DETAILED ACTION
The previous action (12/22/2025) is replaced/superseded. This is a supplemental Non-Final Office Action issued to apply art to previously indicated allowable subject matter. All claims are rejected now herein by the examiner adding an analysis for claims 3 and 5-7 (page 7 below). Nothing else is changed.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 2024-05-06. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 202420961112.2 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub 20200283220 by Vu (hereinafter “Vu”).
Regarding claim 1, Vu teaches a cold-keeping mug lid (Figs 1 & 7A-7B, [0038] [0043], an apparatus 1000 can keep the contents of a mug which is container 300 cold via a lid 200/2200 that has a cooling thermal unit 2410 wherein the “thermal unit is adapted to lower the temperature” of contents), comprising
a lid body (Figs 7A-7B, a lid body is an upper side 220 portion of lid 200/2200) and a cooling block (Fig 7B, 2410 is block shape); wherein
the lid body is provided with an accommodation groove (Figs 6 & 7B, [0042], an accommodation groove is shown accommodating the cooling block 2410, wherein “a threaded fastener 2465 disposed on an exterior side of the thermal unit 2410 and a mating threaded fastener 2460 disposed on an interior wall of the lid 2200… to removably secure the thermal unit to the lid”) and a drinking lip communicated with the accommodation groove (Figs 7A-7B, [0046], lid aperture 221 is proximal a surrounding lip “to rest comfortably against a user's lips to allow a user to drink directly”);
a first clamping part is arranged on a bottom wall of the accommodation groove (the thread of the lid’s accommodation groove is a first clamping part, shown on a bottom wall of the groove (note: threads necessarily provide clamping force)), and a second clamping part is arranged on the cooling block (the thread of the cooling block is a second clamping part, on the block); the cooling block is detachably installed on the lid body through the first clamping part and the second clamping part, and the first clamping part and the second clamping part are clamped with each other (Fig 7B, the threads/clamps are shown detachably threaded/clamped together).
Regarding claim 2, Vu further teaches the first clamping part is a side convex part arranged on a side wall of the accommodation groove (Fig 7B, a thread of on a side wall of the lid’s accommodation groove is a first clamping part that is shown as a convex part (i.e. bulging from the groove side and rounded)), and the second clamping part is a side groove arranged on the cooling block (Fig 7B, a thread of the block is shown as at least a groove on the block); and the cooling block is detachably installed on the lid body through the side convex part clamped in the side groove ([0042], the first and second clamp parts/threads “removably secure the thermal unit to the lid”).
Regarding claim 4, Vu further teaches the cooling block is further provided with a guide groove, and the guide groove is used for guiding liquid into the instant drinking hole (Fig 7B, a guide groove is the through hole of block 2410, shown capable of guiding liquid through 221).
Regarding claim 10, Vu further teaches a mug, comprising a mug body and the cold-keeping mug lid of claim 1, wherein the lid body covers the mug body (Figs 1 & 7A-7B shows mug and lid wherein the lid body of the lid covers a mug body of the mug).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub 20200283220 by Vu (hereinafter “Vu”) in view of US Pub 20190092540 by Spivey et al. (hereinafter “Spivey”).
Regarding claim 3, Vu further teaches the drinking lip comprises an instant drinking hole (Figs 7A-7B, 221),
But Vu does not explicitly teach a flip lid in a corresponding water storage groove.
Spivey, however, teaches a similar cold-keeping mug lid comprising:
an end of a lid body (Fig 6, an end defined by 608) facing away from an accommodation groove (Fig 8A, an accommodation groove defined by 820) is provided with a water storage groove (Fig 8C, not 810 but the groove above around it), and an instant drinking hole (Figs 8C, 830) arranged on an inner wall of the water storage groove (830 is on an inner wall of the water storage groove); and a flip lid rotatably installed on the lid body (Fig 8C, 612 rotates with shaft/pin 808 in pivot hole 880), and the flip lid is provided with a sealing part for sealing the instant drinking hole (Fig 8C, [0044], plug 860 is a sealing part of the lid for 830 for a “liquid-tight barrier”, along with “locking tab 840 [that forms a fastening groove] on locking mechanism 616 extends over and then under raised [annular convex] edge 604 to hold second cover 612 in is closed position”, [0042], Figs 3 & 8A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lid of Vu to have a flip lid inserted into it with corresponding water storage groove as taught by Spivey, since Vu considers a pivot/flip lid (“a valve [222 lid (Fig 7A)] pivotally secured over the lid aperture [221]” [0047]), as it is no more than a simple substitution of one mug lid body type for another that is known in the art for closing a drinking hole and would only produce the predictable results of selectively closing the drinking hole. MPEP 2143 I-B.
