DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 01/05/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 12,081,835 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
The objection to the Specification has been withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendment. A new title is accepted and entered.
The objection to the claims has been withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendment.
The Double Patenting has been withdrawn due to the submission of an approved terminal disclaimer.
The rejection under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant's arguments in the Remarks filed on 01/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the Applicant’s arguments (pages 12-13), Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is noted that claim 1 is rejected under a combined teachings of Xiong and Yang.
Xiong discloses all limitations of claim 1 involving media content sharing and multiple users synchronously watching shared media content functionalities as indicated in the previous Office action. Xiong does not disclose the limitations of “in response to a second triggering, switching the first display interface…; displaying the first display interface in form of a floating window… switched to the target interface” which is only relied on Yang’s teaching as indicated in the previous Office action.
The Applicant asserts that “Xiong discloses a media content sharing… That is, the technical logic of Xiong would require that the floating window… the possible combination would result in all terminals in the sharing session displaying floating windows, which contradicts the technical design of the present application (page 13).
In contrast, Xiong discloses the target video and the control operation (i.e., play, pause, stop, fast forward, backward) on the target video are only synchronized between a host device and guest devices (¶ [0043]-[0050]), while other control operations such as microphone request icons No.1-No.5 and search icon on the host device (Figures 2A and 2D-2E) are not sent to and not synchronized displaying on the guest devices (Figures 3A-3D). It means that the technical logic of Xiong would not require all control operations on the host device to be shared and synchronized on the guest devices. Thus, the combined teaching of Xiong and Yang would not result in all devices in a sharing session displaying floating windows as the Applicant’s assertion.
Therefore, Examiner maintains the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong (US 2021/0281909) in view of Yang (US 2017/0195613).
Regarding claim 1, Xiong discloses a media content sharing method, comprises:
displaying a first media content in a first media content playing interface (Figures 2B-C; ¶ [0044]);
enabling a target media content sharing, in response to receiving a first triggering from a first user (¶ [0029] and ¶ [0048]-[0051]);
displaying the first media content in a first display interface, and displaying a first interactive control (Figures 2A-2E; ¶ [0044]-[0047] and ¶ [0063]-[0069]), wherein the first media content is configured to be played on a display interface of users involved in the target media content sharing (Figures 3A-3D; ¶ [0048]-[0049] and ¶ [0070]-[0081]).
Xiong discloses in response to a second triggering of pause, fast forward or back operation of controlling video or voice chat is received, synchronizing video playing (¶ [0045]-[0047] and ¶ [0069]-[0070]), but is silent about switching the first display interface to a target interface which is an interface other than the first media content playing interface; displaying the first display interface in the form of a floating window in the target interface, and playing the first media content being played in the first display interface when the first display interface is switched to the target interface.
Yang discloses in response to a triggering, switching the first display interface to a target interface which is an interface other than the first media content playing interface; displaying the first display interface in form of a floating window in the target interface, and playing the first media content being played in the first display interface when the first display interface is switched to the target interface (¶ [0023]-[0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong system with the teaching of Yang, so that a user can do what he/she wants to do in a new interface without interrupting the user from continuing to watch the video in the benefits of enriching operations and enhancing user experiences (taught by Yang; ¶ [0029]).
Regarding claim 13, Xiong in view of Yang discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses wherein the first media content playing interface comprises the first interactive control displayed therein, and the first interactive control is configured to perform interaction with the first media content or a poster of the first media content (Xiong’s Figures 2A-2E; and taught by Yang; ¶ [0070]-[0086]).
Regarding claim 14, all functionalities of an electronic device in claim 14 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claim 1. Xiong in view of Yang further discloses electronic device comprises: one or more processors; and a memory (Xiong’s Figure 6; and Yang’s Figure 4).
Regarding claim 17, all limitations of claim 17 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claim 13.
Regarding claim 18, all limitations of claim 18 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claim 14.
