DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 8/06/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “fluid control structure” in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The corresponding structure for “a fluid control structure” includes an air duct such as 140/640 and/or a plate-shaped structure 644/645 and/or a spherical structure 647 and/or a UV LED unit 648 (i.e. a UV LEDS 648c-648d mounted on PCB 648a) and/or a structure 740/770 comprised of air ducts 741/771+742/772 with a control structure 743/773 and (see Specification, Figures 1-2, 4, 6, 8 and 10A-13A, p. 5 [0031]-[0032], p. 14 [0067], p. 15 [0073], p. 17 [0083]-[0084], p. 18 [0087], pp. 19-20 [0093]-[0094], p. 21 [0099]-[0100]).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “ultraviolet (UV) light emitting diode (LED) unit” and “filter unit” in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamanaka (5919422).
Yamanaka (‘422) discloses an air purifier (see Figure 10) comprising:
a case (101) having an air inlet (111) and an air outlet (114);
a fan (106) disposed inside the case (101) and adjacent to the air inlet (111) (see Figure 10);
an ultraviolet (UV) light emitting diode (LED) unit (105) and a filter unit (104) arranged inside the case (101) and over the fan (106) along a flow path of air; and
a fluid control structure (117) disposed inside the case (101) between the fan (106) and the filter unit (104),
wherein the fluid control structure (117) controls an air flow along the flow path of air between an outlet of the fan (106) and the filter unit (104) (see Figure 10).
In the event that the filter unit (104) of Yamanaka is not deemed to adequately disclose a filter unit, the following rejection will apply.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engelhard (8017073) in view of Bohlen (20110030560).
Engelhard ('073) discloses an air purifier (100) (see Figures 1 and 8) comprising:
a case (102) having an air inlet (101) and an air outlet (104);
a fan (108) disposed inside the case (see Figures 1 and 8) and adjacent to the air inlet (101) (see Figures 1 and 8);
an ultraviolet (UV) light unit (122) and a filter unit (116, 118) arranged inside the case and over the fan (108) along a flow path of air; and
a fluid control structure (110, 114) disposed inside the case between the fan (108) and the filter unit (116, 118);
wherein the fluid control structure (110, 114) controls an air flow along the flow path of air between an outlet of the fan (108) and the filter unit (116, 118).
Engelhard ('073) does not appear to specifically teach that the UV light unit is an ultraviolet (UV) light emitting diode (LED) unit.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide various types of UV light sources such as UV LED in an air purifier. Bohlen ('560) discloses an air purifier (100) (see Figures 1-5) comprising:
a case (106) having an air inlet (110) and an air outlet (160) (see Figures 1-4);
a fan (180) disposed inside the case (see Figures 3-4) (see Figures 1 and 8); and
an ultraviolet (UV) light emitting diode (LED) unit (150) and a filter unit (120, 140/700) arranged inside the case (106) along a flow path of air (see Figures 1-5),
in order to irradiate, sanitize, and disinfect a variety of infestation agents that may be present within airflow (see p. 6 [0061] - lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an UV LED unit as the UV light source in the air purifier of Engelhard as a known alternate UV light source in order to irradiate the airflow so as to sanitize/disinfect the airflow as shown by Bohlen.
Thus, Claim 1 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Engelhard ('073) and Bohlen ('560).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references relate either to the field of the invention or subject matter of the invention, but are not relied upon in the rejection of record: KR20030048989 and BR9610260 and WO2006042740 and JP2006026239 (air cleaner without a fluid control structure), 20150064061 (air cleaner without a fluid control structure or a filter unit located after the fan), 20100143205 (air purifier with a UV light source in the form of a mercury lamp) .
/REGINA M YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758