Regarding claim 8, Vu/Spivey further teaches the inner wall of the water storage groove is provided with a rotating hole, the flip lid is provided with a rotating shaft, and the flip lid is rotatably installed on the lid body through the rotating shaft rotatably inserted into the rotating hole (Spivey, Fig 8C, 612 rotates with shaft/pin 808 in pivot hole 880). See details in the parent claim 3 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Regarding claim 9, Vu/Spivey further teaches the end of the lid body facing away from the accommodation groove is provided with an annular convex edge, and the flip lid is further provided with a fastening groove; and the flip lid covers the lid body through the fastening groove clamped on the annular convex edge, and the sealing part blocks the instant drinking hole (Spivey, “locking tab 840 [that forms a fastening groove] on locking mechanism 616 extends over and then under raised [annular convex] edge 604 to hold second cover 612 in is closed position”, [0042], Figs 3 & 8A). See details in the parent claim 3 rejection above, including the motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Claims 3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub 20200283220 by Vu (hereinafter “Vu”) in view of US Pub 20170273484 by Spivey et al. (hereinafter “Spivey ‘484”).
Regarding claim 3, Vu further teaches the drinking lip comprises an instant drinking hole (Figs 7A-7B, 221),
But Vu does not explicitly teach a flip lid in a corresponding lid water storage groove.
Spivey ‘484, however, teaches an end of a lid body (Fig 6, an end defined by 608) facing away from an accommodation groove (Fig 8, an accommodation groove defined underneath 608) is provided with a water storage groove (Fig 8, a water storage groove is around a straw hole 812 and an air inlet vent port 814, below 608), and an instant drinking hole (Figs 8, 816) arranged on an inner wall of the water storage groove (Fig 9B, 816 is on an inner wall of the water storage groove); and a flip lid rotatably installed on the lid body (Figs 8-9, 612 rotates with shaft/pin 808 in pivot hole 880), and the flip lid is provided with a sealing part for sealing the instant drinking hole (Figs 8 & 9B, [0042], “sealing member 902, which is attached to (or formed on) the underside of the first cover 612 in order to seal/close the spout opening 816 when the first cover 612 is closed, so as to prevent liquid from spilling from the vessel 102”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lid of Vu to have a flip lid inserted into it with corresponding water storage groove as taught by Spivey, since Vu considers a pivot/flip lid ("a valve [222 lid (Fig 7A)] pivotally secured over the lid aperture [221]" [0047]), as it is no more than a simple substitution of one mug lid body type for another that is known in the art for closing a drinking hole and would only produce the predictable results of selectively closing the drinking hole. MPEP 2143 I-B.
Regarding claim 5, Vu does not explicitly teach a separate drinking straw hole.
Spivey ‘484, however, teaches the drinking lip further comprises a drinking straw hole (Fig 8, 812) arranged on the inner wall of the water storage groove (Fig 8, the water storage groove is around the straw hole 812 (which is on its inner wall) and an air inlet vent port 814, below 608), and the cold-keeping mug lid further comprises a straw, and the straw is detachably installed on the lid body by being inserted into the drinking straw hole (Fig 12, detachably inserted straw 1202).
But Vu/Spivey ‘484 does not explicitly teach a [second] through hole in the cooling block.