Claims 2-4, 6-7, 9-10, 12, 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong (US 2021/0281909) in view of Yang (US 2017/0195613) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pan et al (US 8700714).
Regarding claim 2, Xiong in view of Yang discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses after the displaying the first media content in a first display interface, receiving a media content switching (taught by Yang; ¶ [0023]-[0025]), but is silent about switching the first media content played in the first display interface to a second media content, wherein the second media content is configured to be played on a display interface of users involved in the target media content sharing.
Pan discloses after the displaying the first media content in a first display interface, receiving a media content switching; and in response to the media content switching, switching the first media content played in the first display interface to a second media content, wherein the second media content is configured to be played on a display interface of users involved in the target media content sharing (Figure 7A; Col 4 lines 48-62 and Col 9 lines 4-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Yang system with the teaching of Pan about switching to a second video content to be played on other users involved in a media content sharing, so to enhance user viewing experiences.
Regarding claim 3, Xiong in view of Yang discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses after the displaying the first media content in a first display interface, receiving a first feedbacking of a request to enter the live broadcast room (taught by Xiong; ¶ [0050]-[0051]), but is silent about receiving a first feedbacking of a permission request message sent by the first user to a second user involved in the target media content sharing; in response to the first feedbacking, enabling a media content control permission for displaying of the first media content in the first display interface for the second user, and upon receiving a media content control instruction sent by the second user, controlling the first media content played within the first display interface based on the media content control instruction.
Pan discloses receiving a first feedbacking of a permission request message sent by the first user to a second user involved in the target media content sharing; in response to the first feedbacking, enabling a media content control permission for displaying of the first media content in the first display interface for the second user, and upon receiving a media content control instruction sent by the second user, controlling the first media content played within the first display interface based on the media content control instruction (Col 6 lines 55-61, Col 7 line 54 through Col 8 line 27 and Col 8 lines 48-62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Yang system with the teaching of Pan, so to enhance user viewing experience in a more secure environment.
Regarding claim 4, Xiong in view of Yang discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system is silent about receiving a second feedbacking of a share request message sent by the first user to a second user involved in the target media content sharing; in response to the second feedbacking, sending a sharing feedback message to the second user, and playing a second media content shared by the second user in the first display interface.
Pan discloses receiving a second feedbacking of a share request message sent by the first user to a second user involved in the target media content sharing; in response to the second feedbacking, sending a sharing feedback message to the second user, and playing a second media content shared by the second user in the first display interface (Figures 5A-5B and 7A-7C; Col 7 line 15 through Col 8 line 62 and Col 9 lines 30-45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Yang system with the teaching of Pan, so to enhance user viewing experience in a more secure environment.
Regarding claim 6, Xiong in view of Yang discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system is silent about displaying a user information control in the first display interface, and when a first clicking acting on the user information control is detected, displaying user information of individual users involved in the target media content sharing.
Pan discloses displaying a user information control in the first display interface, and when a first clicking acting on the user information control is detected, displaying user information of individual users involved in the target media content sharing (Figures 5-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Yang system with the teaching of Pan, so to enhance user viewing experience.
Regarding claim 7, Xiong in view of Yang discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses in response to a third triggering, displaying a second display interface, and playing a third media content shared by a target user in the second display interface (taught by Xiong; Figures 3A-3D), but is silent about playing a fourth media content in the second display interface when it is detected that the third media content is switched to the fourth media content.
Pan discloses in response to a third triggering, displaying a second display interface, and playing a third media content shared by a target user in the second display interface and playing a fourth media content in the second display interface when it is detected that the third media content is switched to the fourth media content (Figure 10; Col 4 lines 48-62, Col 5 lines 26-31, Col 9 lines 4-27 and Col 10 lines 56-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Yang system with the teaching of Pan, so to enhance user viewing experiences.
