DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Applicant's arguments in the Remarks filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the Applicant’s arguments (pages 11-13), Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Xiong discloses in sharing a video, a first terminal 110 (a host) uploads the video identifier of a target video and control operation information of the target video to a live broadcast server from which a second terminal 120 (a guest or an audience) pulls the target video data stream to synchronously play (¶ [0056]-[0060]). The control operation information including pause, stop, fast forward and back operated on the target video (¶ [0045]-[0047]) is detected at the first terminal in real-time, and is uninterrupted or intermittently synchronized to the second terminal 120 that enters the same virtual space as the first terminal (¶ [0050] and ¶ [0059]-[0060]). In other words, in sharing a video, only the target video data and the control operations on the target video are sent by the host terminal to a live broadcast server to be synchronously displayed on the guest/audience terminal. Also in Xiong, Figures 2A-2E illustrate virtual space interfaces of the first terminal (a host), and Figures 3A-3D illustrate virtual space interfaces of the second terminal (a guest or an audience). When sharing a video, only the target video is synchronously displayed in virtual space interfaces on the first terminal (Figures 2B-2C) and on the second terminal (Figures 3A-3C), while the information of control icons on the first terminal’s user interface (Figures 2A and 2D-2E) are not sent and not displayed on the second terminal’s user interface (Figure 3A-3D). It means that Xiong’s teaching still meets the amended limitations of “wherein during the first media content… on their respective display interface”.
In response to applicant's arguments (page 14) against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). It is noted that Xiong discloses all other limitations in claim except for the limitation of “displaying the first display in form of a floating window… when the first display interface is switched to the third interface” which only is relied on the teaching of Yang. It is further noted that Xiong discloses only the target video data and the control operation (i.e., play, pause, stop, fast forward, backward) on the target video are sent to a server to be synchronously displayed on a virtual space interface of a host device and guest devices (¶ [0043]-[0050]), while other control operations such as microphone request icons No.1-No.5 and search icon on the host device (Figures 2A and 2D-2E) are not sent to and not synchronized displaying on the guest devices (Figures 3A-3D). It means that the technical logic of Xiong would not require all control operations on the host device to be shared and synchronized on the guest devices. Thus, the combined teaching of Xiong and Yang would not result in all devices in a sharing session displaying floating windows as the Applicant’s assertion.
Therefore, the combined teaching of Xiong and Yang still broad reasonably meets all amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the information of an interaction" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the information of an interaction" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the information of an interaction" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Other dependent claims are rejected the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong (US 2021/0281909) in view of Yang (US 2017/0195613).
Regarding claim 1, Xiong discloses a media content sharing method, comprises:
displaying a first media content in a first media content playing interface (Figures 2B-C; ¶ [0044]);
enabling a media content sharing, in response to receiving a first triggering from a first user (¶ [0029] and ¶ [0048]-[0051]);
displaying the first media content in a first display interface, and displaying a first interactive control (Figures 2A-2E; ¶ [0044]-[0047] and ¶ [0063]-[0069]), wherein the first media content is configured to be played on display interfaces of users involved in the media content sharing (Figures 3A-3D; ¶ [0048]-[0049] and ¶ [0070]-[0081]);
wherein during the first media content is displayed on the display interfaces of users involved in the media content sharing, the information of an interaction conducted by the first user with the first media content displayed on the first display interface is not sent to other users involved in the media content sharing and therefore the interaction conduced by the first user is not seen by the other users on their respective display interface (Xiong discloses in sharing a video, a first terminal 110 (a host) uploads the video identifier of a target video and control operation information of the target video to a live broadcast server from which a second terminal 120 (a guest or an audience) pulls the target video data stream to synchronously play (¶ [0056]-[0060]). The control operation information including pause, stop, fast forward and back operated on the target video (¶ [0045]-[0047]) is detected at the first terminal in real-time, and is uninterrupted or intermittently synchronized to the second terminal 120 that enters the same virtual space as the first terminal (¶ [0050] and ¶ [0059]-[0060]). In other words, in sharing a video, only the target video data and the control operations on the target video are sent by the host terminal to a live broadcast server to be synchronously displayed on the guest/audience terminal. Also in Xiong, Figures 2A-2E illustrate virtual space interfaces of the first terminal (a host), and Figures 3A-3D illustrate virtual space interfaces of the second terminal (a guest or an audience). When sharing a video, only the target video is synchronously displayed in virtual space interfaces on the first terminal (Figures 2B-2C) and on the second terminal (Figures 3A-3C), while the information of control icons on the first terminal’s user interface (Figures 2A and 2D-2E) are not sent and not displayed on the second terminal’s user interface (Figure 3A-3D)).
