Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
4. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,284,116 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the claims of this application and the patented claims is that Applicant has added the following limitations of “determining an offset value” and “wherein N is a positive integer in a case where the bit-depth of the image is 8.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add some limitations because one of ordinary skill in the art would have realized that adding some limitations in the claims is an obvious expedient since the remaining elements perform the same functions as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963).
5. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,081,804 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the claims of this application and the patented claims is that Applicant has added the following limitation of “determining an offset value.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add some limitations because one of ordinary skill in the art would have realized that adding some limitations in the claims is an obvious expedient since the remaining elements perform the same functions as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963).
6. Claim 1, 3-4, 6-7 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5 of copending Application No. 18/796,148 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the claims of this application and ‘148 claims is that Applicant has added the following limitation of “determining an offset value.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add some limitations because one of ordinary skill in the art would have realized that adding some limitations in the claims is an obvious expedient since the remaining elements perform the same functions as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
7. Claim 1, 3-4, 6-7 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/796,142 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘142 claims list all the features recited in claims 1, 3-4, 6-7 of the current application; also they are more narrow and therefore anticipates the instant claims.
8. Claim 1, 3-4, 6-7 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5 of copending Application No. 18/796,120 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the claims of this application and ‘120 claims is that Applicant has added the following limitation of “determining an offset value” and “wherein N is a positive integer in a case where the bit-depth of the image is 8.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add some limitations because one of ordinary skill in the art would have realized that adding some limitations in the claims is an obvious expedient since the remaining elements perform the same functions as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an obtaining unit configured to… and a filtering unit configured to… in claim 4.
11. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Specification does not support individual structure for each functionality claimed unit. Specification describes these routines as software embodied in a structure of a processor, see paragraphs 0225-0235. Thus, the claimed units are interpreted to be embodied on a processor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norkin (US 10,575,021) in view of English Machine Translation of ZHU (CN 106911934 A).
As per claim 1, Norkin discloses a method of deblocking filtering for an image (fig. 9), the method comprising:
obtaining a first parameter value for deblocking filtering based on a second parameter value (see fig. 13, for instance tc2=(tc+1)>>1; col. 11 lines 1-20); and
obtaining a filtered sample value by performing deblocking filtering on a sample in a block of samples (see S1 of fig. 9) by using the first parameter value (col. 14 lines 5-25 show tc2 is used in the filtering process to obtain filtered pixels), the filtered sample value being limited by a range based on the first parameter value (see S2 of fig. 9),
wherein obtaining the first parameter value(i.e. tc2) comprises:
obtaining the second parameter value based on a quantization parameter value for the block of samples (col. 11 lines 46-58, the value of the parameter tc can be obtained based on the QP value determined for or associated with the block 10 of pixels 12, 14, 16, 18. For instance, the QP value can be used to retrieve tc from a look-up table, such as Table 1);
determining an offset value (from Fig. 13, tc2 equation shows that offset value is 1); and
obtaining the first parameter value by adding the determined offset value to the second parameter value, and bit-shifting a result of the adding to right by N bits (see fig. 13, tc2=(tc+1)>>1, tc2 is obtained by adding 1 to tc and bit-shifting the result of the adding to right by 1), wherein N is a positive integer in a case where the bit-depth of the image is 8 (col. 4 lines 39-42, where BitDepth.sub.Y is the bit depth, for example 8 or 10), and wherein the offset value varies according to the bit-depth of the image (since the clipping parameter tc of the current block depends on the clipping, as taught in col. 15 lines 14-16, and the clipping depends on bit-depth, as taught in col. 4 lines 39-42; therefore, the offset that is part of the clipping parameter depends on the bit-depth).
However, Norkin does not explicitly disclose obtaining a value N using a parameter value indicating a bit-depth of the image.
In the same field of endeavor, ZHU discloses obtaining a value N using a parameter value indicating a bit-depth of the image (according to the claimed invention, the deblocking process uses right-shift operation according to bit number precision. See also page 11, the right shift values 3 or 4 are obtained based on the bit number precision).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the right shift operation in the deblocking filter of Norkin, as taught by ZHU, in order to improve filtering process by adjusting the deblocking function. This rationale applies to all combination of Norkin and ZHU used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
As per claim 3, Norkin discloses wherein the second parameter value is obtained from a table associating the value with the quantization parameter value (col. 11 lines 46-58, the value of the parameter tc can be obtained based on the QP value determined for or associated with the block 10 of pixels 12, 14, 16, 18. For instance, the QP value can be used to retrieve tc from a look-up table, such as Table 1).
As per claims 4 and 6, arguments analogous to those applied for claims 1 and 3 are applicable for claims 4 and 6.
As per claim 7, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 1 are applicable for claim 7; in addition, Norkin teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium containing computer-executable instructions which causes a computer to perform the claimed method (col. 25, lines 40-60).
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED JEBARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482