Regarding claim 9, Xiong in view of Yang and further in view of Pan discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 7. The combined system further discloses in response to a fourth triggering, sending a permission request message to the target user to apply for a media content control permission from the target user (taught by Pan; Col 6 lines 55-61);
for a scenario that the target user enables the media content control permission, in response to a fifth triggering for controlling the media content shared by the target user, generating a media content control instruction, and sending the media content control instruction to the target user to control the fourth media content shared by the target user (taught by Pan; Col 7 line 54 through Col 8 line 27 and Col 8 lines 48-62).
Regarding claim 10, Xiong in view of Yang and further in view of Pan discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 7. The combined system further discloses in response to a sixth triggering for applying for media content sharing, sending a sharing request message to the target user; receiving a sharing feedback message sent by the target user based on the sharing request message, playing a fifth media content in the second display interface, wherein the fifth media content is used to be played on a display interface of users involved in the target media content sharing, and the users includes the target user (taught by Pan; Figures 5A-5B and 7A-7C; Col 7 line 15 through Col 8 line 62, and Col 9 lines 30-45).
Regarding claim 12, Xiong in view of Yang discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 7. The combined system further discloses wherein the third triggering is a second click operation acting on a control in a second media content playing interface, and before the receiving the third triggering, the method further comprises: displaying the second media content playing interface, and displaying the control in the second display interface (taught by Xiong; ¶ [0050], ¶ [0057]-[0059], ¶ [0070] and ¶ [0073]; and taught by Pan; Figures 5-7).
Regarding claim 15, all limitations of claim 15 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 2-4 or 6.
Regarding claim 16, all limitations of claim 16 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claim 7.
Regarding claims 19-20, all limitations of claims 19-20 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 15-16.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong (US 2021/0281909) in view of Yang (US 2017/0195613) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nimri et al (US 2014/0267550).
Regarding claim 5, Xiong in view of Yang discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. The combined system further discloses receiving a third feedbacking of a message sent by the first user to a second user involved in the target media content sharing; in response to the third feedbacking, continuing to play the media content in the first display interface (taught by Xiong; ¶ [0045]-[0047] and ¶ [0069]-[0070]; and taught by Yang; ¶ [0045]-[0046] and ¶ [0086]-[0087]), but is silent about a call message of returning to display the first display interface.
Nimri discloses receiving a third feedbacking of a call message sent by the first user to a second user involved in the target media content sharing; in response to the third feedbacking, returning to display the first display interface, and continuing to play the media content in the first display interface (¶ [0033]-[0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Yang system with the teaching of Nimri, so to enhance user viewing and interaction experiences.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong (US 2021/0281909) in view of Yang (US 2017/0195613) and Pan et al (US 8700714) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Hui et al (US 2013/0113989).
Regarding claim 8, Xiong in view of Yang and further in view Pan discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 7. The combined system is silent about if a next media content is not received after playing of the third media content is finished, then the third media content is cyclically played within the second display interface.
Hui discloses if a next media content is not received after playing of the third media content is finished, then the third media content is cyclically played within the second display interface (Figures 9 and 11; ¶ [0024], ¶ [0041-[0044] and ¶ [0050]-[0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Yang and Pan system with the teaching of Hui, so to enhance user viewing experiences.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong (US 2021/0281909) in view of Yang (US 2017/0195613) and Pan et al (US 8700714) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Nimri et al (US 2014/0267550).
Regarding claim 11, Xiong in view of Yang and further in view Pan discloses the media content sharing method as discussed in the rejection of claim 7. The combined system is silent about when it is detected that the target user is not available for media content sharing, displaying a call control; in response to a seventh triggering acting on the call control, sending a call message to the target user to call the target user to return to the media content sharing.
Nimri discloses when it is detected that the target user is not available for media content sharing, displaying a call control; in response to a seventh triggering acting on the call control, sending a call message to the target user to call the target user to return to the media content sharing (¶ [0033]-[0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiong in view of Yang and Pan system with the teaching of Nimri, so to enhance user viewing and interaction experiences.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GIGI L DUBASKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421