DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“fastening portion”/ “a first fastening member”/ “a second fastening member” (Being interpreted as bands or straps based on the provided figures for the shape and structure of the fastening portion and its first and second members, and [0030-0033] wherein the fastening portion and its members are described to be flexible or elastic, and formed of common strap materials, thus the fastening portions are being interpreted to be bands/straps and any equivalents thereof),
“a connecting member” (Interpreted as zipper, hook and loop, detachable equivalents based on [0034] in the instant specification), in claims 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 2 are indefinite as they each recite the following: “an injury opening hole cuts to expose the injury” in lines 3-4 and lines 7-8; “the injury opening hole” in lines 15-16; “a plurality of injury opening holes is arranged along at least one direction” in line 17; “a plurality of injury opening hole openings corresponds to the plurality of injury opening holes respectively” in lines 18-19; wherein Examiner finds it unclear if these are all referring to a same singular opening hole (and their plurality) or if these are different structures.
Claim 3 rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horrigan (US 10159549 B1) in view of Bedford (US 20180021177 A1) and French (US 0260561 A).
Regarding claim 1, Horrigan discloses an injury contact prevention band (Figures 1-8, see Abstract, this is a bandage for preventing pet injury contact) comprising:
an injury cover portion 12/18 (Figure 3) configured to cover a part of a body including an injury, to have a thickness through which an injury opening hole 14 cuts to expose the injury (Figures 1-6, injury cover portion 12/18 covers a body part injury);
a fastening portion 22 (straps 22) configured to fasten the injury cover portion 12/18 to the body (Figures 5-6); and
a hard cover portion 20 (Figure 3) configured to cover an outer surface of the injury cover portion 12/18 (Figure 3, 20 is covering 12/18), to have hardness (Col. 3 lines 20-32, wherein 20 may be a rough facing hook and loop layer material wherein hook material has an inherent hardness and a surface that is rough is implicitly must have a hardness, Col. 4 lies 9-17, the exterior surface 20 may even be sandpaper wherein sandpaper is a hard material) and a thickness through which an injury opening hole opening 14 cuts (Figure 3, hole 14 cuts through 20),
wherein the fastening portion 22 includes:
a first fastening member 22-1 extending from an end of the injury cover portion 12/18 and having flexibility (See Annotated Figure 1, there are two ends to each of two straps 22 provided at opposite ends of 12/18, built for wrapping as seen in Figure 6 thus flexible, wherein one extending end portion may be termed a first fastening member 22),
a second fastening member 22-2 extending from another end of the injury cover portion 12/18 and having flexibility (See Annotated Figure 1, there are two ends to each of two straps 22 provided at opposite ends of 12/18, built for wrapping as seen in Figure 6 thus flexible, wherein the oppositely extending ends of each 22 each extend to opposite sides/ends therein),
a connecting member detachably connecting an end of the first fastening member and an end of the second fastening member to each other (Col. 3 lines 32-37, the ends of straps 22 may either be tied thus their ends being a connecting member for detachably connecting the ends of the first and second fastening members, or the connecting member may be an adhesive for detachably attaching the ends of the straps 22), and
a hole cover portion 26 (Figures 1-6) configured to cover the injury opening hole 14, and to be separatable from the injury opening hole 14 (Col. 3 lines 37-52),
wherein a plurality of injury opening holes 14 is arranged along at least one direction (Figure 1),
wherein a plurality of injury opening hole openings 14 corresponds to the plurality of injury opening holes 14 respectively (Figure 3, the openings 14 in 20 correspond with the openings 14 in 12/18),
wherein the injury cover portion has a cut portion indented (the hole in the underside of the device is the cut portion indented) from an outer perimeter toward a central area thereof in an end area between an end and another end of an edge area thereof (See Annotated Figure 2 of Horrigan, wherein there is a cut portion indented into the structure herein, indicated outer perimeter is on the outside portion of the device).
Horrigan does not disclose the injury cover portion having flexibility and elasticity.
However, Bedford teaches an analogous injury covering band (Figures 1-7) with an injury cover portion 14 (Figure 3) that is made of a flexible closed-cell foam material (flexible closed-cell foam is flexible and thus also has an elasticity [0014]) that may be further doped with anti-infectant and antibiotic cream (see [0023])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the injury cover portion 12/18 of Horrigan to be made of flexible closed-cell foam as taught by Bedford thus providing flexibility and elasticity in order to provide a material that may be impregnated with antibiotic and sufficiently protect the wound (Bedford [0014, 0019, 0023])
Horrigan does not disclose the fastening members having elasticity.
