available width for the downlink channels provides the same first bandwidth and same second bandwidth, respectively, figures 8, par [0020], [10022] and [0061].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Thomas into the teachings of Dankberg, which modified by Schaubert and Thomas, to configure Dankberg’s color frequency channels selection using Thomas’s adjustable channel bandwidth control, in order to retain a common channel width within each directional color set after placement in the selected Ku band ranges.
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 11 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert and Thomas, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein: the respective frequency ranges of each of the plurality of uplink colors are non-overlapping; and the respective frequency ranges of each of the plurality of downlink colors are non-overlapping.
Nonetheless, Thomas further discloses satellite sub-bands divided into channels that are separated in frequency and permits selection of different channels in the applicable uplink and downlink spectra; selecting separated channels in each directional Ku spectrum provides non-overlapping uplink and downlink frequency ranges, figure 8, par [0003], [0022] and [0061].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Thomas into the teachings of Dankberg, which modified by Schaubert and Thomas, to configure Dankberg’s color frequency channels selection using Thomas’s frequency separated channel plan, in order to maintain distinct channel assignments and reduce interference between satellite users (see par [0003] of Thomas).
Claims 14, 18, 19, 58 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dankberg et al. (US 20090081946 A1) in view of Schaubert et al. (US 4367474), and in further view of Steingass et al. (US 20090022282 A1).
Consider claim 14, as applied to claim 10 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein: each of the plurality of uplink colors have a respective frequency range within Ku band; and each of the plurality of downlink colors have a respective frequency range with X band.
Nonetheless, Steingass discloses satellite system using Ku band in the range between 14 and 14.25 GHz for uplink and X band in the range between 10.7 and 11.7 GHz for downlink, par [0055]-[0057].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Steingass into the teachings of Dankberg, which modified by Schaubert, to configure Dankberg’s color frequency channels selection using Steingass’s uplink and downlink frequency band selection technique, in order to reduce the size by making the antennas geometrically small (see par [0056] of Steingass).
Consider claim 18, as applied to claim 9 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein each particular uplink color of the plurality of uplink colors differs from downlink color of the plurality of downlink colors, the particular uplink color having a frequency range than that of the downlink color and having a different polarization than that of the downlink color (read as colors using the 27.5-28 GHz and 29.5-30 GHz frequency ranges with RHCP or LHCP and colors using the 17.7-18.2 GHz and 19.7-20.2 GHz frequency ranges with RHCP or LHCP; for each uplink color, the downlink color set includes an opposite polarization, and different uplink and downlink frequency ranges, par [0118]-[0119]) but does not specifically disclose each particular uplink color (i.e. frequency) of the plurality of uplink color being paired with a corresponding downlink color (i.e. frequency) of the plurality of downlink color.
Nonetheless, Steingass discloses satellite system comprising different frequency pairs for uplink and downlink, in which using Ku band in the range between 14 and 14.25 GHz for uplink and X band in the range between 10.7 and 11.7 GHz for downlink, par [0055]-[0057].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Steingass into the teachings of Dankberg, which modified by Schaubert, to configure Dankberg’s color frequency channels selection using Steingass’s uplink and downlink frequency band selection technique, in order to reduce the size by making the antennas geometrically small (see par [0056] of Steingass).
Consider claim 19, as applied to claim 18 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the each particular uplink color has a first circular polarization and the corresponding downlink color has a second circular polarization (read as polarizations RHCP and LHCP, using different polarizations for the uplink and downlink color sets, for example, LHCP uplink color and an RHCP downlink color use distinct circular polarization, figure 14, par [0117]-[0119]).
Consider claim 58, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein each of the plurality of colors have a respective frequency range selected from the group consisting of X and Ku bands, and combinations thereof.
Nonetheless, Steingass discloses satellite system using Ku band in the range between 14 and 14.25 GHz for uplink and X band in the range between 10.7 and 11.7 GHz for downlink, par [0055]-[0057].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Steingass into the teachings of Dankberg, which modified by Schaubert, to configure Dankberg’s color frequency channels selection using Steingass’s uplink and downlink frequency band selection technique, in order to reduce the size by making the antennas geometrically small (see par [0056] of Steingass).
