DETAILED ACTION
This is the first non-final office action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Priority
The Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority under provisional Application No. 62/641,614, filed on 03/12/2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/06/2024 has been received and considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are accepted.
Double Patenting
Claims 7, 12-14 and 16-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7 and 15-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12054183 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 7 recites “each cap fitted into the interior of the side stake includes weep holes at beveled corners of the cap.” This is taught by claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12054183 B2.
Claim 12 recites “plurality of the side stakes include an outer face surface and a pair of legs extending from the outer face surface, and outward taper of an inner face of each of the pair of legs of side stake from the side sill to the top chord sections.” This is taught by claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12054183 B2.
Claim 13 recites “a stub reinforcing plate within at least one of the side stakes extending between and coupled to the pair of legs.” This is taught by claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12054183 B2.
Claim 14 recites “each stub reinforcing plate within a side stake does not extend an entire length of the side stake.” This is taught by claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12054183 B2.
Claim 16 recites “each stub reinforcing plate within a side stake reinforces an area of the side stake around the side sill through a bottom of the side stake.” This is taught by claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12054183 B2.
Claim 17 recites “a plurality of the side stakes include an outer face surface and a pair of legs extending from the outer face surface, and a cap fitted into an interior of the side stake.” This is taught by claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12054183 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 12-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “the top chord” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the top chord” has been construed as “a top chord”
Claim 12 recites “the top chord sections” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the top chord sections” has been construed as “top chord sections”.
Claims 13-14 and 16-17 are rejected for their dependency on claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 107672612 A, provided), in view of Fetterman et al. (US 5562046 A).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches (Fig. 1-5): A railcar comprising: a pair of end walls (3) and a pair of sidewalls (2)(Fig. 1-2), wherein each sidewall (2) includes at least one side sheet having an inside surface facing an interior of the railcar and an outside surface facing an exterior of the railcar (Fig. 1-3), a plurality of side stakes (side columns 22, 23) coupled to the exterior surface of the side sheet of the sidewall (2)(Fig. 1); and an underframe construction including a center sill (center beam 11) running the length of the railcar (Fig. 1), a pair of bolsters (sleeper beams 12) configured to be above truck assemblies (Fig. 1), wherein each of the bolsters (12) is coupled to the center sill (11), and a plurality of lateral I-Beam cross bearers (I-beam crossbeam 14) that extend from the center sill (11) toward the side sheet of one of the sidewalls (2)(Fig. 1 and 5), wherein a lower end (143) of each I-Beam cross bearer (14) is above a lower end of the center sill (11)(Fig. 1), and longitudinal stringers (annotated Fig. 1 below) extending from select ones of the cross bearers (14) to one of the bolsters (12) and longitudinal stringers extending from each bolster (12) to one end wall structure of the pair of end walls (3)(annotated Fig. 1 below).
Li does not explicitly teach a side sill coupled to an interior surface of the side sheet of the sidewall, wherein the side sill of each sidewall extends at least the length of the car between the bolsters.
However, Fetterman teaches an alternate rail car underframe construction, wherein (Fig. 1-2 and 10): a side sill (side sill 20) is coupled to an interior surface of the side sheet of the sidewall (side wall 28)(Fig. 1-2), wherein the side sill (20) of each sidewall (28) extends the length of the car (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Li to include a side sill coupled to an interior surface of the side sheet of the side wall, wherein the side sill extends the length of the rail car, as disclosed by Fetterman, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a side sill that is connected to both the cross bearers and the side stakes while providing minimal clearance between the side sill and the rails (Col. 1, line 30 – col. 2, line 16), as well as structurally strengthening the rail underframe for supporting a floor.
Regarding claim 2, Li further teaches (Fig. 1-5): a plurality of the cross bearers (14) which are positioned between the bolsters (12) include a vertical connection plate (bottom of side plate 24) which is coupled to a side stake (22, 23)(Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Li further teaches (Fig. 1-5): a plurality of the side stakes (22, 23) include an outer face surface and a pair of legs extending from the outer face surface (Fig. 1), and a cap (stiffening plate 232 closing the side stake’s bottom) fitted into an interior of the side stake (Fig. 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 8, Li further teaches (Fig. 1-5): floor sheets (floor 15) supported above the center sill and the I-Beam cross bearers (14)(Fig. 1-2 and 5), wherein the floor sheets (15) stop short of the inside surface of the side sheet of each of the sidewalls (2)(Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, the secondary reference Fetterman further teaches (Fig. 1-2): the side sill (20) is a structural angle (Fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Li to include the side sill as a structural angle, as disclosed by Fetterman, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a side sill that is connected to both the cross bearers and the side stakes while providing minimal clearance between the side sill and the rails (Col. 1, line 30 – col. 2, line 16), as well as structurally strengthening the rail underframe for supporting a floor.
Regarding claim 10, Li further teaches (Fig. 1-5): bolster side stakes (sleeper column 21) that extends from the top chord to a laterally extending part of a bolster (12)(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Li further teaches (Fig. 1-5): the longitudinal stringers are formed as one of channels, S-beams, or t-sections (annotated Fig. 1 below shows the stringers as T-sections).
Claim(s) 3-5 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 107672612 A, provided), in view of Fetterman et al. (US 5562046 A) and Kress et al. (US 10737705 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Li further teaches (Fig. 1-5): wherein a plurality of the side stakes (22, 23) include an outer face surface and a pair of legs extending from the outer face surface (Fig. 1), but does not explicitly teach a stub reinforcing plate within the side stake extending between and coupled to the pair of legs.
