DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected process, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/02/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 8/02/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (Pub. No. US 2021/0159200) in view of Sapozhnikov et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0397343) in view of Salkovic et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0195749).
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a carrier plate 21 configured for a power supply module, comprising at least one hollowed-out area 21r, an inductance element 20 is arranged in the hollowed-out area, a side wall metal piece 22 is arranged on at least one part of a side wall of the hollowed-out area, and the inductance element is fixedly connected with the side wall of the hollowed-out area through an insulating bonding medium layer 23.
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose that the inductance element comprises a magnetic core and a winding penetrating through the magnetic core, the at least one side wall metal piece is configured for being electrically connected with one electrostatic potential end of the power supply module.
Sapozhnikov discloses at least one side wall metal piece is configured for being electrically connected with one electrostatic potential end of the power supply module (¶0019).
Salkovic discloses a component comprising a magnetic core and a winding penetrating through the magnetic core (¶0012-0013).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the at least one side wall metal piece be configured for being electrically connected with one electrostatic potential end of the power supply module as similarly taught by Sapozhnikov, since it has been held by the courts that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the component of Lee have a magnetic core and a winding penetrating through the magnetic core as similarly taught by Salkovic in order to provide an easy to manufacture inductor (¶0013).
As to claim 10, Lee discloses that at least a part of the side wall metal piece does not extend to at least one surface of the carrier plate in a thickness direction of the carrier plate (fig. 5D).
As to claim 12, Lee discloses that at least one surface of the carrier plate is provided with a wiring layer (figs. 3 and 5A shows conductive traces 21a as well as a wiring layer connected to the through-holes on surfaces 211 and 212).
As to claim 13, Lee discloses that the wiring layer comprises an insulating dielectric region between wirings (figs. 3, 5A, 5G).
As to claim 14, Lee discloses that at least one surface of the carrier plate is provided with a printed circuit board stack layer 10, 11 (fig. 1), the printed circuit board stack layer is fixedly connected with the carrier plate through an insulating bonding medium layer, and the printed circuit board stack layer is electrically connected with the carrier plate through a bonding material piece (fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9, 11, 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding dependent claim 2, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that discloses wherein a first outer side metal piece corresponding to a position of the side wall metal piece is arranged on an outer side wall of at least one part of the carrier plate, and the first outer side metal piece and the corresponding side wall metal piece are respectively configured for being electrically connected with terminals with different electrical properties of the power supply module. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 11, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that discloses a signal electrical connector, wherein the signal electrical connector is arranged in a through hole, and shielding of electromagnetic interference is achieved between the signal electrical connector and the winding through the side wall metal piece. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 15, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 14, a combination of limitations that discloses wherein a side wall of the carrier plate and a side wall of the printed circuit board stack layer are provided with an integrated outer metal piece. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 16, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 14, a combination of limitations that discloses wherein at least one of the printed circuit board stack layers is provided with a laminated hollowed-out area, the laminated hollowed-out area is configured for arranging a power supply circuit assembly, and the power supply circuit assembly comprises a capacitor. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tseng et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0287182) discloses a component embedded in an opening with metal sidewalls.
Hsu et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0062775) discloses an inductor embedded in an opening.
/AMOL H PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847