Consider claim 59, as applied to claim 58 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein: the at least one satellite and the user terminal antenna system are configured to communicate via an uplink and a downlink (read as two directional communication (uplink and downlink) between satellite 105 and subscriber terminals 130, par [0092] and [0118]-[0119]); and the two or more colors of the plurality of colors includes a plurality of uplink colors associated with the uplink, and a plurality of downlink colors associated with the downlink (read as a plurality of four uplink service beam colors associated with uplink service beams 4006 and a separate plurality of four downlink service beam colors associated with downlink service beam 4004, figure 14, par [0118]-[0119]).
Claims 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dankberg et al. (US 20090081946 A1) in view of Schaubert et al. (US 4367474), and in further view of Kaplan et al. (US 20080018545 A1).
Consider claims 22-25, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the user terminal antenna system is associated with a mobile platform as in claim 22, or wherein the mobile platform is an airplane as in claim 23, or wherein the mobile platform is a train as in claim 24, or wherein the mobile platform is an automobile as in claim 25.
Nonetheless, Kaplan discloses a satellite system, which the mobile satellite terminal may be mounted to the roof or other structure and the use of antenna unit with reduced height is an esthetic and practical advantage for a vehicle, such as train, SUV, RV, car, bus, or aircraft and has substantial benefits for military vehicles where the communication equipment may be targeted by an adversary, par [0030] and [0099].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kaplan into the teachings of Dankberg, which modified by Schaubert, to configure Dankberg’s mobile satellite terminal choices, in order to provide two-way communication while the subscriber terminal is moving (see par [0056] of Steingass).
Claims 38 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dankberg et al. (US 20090081946 A1) in view of Schaubert et al. (US 4367474), and in further view of Hart et al. (US 6314269 B1).
Consider claim 38, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one satellite is configured to shift a center of each of the plurality of spot beams among different geographic locations over time.
Nonetheless, Hart discloses a satellite system, in which the spot beams 51 (51a to 51l) individually steered to remain pointed at respective earth surface centres C and subsequently redeployeed to a new centre as satellite 4a progresses in orbit; the spot beams are progressively redeployed between their time T-0 and time T1 positions, thus each beam can shift from one geographic center to another over time, figure 9, col. 8 with lines 30-60.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hart into the teachings of Dankberg, which modified by Schaubert, to configure Dankberg’s satellite system with Hart’s individual beam-center redeployment technique, in order to maintain earth region coverage while reducing beam-to-beam handover as the satellite progresses in orbit (see col. 8 with lines 53-64 of Hart).
Consider claim 50, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the at least one satellite and the user terminal antenna system are each reconfigurable among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors (read as regional four color pattern and makes the frequencies and polarization for each spot beam programmable; antenna 125 would dynamically modify its configuration for selected frequency ranges or locations, while center unit 121 controls subscriber terminal transmit and receive frequency assignment and can reassign a subscriber terminal to different frequency channel; because color is frequency and polarization combination, those controls provide reconfiguration among frequency distinguished color, par [0075], [0092], [0097], [0109], [0135]-[0136] and [0142]) but does not specifically disclose reconfigurable among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors based on geographic considerations.
Nonetheless, Hart discloses a satellite system dividing the earth’s surface into fixed regions 52, assigns a transmission and reception frequency pair to each region and determines each mobile terminal’s frequencies according to the region containing the terminal; controller 88 sends the mobile terminal a control signal assigning the corresponding frequencies and the assignment of regions 52 to spot beams is determined at satellite 4 or earth station 8, figures 8 and 9, col. 7 with line 56 to col. 8 with line 29.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hart into the teachings of Dankberg, which modified by Schaubert, to configure Dankberg’s satellite system with Hart’s earth-fixed region frequency control technique, in order to maintain region specific frequency reuse as terminals move among geographic regions (see col. 7 with line 56 to col. 8 with line 29 of Hart).
Claims 47 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dankberg et al. (US 20090081946 A1) in view of Schaubert et al. (US 4367474), and in further view of Thesling et al. (US 20090016260 A1).
Consider claim 47, as applied to claim 45 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the first plurality of user terminal antenna systems are commanded to match the first given color, and the second plurality of user terminal antenna systems are commanded to match the second given color (read as configuration information and an overall frequency assignment that provides a newly assigned channel for each subscriber terminal among multiple terminal sets associated with respective spot beam colors; applies to the first and second regional sets, the assignments direct the terminals to use their respective regional colors, figures 3, 12B and 15, par [0074], [0083] and [0143]-[0144]) but does not specifically disclose commanding at the same time.
