DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 1000a in figure 3, and 1000b and 3000b in figure 4.
Specification
The use of the term “Velcro”(see para. [0035] and para. [0036]), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
In the instant case, Applicant has not provided the proper symbol indicating use in commerce, such as, TM, SM or ® following the term.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities: in line 11 of claim 2, “smaller” should read --a smaller-- and in line 11 of claim 2, “the length” should read --a length--; and in line 30 of claim 4, “than the” should read --than a--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of “the other end” is indefinite in that the claim has not established that the injury cover portion has two ends, thus “the other end” lacks proper antecedent basis. Applicant is advised to amend the claim to recite --an end opposite the one end -- or similar language.
Regarding claim 3, “the other end” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 4, “the other end” in line 22 lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 2 and which depends from claim 1 is necessarily rejected by virtue of its dependence on claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a connecting member” in claims 1 and 4.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,251,296 (“the ‘296 patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are broader is in scope.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the ‘296 patent claims an injury contact prevention band comprising (see 1, line 1): an injury cover portion configured to cover a part of a body including an injury (see line 2-3); and a fastening portion configured to fasten the injury cover portion to the body, wherein the fastening portion includes (see lines 4-6): a first flexible fastening member extending from one end of the injury cover portion (se lines 7-8), a second flexible fastening member extending from the other end of the injury cover portion (see lines 9-10), and a connecting member detachably connecting an end of the first flexible fastening member and an end of the second flexible fastening member to each other (see lines 11-13), wherein a plurality of injury opening holes cutting through a thickness of the injury cover portion to expose the injury, the plurality of injury opening holes being arranged along at least one direction (see lines 14-17), and wherein a plurality of hole cover portions located in the plurality of injury opening holes respectively is connected to the injury cover portion so as to be separable from the plurality of injury opening holes respectively, and outer perimeter surfaces thereof fittingly engage with inner perimeter surfaces of the plurality of injury opening holes respectively (see lines 18-24).
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 of the ‘296 patent claims the injury contact prevention band of claim 1, wherein gap areas are located between the hole cover portions and the injury opening holes respectively (see lines 25-26), wherein each of the gap areas includes (see line 27): a plurality of separation areas where the plurality of hole cover portions and the injury cover portion are separated from each other, and (lines 28-30) a plurality of connection areas where the plurality of hole cover portions and the injury cover portion are connected to each other (see lines 31-33), wherein the plurality of the separation areas and the plurality of connection areas are arranged alternately along a circumferential direction of the gap areas respectively, and (see lines 34-37) wherein the plurality of connection areas has smaller length than the length of the plurality of separation areas (see lines 38-40).
Regarding claim 4, claim 1 of the ‘296 patent claims an injury contact prevention band comprising: (see line 1) an injury cover portion to cover a part of a body including an injury; and (see lines 2-3) a fastening portion to fasten the injury cover portion to the body (see lines 4-5), wherein the fastening portion includes: (see line 6) a first flexible fastening member extending from one end of the injury cover portion (see lines 7-8), a second flexible fastening member extending from another end of the injury cover portion, and (see lines 9-10) a connecting member detachably connecting an end of the first flexible fastening member and an end of the second flexible fastening member to each other (see lines 11-13), wherein a plurality of injury opening holes cutting through a thickness of the injury cover portion to expose the injury, the plurality of injury opening holes being arranged along at least one direction (see lines 14-17), wherein a plurality of hole cover portions located in the plurality of injury opening holes respectively is connected to the injury cover portion so as to be separable from the plurality of injury opening holes respectively, and outer perimeter surfaces thereof fittingly engage with inner perimeter surfaces of the plurality of injury opening holes respectively (see lines 18-24), wherein gap areas are located between the hole cover portions and the injury opening holes respectively (see lines 25-26), wherein each of the gap areas includes (see line 27) a plurality of separation areas where the plurality of hole cover portions and the injury cover portion are separated from each other, and (see lines 28-30) a plurality of connection areas where the plurality of hole cover portions and the injury cover portion are connected to each other (see lines 31-33), wherein the plurality of the separation areas and the plurality of connection areas are arranged alternately along a circumferential direction of the gap areas respectively, and (see lines 34-37) wherein the plurality of connection areas has a smaller length than the length of the plurality of separation areas (see lines 38-40), wherein the injury cover portion has a cut portion indented from an outer perimeter toward a central area in an end area between one end and the other end of an edge area thereof (see lines 41-44).