Xiong discloses in response to a second triggering of pause, fast forward or back operation of controlling video or voice chat is received, synchronizing video playing (¶ [0045]-[0047] and ¶ [0069]-[0070]), but is silent about switching the first display interface to a third interface which is an interface other than the first media content playing interface; displaying the first display interface in the form of a floating window in the third interface, and playing the first media content being played in the first display interface when the first display interface is switched to the third interface.
Yang discloses in response to a triggering, switching the first display interface to a third interface which is an interface other than the first media content playing interface; displaying the first display interface in the form of a floating window in the third interface, and playing the first media content being played in the first display interface when the first display interface is switched to the third interface (¶ [0023]-[0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong system with the teaching of Yang, so that a user can do what he/she wants to do in a new interface without interrupting the user from continuing to watch the video in the benefits of enriching operations and enhancing user experiences (taught by Yang; ¶ [0029]).
Regarding claim 13, Xiong in view of Yang discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses wherein the first media content playing interface comprises the first interactive control displayed therein, and the first interactive control is configured to perform interaction with the first media content or a poster of the first media content (Xiong’s Figures 2A-2E; and taught by Yang; ¶ [0070]-[0086]).
Regarding claim 14, all functionalities of an electronic device in claim 14 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claim 1. Xiong in view of Yang further discloses electronic device comprises: one or more processors; and a memory (Xiong’s Figure 6; and Yang’s Figure 4).
Regarding claim 17, all limitations of claim 17 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claim 13.
Regarding claim 18, all limitations of claim 18 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claim 14.
Claims 2-4, 6-7, 9-10, 12, 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong (US 2021/0281909) in view of Yang (US 2017/0195613) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pan et al (US 8700714).
Regarding claim 2, Xiong in view of Yang discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses after the displaying the first media content in a first display interface, receiving a media content switching (taught by Yang; ¶ [0023]-[0025]), but is silent about switching the first media content played in the first display interface to a second media content, wherein the second media content is configured to be played on the display interfaces of users involved in the media content sharing.
Pan discloses after the displaying the first media content in a first display interface, receiving a media content switching; and in response to the media content switching, switching the first media content played in the first display interface to a second media content, wherein the second media content is configured to be played on the display interfaces of users involved in the media content sharing (Figure 7A; Col 4 lines 48-62 and Col 9 lines 4-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Yang system with the teaching of Pan about switching to a second video content to be played on other users involved in a media content sharing, so to enhance user viewing experiences.
Regarding claim 3, Xiong in view of Yang discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses after the displaying the first media content in a first display interface, receiving a first feedbacking of a request to enter the live broadcast room (taught by Xiong; ¶ [0050]-[0051]), but is silent about receiving a first feedbacking of a permission request message sent by the first user to a second user involved in the media content sharing; in response to the first feedbacking, enabling a media content control permission for displaying of the first media content in the first display interface for the second user, and upon receiving a media content control instruction sent by the second user, controlling the first media content played within the first display interface based on the media content control instruction.
Pan discloses receiving a first feedbacking of a permission request message sent by the first user to a second user involved in the media content sharing; in response to the first feedbacking, enabling a media content control permission for displaying of the first media content in the first display interface for the second user, and upon receiving a media content control instruction sent by the second user, controlling the first media content played within the first display interface based on the media content control instruction (Col 6 lines 55-61, Col 7 line 54 through Col 8 line 27 and Col 8 lines 48-62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Yang system with the teaching of Pan, so to enhance user viewing experience in a more secure environment.
Regarding claim 4, Xiong in view of Yang discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system is silent about receiving a second feedbacking of a share request message sent by the first user to a second user involved in the media content sharing; in response to the second feedbacking, sending a sharing feedback message to the second user, and playing a second media content shared by the second user in the first display interface.
Pan discloses receiving a second feedbacking of a share request message sent by the first user to a second user involved in the media content sharing; in response to the second feedbacking, sending a sharing feedback message to the second user, and playing a second media content shared by the second user in the first display interface (Figures 5A-5B and 7A-7C; Col 7 line 15 through Col 8 line 62 and Col 9 lines 30-45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Yang system with the teaching of Pan, so to enhance user viewing experience in a more secure environment.
Regarding claim 6, Xiong in view of Yang discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system is silent about displaying a user information control in the first display interface, and when a first clicking acting on the user information control being detected, displaying user information of individual users involved in the media content sharing.
Pan discloses displaying a user information control in the first display interface, and when a first clicking acting on the user information control being detected, displaying user information of individual users involved in the media content sharing (Figures 5-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Yang system with the teaching of Pan, so to enhance user viewing experience.