However, Vu discloses having a through hole in the cooling block 2410 aligned for either the instant drinking hole 221 or inserting a straw through the straw hole 221 (“lid aperture 221 is circular and sized to receive a straw, whereas the lid aperture in other embodiments is shaped in any suitable manner such as to rest comfortably against a user's lips to allow a user to drink directly from the portable thermal insulated apparatus” [0046], “the lid aperture 221 is offset from the center of the upper surface 220 to prevent any obstruction from the handle 210 while drinking directly from therefrom or through a straw” [0047]). And Spivey ‘484 discloses a separate and distinct lid straw hole from a lid instant drinking hole.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lid and corresponding cooling block of Vu to have both a straw hole and instant drinking hole together as taught by Spivey ‘484 – and each align with a cooling block through hole – in order to advantageously be able to pour out contents to share through the instant drinking hole, and simultaneously have more reach for personal use with a straw preventing spilling from jostling (which is a risk with the instant drinking hole). In other words, a POSITA/user wanting the benefits of Spivey ‘484 two hole lid would find it obvious to make a second though hole in the cooling block of Vu, meeting the claim limitation “the cooling block is further provided with a through hole; the straw is detachably installed on the lid body by being inserted into the drinking straw hole and the through hole”.
Examiner notes the resultant combination yields the claimed invention via the lid and cooling block of Vu having an instant drinking hole and straw hole of Spivey ‘484 each with aligned cooling block through holes, the lid body of Vu also having a straw hole sealing lid in a drinking hole sealing flip lid as modified by Spivey ‘484.
Regarding claim 6, Vu does not explicitly teach that the cold-keeping mug lid further comprises a sealing lid installed on the lid body, for the straw hole.
Spivey ‘484, however, teaches a sealing lid installed on the lid body, and the sealing lid is used for sealing or unsealing the drinking straw hole (Fig 8, 614; [0043] “the second cover 614 is in the closed position such that seal 802 covers the straw hole 812”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sealing lid of Spivey ‘484 sealingly cover the straw hole as taught by Spivey ‘484 in order to advantageously protect the otherwise exposed hole.
Regarding claim 7, Vu does not explicitly teach that the cold-keeping mug lid further comprises an air inlet valve [on the straw hole] or the flip lid is further provided with an accommodation through hole, for the straw sealing.
Spivey ‘484, however, teaches an air inlet installed in the water storage groove (Fig 8, 814); and/or the flip lid (612) is further provided with an accommodation through hole (Figs 8-9, an accommodation through hole/space is shown in 612); the flip lid covers the lid body (612 covers at least a portion of lid body 602), the sealing part blocks the instant drinking hole (Figs 8 & 9A-9B, 902 blocks 816), and the sealing lid (614) is positioned in the accommodation through hole (Figs 8-9, 614 shown positioned in the accommodation through hole of 612).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the water storage groove of Vu/Spivey ‘484 to include an air inlet as taught by Spivey ‘484 in order to advantageously improve drinking through the straw by reducing suction resistance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the flip lid of Spivey ‘484 to include an accommodation through hole as taught by Spivey ‘484 in order to advantageously accommodate the straw hole and its sealing lid for improved streamlined aesthetics and material savings on the flip lid.
Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the air inlet of Spivey ‘484 a valve as taught by Vu [0047] as it is no more than a simple substitution of one pressure equalizing air inlet for another that is known in the art for equalizing pressure and would only produce the predictable results of improved suction for smoother flow of contents such as through the straw. MPEP 2143 I-B.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
US 0287205 - straw through ice chamber integral to lid (Fig 2)
US 1892988 - vented cooling block in lid accommodation groove (Fig 2)
US 7111748 - straw through lid and block into contents, but block is not cooling and only has one hole (Figs 1-2)
US 20210369023 - similar lid with flip lid and straw hole and drinking hole but no cooling block (Figs 5-6)
US 20240092535 - similar lid with flip lid and straw hole and drinking hole but no cooling block (Figs 1-2)
JP 2004049863 - straw through one hole in a cooling block (Fig 1)
CN 117898579 - one drinking hole gap in cooling block (Figs 1 & 5)
/ERIC C BALDRIGHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 21 January 2026