However, Kress teaches an alternate railcar side stake, wherein (Fig. 1-3): a stub reinforcing plate (reinforcing plate 40) is within the side stake (10) extending between and coupled to a pair of legs (24) that extends from an outer face surface (22)(Fig. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Li to include a stub reinforcing plate with the side stake between and coupled to a pair of legs that extends from the outer face surface, as disclosed by Kress, with a reasonable expectation of success because “adding the reinforcement to an area on the side stake close to the bending moment greatly enhances the bending properties of the member at this area” (col. 2, lines 15-21).
Regarding claim 4, the secondary reference Kress further teaches (Fig. 1-3): wherein each stub reinforcing plate (40) within a side stake (10) does not extend an entire length of the side stake (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, the secondary reference Kress further teaches (Fig. 1-3): each stub reinforcing plate (40) within a side stake (10) reinforces an area of the side stake around the side sill through a bottom of the side stake (col. 2, lines 15-21; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches (Fig. 1-5): A gondola railcar comprising: a pair of sidewalls (2) coupled, wherein each sidewall (2) includes a side sheet having an inside surface facing an interior of the railcar and an outside surface facing an exterior of the railcar (Fig. 1), a plurality of side stakes (22, 23) coupled to the exterior surface of the side sheet of the sidewall (2)(Fig. 1); and an underframe construction including a center sill (11) running the length of the railcar (Fig. 1), bolsters (12) configured to be above truck assemblies (Fig. 1), wherein each of the bolsters (12) is coupled to the center sill (11), and a plurality of lateral I-Beam cross bearers (14) that extend from the center sill (11) toward the side sheet of one of the sidewalls (2)(Fig. 1), wherein a plurality of the cross bearers (14) which are positioned between the bolsters include a vertical connection plate (bottom of side plate 24) which is coupled to a side stake (23)(Fig. 5), wherein a plurality of the side stakes (22, 23) include an outer face surface and a pair of legs extending from the outer face surface (Fig. 1).
Li does not explicitly teach a side sill coupled to an interior surface of the side sheet of the sidewall, wherein the side sill of each sidewall extends at least the length of the car between the bolsters.
However, Fetterman teaches an alternate rail car underframe construction, wherein (Fig. 1-2 and 10): a side sill (side sill 20) is coupled to an interior surface of the side sheet of the sidewall (side wall 28)(Fig. 1-2), wherein the side sill (20) of each sidewall (28) extends the length of the car (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Li to include a side sill coupled to an interior surface of the side sheet of the side wall, wherein the side sill extends the length of the rail car, as disclosed by Fetterman, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a side sill that is connected to both the cross bearers and the side stakes while providing minimal clearance between the side sill and the rails (Col. 1, line 30 – col. 2, line 16), as well as structurally strengthening the rail underframe for supporting a floor.
Li further does not explicitly teach a stub reinforcing plate within the side stake extending between and coupled to the pair of legs.
However, Kress teaches an alternate railcar side stake, wherein (Fig. 1-3): a stub reinforcing plate (reinforcing plate 40) is within the side stake (10) extending between and coupled to a pair of legs (24) that extends from an outer face surface (22)(Fig. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Li to include a stub reinforcing plate with the side stake between and coupled to a pair of legs that extends from the outer face surface, as disclosed by Kress, with a reasonable expectation of success because “adding the reinforcement to an area on the side stake close to the bending moment greatly enhances the bending properties of the member at this area” (col. 2, lines 15-21).
Regarding claim 19, the secondary reference Kress further teaches (Fig. 1-3): wherein each stub reinforcing plate (40) within a side stake (10) does not extend an entire length of the side stake (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Li further teaches (Fig. 1-5): a lower end (143) of each I-Beam cross bearer (14) is above a lower end of the center sill (11)(Fig. 1), and longitudinal stringers (annotated Fig. 1 below) extending from select ones of the cross bearers (14) to one of the bolsters (12) and longitudinal stringers extending from each bolster (12) to one end wall structure of the pair of end walls (3)(annotated Fig. 1 below).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 12-14, and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and if all rejections in view of 35 USC § 112 second paragraph are overcome and if a Terminal Disclaimer is filed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to teach each cap fitted into the interior of the side stake includes weep holes at beveled corners of the cap. While Li teaches (Fig. 1-5): a plurality of the side stakes (22, 23) include an outer face surface and a pair of legs extending from the outer face surface (Fig. 1), and a cap (stiffening plate 232 closing the side stake’s bottom) fitted into an interior of the side stake (Fig. 1 and 5), the examiner finds no obvious reason to modify the cap to have weep holes at the cap’s beveled corners. Such a modification would require improper hindsight reasoning.
Regarding claim 12 and its depending claim(s) 13-14 and 16-17, the prior art fails to teach outward taper of an inner face of each of the pair of legs of side stake from the side sill to the top chord sections. While Li teaches (Fig. 1-5): a plurality of the side stakes (22, 23) include an outer face surface and a pair of legs extending from the outer face surface (Fig. 1); and the secondary reference Fetterman teaches an alternate rail car underframe construction, wherein (Fig. 1-2 and 10): a side sill (side sill 20) is coupled to an interior surface of the side sheet of the sidewall (side wall 28)(Fig. 1-2), wherein the side sill (20) extends the length of the car (Fig. 1), the examiner finds no obvious reason to further modify the side stake of Li to outwardly taper at an inner face of each of the pair of legs of side stake from the side sill to the top chord sections. Such a modification would require improper hindsight reasoning and modifications to a modifying reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure of an open top gondola railcar having an underframe construction and side stakes: US-2788750-A, US-3079874-A, US-3319585-A, US-6000342-A, US-20050087096-A1, US-7461600-B2, US-20100006000-A1, US-20100011987-A1, US-8931418-B2, US-9156478-B2, US-9346472-B2, US-10259472-B2, WO-2012135897-A1, CN-104527690-A.
/CHENG LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3615