Regarding claim 7, Xiong in view of Yang discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses in response to a third triggering, displaying a second display interface, and playing a third media content shared by a third user in the second display interface (taught by Xiong; Figures 3A-3D), but is silent about playing a fourth media content in the second display interface in response to it being detected that the third media content is switched to the fourth media content.
Pan discloses in response to a third triggering, displaying a second display interface, and playing a third media content shared by a target user in the second display interface and playing a fourth media content in the second display interface in response to it being detected that the third media content is switched to the fourth media content (Figure 10; Col 4 lines 48-62, Col 5 lines 26-31, Col 9 lines 4-27 and Col 10 lines 56-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Yang system with the teaching of Pan, so to enhance user viewing experiences.
Regarding claim 9, Xiong in view of Yang and further in view of Pan discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 7. The combined system further discloses in response to a fourth triggering, sending a permission request message to the third user to apply for a media content control permission from the third user (taught by Pan; Col 6 lines 55-61);
for a scenario that the third user enables the media content control permission, in response to a fifth triggering for controlling the media content shared by the third user, generating a media content control instruction, and sending the media content control instruction to the third user to control the fourth media content shared by the third user (taught by Pan; Col 7 line 54 through Col 8 line 27 and Col 8 lines 48-62).
Regarding claim 10, Xiong in view of Yang and further in view of Pan discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 7. The combined system further discloses in response to a sixth triggering for applying for media content sharing, sending a sharing request message to the third user; receiving a sharing feedback message sent by the third user based on the sharing request message, playing a fifth media content in the second display interface, wherein the fifth media content is used to be played on a display interface of users involved in the media content sharing, and the users includes the third user (taught by Pan; Figures 5A-5B and 7A-7C; Col 7 line 15 through Col 8 line 62, and Col 9 lines 30-45).
Regarding claim 12, Xiong in view of Yang discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 7. The combined system further discloses wherein the third triggering is a second click operation acting on a control in a second media content playing interface, and before the receiving the third triggering, the method further comprises: displaying the second media content playing interface, and displaying the control in the second display interface (taught by Xiong; ¶ [0050], ¶ [0057]-[0059], ¶ [0070] and ¶ [0073]; and taught by Pan; Figures 5-7).
Regarding claim 15, all limitations of claim 15 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 2-4 or 6.
Regarding claim 16, all limitations of claim 16 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claim 7.
Regarding claims 19-20, all limitations of claims 19-20 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 15-16.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong (US 2021/0281909) in view of Yang (US 2017/0195613) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nimri et al (US 2014/0267550).
Regarding claim 5, Xiong in view of Yang discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses receiving a third feedbacking of a message sent by the first user to a second user involved in the media content sharing; in response to the third feedbacking, continuing to play the media content in the first display interface (taught by Xiong; ¶ [0045]-[0047] and ¶ [0069]-[0070]; and taught by Yang; ¶ [0045]-[0046] and ¶ [0086]-[0087]), but is silent about a call message of returning to display the first display interface.
Nimri discloses receiving a third feedbacking of a call message sent by the first user to a second user involved in the media content sharing; in response to the third feedbacking, returning to display the first display interface, and continuing to play the media content in the first display interface (¶ [0033]-[0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Yang system with the teaching of Nimri, so to enhance user viewing and interaction experiences.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong (US 2021/0281909) in view of Yang (US 2017/0195613) and Pan et al (US 8700714) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Hui et al (US 2013/0113989).
Regarding claim 8, Xiong in view of Yang and further in view Pan discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 7. The combined system is silent about if a next media content is not received after playing of the third media content is finished, then the third media content is cyclically played within the second display interface.
Hui discloses if a next media content is not received after playing of the third media content is finished, then the third media content is cyclically played within the second display interface (Figures 9 and 11; ¶ [0024], ¶ [0041-[0044] and ¶ [0050]-[0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Yang and Pan system with the teaching of Hui, so to enhance user viewing experiences.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong (US 2021/0281909) in view of Yang (US 2017/0195613) and Pan et al (US 8700714) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Nimri et al (US 2014/0267550).
Regarding claim 11, Xiong in view of Yang and further in view Pan discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 7. The combined system is silent about in response to it being detected that the third user is not available for media content sharing, displaying a call control; in response to a seventh triggering acting on the call control, sending a call message to the third user to call the third user to return to the media content sharing.
Nimri discloses in response to it being detected that the third user is not available for media content sharing, displaying a call control; in response to a seventh triggering acting on the call control, sending a call message to the third user to call the third user to return to the media content sharing (¶ [0033]-[0037])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Yang and Pan system with the teaching of Nimri, so to enhance user viewing and interaction experiences.
Conclusion
/GIGI L DUBASKY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421