Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7 from Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argued that R(BitDepth) is a function dependent on the bit-depth of the image. While Applicant’s arguments are understood, the expression R(BitDepth) does not clearly explain the relationship between the bit-depth and R. It is unclear how R changes in relation to BitDepth. Paragraph 0197 teaches that R(BitDepth) = R = 0 , where R is considered as a rounding positive integer value (see for instance paragraphs 0041, 0067, 0080, 0082 and 0197 of the instant specification as-published). Therefore, the amount of guidance or direction in the application, as-originally filed, are not sufficient to enable a person skilled in the art on how to make and use the invention without undue experimentation.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). On pages 8-10 from Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argued that Zhu makes no reference to performing bit-shifting in relation to a clipping parameter and that the bit-shifting in Zhu is directed to a completely different “target” parameter (pixel values) relative to the present disclosure/Norkin (clipping parameter tc). While Applicant’s arguments are understood, Norkin clearly teaches performing bit-shifting in relation to a clipping parameter (see fig. 13 and col. 11 lines 1-20). Zhu, on the other hand, teaches right bit-shifting as a function dependent on bit-depth. The bit-shifting in Zhu is related to a deblocking process. Similarly, in Norkin, the bit-shifting is also related to a deblocking process. Therefore, Norkin in view of Zhu teach performing bit-shifting in relation to a clipping parameter, wherein the bit-shifting can be a function dependent on bit-depth of an image. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Double Patenting
4. Claims 1-5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,284,116 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the claims of this application and the patented claims is that Applicant has added the following limitations of “determining whether to apply a strong deblocking filtering to a first sample in the block of samples by comparing a value obtained from a difference between a first value of the first sample located on one side of an edge of the block of samples and a second value of a second sample located on the other side of the edge with a predetermined threshold based on the first parameter (tC) value” and “wherein N is a positive integer in a case where the bit-depth of the image is 8.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add some limitations because one of ordinary skill in the art would have realized that adding some limitations in the claims is an obvious expedient since the remaining elements perform the same functions as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963).
5. Claims 1-5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,081,804 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the claims of this application and the patented claims is that Applicant has added the following limitation of “determining whether to apply a strong deblocking filtering to a first sample in the block of samples by comparing a value obtained from a difference between a first value of the first sample located on one side of an edge of the block of samples and a second value of a second sample located on the other side of the edge with a predetermined threshold based on the first parameter (tC) value.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add some limitations because one of ordinary skill in the art would have realized that adding some limitations in the claims is an obvious expedient since the remaining elements perform the same functions as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963).
6. Claim 1-5 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/796,142 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘142 claims list all the features recited in claims 1-5 of the current application; also they are more narrow and therefore anticipates the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
7. Claim 1-5 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/796,131 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the claims of this application and the claims of the copending application is that Applicant has added the following limitations of “determining whether to apply a strong deblocking filtering to a first sample in the block of samples by comparing a value obtained from a difference between a first value of the first sample located on one side of an edge of the block of samples and a second value of a second sample located on the other side of the edge with a predetermined threshold based on the first parameter (tC) value” and “wherein N is a positive integer in a case where the bit-depth of the image is 8.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add some limitations because one of ordinary skill in the art would have realized that adding some limitations in the claims is an obvious expedient since the remaining elements perform the same functions as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
8. Claim 1-5 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5 of copending Application No. 18/796,120 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the claims of this application and the claims of the copending application is that Applicant has added the following limitations of “determining whether to apply a strong deblocking filtering to a first sample in the block of samples by comparing a value obtained from a difference between a first value of the first sample located on one side of an edge of the block of samples and a second value of a second sample located on the other side of the edge with a predetermined threshold based on the first parameter (tC) value” and “wherein N is a positive integer in a case where the bit-depth of the image is 8.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add some limitations because one of ordinary skill in the art would have realized that adding some limitations in the claims is an obvious expedient since the remaining elements perform the same functions as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an obtaining unit configured to…; a determining unit configured to…; and a filtering unit configured to… in claim 3.
11. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Specification does not support individual structure for each functionality claimed unit. Specification describes these routines as software embodied in a structure of a processor, see paragraphs 0225-0235. Thus, the claimed units are interpreted to be embodied on a processor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
13. Claims 1-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 1, 3 and 5 disclose “wherein the offset varies according to the bit-depth of the image.” It is unclear where said limitation is taught in the specification as-originally filed. The published version of the specification teaches an offset “R” as a rounding positive integer value (see paragraphs 0038, 0040, 0054, 0066, 0079, 0081 and 0198); however, nowhere in the specification the relationship between the bit-depth and R is taught. The amount of guidance or direction in the application, as-originally filed, are not sufficient to enable a person skilled in the art on how to make and use the invention without undue experimentation.
Claims 2 and 4 are held to be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 because of their dependency on the rejected claims 1 and 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norkin (US 10,575,021) in view of English Machine Translation of ZHU (CN 106911934 A).
As per claim 1, Norkin discloses a method of deblocking filtering for an image (fig. 9), the method comprising:
obtaining a first parameter value for deblocking filtering based on a second parameter value (see fig. 13, for instance tc2=(tc+1)>>1; col. 11 lines 1-20); and
determining whether to apply a strong deblocking filtering to a first sample in the block of samples by comparing a value obtained from a difference between a first value of the first sample located on one side of an edge of the block of samples and a second value of a second sample located on the other side of the edge with a predetermined threshold based on the first parameter (tC) value (col. 3 lines 29-45, The choice between the strong and the weak filtering is done separately for each line depending on the following condition |p0.sub.i−q0.sub.i|<((5*t.sub.c+1)>>1); and
obtaining a filtered sample value by performing the strong deblocking filtering on the first sample in the block of samples (see S1 of fig. 9) by using the first parameter value (col. 14 lines 5-25 show tc2 is used in the filtering process to obtain filtered pixels), the filtered sample value being limited by a range based on the first parameter value (see S2 of fig. 2), wherein obtaining the first parameter value(i.e. tc2) comprises: obtaining the second parameter value based on a quantization parameter value for the block of samples (col. 11 lines 46-58, the value of the parameter tc can be obtained based on the QP value determined for or associated with the block 10 of pixels 12, 14, 16, 18. For instance, the QP value can be used to retrieve tc from a look-up table, such as Table 1); and obtaining the first parameter value by adding an offset to the second parameter value…, and bit-shifting a result of the adding to right by N bits (see fig. 13, tc2=(tc+1)>>1, tc2 is obtained by adding 1 to tc and bit-shifting the result of the adding to right by 1), wherein N is a positive integer in a case where the bit-depth of the image is 8 (col. 4 lines 39-42, where BitDepth.sub.Y is the bit depth, for example 8 or 10), and wherein the offset varies according to the bit-depth of the image (since the clipping parameter tc of the current block depends on the clipping, as taught in col. 15 lines 14-16, and the clipping depends on bit-depth, as taught in col. 4 lines 39-42; therefore, the offset that is part of the clipping parameter depends on the bit-depth, for example 8 or 10). Although Norkin does not explicitly disclose a variable offset, it would have been obvious for one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to try different offset values, with reasonable expectation of success, from known values as a matter of design choice for the inventor to achieve the desired result
However, Norkin does not explicitly disclose obtaining a value N using a parameter value indicating a bit-depth of the image.
In the same field of endeavor, ZHU discloses obtaining a value N using a parameter value indicating a bit-depth of the image (according to the claimed invention, the deblocking process uses right-shift operation according to bit number precision).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the right shift operation in the deblocking filter of Norkin, as taught by ZHU, in order to improve filtering process by adjusting the deblocking function. This rationale applies to all combination of Norkin and ZHU used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
As per claim 2, Norkin discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the second parameter value is obtained from a table associating the value with the quantization parameter value (col. 11 lines 46-58, the value of the parameter tc can be obtained based on the QP value determined for or associated with the block 10 of pixels 12, 14, 16, 18. For instance, the QP value can be used to retrieve tc from a look-up table, such as Table 1).
As per claims 3-4, arguments analogous to those applied for claims 1-2 are applicable for claims 3-4.
As per claim 5, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 1 are applicable for claim 5; in addition, Norkin teaches a computer readable medium containing computer-executable instructions which causes a computer to perform the method claim (col. 25, lines 40-60).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED JEBARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482