However, French teaches an analogous injury covering band (Figures 1-4) with analogous fastening members b/c (Figure 2) and an analogous connecting member d (buckle) for fastening ends of the members b/c together (lines 23-24), wherein the fastening members a/b are elastic straps (lines 22-23)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the fastening members 22 of Horrigan with elasticity as taught by French in order to enable the device to be fitted and used on varying sizes of limb.
Regarding claim 2, Horrigan discloses an injury contact prevention band (Figures 1-8, see Abstract, this is a bandage for preventing pet injury contact) comprising:
an injury cover portion 12/18 (Figure 3) configured to cover a part of a body including an injury, to have a thickness through which an injury opening hole 14 cuts to expose the injury (Figures 1-6, injury cover portion 12/18 covers a body part injury);
a fastening portion 22 (straps 22) configured to fasten the injury cover portion 12/18 to the body (Figures 5-6); and
a hard cover portion 20 (Figure 3) configured to cover an outer surface of the injury cover portion 12/18 (Figure 3, 20 is covering 12/18), to have hardness (Col. 3 lines 20-32, wherein 20 may be a rough facing hook and loop layer material wherein hook material has an inherent hardness and a surface that is rough is implicitly must have a hardness, Col. 4 lies 9-17, the exterior surface 20 may even be sandpaper wherein sandpaper is a hard material) and a thickness through which an injury opening hole opening 14 cuts (Figure 3, hole 14 cuts through 20),
wherein the fastening portion 22 includes:
a first fastening member 22-1 extending from an end of the injury cover portion 12/18 and having flexibility (See Annotated Figure 1, there are two ends to each of two straps 22 provided at opposite ends of 12/18, built for wrapping as seen in Figure 6 thus flexible, wherein one extending end portion may be termed a first fastening member 22),
a second fastening member 22-2 extending from another end of the injury cover portion 12/18 and having flexibility (See Annotated Figure 1, there are two ends to each of two straps 22 provided at opposite ends of 12/18, built for wrapping as seen in Figure 6 thus flexible, wherein the oppositely extending ends of each 22 each extend to opposite sides/ends therein),
a connecting member detachably connecting an end of the first fastening member and an end of the second fastening member to each other (Col. 3 lines 32-37, the ends of straps 22 may either be tied thus their ends being a connecting member for detachably connecting the ends of the first and second fastening members, or the connecting member may be an adhesive for detachably attaching the ends of the straps 22), and
a hole cover portion 26 (Figures 1-6) configured to cover the injury opening hole 14, and to be separatable from the injury opening hole 14 (Col. 3 lines 37-52),
wherein a plurality of injury opening holes 14 is arranged along at least one direction (Figure 1),
wherein the injury cover portion has a cut portion indented (the hole in the underside of the device is the cut portion indented) from an outer perimeter toward a central area thereof in an end area between an end and another end of an edge area thereof (See Annotated Figure 2 of Horrigan, wherein there is a cut portion indented into the structure herein, indicated outer perimeter is on the outside portion of the device).
Horrigan does not disclose the injury cover portion having flexibility and elasticity.
However, Bedford teaches an analogous injury covering band (Figures 1-7) with an injury cover portion 14 (Figure 3) that is made of a flexible closed-cell foam material (flexible closed-cell foam is flexible and thus also has an elasticity [0014]) that may be further doped with anti-infectant and antibiotic cream (see [0023])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the injury cover portion 12/18 of Horrigan to be made of flexible closed-cell foam as taught by Bedford thus providing flexibility and elasticity in order to provide a material that may be impregnated with antibiotic and sufficiently protect the wound (Bedford [0014, 0019, 0023])
Horrigan does not disclose the fastening members having elasticity.
However, French teaches an analogous injury covering band (Figures 1-4) with analogous fastening members b/c (Figure 2) and an analogous connecting member d (buckle) for fastening ends of the members b/c together (lines 23-24), wherein the fastening members a/b are elastic straps (lines 22-23)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the fastening members 22 of Horrigan with elasticity as taught by French in order to enable the device to be fitted and used on varying sizes of limb.
Regarding claim 3, Horrigan in view of Bedford and French disclose the invention of claim 2 above.
Horrigan further discloses wherein a plurality of injury opening hole openings 14 corresponds to the plurality of injury opening holes 14 respectively (Figure 3, the openings 14 in 20 correspond with the openings 14 in 12/18).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 4667666 A
US 4846807 A
US 6274787 B1
US 5755746 A
US 3561442 A
US 4870977 A
US 4470410 A
US 20180289556 A1
US 0697637 A
US 2785677 A
US 2367690 A
US 3234941 A (cut portion indent)
/KEVIN S ALBERS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/RACHAEL E BREDEFELD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786