DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Azuma et al. (US 11,845,621).
Regarding independent claim 1, Azuma discloses a method comprising: positioning a base vehicle (120, see Fig. 8) in proximity to a cargo area or within the cargo area (L); picking, via a primary arm (60) coupled to a first portion of the base vehicle, at least one object (W) from the cargo area, wherein the primary arm is configured to move in one or more directions; receiving, via a secondary arm (30) coupled to a second portion of the base vehicle, the at least one object from the primary arm; and transporting, via the secondary arm, the at least one object received from the primary arm to a conveyor line (C) positioned at a third portion of the base vehicle, wherein the secondary arm comprises a plurality of linkages (34a, 34b, 34c) that are collectively configured to move in one or more directions for receiving the at least one object from the primary arm and transporting the at least one object to the conveyor line (see at least Figs. 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B).
Regarding dependent claims 2-11, Azuma discloses the base vehicle is further integrated with a plurality of wheels (124), wherein the plurality of wheels are configured to allow mobility of the base vehicle in one or more directions within the cargo area (see at least col. 11, lines 39-50 and col. 12, lines 13-16). The secondary arm is positioned with respect to the primary arm such that the primary arm is configured to deliver the at least one object to the secondary arm by moving in the one or more directions (see at least Figs. 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B). The primary arm has a first end and a second end (see at least Fig. 4A). The first end is integrated with a suction unit (76) and the second end is coupled with the first portion of the base vehicle (see Fig. 8). The suction unit is configured to allow the primary arm to grip onto the at least one object and place onto the secondary arm (see at least Figs. 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B). The second portion of the base vehicle comprises a platform (20’), and wherein the secondary arm is coupled to the platform (see Fig. 8). The plurality of linkages collectively define a first end and a second end, the secondary arm comprises a claw unit (40, see col. 5, lines 33-40), and the first end is coupled with the claw unit and the second end is coupled to a top surface of the platform (see Fig. 8). Azuma further discloses moving, via the plurality of linkages, the claw unit from the primary arm at the first portion of the base vehicle to the third portion of the base vehicle for transporting the at least one object from the primary arm to the conveyor line (see at least Figs. 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B). The first portion corresponds to a front portion of the base vehicle, the second portion corresponds to a middle portion of the base vehicle, and the third portion corresponds to a rear portion of the base vehicle (see Fig. 8). The middle portion of the base vehicle is at a predefined height relative to the front portion of the base vehicle and the middle portion of the base vehicle is in the same plane with the rear portion of the base vehicle (see Fig. 8).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First Portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (Second Portion)]
[AltContent: textbox (Third Portion)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azuma et al. (US 11,845,621) in view of Girtman et al. (US 2015/0063972).
Regarding independent claim 12, Azuma discloses a logistic system comprising: a base vehicle (120, see Fig. 8); a primary arm (60) coupled to a first portion of the base vehicle, wherein the primary arm is configured to pick at least one object (W) from a cargo area (L), wherein the primary arm is configured to move in one or more directions; a secondary arm (30) coupled to a second portion of the base vehicle; and a conveyor line (C) positioned at a third portion of the base vehicle, wherein the secondary arm is configured to receive the at least one object from the primary arm and further transport the at least one object received from the primary arm to the conveyor line, and wherein the secondary arm comprises a plurality of linkages (34a, 34b, 34c) that are collectively configured to move in one or more directions for receiving the at least one object from the primary arm and transporting the at least one object to the conveyor line (see at least Fig. 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B).
Regarding dependent claims 13-20, Azuma discloses that the base vehicle is further integrated with a plurality of wheels (124), wherein the plurality of wheels are configured to allow mobility of the base vehicle in one or more directions within the cargo area (see at least col. 11, lines 39-50 and col. 12, lines 13-16). The secondary arm is positioned with respect to the primary arm such that the primary arm is configured to deliver the at least one object to the secondary arm by moving in the one or more directions (see at least Fig. 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B). The secondary arm comprises a plurality of parallel-axis joints (JT1, JT2, JT3, JT4) and is configured to move in horizontal directions and remain rigid in the vertical direction. The primary arm has a first end and a second end (see at least Fig. 4), wherein the first end is integrated with a suction unit (76) and the second end is coupled with the first portion of the base vehicle (see Fig. 8), wherein the suction unit is configured to allow the primary arm to grip onto the at least one object and place onto the secondary arm (see at least Fig. 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B). The second portion of the base vehicle comprises a platform (20’), the secondary arm is coupled to the platform (see Fig. 8), the secondary arm comprises a claw unit (40, see col. 5, lines 33-40), the plurality of linkages collectively define a first end and a second end, and the first end is coupled with a claw unit and the second end is coupled to a top surface of the platform (see Fig. 8). the claw unit via the plurality of linkages is configured to move from the primary arm at the first portion of the base vehicle to the third portion of the base vehicle for transporting the at least one object from the primary arm to the conveyor line (see at least Fig. 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B). The first portion corresponds to a front portion of the base vehicle, the second portion corresponds to a middle portion of the base vehicle, and the third portion corresponds to a rear portion of the base vehicle (see Fig. 8). The middle portion of the base vehicle is at a predefined height relative to the front portion of the base vehicle and the middle portion of the base vehicle is in the same plane with the rear portion of the base vehicle (see Fig. 8).
Azuma discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose that the conveyor line is coupled to the third portion of the base vehicle. However, Girtman discloses a similar system which includes a base vehicle (120) having a primary arm (160) and a secondary arm (176) and a conveyor line (137a) coupled to a third portion of the base vehicle for the purpose of extending the vehicle deep into a cargo area and conveying an object out of the deep portion of the cargo area. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Azuma by having the conveyor line coupled to the third portion of the base vehicle, as disclosed by Girtman, for the purpose of extending the vehicle deep into a cargo area and conveying an object out of the deep portion of the cargo area.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jung et al. (US 2025/0340391) and Garabaini (US 11,926,061) disclose similar logistic systems which utilize base vehicles have a plurality of arms to unload objects.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653