DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 8-15 in the reply filed on August 26, 2026 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
The following claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the corresponding claims in the table below of U.S. Patent No. 12,053,563.
Pending claims
Patent claims
8
8
9
9
10
10
11
12
13
13
14
14
15
15
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claim requires that the carrier contains all three compounds wherein the pending claims only require one. Therefore, It is clear that all the elements of the application claim 8 are to be found in patent claim 8 (as the application claim 8 fully encompasses patent claim 8). The difference between the application claim 8 and the patent claim 8 lies in the fact that the patent claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claim 8 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claim 8. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claim 8 is anticipated by claim 8 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claim 8 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Flachsmann et al (US 2010/0209378).
With regards to claim 8, Flachsmann teaches a fragrance composition for consumer products (abstract) that contains a plurality of fragrances (0082 example 7) and solvents that include cyclomethicone (0054), isopropyl myristate (0054), and 3-methoxy-3-methyl-1-butanol (0087 example 8). Flachsmann teaches the components to be combined and place into a container (0087) and for the compounds to be selected in order to increase the effectiveness over time (0004).
With regards to claim 9, Flachsmann teaches the fragrance to include essential oils (0049).
With regards to claim 10, Flachsmann teaches fragrance to be 75% in 25% solvent (0083) and then diluted with the carrier at a 75:25 ratio of carrier:fragrance ratio (0087) reading on 18.75% fragrance.
With regards to claim 11, Flachsmann teaches the amount of carrier to be 75% (0087).
With regards to claim 14, Flachsmann teaches the composition to be used in different containers such as glass bottles (0087) and for the composition to be used in aerosol, sprays, liquids, solid, gels, and powders (0042) all using different containers.
With regards to claim 15, Flachsmann is silent on the ability of the composition to minimize damage caused by each fragrance. However, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01. Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant’s claimed composition in that the claimed components in the claimed amounts are used, the claimed physical properties relating to the ability of the composition to minimize damage caused by the fragrance are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
Claims 8-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herd et al (US 2011/0095097).
With regards to claim 8, Herd teaches air freshener systems (abstract) that includes the use of cyclomethicone in combination with other solvents (abstract), such as 3-methoxy-3-methyl-1-butanol (0030), in order to enhance performance and maintain consistent fragrance (abstract). Herd teaches the fragrance to include several types of fragrances (0037) to be used in combination (0049).
With regards to claim 9, Herd teaches the fragrance to include oils (0005).
With regards to claim 10, Herd teaches the amount of fragrance to be 15% by weight (0045).
With regards to claim 11, Herd teaches the composition to contain 85% solvent (0045).
With regards to claim 14, Herd teaches the use of different containers depending on the use of the composition, such as a glass container (0035).
With regards to claim 15, Herd is silent on the ability of the composition to minimize damage caused by each fragrance. However, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01. Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant’s claimed composition in that the claimed components in the claimed amounts are used, the claimed physical properties relating to the ability of the composition to minimize damage caused by the fragrance are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
Claims 1-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeung et al (WO 2012/088758).
With regards to claim 8, Yeung teaches a composition for air freshening or disinfecting (abstract) that contains fragrances (abstract) and solvents and co-solvents that includes isopropylmyristate (pages 3 and 14) and 3-methoxy-3-methyl-1-butanol (page 14). Yeung teaches the composition to contain a mixture of multiple fragrance compounds (page 11).
With regards to claim 9, Yeung teaches the fragrance to include essential oils (page 13).
With regards to claim 10, Yeung teaches the concentration of the fragrance to range from 5 vol% to 20 vol% (pages 26-30 examples 14-23).
With regards to claim 11, Yeung teaches the total amount of solvent to be from 95-80% (pages 26-30 examples 14-23).
With regards to claim 14, Yeung teaches the composition capable of use in either plastic or glass bottles with no limitation on the size or shape of the container (page 15).
With regards to claim 15, Yeung is silent on the ability of the composition to minimize damage caused by each fragrance. However, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01. Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant’s claimed composition in that the claimed components in the claimed amounts are used, the claimed physical properties relating to the ability of the composition to minimize damage caused by the fragrance are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flachsmann et al (US 2010/0209378).
The disclosure of Flachsmann is adequately set forth in paragraph 6 above and is herein incorporated by reference.
With regards to claim 12 and 13, Flachsmann does not teach the concentration of the claimed compounds.
It is first important to note that the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim only requires one of the claimed compounds. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. See MPEP 2144.05. Further, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 124 (CCPA 1955). In this case, one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention would know to alter the amount of a given solvent in order to balance factors such as composition viscosity, volatility, and other properties of the composition.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herd et al (US 2011/0095097).
The disclosure of Herd is adequately set forth in paragraph 7 above and is herein incorporated by reference.
With regards to claim 12 and 13, Herd teaches the amount of the cyclomethicone to be from 50-60% and the amount of the 3-methoxy-3-methyl-1-butanol to be from 8-13% (claim 12).
Herd does not teach the claimed concentrations of either component. However, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. See MPEP 2144.05. Further, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 124 (CCPA 1955). In this case, one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention would know at alter the amount of a given solvent in order to balance factors such as composition viscosity, volatility, and other properties of the composition.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeung et al (WO 2012/088758).
The disclosure of Yeung is adequately set forth in paragraph 8 above and is herein incorporated by reference.
With regards to claim 12 and 13, Yeung does not teach the concentration of the claimed compounds.
It is first important to note that the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim only requires one of the claimed compounds. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. See MPEP 2144.05. Further, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 124 (CCPA 1955). In this case, one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention would know to alter the amount of a given solvent in order to balance factors such as composition viscosity, volatility, and other properties of the composition.
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763