Nonetheless, Schaubert further discloses group-addressed broadcast scheduling control, in which transmitting scheduling information in a broadcast frame directed by an addressing label to a small group of terminals; the members of an addressed group receive the common allocation command in the same downstream transmission, which corresponds to the same time command within each respective plurality, figures 1 and 8, par [0037], [0052], [0082] and [0084].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Thesling into the teachings of Dankberg, which modified by Schaubert, to configure Dankberg’s regional terminal color assignment using Thesling’s group-addressed broadcast scheduling control technique, in order to issue the first and second regional carrier assignment in one downstream frame and maintain coordinated assignment timing within each group (see par [0037] and [0082]-[0084] of Thesling).
Consider claim 53, as applied to claim 52 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the remote command is addressed to the user terminal antenna system.
Nonetheless, Schaubert further discloses group-addressed broadcast scheduling control, in which transmitting scheduling information in a broadcast frame directed by an addressing label to a small group of terminals; the members of an addressed group receive the common allocation command in the same downstream transmission, which corresponds to the same time command within each respective plurality, figures 1 and 8, par [0037], [0052], [0082] and [0084].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Thesling into the teachings of Dankberg, which modified by Schaubert, to configure Dankberg’s regional terminal color assignment using Thesling’s group-addressed broadcast scheduling control technique, in order to issue the first and second regional carrier assignment in one downstream frame and maintain coordinated assignment timing within each group (see par [0037] and [0082]-[0084] of Thesling).
Claims 51 and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dankberg et al. (US 20090081946 A1) in view of Schaubert et al. (US 4367474), and in further view of Malarky et al. (US 20080233865 A1).
Consider claim 51, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the at least one satellite and the user terminal antenna system are each reconfigurable among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors (read as regional four color pattern and makes the frequencies and polarization for each spot beam programmable; antenna 125 would dynamically modify its configuration for selected frequency ranges or locations, while center unit 121 controls subscriber terminal transmit and receive frequency assignment and can reassign a subscriber terminal to different frequency channel; because color is frequency and polarization combination, those controls provide reconfiguration among frequency distinguished color, par [0075], [0092], [0097], [0109], [0135]-[0136] and [0142]) but does not specifically disclose reconfigurable among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors based on temporal considerations.
Nonetheless, Malarky discloses satellite system with time-responsive frequency rellocation, in which short-term capacity flexibility responsive to variations in time zones and permits the frequency of a polarized antenna feed to be switched at any time in response to ground capacity requirements; the resulting beams would therefore vary in frequency, and satellite frequency, bandwidth and transmit power would be reallocated over time as capacity requirement change, figures 10A, par [0004], [0119] and [0128].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hart into the teachings of Dankberg, which modified by Schaubert, to configure Dankberg’s satellite system with Malarky’s time-responsive frequency rellocation technique, in order to shift regional beam capacity as time-zone demand changes while maintaining the terminal’s scheduled carrier assignment (see par [0004] of Malarky).
Consider claim 55, as applied to claim 2 above, Dankberg, as modified by Schaubert, discloses wherein the at least one satellite and the user terminal antenna system are each reconfigurable among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors (read as regional four color pattern and makes the frequencies and polarization for each spot beam programmable; antenna 125 would dynamically modify its configuration for selected frequency ranges or locations, while center unit 121 controls subscriber terminal transmit and receive frequency assignment and can reassign a subscriber terminal to different frequency channel; because color is frequency and polarization combination, those controls provide reconfiguration among frequency distinguished color, par [0075], [0092], [0097], [0109], [0135]-[0136] and [0142]) but does not specifically disclose reconfigurable among the two or more colors of the plurality of colors based on load balancing.
Nonetheless, Malarky discloses satellite system with capacity-responsive frequency rellocation, in which adjusting a frequency re-use pattern to accommodate capacity requirements on the group by moving frequencies among cells and, in response to those capacity requirements, switching the frequency associated with polarized antenna feed; the resulting beam changes its frequency resource wile the cell retains its polarization, allow frequency resources to be moved among beams according to capacity loading, par [0089], [0093] and [0119].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hart into the teachings of Dankberg, which modified by Schaubert, to configure Dankberg’s satellite system with Malarky’s capacity-responsive frequency rellocation technique, in order to shift regional beam capacity and terminal allocations away from loaded channels while maintaining frequency-reuse interference constraints (see par [0093] and [0119] of Malarky).
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645