DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed 6/23/2026. Claims 1 and 4-8 are pending while claims 2-3 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed 6/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 102 over Vink have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Embry, as explained in detail below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2011/051226 to Vink et al. (Vink) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0024241 to Embry et al. (Embry).
In reference to claim 1, Vink teaches a solvent recovery device configured to liquefy and recover a solvent gas from a mixed gas of the solvent gas and a carrier gas (FIG. 1-5), the solvent recovery device comprising a multi-tube heat exchanger (5, FIG. 1-5) that includes a plurality of tubes (40a and 40b, FIG. 1; page 11, line 33) arranged in parallel through which the mixed gas circulates, and a shell (85, FIG. 1) accommodating the plurality of tubes and circulating a cooling medium (page 13, lines 28-34 and page 14, first paragraph) around the plurality of tubes; an actuator (valves 25a and 25b, FIG. 1) configured to change a total surface area that is a sum of surface areas of inner walls of a tube or a plurality of tubes through which the mixed gas is brought to flow, among the plurality of tubes (page 18, lines 25-34 and page 19, first paragraph), but does not teach a gas concentration sensor configured to detect a gas concentration of the solvent gas in the mixed gas, a control circuit configured to control the actuator to change the total surface area according to the gas concentration detected by the gas concentration sensor and wherein the control circuit is further configured to control the actuator to obtain a maximum value of a plurality of values that is selectable as the total surface area when the concentration falls within a first concentration range including an assumed maximum concentration value, and to obtain a value smaller than the maximum value of the plurality of values when the concentration is lower than the first concentration range.
Embry teaches a solvent injection for solids prevention in an LNG plant (FIG. 1-7) comprising a gas concentration sensor (602, FIG. 4) configured to detect a gas concentration of the solvent gas in the mixed gas (406, FIG. 4), a control circuit (506, FIG. 4) configured to control the actuator (504, FIG. 4) to change the total surface area according to the gas concentration detected by the gas concentration sensor (par 0073, last sentence) and wherein the control circuit (506, FIG. 4) is further configured to control the actuator (interpreted as the atomizer 504, FIG. 4) to obtain a maximum value of a plurality of values that is selectable as the total surface area when the concentration falls within a first concentration range including an assumed maximum concentration value, and to obtain a value smaller than the maximum value of the plurality of values when the concentration is lower than the first concentration range (par 0073-0074) in order to prevent accumulations of freezing heavy components (par 0074).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vink, to include a gas concentration sensor configured to detect a gas concentration of the solvent gas in the mixed gas, a control circuit configured to control the actuator to change the total surface area according to the gas concentration detected by the gas concentration sensor and wherein the control circuit is further configured to control the actuator to obtain a maximum value of a plurality of values that is selectable as the total surface area when the concentration falls within a first concentration range including an assumed maximum concentration value, and to obtain a value smaller than the maximum value of the plurality of values when the concentration is lower than the first concentration range, as taught by Embry, in order to prevent accumulations of freezing heavy components.
In reference to claim 4, Vink and Embry teach the solvent recovery device as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Vink additionally teaches a liquid recovery container (295, FIG. 4) that is located more downward than the multi-tube heat exchanger (5, FIG. 4) in the vertical direction and recovers a liquefied solvent that is condensed by the multi-tube heat exchanger (via 290, FIG. 4); a discharge passage (290, FIG. 4) that connects an outlet (285, FIG. 4) of the multi-tube heat exchanger (5, FIG. 1) to the liquid recovery container (295, FIG. 4), and through which discharge fluid containing the liquefied solvent and the carrier gas circulates; and a branch passage (310, FIG. 4) that communicates (via 295, FIG. 4) with the discharge passage (290, FIG. 4), and through which the carrier gas separated from the liquefied solvent circulates (FIG. 4).
In reference to claim 5, Vink and Embry teach the solvent recovery device as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Vink additionally teaches wherein the multi-tube heat exchanger (5, FIG. 1-5) includes an inlet chamber (78, FIG. 1-5) into which the mixed gas flows, the inlet chamber includes a plurality of branch tubes (at 37a and 37b, FIG. 1-5) that leads the mixed gas into each of the plurality of tubes (40a and 40b, FIG. 1-5), the plurality of branch tubes is arranged higher than the plurality of tubes in a vertical direction, and the actuator includes a plurality of valves (25a and 25b, FIG. 1-5) provided respectively for the plurality of branch tubes (40a and 40b, FIG. 1-5) so as to open and close the respective branch tubes.
In reference to claim 6, Vink and Embry teach the solvent recovery device as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Embry additionally teaches wherein the gas concentration sensor (602, FIG. 4) is disposed in an inlet chamber of the multi-tube heat exchanger and is configured to detect the gas concentration as a weight percentage concentration (par 0072-0074 and 0081).
In reference to claim 7, Vink and Embry teach the solvent recovery device as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Embry additionally teaches wherein the gas concentration sensor (602, FIG. 4) includes a plurality of sensors configured to detect concentrations of dimethyl carbonate (DMC), ethyl methyl carbonate (EMC), and ethylene carbonate (EC), respectively (intended use recitation; the sensor 602 in FIG. 4 is capable of performing said functional language).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See attached PTO-892 for relevant prior art.
/FILIP ZEC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
9/3/2026