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-3 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,251,296 (“the ‘296 patent”). This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 3 which depends on claims 1 and 2 of the instant application, claims the same invention as that recited in claim 1 of the ‘296 patent. More specifically, regarding instant claim 3, claim 1 of the ‘296 patent claims an injury contact prevention band of claim 2 (see claim 1, lines 1-40), wherein the injury cover portion has a cut portion indented from an outer perimeter toward a central area in an end area between one end and the other end of an edge area thereof (see claim 1, lines 41-44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 3,561,442 (“Goswitz”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,983,489 (“Caprio”)
Regarding claim 1, Goswitz discloses a mastectomy bandage that substantially discloses Applicant’s presently claimed invention. More specifically, Goswitz discloses an injury contact prevention band (constituted by body strip 1, see Figs. 1 and 2 and col. 1, lines 46-47) comprising: an injury cover portion configured to cover a part of a body including an injury (note the portion identified in annotated Fig. 1 below); and a fastening portion configured to fasten the injury cover portion to the body, wherein the fastening portion includes: a first flexible fastening member extending from one end of the injury cover portion (see annotated Fig. 1 below), a second flexible fastening member extending from the other end of the injury cover portion (see annotated Fig. 1 below), and a connecting member (5,7 shown in annotated Fig. 1 below, see also col. 1, lines 63-69) detachably connecting an end of the first flexible fastening member and an end of the second flexible fastening member to each other (see col. 1, lines 55-62, which disclose Velcro hook and pile type connections connect the free ends, see also annotated Fig. 1 below and Fig. 2), wherein an injury opening hole cutting through a thickness of the injury cover portion to expose the injury (note col. 1, lines 1-5 which discloses the bandage is for use over the area of a mastectomy, col. 3, lines 1-5 which discloses opening, and Fig. 2), and wherein a hole cover portion (cup 9, see Figs. 1 and 2 and col. 2, lines 5-10) located in the injury opening hole is connected to the injury cover portion so as to be separable from the injury opening hole (cup 9, see Fig. 2 and col. 2, lines 55-57, which discloses a substantial portion of the periphery of the cup is free of attachment; thus it is partially separable), and an outer perimeter surface thereof fittingly engages with an inner perimeter surface of the injury opening hole (when strips 11 and 12 are engaged, see Figs 1 and 2).
Goswitz fails to teach a plurality of injury opening holes cutting through a thickness of the injury cover portion to expose the injury, the plurality of injury opening holes being arranged along at least one direction, wherein a plurality of hole cover portions located in the plurality of injury opening holes respectively is connected to the injury cover portion so as to be separable from the plurality of injury opening holes respectively.
However, Caprio in its analogous disclosure of bra teaches it is known to provide with a bra with two horizontally aligned holes (openings 22, see Fig. 2 and col. 5, line 55-59) for the purpose of receiving and covering both breasts of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to have duplicated the opening and cup of Goswitz, wherein the holes are arranged in a line in order to receive and cover both breast of a user. Such modification results in a plurality of injury opening holes cutting through a thickness of the injury cover portion to expose the injury, the plurality of injury opening holes being arranged along at least one direction, wherein a plurality of hole cover portions located in the plurality of injury opening holes respectively is connected to the injury cover portion so as to be separable from the plurality of injury opening holes respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in that they disclose bands having an opening for protecting an injury. See U.S. Patent 5264218, 61007536, 8237008 and 8591447.
/KIM M LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786